Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Student Newspaper Now Taking Submissions

• 07-10-2010 9:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30

If you want to write for the upcoming student paper, send an email to communications@nuimsu.com with your:

*Name
    *Email
    *Phone
    *Area of interest

In the newspaper, there are writers and editors. Editors manage any particular section and its writers, and get the articles back to me (Rob here) on time. Writers send in an article (or two, or three) every issue. We already have all the editors we need, and a good bit of content, but if anyone wants to write they are absolutely more than welcome. Some of the standard areas of interest are:

*NUIM News
    *National Student News
    *Local News
    *Opinion, Letters (also accepting letters!)
    *Techie Stuff
    *Sports
    *Events (not limited to Union events; if your band is playing somewhere we'll help showcase it)

That's just part of it, we also have lots of other sections that already have the content done for the first issue.

For free, we also have a classifieds section for:

*Rooms for let
    *Books
    *Laptops

...pretty much any student-y stuff, so if you've got a spare room in the house you're trying to let, we'll happily publish it. Send it to classifieds@nuimsu.com.

Writers also get a writing style guide (which, if followed, will make your essays significantly more awesome).

*Rob

PS: Just saw Trinity's paper. I like our chances for Student Newspaper of the Year ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Just saw Trinity's paper. I like our chances for Student Newspaper of the Year

Controversial.

So do I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

UCD are the ones to beat tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭chillian17

banquo wrote: »
    UCD are the ones to beat tbh.

Speaking of UCD, hear about their law society and them 'booking' Tim Robbins to play? I can write about that and we can all have a good larf at UCD :D haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

poemz ftw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭The_Illuminator

Is this paper in addition to 'The Print'?

Yes to poems and all literary stuff.

It's replacing The Print.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

What about an agony aunt section???? It's always been a little dream of mine :rolleyes: *ahem*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

What about photos? Like abstract ones?
    eg.
    Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Do articles have to have a certain tone? What I mean is, do they have to be all serious or can they be more light-hearted? Just wondering seeing as it's now a newspaper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭A Changer

Also, hearing the first issue will be going to print so soon, were any prospective writers meant to have heard anything back yet? I applied a couple of weeks back and haven't been told anything since.

*is sitting on a pile of haiku* :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Computer Sci

MaynoothSU wrote: »
    If you want to write for the upcoming student paper, send an email to communications@nuimsu.com with your:

*Name
    *Email
    *Phone
    *Area of interest

In the newspaper, there are writers and editors. Editors manage any particular section and its writers, and get the articles back to me (Rob here) on time. Writers send in an article (or two, or three) every issue. We already have all the editors we need, and a good bit of content, but if anyone wants to write they are absolutely more than welcome. Some of the standard areas of interest are:

*NUIM News
    *National Student News
    *Local News
    *Opinion, Letters (also accepting letters!)
    *Techie Stuff
    *Sports
    *Events (not limited to Union events; if your band is playing somewhere we'll help showcase it)

That's just part of it, we also have lots of other sections that already have the content done for the first issue.

For free, we also have a classifieds section for:

*Rooms for let
    *Books
    *Laptops

...pretty much any student-y stuff, so if you've got a spare room in the house you're trying to let, we'll happily publish it. Send it to classifieds@nuimsu.com.

Writers also get a writing style guide (which, if followed, will make your essays significantly more awesome).

*Rob

PS: Just saw Trinity's paper. I like our chances for Student Newspaper of the Year ;)

Just a few questions,

(1) Could you not call it a newsletter? It's just that "newspaper" sounds a tad bit pompous and self-important.

(2) Could you not just make a website, instead of going through all that money and effort with regard to publication/ production etc for a newsletter that very few would probably read to begin with?

(3) Seriously, how much are events in NUIM worthy of their own newspaper? I'm sorry, but I can't help but get the feeling that articles will be comprised of "Mary is looking for her lost textbook", "Jimmy reviews canteen cauliflower and cheese", "Margaret wonders if the lighting in the new theatre is............." etc etc.

