Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hair disaster at PM

• 01-10-2010 4:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭

Hi everyone,

so I had a weak moment and went to a Peter Mark, thinking to get my hair done.

I had highlights that I didn't like anymore. My natural colour is mid brown. Initially, I was thinking to buy a dye and a 30vol developer from a hair supply and put a dark blonde over it myself. But then I thought I'd drop by a Peter Mark (Liffey Valley SC) yesterday, just because they are everywhere and so convenient and I thought this is difficult I'll better let a professional handle it. I was initially shocked at how dark it went, after I had asked for dark blonde. And she was like "But it's beautiful, it suits your skin colour so nicely, once you're over the shock you will love it too".

After washing it this morning I noticed that my roots are an unattractive shade of copper and the rest of my hair is just mid brown. Great. I know I should go back and ask them to fix it but now I'm afraid to go back and let them touch my hair again. I don't want it to break off from too much dyeing and I'm disappointed, if I had tried it myself I would have probably been just as successful for less money.
    :(

What should I do?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

If you do a search on the forum for Colour B4, it is a colour remover that you can get in Boots, it should take you back to the colour you were before you went to Peter Marks. It doesn't remove bleach (it only removes actual dyes) so your highlights will still be there. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Shelli2

+1 on the colour B4, it does work.

I would still go back into PM and ask for a refund, don't let them touch your hair again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Go and complain OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

Phone and ask to speak to a manager and arrange to go back and have it sorted. You paid good money to have it done so should have it sorted for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Peter Mark nationwide are a disgrace. I've never heard anyone who had a good word to say about them, including myself who ended up with a disastrous cut once.
    OP, I'd go back into them, because they just don't seem to care. When you pay out for a service, you expect to get a proper job done, and it's just not good enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭lil_tuts

if it were me i would ring them tell them the problem and demand they fix it free of charge thats really not on for the prices they charge. OR you could strip the colour you can get stuff in boots to do it i did it not to long ago and it wasnt very harsh at all just make sure you have a very good conditioner to use after it. I wouldnt die over it i dont think it would fix the roots they would still end up a diffrent shade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭yolanda

I had a similar experience with them. I went back to get it fixed and they tried to convince me it was fine. (Asked for full head of highlights and they ended up bleaching top part of my hair and the ends were highlighted. Awful. Got nowhere trying to get them to fix it so I rang head office. Eventually got them them to fix it but was never the same. Had to let it all grow out. Out of principle you should go back. Money isnt as plentiful as it was and its not fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭leesmom

PM is awful, i absoultely hate that hairdressers, i have gone there for the last year and half purely because they always have twenty percent off.
    they died my top during the summer, i brought it into them when i noticed, the top cost me fifty euro, they gave me fifteen euro!!! they were rude and didnt give a ****
    i went three weeks ago to PM again, i go to different branches most times, they made a mess, hair dye all over my face and neck which they scrubbed so hard with stain remover that my skin was sore, she couldnt get my fringe to sit properly, it ended up being parted in the front and disgusting, out she took the straighteners to my fringe! the girl washing my hair nearly broke my neck lowering the sink! the woman who cut my hair, sat down in the seat beside me making phone calls haveing a laugh about her weekend, then texting!! the place is like a zoo and i'd steer clear of every PM, they are disastrous! ive had too many hair disasters from there to ever go back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Mooo

always found them to be awful and only went back because theyre everywhere and so handy. awful haircuts, always took way more than i asked off, split ends after a few weeks. house of colour or tony and guy or any other major chain were always heaps better. i cant believe how this place still gets so much business!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭dreababyluxe

Had a disgraceful cut in the ennis peter marks a few months ago the day before meeting my boyfriend's entire family at a wedding for the first time. They took inches of my own hair and my brand new extensions when I just asked for my own hair to be trimmed and neatened. I was left with uneven blunt jagged ends. I went in for a confidence boost and came out with the very opposite. And had to make do with it for the wedding the next morning - it was too late to go back and have it "fixed".

I went to another hairdressers for their opinion and they couldn't believe the mess PM had made of it and urged me to complain. PM first asked me to remove a comment I made on my Facebook page about having a bad haircut there because it had upset the girl who cut my hair (how they even saw that I don't know - my privacy settings are set to the max) - the poor stylist, like I wasn't upset at all. Then another stylist looked at my hair and tried to say it was fine, but she snipped a few strands and sent me home, no better really. I was treated by staff and the salon manager as tho' I was the one in the wrong. I even burst into tears in the salon they were that rude to me. In fact, I think it's fair to say the salon manager was a total b1tch to me. I intended to complain to their head office, but with little confidence left, I decided to avoid the confrontment. Why bother if I was only going to receive the same treatment from them as I did in the salon.

Peter Marks do not care about their customers. And have lost at least 20 customers (my family and friends who were previously customers, including my brother who used to buy us all €50 PM gift vouchers every christmas or birthdays) and all because of 1 incident. I didn't even receive an apology. I was actually made to apologise to them!!!!

Sorry for the rant OP. Sorry to hear you suffered a similar fate with them. Hope you can fix it. I'm still growing out my hair x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

I've always found that, while I've gotten a pretty decent style/cut when I've been there (granted it's only about 5 or 6 times in total), they tend to grow out very quickly. It's been about 3 weeks since I got my hair done, and already it's not styling easily anymore as it's started to grow out.

I'm lucky enough to have had the same stylist, who's also a colour specialist, who will actually listen to me about what I want, but I had a student put the colour in my hair and she was so rude. I don't think she even said one word to when she was putting in the colour. Her shift ended before my colour was ready, and she didn't even come over to tell me that she was finished for the day and that another girl (who was really nice, by the way) would be looking after me until my stylist would cut my hair.

With customer service like that, it's a small surprise that the salon was practically empty on a Thursday evening!

I only go because they have 20% off and I can't really afford to go anywhere else until I get a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Shmatter

Shelli2 wrote: »
    +1 on the colour B4, it does work.

I would still go back into PM and ask for a refund, don't let them touch your hair again though.

How I have never heard of this??

Personally, I've been going to Peter Marks for years (anna in bloomfields incase anyone is interested!!!!) and I wouldn't go anywhere else. I'm surprised that so many people have had issues with them as I know an awful lot of people who use them religiously. What I do dislike about them though, is that if you just ring and ask for an appointment for highlights etc, they will be done by a junior (sorry if that's the wrong term) stylist - they will then have a full qualified stylist do the cut/blow dry. I always make sure that the person who is styling my hair, is the same person who is putting the colour in.

OP, I would go back and ask for them to fix your hair, ask for a senior colourist to do it, they should oblige you immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Ok I started my training with Peter Mark and loved it there! Very rarely did we get any complaints!

The last cut I got was in Peter Mark and was one of the best cuts I have ever gotten! I am never happy with my hair and I came out that day thrilled :D

The only thing you can do OP is go back and ask for a senior colourist to fix it for you! If you touch it yourself they won't fix it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

Dear God Peter Marks are the worst hairdressers EVER!! I’ve had so many bad haircuts from them....I know, why did I keep going back? Well I was poor (a student), and people would recommend someone they had luck with so Id give it a go.

The two worst incidences that give me nightmares are:
    1) I wanted a fringe cut into my hair, just a normal slightly long fringe. The hairdresser tried to convince me to go for an ultra short "fashionable" fringe. I said no fecking way, she said fine. I started reading my magazine and see a huge clump of hair fall forward....she somehow got confused and forgot that I wanted a long fringe. I was left with an inch long fringe. I looked like a complete mental case. In the end I had to wear a hat for a month!

2) I got my hair dyed with 2 lovely shades of brown and a couple of very thin highlights (barely noticeable). After 6 weeks went back for a touch up. And instead of the lovely brown I got blonde all over with some brown low lights!!! :eek: I was like WTF??? You had written down from the last time what I had done, why didn’t you just follow that? She admitted the card was lost so she just guessed!!! When I complained to the manager I was treated like $hit, like Id done something wrong. The only thing they would offer me was an all over brown dye,that they applied bady….no apology nothing.

There a fecking joke, totally unprofessional, untalented tools!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Shmatter

Ye, it sucks handing over your hard earned money and walking out with hair you hate.
    My final year in college I cut my own hair, wasn't amazing, really only cut away split ends, but at least I wasn't forking over money to someone, to give me dirty looks while butchering my hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Beffy

Whats worse is when you tip them even though you aren't happy with the cut or know they haven't fully blow dried your hair. I hate the way they hover at the till at the end, waiting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

I never tip unless I'm completely happy with what the hair dresser has done. In fairness, the girl I usually go to is pretty good and, more importantly, personable, so I'm happy enough to tip her.

