Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beginner - Couch to 5k?

• 01-10-2010 8:15pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey all, I'm a total newb here! I'm not sure if this thread is more appropriate for here or the fitness forums, so mods feel free to move it :p

Anyway, I'm a 19yo female, totally unfit and want to get into running. My eventual goal would be to do a marathon within the next two years (depends on how this running stuff goes), but baby steps for now - couch to 5k programme. I just have a few questions to ask about it before I begin.
    • Now, this might seem like a stupid question but... Where do I get decent running shoes? And how much am I looking to pay for them (I'm a broke student :o)? I don't want to injure myself obviously, so I want to make sure I'm wearing stuff designed to run in rather than my crappy old trainers :P
    • Secondly, when starting off the couch to 5k, should I be running or jogging? Should I be aiming for speed or just constant movement for the time allocated, to build on later on?
    • Lastly, would it be beneficial to do some weights or something on days that I'm not running? I am starting this fitness stuff from scratch so I'm thinking every little helps at the moment :P. Just want to know if it would be worth my time.

Anyway, thanks for reading. I'd really appreciate some answers to my questions (if you'll excuse my newbishness!). Thanks in advance. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Welcome to the world of running. Your addiction starts here.

I'm currently on the Couch to 5K programme myself and I find it quite good. With regards running shoes, most people on here recommend you go to a technical running shop. There, they will check your gait (how your feet land and move when you walk and run etc) and will suggest runners specific to your type of feet etc. I'm not sure where you are based, but I went to Amphibian King in Bray and they seem to be good. My runners cost me €115 so not exactly cheap. But then that's €5 less than two physio sessions so it's there you go.

With regards running or jogging for the intervals, just do it at a pace you can manage. If you go too fast, you will find it hard to maintain for the entire duration of the running/jogging intervals. Just do whatever pace is suitable for you and see how you go.

It's a good programme I have to admit. When I started I could barely jog for 90 seconds, literally. The second week contains 90 second jogs and I was struggling. I'm on Week 8 now and I can jog 25-28 minutes solid with no breaks. So stick with it, it does pay off. If you are finding it too tough and aren't ready for the increase in jogging the following week, just repeat the week you are on. Most people repeat a week at some point, I know I did. There's no rush as to when you have to finish.

I don't know if you have an iPhone or iPod but you can get apps and stuff for them that give you audio prompts so you're not always looking at your watch trying to figure out when to start and stop the different sections.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Wow €115 was a lot more than I was expecting for shoes :eek: but if they'll prevent injury than I suppose I can't really afford to skimp! I'm based in dublin, so I'm sure there's some running shops in the city centre where I can those sorted. Again, recommendations would be nice :P

I don't have an iPhone I'm afraid, just a samsung :P I can get apps on it though so it might have something similar I could use for timing the intervals...thanks for the tip!

I must say, hearing that it's worked for you has boosted my confidence that I can do this. I'm both excited and a little nervous to get started, but mostly excited! Can't wait to buy some runners and go run!

I think it's a good idea to buy decent runners. I think there's a place in the city centre called Runners or something. I also think Elvery's do gait analysis.

Just don't go into some normal sports shop and buy runners from some muppet who doesn't know a runner from a slipper and will sell you whatever Eminem or whatever the scumbag's are wearing :P

The apps are quite useful I find, especially at the start. Also make sure you stretch before and after your workout.

I struggled the first few weeks and was thinking I'd never be able to do the longer jogs but I now can. So just stick with it, you'll be grand. I was nervous the first day too, so I just went out early one Saturday morning about 6.40am when no-one was around.

It's actually great jogging first thing in the morning. It's quiet, no-one is around, it's really enjoyable.

Yeah, I didn't want to go into Lifestyle sports or something - they don't seem to be "proper" sports shops (to my unexperienced eye :P)? They seem to be filled floor to ceiling with tracksuits I've only ever seen skangers and scumbags wearing (with bottoms tucked into their socks :confused:). But that's besides the point :P

Thanks for the encouragement! I might try some early morning jogging, since my area is quite urban. The only problem with that is that dawn's getting much later these days, it might be too dark.. :/ Sure we'll see how it goes anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Runways in Parnell St is a good 'runners' shop. You may not need spend a huge sum on runners. The expensive arn't always the best. Once you get a gait analysis done you can then shop around. Don't be told you need to pay over a €100 for shoes - nobody does, a good pair of shoes should come in between €50-€90 (cheaper on the internet).

