Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alchohol doesnt agree with me!

• 04-10-2010 11:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭

Im a normal, sociable, friendly guy with what i consider to be decent moral standards. For the most part im fairly popular, i have an amazing girlfriend and a happy enough life for the most part.

Now the problem is the drink. Being from a small rural village alchohol plays a large part in my life. But the thing is my personality totally changes when i have had more than say 5 pints. I become rude, loud, opinionated, arrogant and just plain horrible! Much worse than your average drunken fool!

Take for example this weekend. I tore into a totally innocent girl that i barely know for absolutely no reason at all. Not pysically now, just verbally.

Now i dont really see giving up drink as an option because it really is a huge part of life where i live but at the same time i cant go on like this.
    Has anyone got any tricks or advice on how to go out for an evening and not get drunk basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Don't drink as much. Really, that's all there is too it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭neveah

Well if you are that bad then you should really think about giving up drink for a while, people will be talking about you and they won't want to hang around with you if you cause trouble and act the maggot!

If you really won't give up the drink then you could try some of the following:

- don't go into rounds with friends, stick at your own pace and drink slowly
    - maybe have a pint of shandy instead
    - drink a lot of water
    - stay away from any drink that doesn't suit you e.g whiskey, wine
    - don't drink shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

kylith wrote: »
    Don't drink as much. Really, that's all there is too it.

Yeah sounds easy doesnt it. I've tried many times. Sometimes succeed, mostly fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

But the thing is my personality totally changes when i have had more than say 5 pints. I become rude, loud, opinionated, arrogant and just plain horrible! Much worse than your average drunken fool!

Many people have a theory that your real personality comes out when you are drunk.

Anyway, have as many drinks as everyone, still do the rounds but substitute every second drink for a mineral

And no shots

neveah wrote: »
    Well if you are that bad then you should really think about giving up drink for a while, people will be talking about you and they won't want to hang around with you if you cause trouble and act the maggot!

If you really won't give up the drink then you could try some of the following:

- drink a lot of water
    - don't drink shots

Theres some good points there, shots are definitely my downfall.

Many people have a theory that your real personality comes out when you are drunk.

Anyway, have as many drinks as everyone, still do the rounds but substitute every second drink for a mineral

And no shots

I promise you that my drunk personality is not me, i despise that person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I'm the same, I gave up drinking 7 years ago for similar reasons, That and my increadibly low standards when drunk :P

Now I can go out with all my drinking friends and have a great time, I think I have like a placebo effect from being in the company of drunk people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I become rude, loud, opinionated, arrogant and just plain horrible! Much worse than your average drunken fool!

Now is that your own self-assessment or has someone told you this?
    Take for example this weekend. I tore into a totally innocent girl that i barely know for absolutely no reason at all. Not pysically now, just verbally.

This is the exact reason you SHOULD quit drinking altogether.... how many steps away are you from acting this out physically? Do you do this to your girlfriend too?

I raise these questions because I used to be friends with an alcoholic and he was someone I'd known for the last 10 years... grand with a couple of drink but no self control and he would just turn into this evil, nasty, horrid, rude just a plain damn bastard who verbally abused people in much the same way, and I understand acted out violently.....all his friends got so sick of his behaviour that he lost them all. He's got the big L imprinted on his head by everyone as a result, anytime I run into friends from those days, they have nothing nice to say about him whatsoever.

I think after this incident with this poor girl I hope to hell you've apologised for your behaviour!

If you can't quit the drink, exert some self control for a start. Only carry small amounts of cash on you so you can't over do it. Don't bring your atm card out with you. Don't get into rounds, opt out. And make sure you be a man about it and fess up to your 'friends' who enable this behaviour that you are cutting back. And I sure hope someone is pulling you up on your behaviour before you land in A+E and in prison for assault... I think you actually should keep an open mind to AA meetings.

If you feel like you wouldn't have the control to stop drinking before you get to that stage, then your only option is to give up drink. I mean, that's basically it if you want to solve the problem - cut back or quit.

You say you would find it hard to give up or to cut back, well then maybe like the previous poster mentioned AA would be a good place to start, because if you cant do either then you do have a problem with drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Yeah sounds easy doesn't it. I've tried many times. Sometimes succeed, mostly fail.

