Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin calls for worldwide ban on Death penalty

• 09-10-2010 10:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭

The Minister for Foreign Affairs has reaffirmed Ireland's long-standing opposition to the death penalty.

Tomorrow is the eighth 'World and European Day against the Death Penalty'.

Nearly 10 years ago, Irish people voted in a referendum to abolish its use fully and formally.

Minister Micheál Martin said it was a "cruel and inhuman form of punishment that violates the most basic and inalienable human rights".

He has called on all States using the death penalty to adopt a moratorium as called for by the UN General Assembly.

Read more: http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/martin-calls-for-worldwide-ban-on-death-penalty-477024.html#ixzz11rF0dMbA

Christ, has he nothing better to be doing with his time?

Aside from the fact that I dont think there should be a worldwide ban on it, could he not be getting on with dealing the increasing crime in Ireland, rather than calling for things he has no power in, that probably aren't going to happen anyway. Or is this him trying to get some positive publicity, in case there is an early election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

do you honestly think any country worth its salt is listening to the government of Ireland right now?
    a joke.
    change is needed rapido!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Police Chief Wiggum

ban on the death penalty

what is he afraid of?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

i agree with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

I'm glad he is trying to bring it under the spot light because otherwise nothing will happen. Barbaric method of punishment, I've made my opinions clear before about it and Im not in the mood to rehash the same thing again either as these threads usually descend into anarchy anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Trekmad wrote: »
    these threads usually descend into anarchy anyway.

It's a trend I've noticed in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

It costs a fortune anyway through the whole process so theres no point in wasting more money on people who may or may not deserve it.

Life imprisonment should be at least 30 years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jesus, it's not like he just decided to come out and randomly say it. He was obviously speaking in context of the 'World and European Day against the Death Penalty'.. Why shouldn't he have an opinion, or should every politician take a vow of silence until we're out of recession?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    It costs a fortune anyway through the whole process so theres no point in wasting more money on people who may or may not deserve it.

Life imprisonment should be at least 30 years though.

It's a hell of a lot cheaper than feeding and housing a prisoner for thirty years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

What's the problem here?

He's speaking out against an archaic and barbaric punishment which is renowned for its heavy financial cost and the amount of innocent people who get killed.

Nearly every developed nation bans it so I fail to see what the problem is.

k_mac wrote: »
    It's a hell of a lot cheaper than feeding and housing a prisoner for thirty years.
    In the US, a death penalty trial costs an additional $2million over the same trial seeking life imprisonment (due to the extra appeals and legal costs)

Not that cheap at all.

No it is not.

http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/studies-death-penalty-costs-north-carolina-nearly-11-million-year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

In the US, a death penalty trial costs an additional $2million over the same trial seeking life imprisonment (due to the extra appeals and legal costs)

Not that cheap at all.

We are not in the U.S. However in Ireland the cost of keeping a prisoner for a year in Portlaoise is about €270k afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

syklops wrote: »

Aside from the fact that I dont think there should be a worldwide ban on it, could he not be getting on with dealing the increasing crime in Ireland, rather than calling for things he has no power in, that probably aren't going to happen anyway. Or is this him trying to get some positive publicity, in case there is an early election.

I'd rather he was making pointless statements that take no time that doing what McDowell was doing and making half arsed knee jerk 'look I'm doing something' legislation that took time, money and considerable effort to get passed to murk up the law yet further....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Wow, we're on the cusp of probably one of the worst budgets in the history of the state, the IMF-EU are getting ready to run the country and Michael Martin is worried about the death penalty in other countries...:rolleyes:

We are not in the U.S. However in Ireland the cost of keeping a prisoner for a year in Portlaoise is about €270k afaik.

Exactly. How much do you think the death penalty will cost then if it costs that much just to house them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I don't believe that an Irish Minister, or a Minister of any other country for that matter, should try to influence the administration of justice in another nation.

Another thing, he should refrain from doling out advice until the irish justice is cleaned up.

I wouldn't be an advocate of the death penalty myself but whether or not another country uses it has nothing to do with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Trekmad wrote: »
    I'm glad he is trying to bring it under the spot light ..

