Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poonsawat beaten today in Japan

• 02-10-2010 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭

I don't think anyone has heard of this yet but Poonswat lost his WBA title he beat Bernard Dunne for in Japan today. He lost by decision and according to Boxrec, two cards were very close. Bit of a surprise considering he was considered #1 at SBW

Poonswat's boxrec profile with result of fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Bit of a shock alright, will be very interesting to see the video, particularly with two of the cards being very close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,366 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I ain't all that surprised. Jeez, when he Ko'd Dunne, many were making him out
    to be so brilliant. The guy never overly impressed me, and I would have favored the likes of JML and Caballero over him. Hell, Cordoba almost did it; Sidorenko did do it, albeit a controversial win.

I said months ago that Munroe would be a very tough opponent for PK. I still think that. You have a half decent chin, bit of size and skill, and you wil cause this little little man problems.

PK has had three fights since Dunne? All three went the 12 rds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

walshb wrote: »
    I ain't all that surprised. Jeez, when he Ko'd Dunne, many were making him out
    to be so brilliant. The guy never overly impressed me, and I would have favored the likes of JML and Caballero over him. Hell, Cordoba almost did it; Sidorenko did do it, albeit a controversial win.

I said months ago that Munroe would be a very tough opponent for PK. I still think that. You have a half decent chin, bit of size and skill, and you wil cause this little little man problems.

PK has had three fights since Dunne? All three went the 12 rds?

He stopped one of those in the Fourth, it was the second defence of the title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

His two victories after the Dunne fight were by decision and ko.

According to boxingscene it was a close fight, but Lee was landing the better punches throughout the contest.
    So is it case of Lee is a good fighter or Poonsawat is overrated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

unknown13 wrote: »
    He stopped one of those in the Fifth, pretty sure it was first defence of the title

http://boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=69288&cat=boxer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I wonder what GBP make of this. They recently signed him. He needed to keep winning to get the bigger fights now it doesn't look likely for a while. Realistically he will have to someway get a shot at Nishioka after he hands Munroe a beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Seems like he might have been another one-trick horse like Kiko Martinez. Both had power and KO'd Dunne early and then couldn't handle fighters with boxing skills and a better chin than Dunne. Someone said Munroe would cause Poonsawat trouble and if the Munroe/Martinez fights are anything to go by, he's probably right!

His two victories after the Dunne fight were by decision and ko.

According to boxingscene it was a close fight, but Lee was landing the better punches throughout the contest.
    So is it case of Lee is a good fighter or Poonsawat is overrated?

I have seen PK several times before the Dunne scrap and thought he was your average tough little Thai. Nothing outstanding at all. He can throw punches, take them and has great stamina. But, he is very methodical, almost lazy, if that makes sense. The man who beat him the other night was 5'8".
    Now, as I said, size, reach and skills, with a half decent chin has to be problematic for PK, who must be about
    5'4". Had Dunne a half decent chin he too could have outpointed PK.

Take Kiko, who I believe to be a very average run of the mill fighter, he surely could give PK a great scrap. Both are so small, good diggers and with good chins. I cannot see PK dominating Kiko, nor Kiko dominating PK.

Big Bang Casey too would surely do well, unless his chin isn't up to it.
    We will really get a gauge of Casey when he meets Kiko.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Big Bang Casey too would surely do well, unless his chin isn't up to it.
    We will really get a gauge of Casey when he meets Kiko.

He has a solid chin, dont worry about that.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    He has a solid chin, dont worry about that.

I assume you have the sore hands to prove that;)

No, but seriously, Casey, so far, from looks, seems to have a great engine and fine chin, but he still has to meet bigger hitters and more skilled hitters etc. Only then we can gauge his true worth. I would be confident that his engine and chin could hang with Kiko and PK. Casey's style and size would find issues against taller men who are tough and skilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I assume you have the sore hands to prove that;)

No, but seriously, Casey, so far, from looks, seems to have a great engine and fine chin, but he still has to meet bigger hitters and more skilled hitters etc. Only then we can gauge his true worth. I would be confident that his engine and chin could hang with Kiko and PK. Casey's style and size would find issues against taller men who are tough and skilled.

Fought and sparred him and as ya know i am not feather fisted!
    his main issue is going to be against a technical boxer, Kiko is not that so this fight will be interesting, there quite similar actually..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

cowzerp wrote: »
    Fought and sparred him and as ya know i am not feather fisted!
    his main issue is going to be against a technical boxer, Kiko is not that so this fight will be interesting, there quite similar actually..

bit of a write up in yesterdays paper(mirror i think) about the two lads. neither reckon it will go the distance and casey said whoever can take the punishment n recover quickest will win!

makings of a very interesting fight i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Heard this earlier today alright, missed the stream as i didnt factor in the half day time difference arrggghh. Was surprised at the result if im honest but from what I have read elsewhere it sounds like the fight went similar to the first 2 rounds of DunneVPoon. The jap was apparently on the back foot the whole fight but won out with cleaner shots throughout but was caught a few times by big shots which nearly had him in trouble. Poon is fairly one dimensional alright, head down marchin forward type of guy but as tough as they come and rock solid. As the jap has proved he is beatable but 36 minutes is a long time to avoid that big right hand he has.

Poon & Kiko are moon miles apart in class although style wise i can see the similarities. Be interesting to see where PK goes from here although if he can keep golden boy behind him he could swing a rematch or a fight between the winner of Cordoba-Rigondeaux would be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Big Ears wrote: »
    Bit of a shock alright, will be very interesting to see the video, particularly with two of the cards being very close.

and particularly with yer man having every single one of his pro fights in that very venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

any one happen to catch the fight?

i watched it and think poonsawat can consider himself unlucky. dont know waht fight the judge that scored in 118-110 against poon was watching. dont think lee did enought to win the title.

anyone agree/disagee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme