Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hungover Run Options

• 30-09-2010 12:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭

Of course its not a good idea and of course I wouldn't end up in the situation and of course I wouldn't be advocating that kind of behaviour, etc :)..........BUT...........if 'one' were planning ahead and knows that there will be a big (unavoidable) night out on a certain Saturday night with plenty of pints, the odd kebab and garlic fries with cheese and even a bit of attendance at a dance hall type establishment until the early hours.....which of these runs would you do the following day?

1) 9-11M incl a 10k tune-up race
    2) 16M long slow run

They're on the schedule for Sat and Sun so 'one' has to do them both and ideally in that order but which one would be the lesser of the two evils if hungover :)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Crazy guy...

Having said that I've a 20miler lined up for early Sunday morning, after Leinster stuff the Munshter boys...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

RedB wrote: »
    Of course its not a good idea and of course I wouldn't end up in the situation and of course I wouldn't be advocating that kind of behaviour, etc :)..........BUT...........if 'one' were planning ahead and knows that there will be a big (unavoidable) night out on a certain Saturday night with plenty of pints, the odd kebab and garlic fries with cheese and even a bit of attendance at a dance hall type establishment until the early hours.....which of these runs would you do the following day?

2) 16M long slow run

They're on the schedule for Sat and Sun so 'one' has to do them both and ideally in that order but which one would be the lesser of the two evils if hungover :)?

Wasting your time with either. Either don't drink or skip one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Personally I wouldn't be willing to do either. The most I can manage when hungover is an easy 6 miles, and even at that I'd have to leave it until late afternoon/early evening!

I'd imagine the 16 miles would be the easier option. 10k at speed with a dodgy head/stomach isn't worth thinking about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

Izoard wrote: »
    Crazy guy...

Having said that I've a 20miler lined up for early Sunday morning, after Leinster stuff the Munshter boys...:)

Izoard I wouldn't worry about being hungover on Sunday - after all you won't really be in a celebratory mood after that match :p. Unless of course you drink alot when you're drowning your sorrows!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Crazy guy...

Better fill up on those prawn sambos then! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Sounds like the 55mpw P&D plan. Unfortunately, I'm with Tunney on this one, if the goal is important to you, stick to the non-alcoholic beer. That's one of the key moments in the entire plan, and being hungover will only screw it up. You wont do the race proper justice, and getting through the 16 miler will be hell (and I love beer more than the average man. :) ).

How about going for a few beers on the Sunday after the long run? Still not advisable, but at least you'll have earned them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Better fill up on those prawn sambos then! :)

Obviously, if there is any chance of rain, light breeze etc., I'll be staying firmly in the bosom of Kiely's with my hip flask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

stick to the non-alcoholic beer

I had a night out a few years ago, and stuck to non-alcoholic beer about 4 or 5 bottles of Becks NA. I had a horrendous hangover the next day from the stuff. I felt so cheated! Just a word of warning, if you've not tried it before.

How about going for a few beers on the Sunday after the long run? Still not advisable, but at least you'll have earned them!

Probably the safest option :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

Best course of action is to eat a meal before you go out.
    Drink a glass of water between each alcoholic drink.
    Try get at least 9 hours sleep.
    and when you wake up, the type of run i recommend is a tempo run from the bedroom to the kitchen for a dirty greasy fry-up followed by a LSR including including hills back up the stairs and back into bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Run your LSR tomorrow and 10k tempo Tues next week.
    Don't risk trying something on Sunday that could ruin any hard work already put in.
    30mins easy on Sunday in the rain to clear your head.

Sun AM Sun PM
    39.png11.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

If I've had a few beers i'd usually only do an easy run the next day 4-6 miles very easy. If there is a dance hall and Kebab involved the chances of any run would be reduced.....Either skip the run and go on the raz or skip the raz and run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

The 16 miler. The first 3 or 4 miles won't be pretty but by 10 miles you'll have forgotten about the night before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

In your dreams, Saturday will be revenge for the last 4 defeats.:D

I do hungover runs all the time, usually just easy 4/5 milers, but i did a 19 miler hungover 3 weeks ago, the hardest part is starting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

I'd question the wisdom -

you're training your body by introducing stress. So far the body works ok.

