Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trial of Roger Casement

• 06-10-2010 5:39am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

Does anybody know if a transcript of Casement's trial can be found online? I'm not, so far, having any success in tracking it down.

There's a book edited by George H. Knott entitled Trial of Sir Roger Casement (Philadelphia, 1917), the notes of which are: "This report of the trial of Roger Casement for high treason, and of the appeal to the Court of Criminal Appeal, is based on the transcript of the notes taken by the government shorthand writers each day of the proceedings."(NLI Catalogue)

This book doesn't appear to be online yet and is hard to find in a local library. Does anybody know of another publication which contains a transcript of his trial?

Thanks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Brian Inglis' book on Casement has his speech from the dock in the appendix, along with an interesting article by George Bernard Shaw. I haven't come across the trial transcript before, you could try your nearest academic library, trial transcripts are usually recorded in intimidating looking rows of legal books.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭johnny_doyle

not sure about online resources but the "1916 Rebellion Handbook" has quite a bit about the Casement trial and is worth a read.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭johnny_doyle

there appears to be material online now re the trial which hopefully is still of interest

http://www.archive.org/details/trialofsirrogerc00caseuoft

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭TheJackAttack

BBC did an article last week on the man himself.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-25017936

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

I think the BBC tried a bit too hard to play down his legacy to nationalists to try and paint a 'celebrated and forgotten by both sides' story.

He has gotten the 'premium package' for nationalist historical figures in terms of things named after him-A GAA stadium, a train station, an Air force base, several GAA clubs etc. Hardly distancing themselves from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

He has gotten the 'premium package' for nationalist historical figures in terms of things named after him-A GAA stadium, a train station, an Air force base, several GAA clubs etc. Hardly distancing themselves from him.

Not surprising if the majority of nationalists believed the Black Diaries were forgeries.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Feckin_Eejit

Not surprising if the majority of nationalists believed the Black Diaries were forgeries.
    The diaries are not forgeries. He was a naughty boy, was our Rodge!