There's no spot light next or near that fool, closest he'll get to one is maybe the lazer sight from someone's rifle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Well I must admit on reading this story my immediate reaction is that they should be put in the ground asap. No rehabilitating or re-conditioning bastards like them.

A poor response. The US system shows the extra costs and additions to running a death penalty case (unless you want to abolish appeals and make it even easier to kill someone, increasing the liklihood of killing innocent person)

Keep in mind that a prisoner sentenced in lieu of death would be receiving less privileges and so on than a normal prisoner (more time spent in the cell or even solitary confinment) so it would be less than €270k.

Peter Pringle was sentenced to death by hanging in Ireland a few decades ago and kept on death row. He was in prison for 15 years before he was proved innocent and exonerated so it's no defense to say that the US would be somehow different to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What's the issue, he is Minister for Foreign Affairs.
    People complain whether they speak up and then when they disappear on summer holidays.
    could he not be getting on with dealing the increasing crime in Ireland,

Dermot Aherne is responsible for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

All scumbags, paedophiles, politicians, bankers, developers, junkies etc should be given the death penalty.

When they're all dead, we can start again, with a new political & social system and the world will be a veritable utopia.

Signed,

Mr. A.H.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Not that cheap at all.

In Saudi Arabia I'd say it costs a helluva lot less....we should do it their way! :D

It's naive to think there are crimes committed where the perpatrator doesn't deserve to die. In fact, I would be one to believe it should be as painless and comfortable as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Martin calls for worldwide ban on Death penalty

HA! That ain't going to save his ass when the revolution comes. He will be one of the first against the wall along side Bertie, Biffo and the other clowns...

Viva La Revolución!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

orourkeda wrote: »
    I don't believe that an Irish Minister, or a Minister of any other country for that matter, should try to influence the administration of justice in another nation.

Another thing, he should refrain from doling out advice until the irish justice is cleaned up.

I wouldn't be an advocate of the death penalty myself but whether or not another country uses it has nothing to do with us.

So you're saying ... let me get this right... that the head of the Department of Foreign Affairs, shouldn't express opinions on matters to do with foreign affairs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I'm a huge supporter of the Death Penalty and it be brought back in Ireland. Any man that kills a woman should be hung from the gallows, all forms of Murderers should face the Death Penalty. If someone ever killed or raped a member of my family I would kill them for it, when the state is too shy to live up to its responsibilities.

The fact that the likes of this low scum from the gutter can live happily in Prison, while protected by libtards sickens me, I personally would execute him at no cost to state, and bill his scummy family for a single bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

i agree with him.

I don't.

Different opinions are awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Gobsh1te! Why doesn't he focus on Ireland's own death penalty the hypocrite. I refer to the financial death penalty imposed on this nation through corrupt incomptent banks. Does he know how many people have committed suicide when facing the prospect of losing everything? That's the death penalty I'm worried about. But then again him and his corrupt little government don't give a fcuk.

In Saudi Arabia I'd say it costs a helluva lot less....we should do it their way! :D

Dangling from a crane, dancing the jig of death? charming.
    Stinicker wrote: »
    I'm a huge supporter of the Death Penalty and it be brought back in Ireland. Any man that kills a woman should be hung from the gallows, all forms of Murderers should face the Death Penalty. If someone ever killed or raped a member of my family I would kill them for it, when the state is too shy to live up to its responsibilities.

The fact that the likes of this low scum from the gutter can live happily in Prison, while protected by libtards sickens me, I personally would execute him at no cost to state, and bill his scummy family for a single bullet.

You seem to be confused between revenge and justice.

I'm a huge supporter of the Death Penalty and it be brought back in Ireland. Any man that kills a woman should be hung from the gallows,

What about a women who murders a man
    If someone ever killed or raped a member of my family I would kill them for it, when the state is too shy to live up to its responsibilities.

And then the State will execute you.
    You're happy to go ahead and take revenge knowing it'll cost you your life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

FFS lads, the anti-government whining here is getting pathetic.

Pro-tip: If you bitch, moan and throw the toys out of the pram everytime the government does something small that you don't like, no-one will listen to you. A proportionate response is normally better.

Now, the Minister of Foreign Affairs in a country that abolished the death penalty by popular vote and has the prohibition against the death penalty included in it's Constitution in very express and stark terms has joined an international call for the death penalty to be abolished worldwide, in order to mark a specially designated day...

