Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mobile Phone Number Query

• 12-10-2010 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭

Not sure if this is the correct forum for this but i will give it a lash.
    Actually i'm not even sure if this wasnt a wind up but it left me shocked.

I was in a bar in a town where i would not be known by many of the locals on Sunday, we got talking to a few lads and were having the craic.
    The story came around to woman and i said i saw a fine looking bird in a cafe earlier that day but i didnt have the balls to go to speak to her or ask here for her number.
    One of the lads who i never met before informed me that it is possible to get someones number without asking them. He said he could get my number within 5 mins without leaving the bar.
    Now i am 99% sure that this lad was never in my company before.....but within a few mins he wrote down my mobile number on a beermat and handed it to me.
    My mates swore to me that they never passed him my number. To be honest it kind of freaked me a bit.

My question is, was it a wind up and he knew my number anyway or did he have something to hack into my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

hack in to your phone? seriously doubt it. He probably looked at your facebook or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭gavmcfad

steve06 wrote: »
    hack in to your phone? seriously doubt it. He probably looked at your facebook or something.

All he knew was that i was called Gavin. Dont have my mobile number on facebook.

Mobile Number. If he managed to get a landline number for me, he was better than i thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

Maybe you gave him your number after hooking up with him and you were just too drunk to remember...

ghey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

He probably saw this in the jacks
    "gavmcfad takes cock - 087-1234567"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

i'm guessing but bluetooth, sometimes your phone can show up as it's number when another person searches for phones in range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Adam wrote: »
    i'm guessing but bluetooth, sometimes your phone can show up as it's number when another person searches for phones in range.

but only if you both put in a code to sync, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

but only if you both put in a code to sync, no?
    that i'm not sure of, i think only some phones have that requirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Bluetooth i'd imagine. One of the lads in work did it to me before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

gavmcfad wrote: »
    All he knew was that i was called Gavin.

Gavin McFadden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Adam wrote: »

I don't think it does. The bluetooth device has it's own address like a network MAC address. There would be no reason for bluetooth to broadcast your number or even have access to it. The only way it would happen is if the guy set his bluetooth name as his phone number.

I think it's a wind up tbh, he got your number from your mates or knew it already or something like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I was in a bar in a town where i would not be known by many of the locals on Sunday...
    He probably knows you on the other days in the week.

Some funny guys on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Its possible some technies have some way of getting it but I would imagine he just text a couple of mates to see who had your number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Not sure if this is the correct forum for this but i will give it a lash.
    Actually i'm not even sure if this wasnt a wind up but it left me shocked.

I was in a bar in a town where i would not be known by many of the locals on Sunday, we got talking to a few lads and were having the craic.
    The story came around to woman and i said i saw a fine looking bird in a cafe earlier that day but i didnt have the balls to go to speak to her or ask here for her number.
    One of the lads who i never met before informed me that it is possible to get someones number without asking them. He said he could get my number within 5 mins without leaving the bar.
    Now i am 99% sure that this lad was never in my company before.....but within a few mins he wrote down my mobile number on a beermat and handed it to me.
    My mates swore to me that they never passed him my number. To be honest it kind of freaked me a bit.

My question is, was it a wind up and he knew my number anyway or did he have something to hack into my phone.

Did you, by any chance, bet a pint on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Is he banging your oul one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

There's a bluetooth application whereby if somebody accepts it you can have access to their phone - contacts, messages, you can even set off the tones in it.

A friend of mine had it at one stage - is it possible you have your number in your contacts and he did this? - You'd have to have accepted a bluetooth recipient though.

It's either that or he's working for the CIA and knows everything about you because you're a target - are you in the human trafficing business or anything??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Some funny guys on here.

Really where?