Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you...

• 07-10-2010 1:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

...enjoy driving?

Or is it just a means to get from A to B for you?

Personally I love driving, I love getting into the car I love hearing the engine come alive.
    I love the engine note as you put the boot down,
    I love the backroads around home where the roads are twisty, eneven, bumpy, bendy, with slopes and hills,
    where you can really enjoy driving, really get to know your car and the road.

So do you?

If so why and if not why not?

Do you enjoy driving? 139 votes

Yes all of the time
    0%
    Yes but only some of the time
    63%
    Atomic Pineappledahamsta_Kaiser_Matt SimisJabbaTheHutPaddyFaganbrophyDe HipsterdeadduckHal1knipexgpjordanf1glynfpositronThe Real B-manBlackWizardomb0wyn5ehpij9qzRedorDeadspartacus93 88 votes
    No, its a means to get from A to B thats all
    36%
    SlaaneshStephenjoolsveerniallbfolanJohnDigitalleahcimhshorttEoinViper_JBKenny_DpeasantmuckwarriorCuddlesworthcantdecidecolm_mcmJoeySullyBeta Ray BillGhostInTheRuinsR.O.R 51 votes

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

It depends on the nature of the journey, roads to be used, traffic, weather, choice of car......

If most/all those are positives then yes I enjoy driving a lot. If not it can be a chore.

I enjoy it at the moment as I do less than 200 chillaxed miles a week, wasn't overly fond of it when I was a rep covering Munster and chasing my ass all the time. No when I used to drive Dublin to Cork after a 12 hour shift (night or day). Wasn't overly fond of driving Galway to Cork on Friday evenings either for a year, nor Cork to Galway on Sunday evenings that same year. I do enjoy a spin along back roads just for the sake of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

only if there is no-one else in the car. passenger reactions annoy me when I drive like I do by myself and throw the car around a bit on backroads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

if only there was only me on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I've grown to enjoy driving a lot... so much so that I'm spending the next year upgrading from my nice functional car, to one that will cost more in every sense but which is terrific fun to drive. If it was just to get from A to B, I wouldn't see the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Colts

I really enjoy driving on a nice day outside of heavy traffic. Especially long drives cross country.

In heavy traffic, road rage has a tendency to set in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

If I'm not going anywhere in particular and don't have limited time then yes, I tend to enjoy it. Otherwise traffic lights and other drivers can aggravate me and make it a less enjoyable experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I used to drive a horrible Ford boring Focus 1.4ltr ( i swear those cars are death traps. Severly underpowered I tells ya!! ) so no I didnt enjoy driving.

Now however I drive an Alfa GT so I enjoy driving lots. Even when traffics hard I'm safely encapsulated in Italian leather and nice surrounds with a bose speakered sound system.

I cant say I enjoy it all the time as theres always some idiot doing something stupid on our roads that upsets us but I would say most of the time.

I do enjoy it, as long as it's not a horrible storm or something :p
    It's nice in the evening with the radio on, have your own space kinda thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I don't enjoy driving my trudge mobile up and down to work everyday, and I because I do so much during the week, I let herself drive at the weekend - unless............

I'm lucky enough to bag something nice for the weekend, in which case I'll head anywhere just to drive. Really enjoyed the spin down to Portloaise the other weekend, even though it was all motorway it's just nice not to be doing the same stretch at the same time over, and over, and over again. Helped I had something half decent under me.

Now......525d M-Sport Auto (E60) in the garage. That might get a weekend outing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I cycle to work or college so whenever i drive there will be very little traffic so there's no stress involved. I love the feeling of acceleration, and the sound of a nice engine. Even driving a heap of a car at the moment i still love driving. I think a nice Alfa GT would only make things better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I cycle to work or college so whenever i drive there will be very little traffic so there's no stress involved. I love the feeling of acceleration, and the sound of a nice engine. Even driving a heap of a car at the moment i still love driving. I think a nice Alfa GT would only make things better!

You can take my word for it. It definately helps. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I enjoy it a lot more since I moved to a country that doesn't try to annihilate everything fun about it, and where fast cars are easily affordable to run as daily drivers.

