Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pricing four new tyres?

• 03-10-2010 11:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,291 ✭✭✭

Hi guys, I have the NCT coming up at the end of the month. Need four new gyres for the car. Any idea what this will cost me? Living on a budget so need to get a ball park figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

It's gonna cost you money :D

(That's about all the info you'll get with out specifying sizes etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭Shane732

Here's a rough idea for you....

There the fronts.... Good value when you think about it. Oh the tyres are for a Nissan GTR by the way!!!

Give details of tyres sizes!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Your question is pretty much akin to how long is a piece of string OP. If you look on the sidewall of one of the tyres you have on it will show the tyre size. It might be something like 195/65 R15... Prices will vary considerably based on this figure. This will be a very good starting point for somebody to provide you with a ballpoint figure. After that it will depend on the quality of tyre you want and sometimes even the name has a lot to do with it...bit like cars really...Again prices will vary considerably. Seen as you seem to be on a tight budget somebody might be able to provide you with a minimum figure you should expect to pay. I have found that it pays to spend an extra few quid per tyre as they will pay for themselves generally in the long run. You will be more likely to get blowouts, faster wear, collapsed sidewalls, sagging etc with a bargain basement budget brand. Conversly so I also feel that the top name brands and tyres are not always worth the price premium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Deedsie wrote: »
    Hi guys, I have the NCT coming up at the end of the month. Need four new gyres for the car. Any idea what this will cost me? Living on a budget so need to get a ball park figure.

I dont know about others but when i did my Nct,I went to tyre garage and they didnt charge me for four new tyres.They charged for reasonable ones.I am sure if you went to Tyre place they could do a deal for you.

caseyann wrote: »
    I dont know about others but when i did my Nct,I went to tyre garage and they didnt charge me for four new tyres.They charged for reasonable ones.I am sure if you went to Tyre place they could do a deal for you.

Bit unsure, but assume from reading your post that they stuck on four pre used but still legal tyres for you caseyann?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Bit unsure, but assume from reading your post that they stuck on four pre used but still legal tyres for you caseyann?

Yes that is what they did thanks:),Couldnt remember the term used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

My money is on about €250

Plug wrote: »
    My money is on about €250

Bets being taken on it now?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

It will cost you exactly 4 times the price of one
    So there you have it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

And whatever you do OP, don't put on cheap chinese sh1te.

Fuelled a Passat 2.0Fsi on Friday that had 4 practically brand new Triangle's on. It was wet and I had wheel spin (even with Traction Control on) in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gears, and nearly had a "moment" on a roundabout, at a lower speed than I'd usually take it.

Bets being taken on it now?;)
    Yeah winner gets 4 new tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Yeah winner gets 4 new tyres.

Paid for by Plug :D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

R.O.R wrote: »
    Fuelled a Passat 2.0Fsi on Friday that had 4 practically brand new Triangle's on. It was wet and I had wheel spin (even with Traction Control on) in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gears, and nearly had a "moment" on a roundabout, at a lower speed than I'd usually take it.
    Cool - must get myself a set! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

kbannon wrote: »
    Cool - must get myself a set! :D

If you want to go drifting, they'd be ideal for the rear's :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,291 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Sorry lads, pretty useless opening post. They tyres are for a 2006 VW Golf tdi. There are factory for alloys on it. I think they are 15 or 16's. I'm not sure though.

I am just trying to find out exactly how much I need to put aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

For an average brand name tyre fitted and balanced about €350 - 400 euro. Very rough estimate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

...exactly how much I need to put aside.

Some exact details would be a help. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Sorry lads, pretty useless opening post. They tyres are for a 2006 VW Golf tdi. There are factory for alloys on it. I think they are 15 or 16's. I'm not sure though.

You should see somethng like the following on the side of the tyre (in large letters)
    tyre_size.gif

In order to give a decent answer, we would need to know this info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

I've been pricing and researching tyres for my 2003 Astra (195/60 15)

Vredstein, Firestone, Continental €75 each
    Bridgestone €80 each

I'm looking for a 'quiet' and good wet handling tyre.
    My research seems to point to Hankook or Uniroyal.

Click here for tyre comparisons -
    http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/products/total_tyre_guide/213186/tyre_guide.html#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭hurleronditch

Jeez a Volkswagen Golf driver who knows nothing about cars/their own car. Surprising that.

For good tyres you need in the region of 70euro per corner minimum, though you'd probably find some chinese or preworn crap somewhere for under 50 if you want to pass the test

Pay for good quality tyres and they will last loner than cheap crap + better grip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

OP never got back about tyre size. Someone has been digging up all the threads about tyres for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Pay for good quality tyres and they will last loner than cheap crap + better grip!

I agree on better grip, but not on the lasting longer bit. Generally, the better the grip, the softer the compound and the quicker they wear.

