Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

finding out a car you buy has been crashed

• 11-10-2010 3:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭

Mate of mine is a cop, bought car two uears ago, had it for sale and prospective buyer got aa to che k it out. Badly damaged in a crash. Has he any comeback on original selle?

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭reiger

for starters was it a private sale or off a dealer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Did he buy it from a garage? Has he had it inspected to see the extent of the damage (if any)? It wouldn't be the first time a check has been wrong. If it does turn out to have been damaged I'd be back to the garage like a shot for some sort of resolution. Two years is a long time and the resolution will depend a lot on the car etc.

Private sale though and he doesn't have a leg I'd imagine.

EPM is right if its a private deal forget about he hasnt a hope

when buying second hand let the buyer beware its a tricky auld game

Mate of mine is a cop,

I would have thought he'd know the ins and outs of such matters. As above anyway, no leg if it was a private sale, not much leg after 2 years from a dealer anyway. Do they AA reckon it wasn't repaired correctly ?

RoverJames wrote: »
    I would have thought he'd know the ins and outs of such matters. As above anyway, no leg if it was a private sale, not much leg after 2 years from a dealer anyway. Do they AA reckon it wasn't repaired correctly ?

id be asking a good panel beater not the aa boys wheather it was fixed well or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I went to buy a car off a guard about 3 months back. I checked it out. Turns out it was a Cat C 4-5 years previous. Is this a common occurence or is it the same guy :eek:

He should really have had the sense to check it out himself considering the line of business he is in. I do not believe he has a comeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Simailr thing happened with a friend.. He was looking into a car.. saw it was a previous insurance write off.. Called the seller and the seller turned out to be a guard.. Claimed he knew nothing about it.. Said he never checked when he bought it...

They can access the same info as a cartell right??

edit.. Ha ha i just told Listermint's story!!

Simailr thing happened with a friend.. He was looking into a car.. saw it was a previous insurance write off.. Called the seller and the seller turned out to be a guard.. Claimed he knew nothing about it.. Said he never checked when he bought it...

They can access the same info as a cartell right??

edit.. Ha ha i just told Listermint's story!!

Hi Friend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭marty whelan

Private sale, he never checked out the car. Guess he's screwed so. Not sure how well the car was repaired, all i know is aa guy told him and prospectve buyer it was crashed. Thanks for all the replies.
    The original seller was a tractor mechanic and serviced the car himself so no service history either.
    I can see my friend pounding on his door some night with sirens blaring outside to try frighten him into geiving him some money back : )

Well best advice here is to get the car indepentendly assessed for road worthyness as the repairs might be perfectly in order. And be honest with the next seller confirming the assessment. Get it in writing. Otherwise he may be stuck with it.

I can see my friend pounding on his door some night with sirens blaring outside to try frighten him into geiving him some money back : )

I can see farmer boy telling him to f*** off :D
    Although, all jokes aside I wouldn't cross a Garda without very good reason. I certainly wouldn't sell a dodgy car to one (or anyone else either :) )

ive saw plenty of crashed cars and when there well fixed there was feck all problems with them,but its like everything you have to define how badly crashed it was.

reiger wrote: »
    ive saw plenty of crashed cars and when there well fixed there was feck all problems with them,but its like everything you have to define how badly crashed it was.

Thanks again to all.
    Btw how does one do that thanked by thing?

Thanks again to all.

Its the big thumb under each responder (to the right of the page)

click on the thums up symbol at the bottom of a post to thank that post :)

RoverJames wrote: »
    click on the thums up symbol at the bottom of a post to thank that post :)

Should i be able to see tbat on an iphone? How dumb am i :confused:

No Idea, Ive not got one :D

Should i be able to see tbat on an iphone? How dumb am i :confused:

Can see it on a HTS desire and a Nokia Xpress Music so I would think so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Fiesta

how does one do that thanked by thing?

There is a 'thumbs up' sybmol, bottom right of a post. Click it and 'say thanks'