Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who would you prefer to host the Late Late Show ?

• 28-09-2010 5:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

Given that Tubridy is looking like having another very mediocre year, I was just wondering how other people feel on this issue. The landscape has changed a lot since Tubridy was given the job.....

- G Ryan died unexpectedly (RIP),
    - Other newer talent has been tried out on Tubridy's old Saturday night spot
    - Miriam has substantiated (with another summer of Saturday night shows) the fact that she is not good at light entertainment,
    - Pat Kenny, has shown that he is still far ahead of anybody else in RTE (and probably the country) at presenting current affairs..

So where do we stand at this point?

Who would be your preferred host of the Late Late Show? 46 votes

Current host Ryan Tubridy
    0% 0 votes
    Miriam O'Callaghan
    50% 23 votes
    Brendan O'Connor
    19% 9 votes
    Craig Doyle
    15% 7 votes
    Bring back Pat Kenny
    15% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I'd like to see Craid Doyle get a chance at something, I quite like him.

Tubridy isn't doing well... he's better on radio.

Anyone but that eejit Pat Kenny though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Craig Doyle is useless, Ray D'arcy FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Roro4Brit

Anyone but tubs. I can't stand him and his twitchy eye. No of the above appeal to me much, but I can't think of anyone else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Hey Jon, stick Moncreiff in the Poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Craig Doyle was almost hilariously bad when he was given a go during the summer. I felt so sorry for him, poor pet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Gay Byrne. Bring him back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Where is "none of the above"?

That's the crapiest list of crapy things I've seen in a long time. :pac:

Chop the show in half, stick with "entertainment" aspect and give it to Dara Ó Briain

Bill, Eamo, Giles and Liam :pac:

Seriously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Poly wrote: »

Hi Poly, I was trying to think of anybody who has experience of hosting an RTE show in the last few years.. I cant see him realistically being brought in by RTE at this stage, though a lot of people think he is good. Similarly with D'Arcy, he's never hosted a proper TV interviewing show... I dont think Dara O'Briain is a realistic option either, but I would love to see Gilesy and the lads given a run... You'd have to take each show on it's merits though ;)

Moncreiff's an unknown quantity. Personally, I don't think he'd be great. Whenever I hear him on Newstalk I feel like he's waffling, or flip flops, or find him unconvincing.

Matt Cooper? I like his viciousness, but he's nowhere near charming enough. That was Gaybo's great talent. Can't imagine him being any good at the light stuff either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,169 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Cancel the show altogether.

Only one man really....

Daithí O'Sé!

:eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

For his insight into Irish politics it has to be Jay Leno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Moncrieff now.

Derek Davis when Pat was given the job first.

Shit poll by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Ian Dempsey....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

It's an appaling list of choices and I've selected Tubridy as the best of them.

I'm disappointed that Brendan O'Connor was given another season on The Saturday Night Show. Apart from the fact that Ireland is too small with too small of a celebrity pool to sustain 3 and a half hours of chat show per weekend. If they insist on having a Saturday Night Show then they really should use it as a trial for new talent to prove themselves. Certainly not for hosts that are proven crap.

I don't accept either that a single thing has changed in the landscape that would make RTE's decision if it were being made now. They'll have to give a chance to people like those already mentioned in this thread (and others) before it can change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

give it to george hook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

mikom wrote: »
    Moncrieff now.
    Moncreiff's an unknown quantity.

Three words - "Good Grief, Moncrieff"

He had a chat show on RTE some years ago and it was a disaster.

Having said that, he is excellent on Newstalk and he would probably be a much better interviewer now.

He might get another TV show, but he won't get the top job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭DHYNZY

I reckon I'd do a good job! And I'd work for 1/20th of their paycheck :D

SkidMark wrote: »
    Three words - "Good Grief, Moncrieff"

He had a chat show on RTE some years ago and it was a disaster.

Having said that, he is excellent on Newstalk and he would probably be a much better interviewer now.

He might get another TV show, but he won't get the top job.