That's more like what I was expecting to pay - what a relief! If I didn't buy the shoes in-store, would I still need to pay them for the gait analysis? How much (approx.) would that be? Also, does the analysis take very long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Fi H

Runways on Parnell St is where ya want to go :)
    Its up near the UGC cinema

Awesome, I'll pop into town tomorrow afternoon and get some shoes. Then I can start running! I'm half-paranoid they'll laugh me out of the shop for wanting to run, but feck it - I'm sure it'll be fine :)

That's more like what I was expecting to pay - what a relief! If I didn't buy the shoes in-store, would I still need to pay them for the gait analysis? How much (approx.) would that be? Also, does the analysis take very long?
    Don't pay for an analysis. In Amphibian king you run up and down a small runway in your bare feet and they video your feet to see how thay land on the ground (whether your ankles bend in or out or stay parallel to the ground). They also test your foot arches (flat foot etc). I think in runways you'll run on a treadmill. It only takes about 5mins, painless and your not obliged to buy (although not buying may be a little cheeky after getting the analysis done). Also for your first pair of runners you'll need to make sure of the sizes so it maybe not a good to buy them over the internet for your first pair.

Awesome, I'll pop into town tomorrow afternoon and get some shoes. Then I can start running! I'm half-paranoid they'll laugh me out of the shop for wanting to run, but feck it - I'm sure it'll be fine :)
    Nobody will laugh at you, your doing something positive. Look at some of the logs here, you'll find alot of people who started like you, their now running marathons. The first couple of months are hardest, but it gets easier.

That's very helpful, thanks. I just had a quick look on the runways website, and their range of runners seem to be pretty expensive :(. If they'll prevent injury though, they'll be worth it! I'll consider it an investment (or a very early christmas present to myself :P).

They are expensive, your first pair of runners are the most expensive, but once you know the fit and your gait you can then shop around on the net. These guys are local, often have clearance sales and good customer service - www.sub4.ie and you'll find some of the UK based sites are othen cheaper.

I just completed Week 8, Day 2 of Couch to 5K this morning and I have to say I feel really, really good now after it.

The reason I'm saying this is to motivate the OP to get our of her bed and get the runners now, rather than wait till this afternoon and the shops are heaving :)

Do it OP, no excuses!

:D:D:D

I'm only just out of bed now (waaaaaaaaaay overslept - oops!), and I have to go to orchestra rehearsals soon before I can go into town I'm afraid... But I'm really excited to start now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

:D:D:D

I'm only just out of bed now (waaaaaaaaaay overslept - oops!), and I have to go to orchestra rehearsals soon before I can go into town I'm afraid... But I'm really excited to start now :D

Oh do start, like GM said, once you start you get addicted.
    We all had to start out and figure out our own pacing, and you will have crappy sessions and then you'll have a break through and want to keep going!
    I'm on the fence between week 4 and week 5, just not comfortable to move on yet, no harm in repeating at any stage (I've done it a few times)

Good Luck with it!!

Well, I got my shoes in Runways today! I was fairly apprehensive going in, but it turns out for it was for no reason - the staff were really friendly and helpful. As it happens, I have a neutral gait which seems to be a good thing (right? :D). Now all I have to do is put on my shoes and go out - I'll probably go for a run first thing in the morning. Wish me luck! :)

Cool. What runners did you end up with in the end?

I have Asics GT-2150's and I find them very good, but I over-pronate so I need something with extra support to try and correct that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Bit late to this but first off fair play on your ambitions setting yourself long term and short term goals is great for staying motivated. Secondly before you get two worried it is very do able to get into running from scratch adn there are many of people (both on here and not) who have similar background to you who have gone on to perform very well in regards of running. Best advice i can say to you is keep it fun. its a hobby so if you are not enjoying things find ways to make it fun ( run with friends or head phones etc) and listen to your body regarding injuries (over time you will be able to distinguish between injury niggles and just uncomfortable feeling from pushing yourself hard.

