Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATTENTION AIRSOFTERS AND SITE OPERATORS!!!!!

• 11-10-2010 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭

HELLO GUYS god took a huge crap on me yesterday my car was broken into and my gun in its case was taken from the boot. its an m4 with a forward grip classic army model. there is a riser rail on the top handle with an acog site and a torch attached. the torch is slightly filed down. it has a sliding stock with a crane stock battery fitted and the wire connector is visible under the stock. the case is black with grey clips on it. also the name aon is taped in big letters on it. any help in keeping an eye out for it would be greatly appreciated. obviously the gardai have been made aware. they had the car examained and all. thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Sorry to hear that , do you have any pics ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

Will keep an eye out. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭bigben121

ye , there has been some recent break ins ,in last few weaks :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

no pics lads oh and i might mention the car was parked on the quays in dublin. only had the thing with me to get tested as it was firing well below 1 joule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Keep an eye in market places, They sell Airsoft items in Tallaght on weekends and in meaths street that i know of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Erm not to stur a conspiracy, but that is the third robbery I've heard in the last few weeks which in some way has an assosiation to "Aon"

I'd be keeping a close eye on the site and its patrons there. Unless you were just absolutely unlucky to get randommly robbed and the thief rubbed his hands to be suprised with a gun, its a viable possability that there is someone not being straight around those parts.

Worth a mention I feel since this isn't the first robbery to happen with the name "Aon" around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

to clear that up,
    snake doc hasnt been a part of aon in quite a few months, almost a year even.
    his case had aon celotaped onto it from when he used to play with us.
    also....his case and aeg were robbed from his car in town?

and as for the other robbery which im assuming your referring to the one from the office.
    that has nothing to do with aon either.
    aon play at the office block irregularly and have nothing to do with the lad whose stuff was robbed.
    and as the guy said, the office block was broken into when it was robbed.

i dont know what the third robbery is that your talking about,
    but id rather you wouldnt insinuate aon to be involved in theft of another players gear.

yea no conspiracy heree lads. my case just had the name aon from when i played with them. also my gun was in its case and coveredd by a blanket in the back of the car the thief would have only realized it when he smashed the back window and leaned in to take the folder that may have been mistaken for a laptop case and pulled the blanket off to reveal a gun case. dumb luck. thaks anyway lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Just to clarify lads, the people that broke into the office were cought on camera. We have them clear as day and the footage has been handed into the garda.

I didn't recognize anyone in the video and as the founder of AON I would have if it was any of them so I'm gonna assume AON aren't going on a robbing spree. I also don't think it would be in my interest to rob my customers but thanks for the ideas there Doc, very considerate of you :rolleyes:

Well I can't talk for Anthony's car :p

I'll keep an eye out Mate, I think I'd recognise your gun if I saw it

lol calm yourselves, I wasn't insinuating, I blatantly said it , infront of everyone, so that the idea could be reviewed and if found incorrect, dispelled from thought.

When I see a number of thefts and robberies and there is a connecting factor, well its obvious to explore that first, don't get your nickers in a twist over it now, its a valid question and point, I would have thought :)

In fairness I've never heard anyone say "aon robbed me stuff" I've just heard lots of aon lads saying they have had stuff nicked on sites or from their homes/cars.

Hope you get it back anyway

ah well its dispelled so,
    cos theres obviously no connecting factor.

snakedoc was once on aon, and left a year ago.

and the lad from the office block was never on aon.
    he was once on the ghosts if i remember correctly.

and i cant remember anyone from aon ever having stuff stolen while at a site.
    or saying so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭McGilla

;) Doc is like petrol to Fire...love it!

OP - sorry to hear that.

Well thats it sorted then, was only asking it be cleared as a possability ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭J.D.R

Just to clarify lads, the people that broke into the office were cought on camera. We have them clear as day and the footage has been handed into the garda.

I didn't recognize anyone in the video and as the founder of AON I would have if it was any of them so I'm gonna assume AON aren't going on a robbing spree. I also don't think it would be in my interest to rob my customers but thanks for the ideas there Doc, very considerate of you :rolleyes:

Well I can't talk for Anthony's car :p

I'll keep an eye out Mate, I think I'd recognise your gun if I saw it

Any update on the theft from the office block?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

Will keep my eyes out for it. Would be worthwhile keeping your eye on the adverts section as well as those markets that do be going all over dublin.

good point but i would think that whom ever stole the gun wouldn't be an airsofter does the game attract that sort of people. i'll be keeping my eyes pealed anyway thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

SNAKEDOC wrote: »
    good point but i would think that whom ever stole the gun wouldn't be an airsofter does the game attract that sort of people. i'll be keeping my eyes pealed anyway thanks

I couldnt think of any airsofter whod be that dishonest in such a small community. But thus is the human race...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭J.D.R

Ayrtonf7 wrote: »
    I couldnt think of any airsofter whod be that dishonest in such a small community. But thus is the human race...

Have to disagree. I know of 6 people who have had things stolen while at a skirmish, from a couple of bags of BB's to a couple of slightly hot pistols. They were firing at 340, so they were left in their bags at the safe zone and they were stolen. Haven't been seen since.

