Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unbelievable Stoate

• 06-10-2010 2:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭

Was out walking the fields with my Uncle not too many years ago. We're having a good old chat, walking away, and sussing things out before hunting season.

The next thing you know, a hare comes running up to us. The hare is not a pet, as we're in the middle of a field and these hares know, that from experience, you run from us.

Anyhow, this fella really, really, looks like he wants to be picked up. So, my Uncle does. Next thing you know, out pops a stoat - now I understand.

So we walk away and this fe#king stoat starts to follow us. We cross bushes and pokes his weaselly face out through the briers.

Of course, my trusty 12ga is at home. But don't you always have a shot when you don't have something to shoot?

Anyhow, let's just say that as a hunter/conservationist, I have no love of stoates and took several actions to discourage the stoate from following us. It was unimpressed.

The more fields we walk, the more it follows, and the more thankful that I am that upon arrival at home, Mr Stoat will be introduced to Mr Remington.

We get home, after a good 20minute walk, and Mr. Stoat is still lurking. The hare's pulse has calmed down quite a bit - thought he was going to explode when we saw him first.

By the time we arrived on property to the time I was back out with fully loaded shotgun was about 45s.

Of course Mr Stoat has now left the building!

If I had not been there myself, I wouldn't believe that an animal would have the cop-on to seek help from the hunters.

Fed the hare, gave it water, and lodgings for the night. Let him out in the field the next day.

Was so, indignant about the event that I actually brought a 22LR and a shotgun with me, but no Mr. Stoat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I thought "picked up" meant shot, because of the context. :D
    Good story :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

The stoat is a protected species and therefore you cannot kill or interfere with it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

That's a 'stoatally' incredible story!

Of course, it might not have actually been a 'real' hare, but a familiar of the Celtic Goddess of the Moon. The hare figures prominently in Irish folk-lore and legend. The great hunter, Oisin, was one of the boyo's who met with a hare that wasn't a hare in the end.

If you believe in that sort of thing, of course...... ;=)

Your good deed will not have have done you any harm, I'm certain.

tac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

No weasels in Ireland. Stoat has black tip to tail which weasel does not. The whole story sounds unbelievable: a healthy wild hare wanting to be picked up in order to be protected.:confused:
    Stoats are protected and cannot be shot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

No weasels in Ireland. Stoat has black tip to tail which weasel does not. The whole story sounds unbelievable: a healthy wild hare wanting to be picked up in order to be protected.:confused:

For the first time I find myself in 100% agreement with FaL. Is this a first?:D:D:D
    P.

For the first time I find myself in 100% agreement with FaL. Is this a first?:D:D:D
    P.
    Probably and will most likely never happen again:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

No weasels in Ireland.

Wrong, hes with the Greens and his name is GORMLEY or is it GORMLESS !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Who mentioned a weasel Feargal? FISMA talked about a stoat

In regards to the Scéal, well......
    I have seen a wild penguin jump into a boat with Tourist to stop a killer whale from killing it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

FISMA wrote: »
    Anyhow, let's just say that as a hunter/conservationist, I have no love of stoates

facepalm.jpg

Who mentioned a weasel Feargal? FISMA talked about a stoat

In regards to the Scéal, well......
    I have seen a wild penguin jump into a boat with Tourist to stop a killer whale from killing it!!
    Tac Foley mentoined weasels I think, but has since edited his post.

Aaaaah!

We have rabbits and a hedgehog in my back garden.

I have held hedgehogs without them curling into a ball.

Although, I would reckon that the stoat may have been a pine Marten as a stoat is a tiny yoke

I have seen a wild penguin jump into a boat with Tourist

Never saw that. How fast does the tourist have to swim to jump that high? :D:D
    Penguins under attack will swim so fast that they will ‘leap’ out of the water (like flying fish) to jump onto a floating platform – an ice floe or a boat look the same from underneath. Maybe the hare story was a wind-up?
    Stoopid thread

P.

Never saw that. How fast does the tourist have to swim to jump that high? :D:D
    Penguins under attack will swim so fast that they will ‘leap’ out of the water (like flying fish) to jump onto a floating platform – an ice floe or a boat look the same from underneath. Maybe the hare story was a wind-up?
    Stoopid thread

P.

I never said it was true or false, just gave my 2 cents.
    I'm sure if you are on facebook you will find the video.

It is not on youtube AFAIK, however it was doing the rounds a month or so ago.
    It was very funny watching the penguin in the boat and the Killer whale going mad in the water

Well, there are spupposed to be no giraffes in Ireland either, but I'm certain I saw one in Phoenix Park a while back...

tac

tac foley wrote: »
    Well, there are spupposed to be no giraffes in Ireland either, but I'm certain I saw one in Phoenix Park a while back...

tac

Well he must have escaped from the Zoo, normally only fallow deer abide the pheono, I never new you were in the republic recently?

...I never new you were in the republic recently?