[*]Secondly, when starting off the couch to 5k, should I be running or jogging? Should I be aiming for speed or just constant movement for the time allocated, to build on later on?

[/LIST]

where the plan says easy running the general rule of thumb is the talk test if you can hold a conversation with someone at that pace your not going to hard. At the beginning it is just about time on your feet building building your aerobic base. your pace will improve as a result of you becoming fitter so dot worry

[*]Lastly, would it be beneficial to do some weights or something on days that I'm not running? I am starting this fitness stuff from scratch so I'm thinking every little helps at the moment :P. Just want to know if it would be worth my time.
    [/LIST]

At the start i would say no. The trap alot of people fall into is that they try to do too much too quick end up getting discouraged and pack it in. Start with the running and when your body starts to get used to this begin to add in weight/ resistance training to compliment your training. Think of training like a house start small with building the foundations from here you can build out and up to expand on your training and over time you will need to add more training or different types to stress your body in order to adapt and develop.

Any questions you have along the way there are always people who are more than willing to answer questions.

Best of luck with your training

Cool. What runners did you end up with in the end?

I have Asics GT-2150's and I find them very good, but I over-pronate so I need something with extra support to try and correct that.

I got Brooks Glycerin runners, they seem pretty comfy. I tried them out on the treadmill so all is well :)
    ecoli wrote:
    At the start i would say no. The trap alot of people fall into is that they try to do too much too quick end up getting discouraged and pack it in. Start with the running and when your body starts to get used to this begin to add in weight/ resistance training to compliment your training. Think of training like a house start small with building the foundations from here you can build out and up to expand on your training and over time you will need to add more training or different types to stress your body in order to adapt and develop.

Point taken. Thank you! :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

[*]Secondly, when starting off the couch to 5k, should I be running or jogging? Should I be aiming for speed or just constant movement for the time allocated, to build on later on?

You run fast enough that you can still hold a conversation.

Start off slowly, if you repeat one or two of the weeks don't worry at all its nothing to worry about.

I started the couch to 5k in February 2010, when I started I could barely run 1km none stop. 3 weeks ago I ran my first half marathon :)

Just keep at it and you'll never look back its well worth it

Well... I did it! I did Week 1 Day 1 this morning (left my house around 7.30am) :D

With a Couch to 5k podcast loaded onto my mp3 player, and images of myself as a fleet-footed gazelle I ran. Of course, after the first 60 second burst I was really winded and had to walk much slower than I liked for the 90 seconds to catch my breath again. Thick skulled as I am, I ran at the same speed for the first few reps before I copped on and slowed down. By the time I was finished my running sessions were more akin to a walrus flopping itself along the ground than a cheetah gliding gracefully across the plains... I think I need to pace myself better :P

So, it was a lot more difficult than I expected to be honest. I was hoping the C25k programme would ease me into running long distances as if puppies and kittens were licking my feet as I was being made into an athlete with minimal effort :D:o. At least now I have a better idea of what speed my body can handle for the moment, as well as an inkling of the work it'll take to get to where I want. I'm both really happy with myself for starting today and a little disheartened - never has a goal seemed so very very far away! I suppose I'll just have to take it one day at a time and see how it goes from there.

Also, I must find some better C25k podcasts - the crappy dance music on the one I downloaded really pissed me off! I'm sure there must be some out there with some decent, energetic rock to run to :D

Some that i find good to run to

Megadeth - Duke Nukem theme song
    Fort minor - Remeber the name
    Metallica - Whiplash
    Linkin park - Bleed it out
    Megadeth - Tornado of souls

Dunno if they to your taste but they energetic and high tempo'd and i find them great for runs

I love all of those - great songs :D I want to download a podcast though, that tells me when to run and when to walk. I did find the one I listened to this morning very convenient that way, it's just the music he used sucked like a dyson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I love all of those - great songs :D I want to download a podcast though, that tells me when to run and when to walk. I did find the one I listened to this morning very convenient that way, it's just the music he used sucked like a dyson.

Were you using the Robert Ullreys podcast? If so, that's the one I used back in the day and I agree that the music is absolutely awful! :eek:

That's the one! I can see running becoming a chore for me if I associate it with those podcasts tbh - it's really just not my taste at all. Also, sometimes he said to get ready but never said go, so I got a little confused. I might just make a playlist and put an audio prompt over it myself, but that'd be a pain in the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Jaysus GM you didn't suggest Rocky!!