In every sport there are scumbags. It's just an inconvenient truth.

ah yea there is those kind of guys but they are just one day players who rent their guns. no true airsofter breaks into someones car just to steal their aeg. that was the point i was making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevinhalvey

fair enough when things are clustered in the safe zone bbs can get mixed up and small things like even a mags identity can be mistake but your not going to mistake a pistol ? anyone that would rob any sort of airsoft rifle and is involved in the sport is not interested in the sport but the guns we use :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I find real airsofters to be generally trustworthy, but there are knacks out there that have no interest in the sport or its players. I may still leave my gear in the safezone unattended but I do pack it into the bag as some small security.

Its great that up to this point people have felt comfortable doing that, but with the mainstreaming of airsoft you get more sorts at it including scummers, maybe cctv or locked bags and lockers is on the cards.

The equipment is expensive after all, and no airsofter I know would dream of robbing someone, it can happen though with dodgy sorts sauntering up for the day without an ounce of respect for people.

Maybe better security is the only option to protect legitimate airsofters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

ah yea there is those kind of guys but they are just one day players who rent their guns. no true airsofter breaks into someones car just to steal their aeg. that was the point i was making.

Please dont try to name people renting as most come into the sport/hobby and most not all are fine. we were all new at somepoint

i always thought that people on the site,
    mainly site owners and operators would have kept a bit of an eye on gear,
    lets be honest, the only time someone really has a chance to take something is when everyones out playing, so if theres someone in the safe area at the bags during games, check after the game if someone different goes to the bag.

i dont expect them to watch the bags.
    but its nice to think that theyd be watching them ya know.

i received an interesting phone call this morning from a nice chap in the gardai. he informed me my gun was ready to be picked up at any time. i was startled by this news and on further inquiring found out that the gardai had removed the gun in its case themselves as it posed a "security risk" i asked what he meant that and he said well we couldn't just leave it there, even if the car was in a locked shed in a secure garda compound. they never contacted me to inform me they removed my property and they even had the item reported on the computer as stolen in the course of a theft from a car. needless to say i am delighted to have it safe but they went about it oddly to say the least. thank you everybody for your responses to this forum and i apologize for having had anybody looking for a gun that wasn't stolen. you can thank An Garda Siochana.

Also i might add that when explaining the uses of the aeg the garda in question had no idea of airsoft and i believe that gardai are not been informed that such imitation firearms are as widespread as they are.

Also this thread can now be closed as the matter has come to a successful conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

i received an interesting phone call this morning from a nice chap in the gardai. he informed me my gun was ready to be picked up at any time. i was startled by this news and on further inquiring found out that the gardai had removed the gun in its case themselves as it posed a "security risk" i asked what he meant that and he said well we couldn't just leave it there, even if the car was in a locked shed in a secure garda compound. they never contacted me to inform me they removed my property and they even had the item reported on the computer as stolen in the course of a theft from a car. needless to say i am delighted to have it safe but they went about it oddly to say the least. thank you everybody for your responses to this forum and i apologize for having had anybody looking for a gun that wasn't stolen. you can thank An Garda Siochana.

Also i might add that when explaining the uses of the aeg the garda in question had no idea of airsoft and i believe that gardai are not been informed that such imitation firearms are as widespread as they are.

Also this thread can now be closed as the matter has come to a successful conclusion.

I have to ask - how did they get it out of the car?

sorry you misunderstood. the car was broken into on the quays. the car window was broken. only a folder was taken they thought it was a laptop. the car was recovered by gardai. i was talking to them then and i told them that i had the aeg in the car. later when the car was in the garda compound they went up and took the gun out as they had access to the car through the broken window but they failed to inform me of this. so when i got the car back and saw no gun i called them again and was taking to another garda who told me yes there is a report already of the theft of the gun so i thought right the gun is gone then i posted here to let other airsofters know. its confusing i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

sorry you misunderstood. the car was broken into on the quays. the car window was broken. only a folder was taken they thought it was a laptop. the car was recovered by gardai. i was talking to them then and i told them that i had the aeg in the car. later when the car was in the garda compound they went up and took the gun out as they had access to the car through the broken window but they failed to inform me of this. so when i got the car back and saw no gun i called them again and was taking to another garda who told me yes there is a report already of the theft of the gun so i thought right the gun is gone then i posted here to let other airsofters know. its confusing i know

Now it makes sense. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭deceit

A strange but nice ending, glad your gun wasnt stolen. :)

the strangest. thanks i'm glad to get it back myself:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

I can see where the Gardaí are coming from. You have to appreciate that airsoft it still relaitivly new in the public eye. At least he listened to what you said and didn't jump to conclusions. :)

Glad you have it back and may it serve you well in many skirmishes to come ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Br4tPr1nc3 wrote: »
    i always thought that people on the site,
    mainly site owners and operators would have kept a bit of an eye on gear,
    lets be honest, the only time someone really has a chance to take something is when everyones out playing, so if theres someone in the safe area at the bags during games, check after the game if someone different goes to the bag.

i dont expect them to watch the bags.
    but its nice to think that theyd be watching them ya know.

The problem is that site owners don't know which bag belongs to who, obviously if I see someone take something out of a bag that I KNOW isn't theres I'll stop them, kick them out and bar them but the great majority of the time it would just look like someone at their bag.

Congrats Anthony, fair play to the garda what.

Glad to hear you got your kit back ;)

They could have left a note in your car or case or something like jesus :D