The thing is, you should be able to not drink or drink less if you don't have a problem with controlling your intake of alcohol. By the looks of things, you're not willing to drink less but are hoping that someone will come up with a magical solution that will stop you behaving the way you do when you drink.

neveah wrote: »
    - drink a lot of water
    - don't drink shots

This sounds like a good starting place, if the OP really does feel their social life will suffer if they quit drinking altogether. I drink shandies when I go out in town, it keeps my wits about me. It may not seem terribly manly to drink shandy, but it's a lot more gentlemanly than tearing into people for no reason!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Has anyone got any tricks or advice on how to go out for an evening and not get drunk basically.

Don't drink so much?
    As you come from a small town, you will quickly become someone to be avoided if you keep this up. Do you really want to become the town drunk?
    I'm not buying the 'not drinking is not an option' excuse. You can quite easily go to the pub and just have a few pints. Drink pints of water in between.
    My drink of choice is wine, but to make sure it doesn't go straight to my head I drink loads of water. It does make a difference.

Next time you see that girl, apologise for your behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

First of all, apologise to that girl for your crappy behaviour.

Secondly, either (a) stop drinking or (b) don't drink so much. Stay away from the likes of spirits / shots. Don't get into rounds and just have a couple of pints on a night out. Problem sorted.

Now is that your own self-assessment or has someone told you this?

This is the exact reason you SHOULD quit drinking altogether.... how many steps away are you from acting this out physically? Do you do this to your girlfriend too?

I raise these questions because I used to be friends with an alcoholic and he was someone I'd known for the last 10 years... grand with a couple of drink but no self control and he would just turn into this evil, nasty, horrid, rude just a plain damn bastard who verbally abused people in much the same way, and I understand acted out violently.....all his friends got so sick of his behaviour that he lost them all. He's got the big L imprinted on his head by everyone as a result, anytime I run into friends from those days, they have nothing nice to say about him whatsoever.

I think after this incident with this poor girl I hope to hell you've apologised for your behaviour!

If you can't quit the drink, exert some self control for a start. Only carry small amounts of cash on you so you can't over do it. Don't bring your atm card out with you. Don't get into rounds, opt out. And make sure you be a man about it and fess up to your 'friends' who enable this behaviour that you are cutting back. And I sure hope someone is pulling you up on your behaviour before you land in A+E and in prison for assault... I think you actually should keep an open mind to AA meetings.

To your first question its just my opinion but some things you dont need to be told.

Yeah i did apoligise to the girl and fair play she accepted. Like i say she's a nice person who didnt deserve it at all.

Em, i think some of you might have picked me wrong. Firstly im not voilent, at all. Theres no chance whatsoever of me hitting a girl ever.
    Actually people find it hard to believe but im with my girlfriend for over two years now and we've never even had an arguement.

And secondly im not an alchoholic or even close. I would drink maximum 4 times a month, normally only twice. So maybe the AA meetings might be an extreme measure.

The only problem really is i dont know my limit and cant say enough is enough. Simple as that. Thank you for all the responses though, appreciate the input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,735 ✭✭✭✭Penn

You know your limit. The problem is you will care less about that limit with each drink. Take the advice of people here. Don't get into rounds. Drink water between pints. Stay away from shots and spirits. Maybe even if there was one of your friends who you could ask to help you, make sure to slow you down if he sees you starting to lose it

Now i dont really see giving up drink as an option because it really is a huge part of life where i live but at the same time i cant go on like this.
    And secondly im not an alchoholic or even close. I would drink maximum 4 times a month, normally only twice. So maybe the AA meetings might be an extreme measure.

The only problem really is i dont know my limit and cant say enough is enough. Simple as that. Thank you for all the responses though, appreciate the input.

OP, a bit of a reality check is needed here, in fairness.

You say you're not even close to being an alcoholic yet you say in two of your posts "drink is a huge part of life where I live" and "I don't know my limit and can't say enough is enough".

That in itself is a problem with drink. An alcoholic doesn't necessarily mean the drunk slumped on the street at midday, there are so many forms of alcoholism in this country.

You say you don't know your limit and that where you live, life revolves around drink. There are plenty of people in small villages / towns who don't need to drink to have a good time. And people can be responsible with drink because they know their limit and quit while they are ahead.

You on the otherhand don't know what your limit is and turn into a horrible person when you do get drunk. So you are not able to cope with alcohol at all, and judging by what you've said here, you'd be better off staying away from it altogether.

Jees, I can't understand the complete and utter dependence on drink in this country in order to be able to socialise, it's pretty pathetic.