Is giving your body the stress of a hangover and a long run really the best thing for it?

The thing I'd be most concerned about is catching a bad cold or something afterwards that would knock my training out for a few days or worse case scenario for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Man i find switching channels using the remote taxing the day after a session - i'd be tired just thinking about that run. Im obviously what they refer to as a binge drinker, thankfully i dont drink too often any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

It's the two L's

Lethargy and self-Loathing. <shudder>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Another vote for the LSR. There's no way I can get any tempo work done after a hard night. Have a lie in, then suck it up and get out the door :cool: You'll be right as rain by the time you get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I wouldn't like to be faced with either choice the morning after a night out, but I'd probably choose the LSR over anything which involved running quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Seanie_H

I'd question the wisdom -

you're training your body by introducing stress. So far the body works ok.

Is giving your body the stress of a hangover and a long run really the best thing for it?

From the school of 'What doesn't kill me will make me stronger' won't a hungover run make your body perform even better on your next sober run? Similar to talking while training/running? Ha :D

The sensible option I suppose is take it handier than you're planning too. I'd go for a LSR I think.

It would be interesting to see how many sub 3hr-3.15-3.30 runners actually stay off the beer/binge drinking during training. I'd expect it would be 70%+.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Seanie_H wrote: »
    It would be interesting to see how many sub 3hr-3.15-3.30 runners actually stay off the beer/binge drinking during training. I'd expect it would be 70%+.

It's all about sensible planning. I'd tend to avoid drinking the night before a LSR or other key session. As a result I tend to do LSRs on Saturday mornings, and then any alcohol-related socialising on the Saturday night.

For the last 4 or 5 weeks of marathon training I'd quit drinking altogether, but that's as much as optimising recovery and dropping some weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

2) 16M long slow run

Fair enough if a night out is unavoidable, you gotta make an appearance and all that. But the decision to drink and eat kababs is most definitely avoidable. Its your decision, you dont have to drink when you go out, nobody is forcing you to hit the booze. Just stick to the soft drinks and save yourself a lot of hassle the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

tunguska wrote: »
    Fair enough if a night out is unavoidable, you gotta make an appearance and all that. But the decision to drink and eat kababs is most definitely avoidable. Its your decision, you dont have to drink when you go out, nobody is forcing you to hit the booze. Just stick to the soft drinks and save yourself a lot of hassle the next day.

+1 :)

Thanks to all for the various recommendations. Upon mature reflection I think I'll keep my eye on the prize and follow tunguska's (and tunney's and krusty's and peckham's and etc....) advice and avoid the drink / junk food. I thought about 'toughing' it out on the morning-after-run but it's the issue that HardyEustace brought up about catching a bad cold or something that actually made my mind up. There are enough uncontollable issues at this end of the training schedule without contributing to the mix. It's actually next week that the event is on (9th) so it'll be my final full weekend of training before tapering for DCM. On the other side I've only been on the beer a few times this year and the event is a college 20 year reunion with a gang of buddies so the temptation to go on the lash was natural ;).
    Thanks again for the feedback from the outside of the scenario. It was all helpfull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

If it was me I would go on the lash and enjoy it, its not the olympics your training for. I often go on the piss and then do my sessions in the afternoon next day. After a mile or two warmup, I feel grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

I have a friend who used to work at a stables in Wicklow. Almost every Sunday a client would arrive ropey as hell with a hangover. He would proceed to get his horse and gallop out of the yard and across the fields. My friend swears that this guy would arrive back in the yard like a different man having cleared his head. It depends on the individual of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭dermCu

Why not just rearrange your schedule so that your rest day falls on the day after your drinking. Long runs don't have to be done at the weekend. I've done 20+ millers before work on a Friday morning because I knew there would be beer that night. Just bring everything forward one or two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭TakeaBowSon

Similar situation myself this weekend.

Going to limit myself to 4 or 5 bottles of beer and then head early. Good sleep is key in my opinion (and definitely no Kebabs!)