OP I have a program that just beeps when I need to change from walking to running etc and I can play my own music then in the background.
    I have a strange method to keep the pace slow, firstly I'm on a treadmill and I can set the speed, secondly if I can't sing along to what I'm listening too then I'm running too fast. Now this is ok for me as I'm indoors, not so much for those who are running outdoors lol.

You'll find that you get into your own pace and it will be all trial and error on your part as to what works well for you.

More excellent songs! I adore House of Wolves - I actually listen to that kind of rock when I clean out my room. I find it gets me energized :D

Well, I just found a programme called Audacity which I can use to make my own playlist. Basically, I upload my own choons and audio prompts for when to switch from running to walking and vice versa. I'll just make one for Week 1 for now and see how that goes. I have a feeling I might need to repeat it for 2 or 3 weeks because I did find it quite tough going this morning.

I'm trying to think when I can fit my other 2 runs in this week. I'm in college all day on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays with Mondays off and a late start on Friday. I could go to the park tomorrow around 10/11 maybe, it mightn't be too busy. If it's quiet enough, I'll do the same time on Friday. I'd go running weekday mornings as well but my area's very busy at 7.30 on a weekday morning (whereas it's dead on a Sunday - perfect!). Wish me luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Few more musical suggestions here. :)

Excellent suggestions, thanks! I didn't know that Let it Roll song, but now I LOVE it - can't wait to run to it :D It'll be first on my list :P

Thanks for the link rainbowkirby, there's some really good music on that thread too. I'm getting pumped just listening to them already :cool: :pac:

Both class songs. Thanks :D I'm making up my playlist at the moment. I might make 3, cause there's so many excellent songs out there and the variety will keep me interested.

Well look at you and your fancy technology :P I can't get the C25k app on my phone to give me the audio cues, so I have to download it as an mp3 and layer it over a set playlist to have something to listen to! It's grand though, and now I'm excited about doing day 2 tomorrow. I know running two days in a row isn't ideal but it's the best I can do with my timetable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭maria74

Well done on starting c25k..you will never look back. I started in May and am still running 3 times a week and building up slowly. You will be amazed how good you feel doing it
    I used chubbyjones podcasts (www.chubyjones.com) and I found it perfect. It kept me going telling me when to run/walk and she is running along with you and I found it really helped. My advice is take it nice and slow and you will get to 30 mins and feel fantastic! Good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

+1 on the Chubby Jone podcasts, I don't think the above link works though, try this one... http://chubbyjones.libsyn.com/category/podcasts

But this is my favourite running song - loads of the stuff by the Go Team is excellent but the lyrics from this seem to fit the bill for the likes of me starting out with C25K..

I see that lazy-ass attitude, hey let it drop.
    You got potential, come on take it to the tippity-top.
    Come on and show that energy that you always give out.
    Use it for something good,
    Yeah, you know what I'm talking about.
    Keep jumping, reaching higher, you can't take a fall,
    Give it all!
    Do it! Do it! All right!

Here's another of theirs...

Thanks for the motivation everyone. I'll definitely check out the Chubby Jones podcast :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 KenJG

Just reading back on this thread, would everyone here advocate using a plan such as Couch to 5k?
    I am a relative novice having only started jogging about 4 weeks ago (purely for weight loss purposes), but I have to say I have the bug and the more I feel the benefits of jogging and the increase in my physical fitness the more I am thinking about competitive running.
    I bassically started off getting up at 6am 4 days a week and going for roughly 4k. Now I'm up to 5k and mistakenly tried to up it again at the weekend. I now feel I should master 5k and try to increase my times.
    Has anyone got any suggestions? Should I continue as I am or get a plan and work from scratch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Hi Ken,

If you can run 5k, then you dont need to start the Cto5K program.
    You need to get more running time and distance on your legs to increase
    your strength and stamina and see where it takes you.

There are a few things you could do, depending on what suits you.

If you want to follow a plan, then jump into one of the later weeks of
    Cto5k, or look at some of the available 10K training programs and do
    one of them.