My yearly tax (called 'registration') on a 4.6 litre V8 here is $48! It'll get cheaper as the car ages too. Insurance is also cheaper than it was on my 1.8 litre Civic back home. Costs about $35 to fill the tank with premium fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Stephen wrote: »
    I enjoy it a lot more since I moved to a country that doesn't try to annihilate everything fun about it, and where fast cars are easily affordable to run as daily drivers.

My yearly tax (called 'registration') on a 4.6 litre V8 here is $48! It'll get cheaper as the car ages too. Insurance is also cheaper than it was on my 1.8 litre Civic back home. Costs about $35 to fill the tank with premium fuel.

Damn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

In the last few months I have been cycling for any trip where I just need to get from A to B, but if I want to relax or chill or enjoy myself, I will take the car out! Just love driving, especially if its a couple of days since I have been behind the wheel, makes me feel like a kid again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Yeh but you have to put up with Americans :D

Worth it for 300bhp at the rear wheels :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Enjoy it all the time - the sound of a V10 screaming helps. I try to ignore my wallet screaming at the €160 per week it's costing me in juice.

What are you driving Bazman? I have yet to get behind the wheel of anything with more than 8 cylinders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I enjoy driving when there are no other drivers around. That never seems to happen at 8am on the n11. The weekend though is where i fit some real driving in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Worth it for 300bhp at the rear wheels :D

Isnt the speed limit like 65mph on motorways there?
    Live in the country side in Ireland, no one bothers you and the locals drive faster than car "enthusiasts", so you dont stick out. Sure tax is a bitch, but a yearly fee doesnt have to rule your purchase.
    What are you driving Bazman? I have yet to get behind the wheel of anything with more than 8 cylinders.
    If you went to the Boards Motors meet you would know that its an e60 M5!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Depends on the car. I love being in my 75 because it's got all the toys, sitting in the heated leather electrically adjustable seat, with an auto box, HK sound system, auto wipers, climate, cruise, you feel like you could drive to the South of France and not be tired. It's about letting the car do the hard work, and getting to your destination relaxed and entertained.

I love being in the MINI for a completely different reason, that car's not about relaxed driving, it's about looking for challenging roads, and enjoying being fully connected with the driving experience.

Then recently I had to drive an Avensis. No offense to Avensis owners, or Toyota owners in general, but I lost all interest in driving. I even stopped looking at other cars on the road in the hopes of seeing something interesting. It ended up being an A to B car, and I shifted into an A and B mindset. I could see how people who drive those cars would want an A to B car, but I'd love to take the average person who doesn't care about cars, put them into a Caterham in Mondello, or a Ferrari 430 around the Stelvio Pass and see does it make them excited about getting in a car for no reason other than to have fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

used to really enjoy it when i had an impreza, some roar off with witha blitz nurspec r exhaust and blitz induction kit, had to sell it though cos A, the missus got pregnant and B, i was puttin 250 euro a week into it

now i have a broing saloon ford focus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I enjoy driving a lot. And for some strange reason i like driving in snow. Most of the time its about getting from A to B but i enjoy it all the same. I like the maintenance thing too but not when it gets expensive or random, like stuck on the side of the road random.
    Thats why i drive jap cars. Been stung before!;)
    Although i see the attraction with alfas etc. i personally would not like the "thrill" of not knowing when it will break down. I think that was given as a reason to like them on top gear or somewhere!

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Isnt the speed limit like 65mph on motorways there?
    Live in the country side in Ireland, no one bothers you and the locals drive faster than car "enthusiasts", so you dont stick out. Sure tax is a bitch, but a yearly fee doesnt have to rule your purchase.

If you went to the Boards Motors meet you would know that its an e60 M5!

75 on the interstate, at least in Idaho. Which means everyone does a minimum of 80.

E60 M5... nom nom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I love going for a spin, but enjoy it a lot more on my own where I can turn up the stereo, concentrate on the drive, and not have passenger side-seat-driving going on beside me. :p

But.. I swear they can't drive in Meath/Cavan, but Meath particularly. The amount of dawdlers, tailgaters, "fast" :rolleyes: /overtaking lane hogging, and general muppetry that I encounter every day on and around the N/M3 is astonishing.