However, if I wasn't happy with how she did my hair there's no way I'd tip her. Pretty much the same way I won't tip in a restaurant if I get sh*t service. Having the hairdresser/server hovering around the till wouldn't make me feel I had to give them a tip if they didn't deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

Pretty sure I've posted this before but how and ever :)

Day before starting a new school a few years ago, I went in to get my hair done. The most basic cut you can imagine. I wanted it just below my shoulders, small side fringe and a light brown dye. Couldn't have possibly been easier.

I left with: Jet black hair. A massive fringe that went down....and then BACK UP AGAIN, really chunky layers that with my hair, made me look like I had some weird wavy bowl cut going on and cut it way past my shoulders. I proceeded to go into the bathrooms in McDonalds and bawl.

There was another time I went in to get my blonde highlights redone and a trim and I came out looking like rachel in the 90's

janiston_l.jpg

Try imagine how ridiculous that would look on anyone other than Jennifer Aniston at any other time than the 90's

Had a fair few other disasters - in fact never got a decent cut or colour from them. I used to go to them because I didnt really know of any other big hairdressers. Silly me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭GermanicGalore

Hi everyone,

thanks so much for all the helpful replies to my message. I just wanted to give a quick update on what happened in the end:

So, my hair disaster happened last Thursday.
    I called them on Saturday and asked for the manager, but only the deputy manager was there, which was grand too. I explained and he scheduled me in for an appointment with the colour manager.
    Unfortunately, that person wasn't in before Tuesday, and I had my job interview on Tuesday, so there was no way I was going to the hair dresser's beforehand. I got the first appointment on Wednesday instead, which was yesterday.

What I can say is that my hair is now the same colour root to ends, which is good.

I am not totally happy with that experience though. Firstly, I thought that they could have been nicer to me (and I did explain that I had a job interview on Tuesday) and a bit more apologetic, I find anyway. Secondly, when I saw the girl who was going to work on my hair, I felt a strong urge to leg it. There is just something funny about trusting a hair dresser who has the most awful hair (colour) herself.

She didn't strip the colour that was in, but rather coloured over it. It was very very quick, maybe 10 minutes, a few minutes on the roots and then a minute or two on the rest.

Although it is now at least one colour, I don't like it. It is now even darker than my natural hair with a very artificial aubergine red hint to it. My natural hair has a touch of auburn in it, so this looks very harsh on me. I would have preferred just a flat brown.

But here is why I am still really upset about it all: I do have a love-hate relationship with highlights. I would get them done for like 2 years and love them and then at some stage it just gets too much, it's like the current state of the highlights cannot be maintained and it all turns a bit too Barbie. Then, I'd say 'right, back to natural', get a box dye in Boots and do it myself, which would usually turn out much much darker than it said on the box BUT I have never ever had copper roots or anything remotely like this.
    And because of my job interview on Tuesday, I thought I should really let a professional handle this, so that I look neat and presentable on Tuesday. My aim was to get an all over light brown/dark blonde. It's closer to black-aubergine now. It looks cheap. I could have done that well enough myself for 6eur. I'm mad because I thought I'm going to professionals and that would justify spending a lot of money on it!

I'm still very very mad about it all :'(
    Hair is a major issue for girls. If it looks crap, my confidence kinda poofed. Seems shallow but that's just what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭GermanicGalore

Beffy wrote: »
    Whats worse is when you tip them even though you aren't happy with the cut or know they haven't fully blow dried your hair. I hate the way they hover at the till at the end, waiting...

You tipped??!!!! :eek:
    I didn't.
    Not the first time.
    Not yesterday when the girl tried to fix the colour issue.
    DON'T tip if you are not happy!!!
    I went to another hairdressers for their opinion and they couldn't believe the mess PM had made of it and urged me to complain. PM first asked me to remove a comment I made on my Facebook page about having a bad haircut there because it had upset the girl who cut my hair (how they even saw that I don't know - my privacy settings are set to the max) .

It doesn't really matter if your personal fb privacy settings are set to the max. If you have friends who replied to your message then their reply will come up in the "home" tab of their friends who saw what you posted too. Probably a friend of your hair dresser's happened to be a see a friend of your's replying.
    My facebook, of course, was dominated by hair posts too ... so far no PM approached me about it though ;) (and even if I don't care)