Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone famous visit your primary school?

• 09-10-2010 2:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

One school in England has Johnny Depp, going by the many, many threads around.
    So what about you?

We had the county GAA captain and manager twice.
    They filled the Liam McCarthy cup with lemonade and you were allowed hold it and drink from it.
    I'd imagine this is still done every year.

Australian ambassador to Ireland as well, she traced her relations to the area.

That's about it realy,
    Anyone come to your school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Nobody really..... Cardinal Tomás O'Fiach was the most well known person we saw:o. We had to sing 'The Bard of Armagh' for him.
    I remember this other time, some footballers coming in with a trophy cup full of orange juice for us to have a slurp of, dunno a fcuk who they were:confused:.
    Rumours went round one Christmas, while we were watching the boy's school's concert, that Santy was going to make an appearance....but he didn't:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Barrack Obama before he became famous:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Gary Glitter, but he went away in a police van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Mary Harney visited my class when i was in primary. We'd all spent days making posters and cards for her to look at, and she picked up one, gave it a quick glance and fecked off. Put me off her for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

No :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

The president and the Taoiseach visited us.

As well as the Army and the Garda bands :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Certainly not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sarah88

Mary Black came to my primary school there one day and sang at the assembelly! i have no idea why :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

sarah88 wrote: »
    Mary Black came to my primary school there one day and sang at the assembelly! i have no idea why :confused:

Was it amhran na bhfiann?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Laois women footballers after they won the All-Ireland or something.
    Few of the Laois team that won the Leinster in 2003.
    Aidy Roche(yer one from Chernobyl, bored the shíte outta me).
    Think that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sarah88

orourkeda wrote: »
    Was it amhran na bhfiann?

i have no idea!! i remember she sang a fair few songs nyway.... as you can imagin it wasn al that interestin!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 AshaD

The most famous people to visit my school was the Kerry Team... I had no interest in them being there, except we always got homework off:D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

the president and i.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

sarah88 wrote: »
    Mary probably doesnt know why she was there either when she sobered up:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭loike

brian mcfadden... when he was in westlife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Mary McAleese