Hey OP,

my OH doesn't drink or just drinks very little at times and he also avoids getting into rounds with the lads as previously posted.
    If he doesn't want to be "hasseled" with people asking about him not drinking, he also gets thoses non alcoholic beer and a lot of times noone even notices (especially this german wheat beers that come in a big glas are looking exactly the same (like Erdinger alcoholfree) or even the bottles of Becks non-alcoholic look pretty similar and unless someone is looking closely people often just don't notice.)
    Maybe make every second pint or bottle an alcohol free one, so you're only drinking half the amount!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I promise you that my drunk personality is not me, i despise that person!

Truthfully, you probably don't, you just feel a bit bad for a while about whatever you do and then you get over it.

If you despised it you'd do a better job of not getting that drunk.

Not being a dick, just pointing out your not as into the concept of change as you wish you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Hey OP,

my OH doesn't drink or just drinks very little at times and he also avoids getting into rounds with the lads as previously posted.
    If he doesn't want to be "hasseled" with people asking about him not drinking, he also gets thoses non alcoholic beer and a lot of times noone even notices (especially this german wheat beers that come in a big glas are looking exactly the same (like Erdinger alcoholfree) or even the bottles of Becks non-alcoholic look pretty similar and unless someone is looking closely people often just don't notice.)
    Maybe make every second pint or bottle an alcohol free one, so you're only drinking half the amount!
    That's a good idea.

Another one I've heard is just to say 'I can't drink, I'm on antibiotics'.

To your first question its just my opinion but some things you dont need to be told.

Yeah i did apoligise to the girl and fair play she accepted. Like i say she's a nice person who didnt deserve it at all.

Em, i think some of you might have picked me wrong. Firstly im not voilent, at all. Theres no chance whatsoever of me hitting a girl ever.
    Actually people find it hard to believe but im with my girlfriend for over two years now and we've never even had an arguement.

well you've identified those issues as a flaw in yourself so it's up to you to do the hard work in fixing them.

my advice = quit alcohol altogether. It's clear by your binge drinking and you're bullying power trip/intimidating behaviour towards the poor girl that you have a problem with it. It's sounds like there's a lot more to this that you're letting on. Ripping into a stander by that did absolutely nothing to you shows wow what a man you are for a start... and secondly it identifies that you have self esteem and insecurities. Was your girlfriend there at the time? Has she seen this drunk side of you? I doubt she would stand by you if she saw this behaviour. I think you're in denial that you have a problem at all as it's pretty obvious you do from what you've posted here.

You say you wouldn't hit a girl but you think it's acceptable and OK to violently verbally abuse someone? It's abuse all the same, you might have well as decked the girl.

Again as already said by a wiser poster here, alcoholism doesn't mean being blind drunk 24/7 or slumped drunk in the streets by midday... If you turn into a vicious nasty person who launches into verbal tirades at someone you barely know for no reason, then you definitely have a problem! If you did that while sober, people would certainly have something to say about it.

You've been given good advise here - moderation, responsibility, self control, choose non alcoholic beers and beverages - try that and see how it goes before your drinking gets further out of control.

Truthfully, you probably don't, you just feel a bit bad for a while about whatever you do and then you get over it.

If you despised it you'd do a better job of not getting that drunk.

Not being a dick, just pointing out your not as into the concept of change as you wish you were.

No you're not being a dick but you are being wrong. If you didnt want to offer any help or advice thats totally fine. But instead you disregard everthing i said and came to your own conclusion about me!
    So let me ask you ....

Why on earth would i post on a forum 3 days after an event if i 'just feel a bit bad for a while then you get over it'?!
    Why have i practically stopped going to the pub (the social center of where i live)?
    Why is it that i have a social event coming up at the end of the month which im dreading because it revolves around alchohol?
    And why is this whole aspect my life making me miserable if im just not
    'into the concept of change as you wish you were'?

Why is it that i have a social event coming up at the end of the month which im dreading because it revolves around alchohol?

You have a problem with alcohol if you are "dreading" this social event "because it revolves around alcohol".

No social event revolves around alcohol. People at social events may drink, but the whole thing is not about alcohol, it's about the gathering of friends and having a good time.

You have to stop looking at alcohol in this way because right now you are giving off the impression that you have a big problem with alcohol. For someone who claims not to drink much, you're getting awfully hung up about upcoming social occasions etc.