It will all be worth it come 12.30 (ish!!) on the 25th October!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭bart simpson

Sounds like the 55mpw P&D plan. Unfortunately, I'm with Tunney on this one, if the goal is important to you, stick to the non-alcoholic beer. That's one of the key moments in the entire plan, and being hungover will only screw it up. You wont do the race proper justice, and getting through the 16 miler will be hell (and I love beer more than the average man. :) ).

what is one of the key moments of the entire plan krusty?
    im doing that plan, are you on about the final tune up race?...see i did the dublin half and then did portarlington 10k last weekend so i was just going to do 1200m * 4 vo2 session instead of the tune up race,.....but if it is one of the key moments of the entire plan!!!! i might reconsider! im off the beer 5 days :) woohoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Perkina3

Funny actually.... I have 2 of my LSR's recently having been out till 4 in the morning with a trip to a dancing establishment and curry fries to boot..... Now saying that I had only a couple of alcoholic beverages with a fair amount of water......

For the 20 miler.... I had a beer, a head cold, 5 hours sleep and a tiny breakfast and I got through it...

I felt horrific afterwards but I got through it.... if you enjoy running..... Ur not going to enjoy this!

Saying that.... I am not off the beer not that I have been drinking much more than a beer on each night out

*the exception being the night following the half marathon, now that was a bad night :P*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

With Heffsarmy on this one. Sounds like a big night. Go out and enjoy it and struggle though the sesh. Keep it real and keep perspective. I find when you do you are more balance and enjoy the sport more. Not saying always go on the piss but if there is a big one coming give it holly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

Over the years Ive found that going for a run is the ONLY cure for a hangover!

Its hard to get yourself out the door but when you get home its like a reset button has been pressed and you feel good as new! :D

I had a late one last night and I would defo be out running right now if I wasnt injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭another world

I think it´s best to get out for the run. Even if it´s just a token run it´ll get the alcohol out of the system and you´ll be set for the next session, otherwise you could end up taking the day off and still have a bad session the next day. Well, that´s what I´ve found anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

RubyK wrote: »
    I had a night out a few years ago, and stuck to non-alcoholic beer about 4 or 5 bottles of Becks NA. I had a horrendous hangover the next day from the stuff. I felt so cheated! Just a word of warning, if you've not tried it before.

Becks NA is muck!
    Erdinger or Paulander both have a really nice alcohol free version and most places will have the Erdinger at least.
    Try them, you might be pleasantly surprised!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Emer911 wrote: »
    Becks NA is muck!
    Erdinger or Paulander both have a really nice alcohol free version and most places will have the Erdinger at least.
    Try them, you might be pleasantly surprised!

Non alcoholic Erdinger is actually supposed to be a great isotonic drink which is starting to be used by man biathletes and triathletes in races throughout the continent

Regarding training (or racing) the day after drink my advice is leave it as late as possible for two reasons:

Hydration:
    Even if you balance your drinking with glasses of water the fact is with the alcohol in your system your body is using any fluids you take in, and directing them to your kidneys to metabolize the alcohol diverting it from other area s which are needed during training hence why you will become extremely dehydrated during training.

Recovery:
    During the production of ATP in the anaerobic process during Anaerobic training (intervals etc) the body produces ethanol(alcohol) as one of the by products of the processes. With this already in your system from the training you are going to get the same adverse affects as you would from a hard session (minus the residual muscle fatigue) with any of the benefits

You can train the next day but like driving dont attempt till it has left your system

(Sorry for the killjoy advice:p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 juan 79

Hi all,interesting thread,I've been going through the same thing talked about here-whether or not to go on a run after a night out?
    Being honest I do question and worry about the physiological affects on the body putting it thru' a 5-10k run the next day or even 2 days after.
    Personally I know it slows me,but it's more of a mental thing if you understand what I'm saying?-my running mental world is opposite to my drinking mind,before you think Im mad let me expand,personally when I'm running it's not just physical conditioning but mental and it creates mental robustness especially when pushing yourself,whereas in the pub it's a world where mentally I just relax and veg out,it's hard to go from one to the other-your mind becomes accustomed to a state of mind,it's madness putting yourself trying to reach your goal mentally and then letting it all go,but then we're only human.