Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag night in Carlingford

• 11-10-2010 12:31am
    Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭

Alright lads,

I'm sure you enjoy these threads as much as we do in the Waterford forum but nothing ventured, nothing gained and all that!

So a group of us (about 13 or 14) are heading to Carlingford for a stag this weekend. We're arriving about 8pm Friday night and leaving Sunday morning. We've got a package with the adventure centre. It's the one under "New hen and stag special offer" here.

So what do you think of that? Am I right in thinking that a VIP night in a pub in Carlingford is stretching the meaning of that term a bit? Because it certainly would be in Waterford! What's this Taaffe's Castle place like?

Are there any other spots we should check out while we're there? Any general comments or anything?

Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks,
    NKay.
    Post edited by Fathom on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Complimentary Burger

PMSL :D... one whole burger... just for you.... MR VIP!
    Ha... Regardless of this Taafes is a nice pub... In the middle of it all in carlingford and good bit of craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

The activities in Carlingford are great I was up there on a team building trip last September and it was great craic, we done gorge walking though which isn't on the adventure centres list and it was the best activity of the trip.

Carlingford was a great little town to head out in, was good fun, I iddn't head to a nightclub though.

But I'd suspect as you do that VIP treatment isn't anything like the superstars would be used to :D

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭cerebis

no real comments.... Friday night in Carlingford is quiet enough though,,,,

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

bigneacy wrote: »
    PMSL :D... one whole burger... just for you.... MR VIP!
    Ha... Regardless of this Taafes is a nice pub... In the middle of it all in carlingford and good bit of craic.

Yeah it is a bit overwhelming thinking that they'd give me a whole burger to myself. I don't think I've ever felt so important before in my life! :D

So Taaffe's is a decent spot. Anywhere else around that needs to be sampled? I don't know what we're doing about food actually so is there anywhere good to eat there? I can't imagine it'll have to be fancy - just good soakage!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

PJs will probably be good on saturday night, seems to get a good crowd and there'll be a band on.

cerebis wrote: »
    no real comments.... Friday night in Carlingford is quiet enough though,,,,

Yeh the Friday I was there was VERY quiet, only us and a bout 5 other people in the pub.

Going out in Dundalk Friday night and then heading to Carlingford Saturday morning might be a better idea.

draffodx wrote: »
    Yeh the Friday I was there was VERY quiet, only us and a bout 5 other people in the pub.

Going out in Dundalk Friday night and then heading to Carlingford Saturday morning might be a better idea.

Dundalk is about 20-25mins drive from carlingford. A mini bus up and back will cost about 90 quid maybe (my uncle owns a mini bus co. pm me if you want his number).... If there's than 13 or 14 of ye goin then its worth the cost. Only €6.50 each....

Go to Dundalk, Go to Kingfisher for your grub (cheap and cheerful), Go to Brubakers for Pints, Craic and Music, Go to Ridleys for more drink and flange (:P), Go to the Casino to lose your dignity, Go home to your accommodation to get your hangover. Done and dusted. :D

I still haven't got to see the new Ridleys! Been hearing good stuff about it! (Damn moving to Dublin)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭10green bottles

Go to Ridleys for more drink and flange (tongue.gif),
    A stag party getting into Ridleys would be a new one on me??

Bouncer Techniques 101: Ya don't all head in together. That's a universal rule, no matter what club or what town/city...

Go in groups of 2... thats how we used to get our big groups in when we were in college.

• Registered Users Posts: 386 ✭✭shindig-jp

nkay1985 wrote: »
    I don't know what we're doing about food actually so is there anywhere good to eat there? I can't imagine it'll have to be fancy - just good soakage!

I know someone who makes & delivers freshly made Sushi Maki . Great soakage as you 'say' and no greasy fat

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

shindig-jp wrote: »
    I know someone who makes & delivers freshly made Sushi Maki . Great soakage as you 'say' and no greasy fat

Yeah I think the vomiting is meant to be done at the end of the night. :D

Thanks but I don't think that's what we'd have in mind!

Must say it to the lads about Friday night so if it's going to be so quiet in Carlingford. Maybe that wouldn't be the worst thing either seeing as we'll be doing adventure centre activities the next morning.

Dont think there as strict since its been done up?

Its even the DKIT SU nightclub of choice now, something that would have been unheard of with the old ridleys.
    Yeah I think the vomiting is meant to be done at the end of the night. :D

Thanks but I don't think that's what we'd have in mind!

Must say it to the lads about Friday night so if it's going to be so quiet in Carlingford. Maybe that wouldn't be the worst thing either seeing as we'll be doing adventure centre activities the next morning.

Get them to do the water activities first, there great for sobering you up and getting rid of the hangover.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

draffodx wrote: »
    Dont think there as strict since its been done up?

God only knows why I still go there but they are still a nightmare on the door...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Are there any other spots we should check out while we're there? Any general comments or anything?

Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks,
    NKay.

Hope you enjoy the wee county NKay... Saturday night in Carlingford is good craic.... There are also plenty of Hens to counter the Stags...

Dundalk which as previously mentioned is not too far away houses the best intimate music venue I have been too on our fair Island (personal opinion)

I introduced my central pale friends to it some time back and now suffer an onslaught of visitors at least once a month.

You check it out here if thats your cup of tea. It's also getting pretty cold so bring plenty of woolies for any outdoor pursuits in Carlingford...

Enjoy !

MugMugs wrote: »
    God only knows why I still go there but they are still a nightmare on the door...

Its shocking and probably only in Ireland when the first thing a customer has to deal with in an establishment is a power tripping egotistic bouncer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 williammax

We used [***] for our stag night in Carlingford. The owner Marcus couldnt do enough for us. Check out their website here [***].

Post edited by Fathom on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Hi Marcus.

Post edited by Fathom on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,017 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

CMOD: Discussion closed. Resurrected 13 years old thread. If first post on site was advertising [***now edited], contact boards.ie for application, terms, and conditions.