If you don't drink as much as you claim, then what is the problem here? Can you not just NOT go wild and drink yourself into a stupid state? Can you not just have a few pints? What's the problem with that? Why isn't that a solution for you? Or could you just not drink for a while? If none of these are a solution for you, then perhaps a trip to AA is what you need in fairness, because unless you do have a problem with drink and giving it up, then those solutions should be fairly easy for you to do.

And if the idea of going off the drink is worrying you in that you may look stupid in front of your friends coz you no longer drink, we're no longer living in the dark ages. Plenty of people don't drink these days and what with breath-testing, etc. lots of people don't drink because of the whole having to drive the next day. And if your friends make fun of you for not drinking, then they are idiots and ain't true friends anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

No you're not being a dick but you are being wrong. If you didnt want to offer any help or advice thats totally fine. But instead you disregard everthing i said and came to your own conclusion about me!
    So let me ask you ....

Why on earth would i post on a forum 3 days after an event if i 'just feel a bit bad for a while then you get over it'?!
    Why have i practically stopped going to the pub (the social center of where i live)?

In what way does it "revolve around alcohol"?

Is it in a pub? Is it a beer/drinking festival.
    If it's the former, pubs have other drinks that aren't alcoholic. Drink less and slower than you usually do, stay out of the rounds, drink plenty of water, don't drink on an empty stomach, etc etc.

If it's the latter, well, same as above, really.
    If anyone asks you what's up, jsut say you're trying to cut down on the drink a bit.

As others have said, there is no magical way for you to be able to "not get drunk and angry". Just cut down on the drink, and try not to "keep up" with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Because generally when people repeat the same patterns of behaviour they don't want to change as much as they think they due. The fact that you have implied you do this repeatedly tells me you get over it the next time you go drinking.

Because you are incapable of having a couple of pints and stopping?

No idea, see above?
    And why is this whole aspect my life making me miserable if im just not 'into the concept of change as you wish you were'?

Once again see above.

This is not the kind of thing that should be making you miserable mate, it's the kind of thing that should cause you to think "Maybe i should only drink 4 pints" and then go out and only drink four pints.

If people are giving you **** over not drinking, frankly, **** those people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

Normal drinkers don't really dread an event because of alcohol, they either drink a sensible amount or don't drink it shouldn't be that difficult.

I don't think your an alcoholic, bit thats not to say you don't have an issue with alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

The regularity of someones drinking is nothing to do with whether they are an alcoholic or not. Some alcoholics are the quintessential bottles of liquer in the cistern types who drink all day but others are just like you; only drinking maybe once a week etc but losing control and unable to stop when they commence.
    The only problem really is i dont know my limit and cant say enough is enough. Simple as that.

That is the classic definition of an alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

There's only one solution to your behaviour problems when drinking; drink less alcohol.

That means drink slower (no shots, no shorts, no alco-pops)

Don't get into a "round" of drinks.

Drink pints of water at the same time as your alcohol drinks so that you pace yourself better.

Ask your gf or a mate to tell you when you've had enough, but make that agreement when you're both 100% sober and be serious about it. When he/she says stop, you stop!

Be at peace,

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Hi OP, I feel your pain about this, because I have been in the same situation. I certainly wouldn't call myself an alcoholic (I can go for weeks without drinking) but I do feel that I have an issue with alcohol. I am a female and found that at least 3 times a year, I was going out, getting absoulutly sloshed and doing something that I was totally ashamed of the next day. The catalist for me was when I got totally pissed at a family function (no one else was near as drunk as me) and got verbally abusive with my nephew, yes that's right, a 13 year old child. You can imagine how I felt the next day and for weeks and weeks after (my stomach still sinks when I think about it, 18 months on).

There is no easy answer to this, I did consider giving up drink altogether, but I hated the thought of not being able to have a glass of wine with my sisters or a couple of glasses of champagne at a wedding. I think some of my problem stems from being from a small town where there was very little else to do but go out and get pissed. I grew up thinking this was normal behaviour, when of course it is anything but.

After that event, I started looking hard at myself and how I behaved with alcohol. I could pin point why I got like that (drinking wine all night) so started by pretty much giving up wine for a while. I now drink a little wine, but only if I know I am only having a couple of glasses. I won't drink wine at all if I know I'm going to be out for the night, I just stick to beer. I also don't drink shots (never really drank them anyway so that wasn't much of an effort.) I now try and cut myself off before I get to the stage where I can't make a conscious decision, so if I am being picked up, I will arrange a lift before I start drinking and just stick to that. Before, I would keep drinking til all hours and then ring looking for a lift.