*Thinks back to last Fridays car crash*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Matt Cooper, or maybe Michael O'Muirehurtaigh now that he has nothing to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Dara O'Briain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

DrumSteve wrote: »
    give it to george hook
    It's bad enough listening to that idiot's fake accent in sky ads never mind listening to him for two hours at a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

What about a tag team?

Gay Byrne comes on and does an hour of light entertainment and music,

then he hands over to Miriam O'Callaghan for the more substantial interviews.

Anything would be better than Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

I gave Tubridy a chance. I really did. I watched willing him to do well, but he's actually gotten worse. He doesn't seem like he enjoys it and therefore it's very hard for us to. I don't think it's that he's out of his depth, it's just not his scene. The format of the show is terrible. It really hasn't found its feet since Gay Byrne left and flip flops between being a long advertisement, the Joe Duffy show and a Book of the month club. No real entertainment for me anymore. Ryan doesn't have the right personality for it. He loves bringing on people like Jedward and impressionists, because it means he can sit there, do nothing and get cheap laughs.

The format needs a change. Different presenters every week. Bill O'Herlihy one week, Miriam the next, Dylan Moran the next, Bertie Ahern. And they all get to put a stamp on it. Not like Tommy and Hector's Horror show, but maybe they bring on a topic close to their hearts like Ronan Keating would bring on his cancer crew for a piece. Something they're passionate about. Bill O'Herlihy could bring in a few former Irish Soccer players to talk about the future of irish football. Eamonn could bring in John Giles. Brendan O'Connor could give out Mace hampers.

See who's available. Test the water. If people would like the opportunity to host the longest running chat show in the world, then great. If not, why not? Is it because the show is impossible to make entertaining even with the scope of talent in all parts of Irish life? Then cancel it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Yillan wrote: »
    I gave Tubridy a chance. I really did. I watched willing him to do well, but he's actually gotten worse. He doesn't seem like he enjoys it and therefore it's very hard for us to. I don't think it's that he's out of his depth, it's just not his scene. The format of the show is terrible. It really hasn't found its feet since Gay Byrne left and flip flops between being a long advertisement, the Joe Duffy show and a Book of the month club. No real entertainment for me anymore. Ryan doesn't have the right personality for it. He loves bringing on people like Jedward and impressionists, because it means he can sit there, do nothing and get cheap laughs.

The format needs a change. Different presenters every week. Bill O'Herlihy one week, Miriam the next, Dylan Moran the next, Bertie Ahern. And they all get to put a stamp on it. Not like Tommy and Hector's Horror show, but maybe they bring on a topic close to their hearts like Ronan Keating would bring on his cancer crew for a piece. Something they're passionate about. Bill O'Herlihy could bring in a few former Irish Soccer players to talk about the future of irish football. Eamonn could bring in John Giles. Brendan O'Connor could give out Mace hampers.

See who's available. Test the water. If people would like the opportunity to host the longest running chat show in the world, then great. If not, why not? Is it because the show is impossible to make entertaining even with the scope of talent in all parts of Irish life? Then cancel it.

That's what I was kinda getting at in my post above. They did exactly that years ago on Saturday Night Live (or, it was called something like that anyway) where they had a different host every week. They discovered some talent too - which was duly swiped up by one of the British stations. Rhonda Paisley I think it was. Daughter of Ian.

The downside of the idea is that you run out of presenters fairly quick and one show, presented by someone whose never done anything like it before isn't really gonna tell you alot about how they'd manage a whole season. They'd either be extremely nervous, or would give a misleadingly enjoyable show when interviewing their mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

From the options on the poll, Pat Kenny.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Lucy Kennedy?

Hang on, did she already have a chat show? I like her on Living With Lucy, don't know how that would translate to interviewing on more serious topics.

Here's a crazy idea RTE, how about going a little further than the UCD campus when recruiting talent? There's bound to be someone in the whole of Irleland that could do a good job at this. Sometimes I feel like there's only a staff of about 7 people at RTE and they just wheel them out for every bloody thing.