I have Kumhos on my car at the moment, the grip is inferior to other dearer tyres that have been on the car, but they've lasted 50% longer. It's a trade off. TBH, I probably won't go for them again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

R.O.R wrote: »
    If you want to go drifting, they'd be ideal for the rear's :pac:

I have them on my passat too. There is sunnys on the back..:o. I was talkin to a mate that has a taxi and he got 205/55/r16 pirellis for 80 euro a corner. I thought that was good enough value fitted tracked and balanced..............

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Not true at all. Better grip = softer compound = faster wear.

The other side of that argument is that "cheap crap" may last longer than more expensive tyres (harder compounds developed for warmer countries give poor grip in wet / cold conditions here, but never wear out - a bit like fitting commercial grade tyres to a car)

I can confirm the tyres are 195/65/15, so I need to keep it as economical as I can for four new tyres.

I also need to replace the bushings on the car before the NCT, how much would you suggest this might cost on a 06 Golf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,614 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

If you are on a budget, want name-brand tyres and are prepared to buy used: www.tyreland.ie

Not your ornery onager

I tried to contact them there to try get an estimate. Hopefully they will get back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭woody33

If you buy 4 at the same time, you might get a discount. Uniroyal Rainexpert are not too dear and get good reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

Just priced 4 new tyres 175/70 R14, two years ago, €160, now, no tyre centre locally will sell ANY for under €190. No amount of haggling would drop the price further.. Some recession....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

FWIW: Just got a pair of Uniroyal RainExpert (why I got Rainexpert) from camskill for 120 euro incl delivery.

I just got an email from the discount tyres place. Would cost €172 fitted and balanced for four "grade A" tyres. Grade A tyres are tyres with 6mm tread remaining continental and Dunlop tyres in stock today in the size I require, but these could be gone as stock turns over regularly. What do ye think? Good idea/bad idea?

Oh one other thing! Should I get the bushings replaced before I balance/align the wheels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

biko wrote: »
    FWIW: Just got a pair of Uniroyal RainExpert (why I got Rainexpert) from camskill for 120 euro incl delivery.

Any issue in getting a garage to fit them and what would a garage charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

I just got an email from the discount tyres place. Would cost €172 fitted and balanced for four "grade A" tyres. Grade A tyres are tyres with 6mm tread remaining continental and Dunlop tyres in stock today in the size I require, but these could be gone as stock turns over regularly. What do ye think? Good idea/bad idea?

Oh one other thing! Should I get the bushings replaced before I balance/align the wheels?

Recently got 2 195 x 65 x 15's fitted and balanced in Leixlip. Kumhos for €62 a corner. Decent all rounder tyre.
    Woulp pay extra few quid if ya can. They were doing dunlops for €55 but looked muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭bongi69

Just got a quote for 175/80R14 88T's for a golf. €173 all in for four new (nankang or something like that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭DubDani

bongi69 wrote: »
    Just got a quote for 175/80R14 88T's for a golf. €173 all in for four new (nankang or something like that).

also known as "ditch finder". :D

You would be better off investing a few Euro more on some decent tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Dingatron wrote: »
    Any issue in getting a garage to fit them and what would a garage charge?
    40 euro fitted with a local garage, might cost less with Clonboo tyres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Tomo1987

Triangle tyres are absolute muck! when I bought my civic they were on it and after a number of wet weather incidents I changed them even tho they still had at least 80% left on them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

bongi69 wrote: »
    Keep them as a quote and buy something better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

My local tyre place may have been winding me up as they usually do but the tyres i bought from cam-skill they said they could do cheaper and had in stock. (falken fk452 )

So shop around.

Again they may have been winding me up as i know them and they like to do that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

My local tyre place may have been winding me up as they usually do but the tyres i bought from cam-skill they said they could do cheaper and had in stock. (falken fk452 )

So shop around.

Again they may have been winding me up as i know them and they like to do that kind of thing.

How much were they saying they were gonna charge ya?What size?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

Tomo1987 wrote: »
    Triangle tyres are absolute muck! when I bought my civic they were on it and after a number of wet weather incidents I changed them even tho they still had at least 80% left on them!
    Have a set on the car now, they are great tyres in the dry, the grip is outstanding but once some rain comes :eek: they are dangerous, must replace them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 saltcoats

whatever you buy make sure they have the E mark on them for the NCT or you will fail and have to go and buy the correct EU marked tyres.
    this has been discussed on motors before surprised no mentioned it before to you and as for price there must be some tyre places around where you live why dont you take a drive around and ask them their prices much better than expecting to pay X amount and then getting the sh*t scared out of you when you get the bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

i bought 4 infinity tires 195 65 R 14 for a 2005 ford focus lx saloon last year for the nct. 45 euro each.... slide like an icerink in the wet conditions or on roundabouts.... in the dry they are grand but one of em is nearly worn already..the garage said they were a best seller but i dont know if i would get em again. they had hankook for 65 or bridgestone for 85..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭bongi69

DubDani wrote: »
    also known as "ditch finder". :D

You would be better off investing a few Euro more on some decent tyres.

Cheers for that. Was a bit hesitant and then did my research.

Am up the north on saturday, so phoned and got a quote from Kwik Fit for £55 a tyre for firestones. Sold! :D