If you dont want to follow a plan, then use the advice available on the
    plans, and here on ART, to develop a routine of your own.

A few pieces of advice that I picked up here, that might help

- Alternate runs where you try to increase your speed, with ones where you run slower but increase the distance.

- Only increase the distance by 10% a week.

Once you have got the bug and feel the benefits of running, you will
    find out more about what way you want to develop your training.

huskerdu wrote: »
    Hi Ken,

If you can run 5k, then you dont need to start the Cto5K program.
    You need to get more running time and distance on your legs to increase
    your strength and stamina and see where it takes you.

There are a few things you could do, depending on what suits you.

If you want to follow a plan, then jump into one of the later weeks of
    Cto5k, or look at some of the available 10K training programs and do
    one of them.

If you dont want to follow a plan, then use the advice available on the
    plans, and here on ART, to develop a routine of your own.

A few pieces of advice that I picked up here, that might help

- Alternate runs where you try to increase your speed, with ones where you run slower but increase the distance.

- Only increase the distance by 10% a week.

Once you have got the bug and feel the benefits of running, you will
    find out more about what way you want to develop your training.

Thanks Huskerdu,
    Just browsing through some other threads and it looks like I can pick up some good advice from both experienced and novice runners. I have to say I didn't realise this running buisness could be so addictive! The first couple of weeks were hard but I'm at the stage where I can't wait to get out again.

KenJG wrote: »

Just reading back on this thread, would everyone here advocate using a plan such as Couch to 5k?
    I am a relative novice having only started jogging about 4 weeks ago (purely for weight loss purposes), but I have to say I have the bug and the more I feel the benefits of jogging and the increase in my physical fitness the more I am thinking about competitive running.
    I bassically started off getting up at 6am 4 days a week and going for roughly 4k. Now I'm up to 5k and mistakenly tried to up it again at the weekend. I now feel I should master 5k and try to increase my times.
    Has anyone got any suggestions? Should I continue as I am or get a plan and work from scratch?

one way to increase your strength and in fact your times would be for a month or two follow this pattern

Week 1 1 x 5k run, 3 x 4k run
    Week 2 1 x 5k run, 1 x 4k run, 1 x 5k run, 1 x 4k
    Week 3 1 x 6k run, 3 x 4k run
    Week 4 4 x 4k run
    Week 5 1 x 6k run, 1 x 4k run, 1 x 5k run, 1x 4 k run
    Week 6 1 x 6k run, 1 x 4k run, 1 x 6k run, 1x 4 k run
    Week 7 1 x 5k run, 1 x 4k run, 1 x 7k run, 1x 4 k run

You should run at a pace where you are able to hold a conversation rather than trying to break a time on these. In running Strength = speed so as you get stronger you will get faster

I'm close to finishing Couch to 5K myself but if you are already doing 5K, I agree that there's not much point you doing that programme. It's worked well for me as I'd not jogged in a long time and was quite unfit so it was a good way to get into it.

I've downloaded a Bridge to 10K app and I'm plan on starting that after I complete Couch to 5K. I'm not quite doing the 5K distance yet, my longest distance is 3.45K in 28 minutes but I'll eventually get to that.

From looking at Bridge to 5K, I suspect I will end up doing 5K during that due to the way the workouts are structured and their duration.

Running is addictive. Just wait until you have the euphoria workouts - the one's where you feel unbeatable with limitless speed and energy. They are amazing.

Thanks ecoli,
    This looks good and definitely achievable. Does anyone have any preferences on times to be running? Due to family, work and study commitments I am restricted to either very late or very early so I am presently going with 6am weekdays and 7am weekends. I do find early mornings really set me up for the rest of the day. Any thoughts?

KenJG wrote: »
    Thanks ecoli,
    This looks good and definitely achievable. Does anyone have any preferences on times to be running? Due to family, work and study commitments I am restricted to either very late or very early so I am presently going with 6am weekdays and 7am weekends. I do find early mornings really set me up for the rest of the day. Any thoughts?

I love going first thing in the morning. It's quiet, cool and peaceful. I seem to find it easier in the mornings too for some reason, however I find I can't enjoy the glow after the workout as I have to head straight to work afterwards. So during the week I tend to do it after work but at the weekends, it's always first thing.