Failing that, bring back Gaybo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Atari Jaguar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Laois_Man wrote: »
    That's what I was kinda getting at in my post above. They did exactly that years ago on Saturday Night Live (or, it was called something like that anyway) where they had a different host every week. They discovered some talent too - which was duly swiped up by one of the British stations. Rhonda Paisley I think it was. Daughter of Ian.

The downside of the idea is that you run out of presenters fairly quick and one show, presented by someone whose never done anything like it before isn't really gonna tell you alot about how they'd manage a whole season. They'd either be extremely nervous, or would give a misleadingly enjoyable show when interviewing their mates.
    The US Saturday Night Live (NBC) still have and always have had (AFAIR) a rotating celebrity host. They get A-List Hollywood actors and World famous Musicians to guest host though whereas we'd get Z-list nobodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

yes indeed. Poll is so in-house ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

...There's bound to be someone in the whole of Irleland that could do a good job at this...

Ya and to find em they should to a 'Late Late Show Factor' or 'Presenter Star' and leave us vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭jonas7

What's wrong with Tubridy anyway? He's the best presenter we have by a mile for the late late. The late late is not bad because of Tubridy, its bad because of the seemingly endless line up of bad guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    Ya and to find em they should to a 'Late Late Show Factor' or 'Presenter Star' and leave us vote.

I suggested that when Kenny quit. Stealer!:mad:

(ETA: On checking it up my idea is perfect for RTE. I'm going to pitch it to them. :) )

There is a very poor talent selection in RTE. I haven't really seen them in anything since I was a kid watching The Den but from what I recall Dempsey or D'Arcy might be good at it. Especially Dempsey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

iguana wrote: »

(ETA: On checking it up my idea is perfect for RTE. I'm going to pitch it to them. :) )

There is a very poor talent selection in RTE. I haven't really seen them in anything since I was a kid watching The Den but from what I recall Dempsey or D'Arcy might be good at it. Especially Dempsey.

Didn't see that, honestly. Just read it there now. Funny post.
    Great minds.......... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

iguana wrote: »

Hey! I said Ian Dempsey in post #16 in this thread.

Stealer!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Hedman

Not on the poll but i'd love to see Dara Ó Briain get the job. Not a huge fan of his whole ah sure aren't the Irish a mad bunch of lads schtick but he is very funny so would be able to do the lighter celebrity interviews. He's definitely intelligent enough to hold his own with the more serious interviews and seems to have a better sense of timing as to when to a crack a joke or play it straight than the likes of Tubridy of Kenny ever would have. Can only imagine how much better the likes of the Dawkins interview would have gone with him in Tubridy's place.

Would probably be tough to lure him back over though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Give it to this girl.

French news anchor MelissaTheuriau

newsr06.jpg

Soooooo much better than tubbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

gay byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

Moncrief, Ray Darcy or that clown Doyle?

Jeez christ...There has to be someone out there with some talent.

What about Derek Davis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭laurashambles

I suggest RTE throws a big pile of money at Ó Briain and hopes for the best. That's the only thing that would ever convince me to tune in. He'd be legendary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Lucy Kennedy?

Hang on, did she already have a chat show? I like her on Living With Lucy, don't know how that would translate to interviewing on more serious topics.

Lucy Kennedy? Seriously? There's more brains in a lump of white pudding to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

None of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Vanhalla

Doesnt matter who would host it, you ****ers would still be moaning about it. that late late show thread would depress anyone the way ye go on. sad bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭polly78

I wouldn't take part in a poll I thought was sh*t!

I completely agree with TICKLE ME ELMO, it's a poor but fitting reflection of Ireland today when Ryan Tubridy is the number one replacement, TWICE!!!!

It makes me laugh! He is a ditherer and initially would come across to a stranger as bit of a conceited imbecile. He has never made a connection with any of his guests, and NEVER properly listens. I cringe when I watch him.

polly78 wrote: »
    He is a ditherer

He's not a ditherer................. he's a dainty little bugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

polly78 wrote: »
    initially would come across to a stranger as bit of a conceited imbecile.

Just initially? I think if that's your initial impression this is one case where first impressions tell you everything.