Don't get me wrong, if you have news worthy articles which aren't just about any old trivial nonsense – for the sake of fill up a few pages – then I might consider wasting my money on it. Otherwise if i'm looking for news i'll stick the indo or some other paper if I’m going to be spending €2.

Pardon my cynicism here, but if I want to find anything out about NUIM, I can just come to boards.ie or some other website - I don't need to buy a newsletter called “The NUIM Times”/

I'm sorry but I think its going to be a flop, put your time/ money and energy into something more productive like studying and books. If I (along with most people I know of) couldn't be ar$ed reading amateur local prints like the liffey champion, or spending money on it, I cannot for the life of me see how you think people are going to read a newsletter constricted to NUIM - and god forbid pay for it.

If it's free, I probably still wouldn't read it as I have better things to be doing than reading the most mundane, trivial nonsense penned by self-styled "roysh we're journalists now loike" students.

p.s. believe it or not sports and local news is covered in the liffey champion (I still wouldn’t buy it). Or you can simply use the google search engine to find out these things for free.

Sorry maybe i'm missing something here, but your post made me laugh, what with all the "newspaper" "editors" "opinion" snippets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Apologies for the really long post :o
    Just a few questions,

(1) Could you not call it a newsletter? It's just that "newspaper" sounds a tad bit pompous and self-important.

Well, it's going to be an actual newspaper with lots of pages'n'everything so there's no point calling it something it's not.
    (2) Could you not just make a website, instead of going through all that money and effort with regard to publication/ production etc for a newsletter that very few would probably read to begin with?

Probably would be a bit inaccessible to some people, not everyone is great at computers, even when they're at college :(
    (3) Seriously, how much are events in NUIM worthy of their own newspaper? I'm sorry, but I can't help but get the feeling that articles will be comprised of "Mary is looking for her lost textbook", "Jimmy reviews canteen cauliflower and cheese", "Margaret wonders if the lighting in the new theatre is............." etc etc.

Hell, I even think Sligo IT has it's own paper/magazine, so it's no harm in NUIM having one either. Especially seeing as this isn't exactly the first year of it.
    Don't get me wrong, if you have news worthy articles which aren't just about any old trivial nonsense – for the sake of fill up a few pages – then I might consider wasting my money on it. Otherwise if i'm looking for news i'll stick the indo or some other paper if I’m going to be spending €2.

Pardon my cynicism here, but if I want to find anything out about NUIM, I can just come to boards.ie or some other website - I don't need to buy a newsletter called “The NUIM Times”/

I'm sorry but I think its going to be a flop, put your time/ money and energy into something more productive like studying and books. If I (along with most people I know of) couldn't be ar$ed reading amateur local prints like the liffey champion, or spending money on it, I cannot for the life of me see how you think people are going to read a newsletter constricted to NUIM - and god forbid pay for it.

A few points:
    - The newspaper is going to be free. Well I assume so, it has been every other year I've been here.
    - I don't know if you were in NUIM when it was around, but people read The Spoke, which tended to be so awful it was laughable. I imagine this year's newspaper will be quite successful.
    - Some students at this college are actually quite good writers, so I imagine there'll be some pretty interesting articles :)
    If it's free, I probably still wouldn't read it as I have better things to be doing than reading the most mundane, trivial nonsense penned by self-styled "roysh we're journalists now loike" students.

p.s. believe it or not sports and local news is covered in the liffey champion (I still wouldn’t buy it). Or you can simply use the google search engine to find out these things for free.

Sorry maybe i'm missing something here, but your post made me laugh, what with all the "newspaper" "editors" "opinion" snippets.