...why are people reacting so strongly, and so negatively?

If he said nothing just as many people here would be moaning that the Minister didn't join in on the call, and I have no doubt the phrase 'laughing stock of Europe' would appear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

could he not be getting on with dealing the increasing crime in Ireland

Why do you think the Minister of Foreign Affairs should be dealing with Domestic Affairs, and not with the subject of an Internationally recognised day against the death penalty, representing Ireland's stance on the issue (Which we voted on) on the international stage?
    Sounds like hes doing his job grand to be honest.
    El Siglo wrote: »
    Wow, we're on the cusp of probably one of the worst budgets in the history of the state, the IMF-EU are getting ready to run the country and Michael Martin is worried about the death penalty in other countries...:rolleyes:
    How dare the Minister of Foreign Affairs do his job. The Department of Finance can deal with the budget and country's finances. Believe it or not, even in a recession there are other aspects of the country to manage.
    Honestly...I understand people are angry at the government, but you just sound stupid when you even nitpick a minister who is actually doing his job.

Typical statement from an Irish minister, offer solutions or ny ideas to help get Ireland out of the mess its in or voice opinion on international matter which has no relevance to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

There is nothing new or controversial in Martin's statement, which has been Irish government policy for quite some time.

This, for example, from a Dept of Foreign Affairs press release in 2004:
    The Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr. Brian Cowen T.D., today welcomed the adoption by the UN Commission on Human Rights of a resolution against the death penalty.

The resolution was an EU initiative, tabled by Ireland in our role as Presidency of the Union. The resolution calls on States which maintain capital punishment to abolish the death penalty completely and, in the meantime, to establish a moratorium on executions.

It has feck all to do with the state of our economy.

We should execute people for homosexuality and chop them up with swords?
    It's naive to think there are crimes committed where the perpatrator doesn't deserve to die. In fact, I would be one to believe it should be as painless and comfortable as it is.

It's even more naive to think that the death penalty has any benefits at all.
    It's expensive, illegal, inhumane and sends the message that the State has the power of life and death over its citizens.
    We can't trust our government to act remotely competently, I'm terrified about letting them choose when we die.

What about a women who murders a man

And then the State will execute you.
    You're happy to go ahead and take revenge knowing it'll cost you your life?

Well the state couldn't execute me as Ireland doesn't have the Death Penalty, if they had then there would be no need for me to kill anyone to get justice for a loved one because if someone of my family was killed the state would then be doing the execution.

Most women who murder men do so for a reason, and it is very rare to have a female serial killer who just kills men for some morbid thrill. Most women who kill do so in revenge for something bad. I would put the Female Death Penalty on the books but give most female killers (like the Mulhall sisters) the benefit of Life Imprisonment instead. However some sheer evil woman like Myra Hindley or Maxine Carr I would happily execute due to the depravity of their crimes.

Paedophilia with children 14 and under should also be punished by death, other crimes punishable by death would be treason, including economic treason. The death penalty should be in place and used regularly with no exceptions. Also future attempts to legislate the Death Penalty out should be punishable by death as high treason and once it is brought back it should be back for good.

However some sheer evil woman like Myra Hindley or Maxine Carr I would happily execute due to the depravity of their crimes.

Maxine Carr murdered nobody.

Unless you want the death penalty for Perverting the course of justice

Also future attempts to legislate the Death Penalty out should be punishable by death as high treason and once it is brought back it should be back for good.

LOL :rolleyes:

Maxine Carr murdered nobody.

Unless you want the death penalty for Perverting the course of justice

She covered up for Huntley and very much deserves to die for what she did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

other crimes punishable by death would be treason, including economic treason.

Would this include:

- talking up the economy;

- talking down the economy;

- non-payment of road tolls;

- all of the above?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Rockshandy90

Age old story of two wrongs don't make a right! I do think in Ireland anyways Life imprisonment should mean at least 25-30 years if not literally life imprisonment, a lot of people get out way too early from their sentances. I don't think the correct punishment for murder is murder in return. Keep them in prison.

Would this include:

- talking up the economy;

- talking down the economy;

- non-payment of road tolls;

- all of the above?

No, I was thinking more along the lines of Corporate Criminals not ordinary people.