Ah, was I supposed to tell you first? :O

To tell the truth I only go to Dublin to stock up on chocolate from the ould biddy with the hand-barra at the back of the market.

tac

tac foley wrote: »
    Ah, was I supposed to tell you first? :O

To tell the truth I only go to Dublin to stock up on chocolate from the ould biddy with the hand-barra at the back of the market.

tac

Well I'd love to travel as much as you!

You always slag me off for spending lots on rifles, however, you forget I always trade in, it took me many years to amass a few firearms, I had many for years that the sum total was under a grand

Well I'd love to travel as much as you!

You always slag me off for spending lots on rifles, however, you forget I always trade in, it took me many years to amass a few firearms, I had many for years that the sum total was under a grand

Believe me, you really wouldn't like to travel as much as I do. Read your PM.

Anyhow, I have never 'slagged you off' in any way. That is simply not my style. How and why you have acquired your collection is no business of mine. I have simply pointed out from time to time that pleading poverty - by anybody - when spending thousands of euros on fun-guns, top-of-the-line scopes and laser rangefinders can be somewhat frustrating to those who are REALLY poor, like me. The average cost of my current collection of guns, acquired over forty years, is an amazing £177.28, and THAT includes my Krico, that cost me over £800 back in 1988.

I have eight .22 rifles - and not a single one cost much more than £50.

tac

Well he must have escaped from the Zoo, normally only fallow deer abide the pheono,

Meself and the auld lad, the seanfhear liath, were out on the bog one day when the notion strikes him to obey the command of ‘Come dance with me in Ireland’ so off with us to Dubbellin for a gander at the gaffe above in the Park. Well, no sooner were we in the gates when this big booger of a scary yoke jumps up onto his shoulders. ‘Get down offa that ‘ roars th’auld fella, ‘afore I gives ya a clout.’ The roars outa him scare the Security Detail so we were told to clear the Eff off so the hairy yoke – a class of a HARE - invites us to adjourn to Ryans of Parkgate Street to have a few afore we depart. En route we come across a Giraffe rolling a joint. The hare runs up the Giraffe and says, "Hey, Giraffe. You shouldn't do that. Think of your health. You should go running in the Park instead!" The Giraffe looks at the hare, looks at the spliff, shrugs his shoulders, tosses the joint over his shoulder and runs off through the Park.
    After a while we come across an Elephant about to do a line of coke. The Hare says, "Oh, Elephant you really shouldn't do that. You should come running in the Park. It is much better for you." The Elephant looks at the Hare, shrugs his shoulders, then runs off through the Park after the Giraffe.
    Next we come across a Bear about to shoot up heroin. The Hare runs up to him and says, "Hey, Bear, you shouldn't do that, think of your health. etc, etc.
    Finally we come across a Tiger drinking his way through a six pack of beer. The Hare runs up to the Tiger and says, "Hey Tiger, you really shouldn't d that." and the Tiger immediately jumps up and starts beating the living crap out of the Hare. The auld fella grabs the Tiger and pulls him off the Hare and says, "What the hell are you doing?" The Tiger gets one more kick in and says, "Ah, that little effer really pisses me off; he always makes me run around the bloody woods when he's on Ecstasy!"

Moral of the story ??
    Expect anything when FISMA cradles a hare, Tack responds with weasels, stoats and finishes up with tourists flying with penguins! Goodnight!
    P.

Pedro mo chara, Nil aoin weasels ins an stait seo .

Oiche Mhaith, agus codlath samh!

I'd love to know what I did to you in a previous life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Don't ye be saying anything about my friend the Penguin.He's a great shot!He's real cool.laughing001.gif
    penguin002.gifpenguin009.gifpenguin013.gifpenguin015.gifpenguin002l.gif

Pedro mo chara, Nil aoin weasels ins an stait seo . Oiche Mhaith, agus codlath samh!

I'd love to know what I did to you in a previous life

Thanks Tack,
    I probably was something on the list, four-legged, and was shot at rather a lot:eek:.
    Don't mind me, take no notice. :):).
    If I had no regard for you I wouldn't bother taking the pi$$.

Regards
    P.
    PS Your spelling in Irish is only a little bit better;);):D:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

FISMA wrote: »
    Was out walking the fields with my Uncle not too many years ago. We're having a good old chat, walking away, and sussing things out before hunting season.

The next thing you know, a hare comes running up to us. The hare is not a pet, as we're in the middle of a field and these hares know, that from experience, you run from us.

Anyhow, this fella really, really, looks like he wants to be picked up. So, my Uncle does. Next thing you know, out pops a stoat - now I understand.

Not being smart, but how did the hare really, really, look like he wanted to be picked up? ( out stretched paws, tugged on the leg of your trousers).:rolleyes:

I know a stoat can follow a rabbit till it tires it out and then catch it, but find it hard to believe it can do the same to a hare which can cover a long distance in a short period of time!

Perhaps this was just a nice dream you had!!:p