As previous posters have said, there is no easy solution. You just have to try and ask yourself, do I really need this extra drink? Will I feel better both physically and emotionally in the morning if I don't drink it?

I have a much healthier attitude to alcohol now, I think a lot of it comes with getting a bit older (i'm 31 now) I don't want to be one of those women who are still getting totally sh*tfaced at 50! I think I know that I have used all the excuses now and if I have another bad incident while drunk that I will have to abstain completely.

Good luck OP. There is no magic bullet, but hopefully by admitting you have a problem, you will think twice about having that extra pint that will tip you over the edge. Try and get your GF to help you, she can probable see the signs and might be able to help by letting you know when you are getting stroppy and before you get to the really bad point.

my advice = quit alcohol altogether. It's clear by your binge drinking and you're bullying power trip/intimidating behaviour towards the poor girl that you have a problem with it. It's sounds like there's a lot more to this that you're letting on. Ripping into a stander by that did absolutely nothing to you shows wow what a man you are for a start... and secondly it identifies that you have self esteem and insecurities. Was your girlfriend there at the time? Has she seen this drunk side of you? I doubt she would stand by you if she saw this behaviour. I think you're in denial that you have a problem at all as it's pretty obvious you do from what you've posted here.

You say you wouldn't hit a girl but you think it's acceptable and OK to violently verbally abuse someone? It's abuse all the same, you might have well as decked the girl.

Wow talk about exagerating. You should write for a tabloid you really should. Ok i have a few issues with the above paragraphs so i'l break it down into pieces.

'bullying power trip/intimidating behaviour towards the poor girl' - a thing that really annoys me is the mis-use of the word bullying. We seem to be turning so politically correct that any arguement these days is bullying.
    Youre being way over the top there. As for power trip, you dont seem to know what a power trip is, again totally sensationalist.

'sounds like there's a lot more to this that you're letting on' - no, theres not. Its exactly as im 'letting on'. Dont be so ridiculous.

'Ripping into a stander by that did absolutely nothing to you shows wow what a man you are for a start' - Well she wasnt actually a standerby. I havent really stated what the row was about because its not too important but lets just say she wasnt just picked at random, in fact she picked me. Problem as i already mentioned was that i totally flipped which is very out of character for me.
    And it was nothing to do with 'showing what a man i am', where are you getting that from? Im 27 for gods sake not 17! And start of what?

'secondly it identifies that you have self esteem and insecurities' - again no. Im actually very confident in myself.

Was your girlfriend there at the time? Has she seen this drunk side of you? I doubt she would stand by you if she saw this behaviour. - Yep she was. Wasnt too impressed now at all! Cant really blame her. But you think she should dump me for that? Considering she knows how out of character it was and how much i regret it you think our very strong relationship should come to an end? Youre watching too much home and away!

I think you're in denial that you have a problem at all- How can i be in denial about my problem if i came on to a discussion forum and started a thread outlining my problem in detail? That makes no sense at all!

You say you wouldn't hit a girl but you think it's acceptable and OK to violently verbally abuse someone? - no i dont think its ok. Thats my whole point! Where did i say its ok to 'violently verbally abuse someone'?
    Seriously are you just trolling?

It's abuse all the same, you might have well as decked the girl. - Ok well if you think calling someone names is the same as physical assault then you have more problems than i do!

Im a normal, sociable, friendly guy with what i consider to be decent moral standards. For the most part im fairly popular, i have an amazing girlfriend and a happy enough life for the most part.

Now the problem is the drink. Being from a small rural village alchohol plays a large part in my life. But the thing is my personality totally changes when i have had more than say 5 pints. I become rude, loud, opinionated, arrogant and just plain horrible! Much worse than your average drunken fool!

eh, not trolling, just pointing a few obvious things out. I suggest that you re-read your original post above. You've taken the defensive attitude here, not just with my posts but others.

what's home and away? the soap or the travel show? I'm 28, not 15!! Not watched that soap show since I was a teen.

Bottom line is that YOU have admitted you have a problem with your behaviour when it comes to alcohol.

You blatantly stated in your original post that you "tore into a totally innocent girl that i barely know for absolutely no reason at all. Not pysically now, just verbally."

You have gone to the lengths of twisting your story mate in response to my last post.

The advice of not drinking shots, avoiding rounds, moderation, less cash on you, etc etc have all been given to you.