You probably wouldn't find a whole lot of info about NUIM-based sports events/stuff going on in the SU by using google. Well apart from here, but I imagine about 90% of the student population haven't even heard of boards.ie

I don't mean to sound bitchy, I just know that a lot of people are putting hard work into this newspaper (namely this forum's very own banquo) so there's no point being dismissive of it before the first edition even comes out. Hopefully it'll change your mind about it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

- Some students at this college are actually quite good writers

But how many are good journalists? A newspaper penned by 'good writers' alone turns into what Computer Sci was talking about, a pompous essay rag full of trivial opinions and very little in the way of worthy news. At the very least you should run a few workshops to train your writers in the basics of journalism.

Also the style guide, the OP mentioned "if followed". There is no 'if' when it comes to following a style guide, it's not an optional thing people just do for the craic.

You've gotta be militant otherwise you'll be in for a world of hurt and all nighters spent editing down Arts students' flowery prose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭smiles302

I liked reading the print! I imagine this edition will be of the same sort of style? Book/Music/film reviews, general college news etc.

Did none of ye read it last year? Or are ye first years? It's worth giving the thing a read before voicing an opinion.

*hopes somebody thinks to ask James about* > http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/1008/1224280636129.html < Bit of University pride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Fenny

The only point I can make is that an "Arts student's flowery prose" is obviously not good writing, seeing as the mark of a good writer is to carefully consider the audience, content and medium of their written piece. And yes, you'll find there are quite a few good writers by that definition in Maynooth.

Also, The Print was an interesting enough read last year. For people who don't have an automatic "Oh I'll check boards!" response (unlike me :p), it gives some pretty useful info about clubs and socs, NUIM events and talks, political stuff happening around campus, and then general interest stuff like reviews and interviews. Oh, and as far as NUIM news not being worthy of a newspaper - NUIM has been in national newspapers quite a bit in the last while. For one, a research team from the Biology department finally pinpointed the moment of the Big Bang. I think that's a pretty newsworthy achievement. Even outside of academia, we've been covered because of protests against fees and educational cuts and against Bertie Ahern's appointment as an honorary Professor. You'd be surprised at the amount of events that take place on campus that are both newsworthy and in need of publicising - the Clubs & Socs noticeboards look a state with posters most of the time, and most academic departments don't update their websites a whole lot. Not even to get into national issues that might be (and have been in the past) of significant interest to NUIM students.

That said, you made one good point about putting the newspaper online. In addition to a printed edition, that'd be handy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

i always read the spoke (I didn't always like it, that canteen correspondant thing was cringe worthy sometimes), and i think its a positive thing for the college to have a paper. fair play to anyone going to the effort of organising it especially if they try to keep a good standard of interesting articles (and cut the pompous bull) i'm all up for it and would defo read it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

I gotta echo computer sci and their remarks regarding the newspaper. It seems like an awfully backward step to be funding a newspaper rather then creating a website.

You give the reason for this as "Probably would be a bit inaccessible to some people, not everyone is great at computers, even when they're at college".
    I don't really think that's a great reason, I think the college would be aiming to try and get all their students to have the skills to open a web browser and find a website. The college also have tons of computers for students to use. If you are worried about the numbers reading it, I am sure you would be able to email it to all student emails or get online subscriptions.

Newspapers seem like an incredible waste, looking at the cost of it firstly and the likely impact it will have in the college. Would it not be better to to use skills and resources available at the college, to build the website and run the magazine or whatever it will be from there? Plus it does not seem very green does it? I thought colleges were trying to be more green these days ;)

Plus, gotta ask, how much does it cost these days to produce a newspaper? If you had an option to make a website for pretty cheap, pretty much free considering the amount of CS students, or use a significant amount of money to fund a paper, why choose the latter? That money could be much better used.

On a positive side, I think the idea of producing news for students is a great thing and would love to see articles that are not just an ego-boost for the writers and editors.

Your first issue should look at why the old campus canteen segregates us mere common folk from trainee priests? Rather then putting reserved signs on tables (like I see for other groups who need the tables), it has weird office cubicle walls to prevent people from even looking into the priest section, ha. Not the most modern approach is it? When we have our student canteen rebuilt, are we going to segregate ourselves from outsiders too?