The ONLY benefit is that the M3 allows you to get past most of these fairly easily! It does help to have a decent-sized car with a bit of power when you need it though.

Honestly, people whinge about Dublin traffic but I'd take the city centre at rush hour over some of the crap I've encountered any day!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

Would anyone who hates driving post in the Motors forum?

I love driving everywhere. I get the bus to and from work, so when I do get into the motor at weekends it's not really for a purpose as such - it's just for faffing about and for driving somewhere just for the sake of driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I've got a love-hate relationship going on. I hate driving in town. Bunny hopping from traffic light to traffic light, that's not driving. I hate driving on good, straight roads and/or motorways. That's not driving either, it's like sitting in a train without the freedom to move around or look out the window/read the paper.

I love driving those crappy country roads though. Bends, turns, cambers, lumps, bumps and all. There's a challenge and a skill involved and in the right car it's all about feedback. When the seat of your pants and your steering wheel talk to you ...when you feel in control. I really love that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Driving in the cities is crap. Driving EVERYWHERE else is great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

I suppose as everyone else has been saying, it depends on the conditions!

Even in a not so sporty diesel A4, this last summer has given me some great days driving!
    Down with the windows, (and the foot):D across the back roads of Mayo!!;)

Its not perfect...but due to work and having to drive family here and there, I'm afraid its all I can have for now!

85 votes and no one has said no!

That amazes me due to the amount of negative posters that you usually see in motors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 bigSuzi12

I wouldn't take the car for a spin if I didn't have to go anywhere. That's what the bike is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Like driving at night in particular. Unfortunately the people who cant drive/drive unnecessarily slowly/drive gammy vehicles ruin it for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

draffodx wrote: »
    85 votes and no one has said no!

That amazes me due to the amount of negative posters that you usually see in motors!

Typically Irish....:D We complain but at the first chance of a change....we turn back!....Sure look at our current state...the people that are complaining are the ones that put these clowns back in power the last time!!!:p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Day to day, it can be variable, but generally I do like driving. A quiet twisty road with plenty of view ahead and god yea I love it. When you feel a part of the car. Doesnt have to be particularly fast either, just in case the beige people are getting uptight.

I like driving and I like the little things that cars can bring you to.

The last big snows were an example. An aged friend of an equally aged rellie needed checking up on and they live in the foothills of the dublin mountains. So I stuck wheels I had with snow tyres on. Went up roads with virgin snow(a lot easier than well driven roads to drive on I found). Taking it (very) slow, but feeling the car around the road. Highlight of the day; Stopping quite high up and getting out and just looking around at all the pristine snow. Then a pair of Guards in a big eff off four wheel drive stopped. "Are you OK, are you stuck?" says one. "No thanks Guard, just enjoying the view". His response; "Yea its lovely isnt it. Do you mind me asking? How the fcuk did you get up here in that?"(FWD jap yoke). Followed by "Fair play. Do you mind if we call you for a tow if we get stuck" and off they went with a smile. When I did get down to the bottom of the road, I saw them again and got a big smiley wave. Snow brings out the kid in us all :D

Another one a few years ago. Spotted a Ferrari 328 outside a shop. Cool enough, but this one had a little roofbox on it. :eek: :) I got talking to the owners and it turned out it was this retired English couple. He had always hankered after a Ferrari and when they retired she convinced him to buy one second hand at a reasonable enough price and they toured the UK and Europe in it and ended up in Ireland. Off to tour the ring of Kerry. They had put up a load of miles on it. Somebody's little granny and grandad. I thought how bloody cool is that? It wasn't stuck in some garage doing 100 miles a year. It was being used and enjoyed and driven. I reckon oul Enzo would have been well chuffed at the thought. :) According to the bloke it was unnaturally reliable too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I really enjoy water, but I wouldn't drink from the toilet bowl.

Unfortunately, I drive a toilet bowl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

yes, all of the time.