And no, social functions of any sort don't revolve around drink - they only revolve around drink when you have a problem with drink and how it alters your personality when you consume too much.

If you're worried that you may, at this social function coming up, not be able to restrain yourself from going overboard, then whoever you are going with be it friends, your girlfriend, family members, etc maybe it wouldn't be a bad idea to mention to them to keep an eye on how much you drink and if they think you're overdoing it a bit that they take you aside and sober you up/give you soft drinks/non alcohol beer?

If it's a particular small private function you could maybe say it those serving you to stop serving you at a certain point. Or even make sure that those with you ensure to not encourage shots. I know it may sound humiliating to have to do, but when the temptation is there and everyone else is having some you'll feel more inclined to take it against your better judgement.

It may be a good idea in advance if you can to check out what beers or non alcoholic beers are available to you and stick to that.

In the end, I hope you have a good positive night at the function coming up and that it goes well - do bear in mind some of the suggestions made here and the advice given.

Would it be an option that if the pressure of drinking too much becomes a factor, or that people start with shots, that you could head away from the social function early?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

But the thing is my personality totally changes when i have had more than say 5 pints. I become rude, loud, opinionated, arrogant and just plain horrible! Much worse than your average drunken fool!

Now i dont really see giving up drink as an option

So the only options that you see are zero or five pints ? There's no in-between ?

As stated above, drink less.

You don't go out for a meal to eat so much that you'll puke or be a nuisance, so don't drink so much that you do likewise.

eh, not trolling, just pointing a few obvious things out. I suggest that you re-read your original post above. You've taken the defensive attitude here, not just with my posts but others.

what's home and away? the soap or the travel show? I'm 28, not 15!! Not watched that soap show since I was a teen.

Bottom line is that YOU have admitted you have a problem with your behaviour when it comes to alcohol.

You blatantly stated in your original post that you "tore into a totally innocent girl that i barely know for absolutely no reason at all. Not pysically now, just verbally."

You have gone to the lengths of twisting your story mate in response to my last post.

The advice of not drinking shots, avoiding rounds, moderation, less cash on you, etc etc have all been given to you.

And no, social functions of any sort don't revolve around drink - they only revolve around drink when you have a problem with drink and how it alters your personality when you consume too much.

If you're worried that you may, at this social function coming up, not be able to restrain yourself from going overboard, then whoever you are going with be it friends, your girlfriend, family members, etc maybe it wouldn't be a bad idea to mention to them to keep an eye on how much you drink and if they think you're overdoing it a bit that they take you aside and sober you up/give you soft drinks/non alcohol beer?

If it's a particular small private function you could maybe say it those serving you to stop serving you at a certain point. Or even make sure that those with you ensure to not encourage shots. I know it may sound humiliating to have to do, but when the temptation is there and everyone else is having some you'll feel more inclined to take it against your better judgement.

It may be a good idea in advance if you can to check out what beers or non alcoholic beers are available to you and stick to that.

In the end, I hope you have a good positive night at the function coming up and that it goes well - do bear in mind some of the suggestions made here and the advice given.

I know i did get a bit defensive in my last post but its just because it seems like you either didnt read my previous posts, or didnt believe them.
    I find that frustrating. I do however appreciate all the replys and suggestions.

What i stated in my original post was accurate and correct and i have no idea how you seem to think im twisting it. Can you give me examples?

Some good suggestions have been made yes, i totally agree.

You say social occassions dont revolve around drink. Actually SOME do.
    The one im going to most certainly does!
    Some people say give up drink- and yes i can do that. But the problem is i just find it more enjoyable if i can have a few pints. Yes a few pints, not getting totally mullered. I would just love to be able to go out have a few and come home pretty much sober. Unfortunately i find it hard to do.
    Other suggestions such as staying out of rounds and no more shots in particular were good. Those two really are the rock i perish on!

Would you believe i have asked all my local pubs not to serve me shots. Not once have any of them done this for me!

Anyway thanks for the well wishes, appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

ncmc's advice is spot-on. You don't need to give up drink entirely by any means, but it does sound like you need to cut back.

If you think 5 pints is your limit, you can tell yourself 'I will stop at 5 pints', but with each pint you have, your inhibitions are being lowered, and the next one is easier to have then the last one was. I have tried this many times myself and it doesn't really work.

Try having 2 or 3 pints, with non-alcoholic beers or water or whatever in-between and see how you go. The fact is that if that much alcohol changes your personality in a way you don't like, the only solution is to not drink that much alcohol.