It would also be nice to see some articles looking at the prices of food in the college compared to food in the village and asking the bizarre question of why stuff seems to cost a hell of a lot more here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Rob, I'm just curious as to what sort of political tone the paper will be taking? Will political opinions that differ from the SU's stance on whatever the topic may be (fees, etc,.) be given a voice? Be it a FFer wanting to put forward the reasons for the current policy being introduced or a left wing supporters who feel current alternatives don't go far enough? In general I'm just curious as to how politics will be handled in the new look paper.

Anyone can write (pretty much) anything. Same rules as regular media.

Re:website - lemme just get the first issue of the paper out of the door, I'm just one man! After issue one I'll be turning my attention to the website properly.

Turn these into 500 word articles and I'll put them
    In.

This is how it works!
    I gotta echo computer sci and their remarks regarding the newspaper. It seems like an awfully backward step to be funding a newspaper rather then creating a website.

You give the reason for this as "Probably would be a bit inaccessible to some people, not everyone is great at computers, even when they're at college".
    I don't really think that's a great reason, I think the college would be aiming to try and get all their students to have the skills to open a web browser and find a website. The college also have tons of computers for students to use. If you are worried about the numbers reading it, I am sure you would be able to email it to all student emails or get online subscriptions.

Newspapers seem like an incredible waste, looking at the cost of it firstly and the likely impact it will have in the college. Would it not be better to to use skills and resources available at the college, to build the website and run the magazine or whatever it will be from there? Plus it does not seem very green does it? I thought colleges were trying to be more green these days ;)

Plus, gotta ask, how much does it cost these days to produce a newspaper? If you had an option to make a website for pretty cheap, pretty much free considering the amount of CS students, or use a significant amount of money to fund a paper, why choose the latter? That money could be much better used.

On a positive side, I think the idea of producing news for students is a great thing and would love to see articles that are not just an ego-boost for the writers and editors.

Your first issue should look at why the old campus canteen segregates us mere common folk from trainee priests? Rather then putting reserved signs on tables (like I see for other groups who need the tables), it has weird office cubicle walls to prevent people from even looking into the priest section, ha. Not the most modern approach is it? When we have our student canteen rebuilt, are we going to segregate ourselves from outsiders too?

It would also be nice to see some articles looking at the prices of food in the college compared to food in the village and asking the bizarre question of why stuff seems to cost a hell of a lot more here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

My thoughts:

1) There is no reason why we can't have both a good paper, and a good website.
    2) Not everyone can be at a computer at every given time. Hence having important information in paper format is also an excellent idea.
    3) Green? SRSLY? - These papers will more than likely be recycled in the numerous green paper bins in the university.
    4) Costs, will be covered by advertising apparently.
    5) The paper is a result of Rob keeping to his election promises, needless to say I am thoroughly pleased that he is. I am hoping that he will fulfil his promises about the website as well, but I am patient.
    6) If you looked at the First Year Handbook, you'll get an idea of how well designed the paper will actually be.
    7) Opinions and debate can be much much more structured in paper format. A forum is incredibly useful, but more often than not it descends into unorderly discourse.
    8) It allows us to compete with other universities for best paper or whatever. That's worth something too I think in relation to NUI Maynooth's standing as a uni.

Plus, no doubt many many more good reasons to have a paper.

So there'll be no editing of articles in general as such? Suggesting corrections to individual articles obviously, but you'll print what you receive? Look forward to seeing some interesting articles on the current political climate so.

Just for clarity: there'll be spellchecks and checks to avoid slander/libel/common publication practices, but outside of that I'm not going to silence anyone's opinion.

Note: except obvious lunatics screaming about a New World Order, that kind of thing. Quality control, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

banquo wrote: »
    Note: except obvious lunatics screaming about a New World Order, that kind of thing. Quality control, etc.

*e-mail sending* **** CANCEL CANCEL CANCEL :P

Cool Rob, I look forward to reading about the New World Order ;) Taught this kid during the summer who was into all that stuff, insisted Obama was trying to have him killed :D