Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SPOOKED!

• 04-10-2010 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭

index_71_2322133196.jpg
    Spooked is a reality style documentary where six carefully selected young people are placed in a "haunted" house for the weekend. There they discover if the house is truly haunted or not. Will the sceptics remain sceptic when they stay in this haunted location? A psychologist will feature in the programme and will assess the participants over the weekend. There will also be a number of paranormal investigators and a medium involved, to help tell the ghostly stories of the house or the location. This is a light hearted documentary on how the mind works and responds to suggestion.

Episodes: 1 - Tuesday 5th October, 10.00pm RTÉ TWO

OH ... and guess who the handsome guy with the glasses is ;)

spooked.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

6th wrote: »
    OH ... and guess who the handsome guy with the glasses is ;)

spooked.jpg
    Isn't that one of the guys from OK Go? ;)

20100106212131!Tim_Nordwind.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Just wondering actually about that show and your post came up.

Going to watch with an open mind but I think I would prefer an actual live show - like most haunted live. Anyway looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

So, anybody watching? Pure comedy gold!

It's actually one of the more entertaining shows RTE have done in a while.

Arse.. I forgot about it!

Will watch on iPlayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Congrats on the show.

Agree with the humour side, the Jedward wannabe is funny, and the voice over guy brings some good lines

Just as an FYI in case anyone, like myself, missed it..

It's repeated on Sunday at 11.05pm on RTÉ Two. Not a big fan of the RTE Player so have this set to record instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

I'm watching also. :o

Fairly cringe worthy stuff. Some funny bits, though. I'm just watching for the end to see what evidence they come up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

Such Rubbish

Seriously......they're stuck for material for this show

Were you actually expecting footage of ghosts?

I quite liked it. It was silly, but in an entertaining way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

one of those Ghostmythbusters guys is a bit of alright...
    isn't that right 6th?!:D;):D

thought the girl with the red hoody was a bit of eye candy, until she spoke that is.
    one or two of them seemed like a bit of craic, the rest would have gotten spooked by a fart noise.
    it was entertaining though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I'm seriously happy with this. It was never going to be a hardcore investigation show because and hour of watching people look at monitors and analyzing audio footage would be arse ..... still better than most stuff on RTE though!

Nice that they showed the guys calling shenanigans on the medium but obviously a bit of frustration that not everything could be shown in 53 minutes.

Thankfully everyone involved in it had a sense of humour and didnt take themselves too serious. Find me a person that wouldnt have a laugh doing something like that and you've found a dry shyte :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

why is rte giving time to these scam artists

Which scam artists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

They picked a boring ' safe ' cast as usual , typical Rte .They should have hired some entertaining people for once .Those two fairies were pretty irritating and that style character has been done to death by Jedward . It would be a laugh taking part in the show but not with them dire gits .

If anyone wanted to be scared they should have switched over to Rte 1 and watch a real scary horror . It was called ' The Home ' .

Surprised no one mentioned that the dark girl in the front of the picture above actually wore a nappy at one stage in case she shat or pissed herself at night because she was scared to go to the toilet . It would have made the show if she did piss or shat herself. Ah well another fail by Rte . Still mildly amusing all the same.

6th wrote: »
    Thankfully everyone involved in it had a sense of humour and didnt take themselves too serious. Find me a person that wouldnt have a laugh doing something like that and you've found a dry shyte :D
    That's the thing. If it tried being all serious like the stuff on UK Living, it would have died a death in the first couple of minutes.

Well done for your break in stardom. :D Is this a series or a one off?

And I agree with crustyjuggler that a more interested and diverse group of people would have been a lot more interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Scariest part seemed to be when the twol guys realised they'd forgotten to pack their hair straighteners. At least 'Big Dave' rescued them.

Odd RTE did not show it closer to Halloween.

It was a pilot so hopefully with enough interest it will be picked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

I watched the last 45 minutes and here are my views -

I didn't like the medium at all she wasn't a people person.

Was there a ouija board being used - I didn't see one so I don't know how they came up with dates. And this yes or no thing using a glass wasn't for me.

I didn't like the woman who gave her opinions about the contestants - ie., these two shouldn't be friends - who cares - a total waste of time.

I enjoyed the guys from the "investigation team" - they made the show for me - however I would have liked to see them give more opinions - and I would have liked to see somebody on their team to be the "Ciaran O'Keefe" character. All the team members seemed sensible and not afraid of their own shadows - but I honestly thought they should have been in from the start - and I don't think the guy should have gone into the bedroom with that pair - he should have been able to say "here's your bus fare home goodbye"..

I thought Jean and the blonde haired girl were good contestants - the other four were just fame hungry and not for me personally. The blonde made good calls regarding the medium and the glass on the table.

Would watch another episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

I don't know who is worse RTé for making and airing this horse**** or the people who believe in it :confused:

As said though it was comedy gold........ but for all the wrong reasons :D

For anyone that believes in any of this nonsense especially those who believe that a child's toy is a gate way to the spirit world.

Skip to the 2 minute mark

• Site Banned Posts: 1 spiritlover

i thought it was very good,and the investigators were very professional and not in yer face at all,i hope to see more series,i think it would be a great success,who cares about ppl who dont believe in it,they dont have to watch it,we see enough of rubbish about the governement and banks,its about time the put something of real interest on on rte..WELL DONE EVERYONE ON SPOOKED:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭SWEETCAN2000

I can't believe some of what I'm reading here!! The show was a pile of horse manure in every respect.

I watch a lot of paranormal programming and this is just an embarrassment. Wet behind the ear media students could've made a better go of it.

Utter tripe.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Watched this for 15 minutes whilst eating...nearly choked laughing (for the wrong reasons as mentioned above)...especially at the culchie guy who knew all the nooks and crannies of the house...what an accent.
    The airheads chosen to take part are what eventually convinced me to switch over...anyone watching RTÉ2's output of late would be forgiven for thinking the country is exclusively inhabited by morons...

I can't believe some of what I'm reading here!! The show was a pile of horse manure in every respect.

I watch a lot of paranormal programming and this is just an embarrassment. Wet behind the ear media students could've made a better go of it.

Utter tripe.:eek:
    I'd love to know what high quality paranormal programming you watch. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Anyone got a video of this? I missed it lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

For anyone that believes in any of this nonsense especially those who believe that a child's toy is a gate way to the spirit world.

Skip to the 2 minute mark
    People say if you know how to use it right, it can get fantastic results if you don't have a clue about a location you go to and get a famous person from it. Too many people don't have a clue how to use one. Althought that is only what iv been told..

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Anyone got a video of this? I missed it lol.
    It's up on the RTE Player here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭SWEETCAN2000

humanji wrote: »
    I'd love to know what high quality paranormal programming you watch. :D

Anything else would be considered higher quality compared to that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

calex71 wrote: »
    I don't know who is worse RTé for making and airing this horse**** or the people who believe in it :confused:

As said though it was comedy gold........ but for all the wrong reasons :D

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

This is being repeated on RTE2 now for anyone interested.