Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Little steps ads - why the knackery accents?

• 08-10-2010 9:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭

Im wondering why each one of those ads contains people whose voice is half knacker, half gob..

"Swappin Boargers for Froots"
    "Noice wan"

Do they only think the lower classes eat crap? Whats their angle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Im wondering why each one of those ads contains people whose voice is half knacker, half gob..

"Swappin Boargers for Froots"
    "Noice wan"

Do they only think the lower classes eat crap? Whats their angle?
    I do think that the lower classes eat more crap. They reason that it is cheap and likely don't know that many of those things can be made at home for less money and are healthier.

Perhaps also less health education and less access to doctors.

I will agree that the voices and the ad itself wreck my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

OisinT wrote: »
    I will agree that the voices and the ad itself wreck my head.

I hear you, but at last we have some break from the assumption that kids in ads should all be from south Dublin and speak in a rather affected manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

We're in tough economic times.

The knackers are cheap voiceover artists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭conor678

I'd agree that bad eating habits and obesity is more of a problem in working class areas. I think this is mainly down to the cheap abundance of processed foods and fast food places combined with a lack of education in good eating habits which is more prevalent in working class areas.

I'm not being a snob but I remember when I was a child doing bag packing for my football club in a working class area of Dublin and was shocked at the large quantities of junk bought by the people and how many obese and fat children and people I saw.

In this respect the 'knackery' accents in the add is perhaps an attempt to appeal to the adds target audience of working class people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Hill Bicks

the only time you will hear a working class accents on the radio is when they want to portray someone as thick or ignorant hence all the working class accents in healthy eating ads (never mind the size of some of the heffers you see coming out of top restaurants who's food is cooked by......the working class)
    or they need thieves and scallys like in the eircom phone watch ads roll out the working class accents boys.

never mind the fact that the people who sent this country to the gallows are all "upper class". How many people on the board of anglo are D4 tossers? probably all of them. thanks a lot you bunch of inbred toffs well done... bula bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Damn oiks! rah rah rah!

That's only one of the ads. There's a few of them using different accents.

The Today fm rip off of the Dublin accent one is hilarious though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

conor678 wrote: »
    I'd agree that bad eating habits and obesity is more of a problem in working class areas. I think this is mainly down to the cheap abundance of processed foods and fast food places combined with a lack of education in good eating habits which is more prevalent in working class areas.

I'm not being a snob but I remember when I was a child doing bag packing for my football club in a working class area of Dublin and was shocked at the large quantities of junk bought by the people and how many obese and fat children and people I saw.

In this respect the 'knackery' accents in the add is perhaps an attempt to appeal to the adds target audience of working class people

I think that you probably are being a snob, but it obviously didn't prevent you from squeezing money out of poor people in a "working-class" store.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Idiots are idiots, class is irrelevant, pass me the battor borgor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Police Chief Wiggum

in reply to OP

whatever the unwashed lower classes fed robbie keane seems to have worked without
    patronising mumsy ex nurses in the hse indulging their addiction to being condescending to feel better about themselves:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Eamon_Dunphy

in reply to OP

whatever the unwashed lower classes fed robbie keane seems to have worked without
    patronising mumsy ex nurses in the hse indulging their addiction to being condescending to feel better about themselves:eek:

fantastic player, heart, soul, he's got it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

We're in tough economic times.

The knackers are cheap voiceover artists.

One pair have similar dub accents, the other pair have similar northern accents. I reckon they are brothers and sisters, the HSE execs who came up with the ad probably used their own children instead of hiring real actors and then pocketed the money.
    This also explains the REALLY bad acting by those kids.
    The boy with the shoes can't even pretend to meditate at the end of the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Haven't seen the ad in question, but it can't be any worse than that other little steps ad with the 'my body's a temple' kids. Hope they all die in a fiery accident!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭areu4real?

Storrrry bud, is that a fig roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

What happened to your career kid? Haven't seen you since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Is he giving out to himself or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

What id love to know is how did someone find this 2 year old thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

What id love to know is how did someone find this 2 year old thread...

Searching the words 'little steps advert' in Google for a bit of an ego massage and then coming by this thread in one of the searches I would guess......

Well worth registering to have a rant on a Wednesday afternoon I would say :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

conor678 wrote: »

so in essence you're saying all working class people talk with a " knackery " accent ?
    do you get out much and mingle with the great un washed - surprising number of accents - not all working class people are dragged up with little or no education , not all are poor at eating healthy foods
    so middle class kids dont eat crisps and pizza ? cop on will ya
    no fat kids in foxrock, blackrock ,howth ? think before you press the submit button

ya feckin snob
    whats the weather loike up on your middle class tower ?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Lets leave it at that.