Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who blast music from phones on public transport

• 28-09-2010 11:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭

What is up with this?

Every morning and evening, for a total of at least two and a half hours a day on a bus, I am forced to endure the racket from young spacers blasting their horrid taste in music around the bus, and then constant screams to "send me that one!" and their even more puke inducing attempts to sing the crap they broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Gut them like a fish, and stick them on the outside of the bus with their phones in their mouths as a warning to others.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Would you rather they ignored each other while wearing headphones?

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056045271...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

i have never seen this on a bus but it sure does sound like a truly horrifying experience. thank god you survived to rant about it on boards.ie so all of us could feel enlightened as you preached to the choir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

the way of the scanger lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Would you rather they ignored each other while wearing headphones?

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056045271...
    Yes. That thread is just to gauge the reception to that particular trend, which I practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

KILL THEM WITH FIRE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

ILA wrote: »
    Yes. That thread is just to gauge the reception to that particular trend, which I practice.

i don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭demakinz

A few weeks ago i was on the dart from sydney parade to tara street about 3:30 pm, on it behind me were two junkies having a few cans. they had a phone on and playing some sort of techno on loud speaker and the were also playing a game scrabble on another phone and shouting out words. Bit of a strange experience.
    That doesnt happen alot but teens on the buses and trains playing different songs from different phones does my nut in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Should be shot! I rather not listen to the latest Bonkers tune...thanks! Although I'd love to do it back to them... start blasting some Pantera or Metallica in their faces! How'd ya like them apples....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

That's why I wear headphones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

You rarely see a scumbag with an iPhone, so I'd assume you mean some sort of nokia/other piece of shít. Damn low quality music...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

kylith wrote: »
    That's why I wear headphones.

I feel a merge coming on...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

demakinz wrote: »
    A few weeks ago i was on the dart from sydney parade to tara street about 3:30 pm, on it behind me were two junkies having a few cans. they had a phone on and playing some sort of techno on loud speaker and the were also playing a game scrabble on another phone and shouting out words. Bit of a strange experience.
    That doesnt happen alot but teens on the buses and trains playing different songs from different phones does my nut in.

Junkies know how to read now :eek: oh noes.. next they'll be on the interwebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Have I just crossed to a parallel dimension? This all seems horribly different but very similar at the same time...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

hobochris wrote: »
    Junkies know how to read now :eek: oh noes.. next they'll be on the interwebs.

Well that all depends if they are able to spell the words correctly... the first guy may be hoping the second guy doesn't know he's wrong ;)

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Have I just crossed to a parallel dimension? This all seems horribly different but very similar at the same time...

You have now entered the Tw-ILA-ight Zone, dooo daa doo doo doooo daa doo doo. <waves hands>.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Some friends were on a bus where some knackers were playing music out loud a year or so ago. After a while this huge eastern european guy who was on the bus too got pissed off. He walked up to them grabbed the phone, threw it on the bus floor, jumped on smashing it into about 50 pieces and then walked back to his seat. My friends thought he was an absolute hero...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

It's compensatory behaviour for the fact that they don't have any depth or real character so to announce that the posse is here they need to blast out the sped up dance tunes. The music says everything you need to know about them never mind the s**te that dribbles out of their mouths. Some of the time they're actually trying to provoke a reaction and when you take the bait and tell them to turn it down you'll have three or four of them on top of you like monkeys , as is their way being cowards by nature.

I've been jumped by a group of similar type skangers and while they don't hit that hard I wouldn't chance confronting them unless I had some back up. It's the girls that you need to watch more so , unless you want clumps of your hair pulled out by the root and a nasty mouth infection from being scraped by their manky nails. I kid you not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I have no problem about people playing music anywhere but the phones are annoying due the sh*t sound...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Download those high pitched ringtones that only dogs and teenagers can hear and blast it out at them.

Dubbed "mosquito noise/tone". Don't think that'd work.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080221213306AAcKGSs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭seven-iron

What is up with this?