I enjoy when I'm put working further from my usual place as i get to drive a different route or at least a bit longer..I look forward to the end of work for the drive home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Love driving, car is just boring me at the moment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Tbh, I'm loving it more and more, and it's not a speed thing. I love the not-slow-down-for-corners thing. You just know your car can make it without slowing or braking........but it's still a little test to not comfort brake when you know the route is diverting.......:D :D

Of course, I ride the H-D to work everyday, and even when it's raining, there's something lovely about putt-putting at 80kph through the lanes to work (5 miles, countryside, no traffic) :D

Still, on the 2 days I do have to collect the 2 x small ones, I ride to work on the H-D, ride home to get the 968, and back out to the minder's in that. A sensible person would make one trip, in a Corolla. But hey, where's the fun in that ?:)

As an aside, the SO seems to like it too......her measure, when driving, is turning off the ICE, gearing down one, winding the window down, and listening to the fruity note of the back box........typical bloody gurl ! :p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

jenizzle wrote: »
    Would anyone who hates driving post in the Motors forum?

Exactly !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

shedweller wrote: »
    I enjoy driving a lot. And for some strange reason i like driving in snow...

Have to agree here! Better to let nature up the danger level, rather than push it yourself.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Tom Slick wrote: »
    Have to agree here! Better to let nature up the danger level, rather than push it yourself.
    + 1. You need the skills and get the feedback of driving 10/10ths at 100Mph +, but at 10 or 20 Mph(old money)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

I used to love driving but now it's just so tedious, unrealistic speed limits on perfectly good roads, more and more cyclists who think they own the road, slow and idiotic drivers who seem to be in a daze driving along looking at everything except what they should be and speed traps and soon to be cameras. It's certainly not as enjoyable as it was, for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

whilst taking lessons and preparing for my test earlier this year it was to drive the car A-B, but have to be honest, now that i have the freedom that goes with a car, i'm actully starting to enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

I love driving, and I do massive mileages, I kill four or five cars/vans a year, but I am never as happy as when sliding in behind the wheel and firing up the motor. I don't care what it is, a pile of dung or a ferrari, and I've owned and driven both, but I just love the freedom to get into a car and head off. My greatest pleasure in life is to take my two boys, a good reliable car, a credit card, and take a ferry to the UK or france, and just drive, going wherever I like, and seeing whats out there, no plan. I do it as often as possible. Day to day, I am only happy when the road is winding under my wheels. I hope my kids can do the same, but I fear the rise of the greens.

galwaytt wrote: »
    Exactly !

Two people voted no! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

I absolutely love driving.

Pretty much in all conditions, Be it pea soup fog, torrential rain, 2 feet of snow or beating sunshine.

Best part of the day is finishing college, slipping into my half leather/alacantara seats, turning the key, and cruising down the m50 with some good tunes.

Not forgetting the feeling of independence when you finally take that coming of age roadtrip! Gathering any cash you have, grabbing some mates and simply going somewhere you always talked about.

Driving is one of the greatest pleasures in life, endless possibilities . .and Im loving it! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I really enjoy being in the car. I'm only driving 4 years and driving quite a bit with work. The first 3 years was ok, but long journeys in a 1.4 Mk4 Golf didn't really do a lot for the imagination as you could imagine. Now that I have a Mk5 GTI I almost go out of my way to find an excuse to get out of the office. Love driving the thing. I could drive Limerick-Dublin-Limerick in a day on top of a few hours of work off site and it wouldn't be a bother to me. Having days like that back to back and I'm even happier!

82 people enjoy driving all the time :eek:
    So when bursting for a sh1t or a pee they enjoy driving, when stuck in a traffic jam and crawling along due to an accident or a flood or something they enjoy driving, ffs lads :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

RoverJames wrote: »
    82 people enjoy driving all the time :eek:
    So when bursting for a sh1t or a pee they enjoy driving, when stuck in a traffic jam and crawling along due to an accident or a flood or something they enjoy driving, ffs lads :pac: :pac:

My driving skills only really appear when Im rushing for the jacks. :pac: