Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ted Fest

• 06-10-2010 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever gone to this?

You cant check the prices for accommodation til after you buy a ticket. Can anyone tell me roughly how much accommodation is per head over the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

€150....:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Ouch

Now this is something i may have gone to, but at 300euro for the wife and i, no chance

Plus cost for hotel, closer to 500, without spends, who said there's a recession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Bring a tent and camp out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭anndub

Bring a tent and camp out..

I did consider this.....until I remembered that I would be on an Island in the Atlantic in February

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Friends went last year. They had great craic but said it was a rip off.

You essentially get feck all for your E150 and the craic is just messing about in the pub.

Where the money was spent last year is anyone's guess. Total rip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭La frog fairy

mates of mine went the 2 first years and they said it was mental!

they brought flashlight tho cause theres no lightening outside at night, one of them just ended up crashing on the ground somewhere...nice 150 euros spent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Friends went last year. They had great craic but said it was a rip off.

You essentially get feck all for your E150 and the craic is just messing about in the pub.

What does feck all entail? A room in a B&B, in a hostel? What?

"Feck all" isn't really telling us too much.

Its 150 a ticket. Ticket entitles you to entry into "events" over the weekend. Sounds like most of them never actually happen though so its just a big p**s up.

Just got a reply from the organisers and accommodation is about 40euro a head per night with a minimum of three nights having to be booked so I guess thats 270 euro before spends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Galadriel

What does feck all entail? A room in a B&B, in a hostel? What?

"Feck all" isn't really telling us too much.

I went a couple of years ago, it is good craic but the 150 just
    gets you access to the local pub and town hall. Accomodation is extra, think it cost us 150 between us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭elleburp

Double post

Sounds like a joke to me.... I'm not doubting its good craic though, once ye go with the right kind of people, i.e. friends who are good craic.

€150 for "access" = rippoff.

Do ye even get a free calander of the lovely girls?? :pac:

Just looked at their website there - good Jaysus it's terrible.

150 for a ticket that doesn't include accommodation or ferries does sound ridiculously expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

so you pay E150 for nothing really - thats terrible!!!! Me and the Rockery Man would love to go but thats just a total rip-off. Im guessing with accomodation, eating (probably jacked up prices in all the restaurants and supermarkets there too... and its an ISLAND.....)

It would cost about E600!!! at a guess!

I could get a decent foreign holiday for that - with good weather and cheap beer!!!! Tis a non-runner methinks!!!!:eek:

so you pay E150 for nothing really - thats terrible!!!! Me and the Rockery Man would love to go but thats just a total rip-off. Im guessing with accomodation, eating (probably jacked up prices in all the restaurants and supermarkets there too... and its an ISLAND.....)

It would cost about E600!!! at a guess!

I'm sure it could be done for a lot less than that.

The 150 is for access to the festival events. So it's not for nothing. Although it is a very high price I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Galadriel

I got a present of tickets one year for Christmas, but do agree it's totally over priced, insane at €300 per couple.

Who gets the 150?

I can't believe that electric picnic cost €240 with so many interesting art pieces and artistic acts, by tedfest standards it should be three times the price! .... Where is that €150 going?

elleburp wrote: »
    Who gets the 150?

I can't believe that electric picnic cost €240 with so many interesting art pieces and artistic acts, by tedfest standards it should be three times the price! .... Where is that €150 going?

I'm going to take a wild guess and say it goes towards the costs of the festival and to the organisers.

You can't really compare it to Electric Picnic. There's over 30,000 people at the Electric Picnic. What's the capacity of Ted Fest? 500? 1,000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Leitrim lass

I've been to Friends of Ted Fest as a Ticket holder Great craic and I have also worked at it last year really hard work.
    Many people as why it cost that much and after helping out with all the difficulties of putting on a festival on a small island I reckon its fair.
    There is loads of entertainment put on for the weekend and places like the hall become nightclubs for the weekend only for ticket holders . with stage set up lighting and security all over from the mainland. silly stuff from the show erected around the Island. The capacity is only for 250 ticket holders last year put on on two Islands over two weekends Ted fest and the dick fest.
    not easy building all that in feb taking it down, shipping to another Island and building it all again.....
    I guess overall its a festival for real Fans who arrive in costume and participate fully all weekend rather than folk who want to watch on from the cheap seats........Down with that sort of thing....

I'm going to take a wild guess and say it goes towards the costs of the festival and to the organisers.

You can't really compare it to Electric Picnic. There's over 30,000 people at the Electric Picnic. What's the capacity of Ted Fest? 500? 1,000?

Well, that's fair enough. Tedfest is a lot smaller than the picnic but is there portaloos at TedFest? Do they have people walking around cleaning the place up?

I honestly have never been so my question is and was a genuine one.... Where does the €150 go?

I've seen photos of Tedfest and it generally just looks like a knee's up in the local pubs, a bit of craic down the local playground and some messing about in the muck. Which is fine, what else would people expect? It's not being marketed as an arts or music festival.... But the question remains;

Where's the €150 going to? What does a participant get for their bucks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

This doesn't pertain to music really. Moved to Television, sorry mods if this is the wrong place for this thread.

Doesn't pertain to music? They made the eurovision.

"My lovely horse running through the............field,
    Where are you going with your fetlocks blowing in the .......wind,
    I want to shower you with sugar lumps and ride you over......fences"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

elleburp wrote: »
    Where's the €150 going to?

I'm sure its just "resting" in Ted's account :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭fluff_daddy

I'm sure its just "resting" in Ted's account :)

Nice - im thinking of going this year but having 2nd thoughts now reading these comments :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

It is expensive because it is so limited.

They sell 200-250 tickets... that is about €30,000.

I am quite happy to pay; have gone twice and am going again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭fluff_daddy

Jippo wrote: »
    It is expensive because it is so limited.

They sell 200-250 tickets... that is about €30,000.

I am quite happy to pay; have gone twice and am going again this year.

Is it not bloody freezin given the time of year its on? as in to camp out