Every morning and evening, for a total of at least two and a half hours a day on a bus, I am forced to endure the racket from young spacers blasting their horrid taste in music around the bus, and then constant screams to "send me that one!" and their even more puke inducing attempts to sing the crap they broadcast.

If you take public transport I have no sympathy for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

they had a phone on and playing some sort of techno on loud speaker and the were also playing a game scrabble on another phone and shouting out words.
    I'd be 99% sure what they were playing wasn't techno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Its more annoying if their ringtone is a ghastly song and up to full volume thats more annoying than them blasting their music from their phones when on public transport. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Its more annoying if their ringtone is a ghastly song and up to full volume thats more annoying than them blasting their music from their phones when on public transport. :/

... or when the sit there, running through all the ringtones on their phone one after another ...

Deaf people have it so easy

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Before the country morphed into a monocultural pack of bores we used to fight back with better audio equipment and Pantera!! That used to shut the skangers up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Before the country morphed into a monocultural pack of bores
    When did this happen? I seem to have missed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

They get the phone for Christmas and they'll get the headphones for their birthday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

to my shame, I had to do this once.

I was on a London Night bus, and it was pretty deserted, and drunk. the only way I could prevent myself from falling asleep and ending up locked in a London Bus Depot was to play myself some tunes.

I was mindful of not wanting to anoy the bus driver, so I put on some Creedence Clearwater Revival to keep me awake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

What is up with this?

??????????

whats teh story man? you just started a thread about people who are antisocial because they were headphones?

people pi**s me off playing music on loudspeakers alrite, but i'm sort of missing what your getting at op... i take it your not a music lover in general

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

blaze1 wrote: »
    ??????????

whats teh story man? you just started a thread about people who are antisocial because they were headphones?

people pi**s me off playing music on loudspeakers alrite, but i'm sort of missing what your getting at op... i take it your not a music lover in general
    To clarify:

I posted that thread to guage the public reaction to people using headphones. I use them daily on public transport, but was playing "devils advocate" if you would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭fishtastico

It's a viable alternative to expensive clubs in these recessionary times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I remember when I was over in New York on the subway, there was a sign saying "No Boomboxes allowed".

They should apply the same here. If you don't comply, €50 on the spot fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

They are always listening to some absolute shíte music too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I hear ya, OP. I think it's ignorant to be blasting your personal taste in music in public.

I was in the dole office last week and a couple stumbled in. First thing I heard was the lady saying "I'm gonna puke." After they were seated, the fella decided to play his phone music on full blast. Was some R n B number about a birthday suit with many expletives and much sexual content, which made me squirm because there were kids about. Another woman in her twenties went to reception to complain and they threatened to kill her. None of the social workers intervened. Too frightened I reckon. The two spent the rest of their time there threatening to ram the phone up or down various body parts belonging to the complainer while playing various other urban numbers at concentration defying tones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

A few weeks ago i was on the dart from sydney parade to tara street about 3:30 pm, on it behind me were two junkies having a few cans. they had a phone on and playing some sort of techno on loud speaker and the were also playing a game scrabble on another phone and shouting out words.

Keeping a low profile then...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Flojo wrote: »
    Should be shot! I rather not listen to the latest Bonkers tune...thanks! Although I'd love to do it back to them... start blasting some Pantera or Metallica in their faces! How'd ya like them apples....

I'm not sure the rest of the commuters would appreciate this response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

I got a few of those on the Dart the other day.

So i shared some Meshuggah with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭notonlybutalso

i threw a phone out of the bus window. They all got off to retrieve the device. Two birds one fone.

I had to endure this on a train from Dublin to Waterford a few weeks ago, 4 girls blaring and singing Rihanna from their phones. Apparently some passenger complained and few Irish Rail lads got on at Carlow telling them to shut up. Didn't stop them though, they should have been kicked off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

johnn wrote: »
    I'm not sure the rest of the commuters would appreciate this response

Ok so you'd rather listen to shitty Bonkers music yeah?

Fair enough... :p