Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I know im overreacting

• 27-09-2010 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

I really love my gf and I know she really loves me too. We are only going to see each other maybe once every week now for the next few months and this is after a summer of seeing each other very little too. She is at college and im at home doing nothing.

I find myself getting really peed off about little things. Like right now, she is out with her friends for the first time in ages. We were talking on Facebook at earlier and she said I will text you asap and she hasn't text me since (4 hours later).

Its really annoying me and like its not as if I think she is doing anything bad or I dont trust her. Just annoying that she hasnt text me in four hours.

I wouldn't even mind if she text me to say busy with friends and cant talk. I don't want to text her either and seem like needy and desperate. Aswell as that I dont want to text her so then I can see if she texts me at all tonight. Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Plenty of advice, OP, she's out with the girls, possibly drinking and having a good time with her friends is whats on her mind. 4 hours is also a very short time to worry about her not texting. I for one hate it when my friends text their bf's or OH, when we're out, its so rude and you're left wondering well should they have brought him in the end, so that she'd actually put the phone away.

Text her tomorrow and be casual saying "good night?" or something. If you text her tonight, you will come across as needy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I know she is out with the girls. But I just hate when she says she will text me and she doesn't. And I dont mind that she doesnt text me when she is out, just would like if she at least said just busy talking and stuff so text you tomorrow. Like if she is texting me lots on a night out I always tell her to stop and go have fun.

Just text her a while ago and said goodnight and to text me when she gets home (not in a needy way, its a habit we have). She just text back that she loves me with an x. Thats just sort of like saying really cant be bothered saying anything else. ha

I know im an eejit for thinking all this. And I try not to cos im just wrecking my own head.

Aswell as that I would be fast asleep ages ago but awake for other reasons and now just cant stop thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

I really love my gf and I know she really loves me too. We are only going to see each other maybe once every week now for the next few months and this is after a summer of seeing each other very little too. She is at college and im at home doing nothing.

I find myself getting really peed off about little things. Like right now, she is out with her friends for the first time in ages. We were talking on Facebook at earlier and she said I will text you asap and she hasn't text me since (4 hours later).

Its really annoying me and like its not as if I think she is doing anything bad or I dont trust her. Just annoying that she hasnt text me in four hours.

I wouldn't even mind if she text me to say busy with friends and cant talk. I don't want to text her either and seem like needy and desperate. Aswell as that I dont want to text her so then I can see if she texts me at all tonight. Any advice?

I can't stand those sort of guys that text you all the time. If I were her, I'd be running for the hills. Do you have nothing else to occupy your life? Do you want to control her every breathing moment? She's not your property, she has the right to exist apart from you. You are right you are over-reacting. Chill out, try to be more cool and maybe get something to occupy your time so you don't obsess over this girl and scare her away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

4 hours? Seriously OP, time for a reality check.

Get yourself some hobbies or interests so what your gf is doing and when isn't a preoccupation. I appreciate she said she would but give the girl some space to enjoy herself and meet her friends without having to be a part of the proceedings - now you're complaining her text to you while in the company of other people wasn't long enough - jeez, give her a break eh?

I can tell you, needy and insecure & high maintenance are not attractive qualities with which to retain a mate.

All the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭niamhocxox

Hey OP I know some people say your being silly blah blah blah but I do know how you feel because I was in the exact same situation this time last year. I'm not sure how old you are or how long your with your girlfriend but I was 17 and he was 19.
    We started going out in june last year after his leaving cert while I was in 4th year. We had the best summer together so naturally when he went to college and I was in leaving cert it was really tough because I felt like he had a completely different life to me, going out all the time,everything.
    I think its even tougher when your not together long because your still figuring out how you feel, and I for one was insecure thinking all this gorgeous girls in college would steal him. :rolleyes:
    But one year on and we're still going strong. Trust me it got so much easier when I just relaxed and stopped over reacting to him not texting back when he was out. You just have to accept that they have to live a little too and you don't want your girlfriend to feel your a nuisance.
    I hope I haven't gone off topic but our stories seem similar. I'm in college this year myself and I totally realise how much of a pain I must have been to my boyfriend last year because college really can be tiring and busy etc and I never realised it until now.
    I even apologised to my boyfriend this week about it. Just trust your girlfriend, which i'm sure you do anyway, and be nice and understanding because I wasn't and I'm grateful that my boyfriend didn't dump his then crazy girlfriend :)

P.S 4 hours does seem like forever sometimes. Yopu must really like her. She's a lucky lady. ;)

Hope I helped :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

I know im an eejit for thinking all this. And I try not to cos im just wrecking my own head.

In a nutshell, yes!

The reason you think this way (and the reason you think 4 hours is a long time) is because you are doing nothing. Start a hobby, join a club, go hill-walking or cycling.

You need something else going on in your life. If you don't make yourself interesting then in time you will cease to be somebody that she (or anyone) will want to spend time with. Your boredom is becoming your defining characteristic.

Be active,

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭StarryMoon0

She just text back that she loves me with an x. Thats just sort of like saying really cant be bothered saying anything else. ha

umm, she's out with friends, drinking and having a good time, are you expecting an essay?

I often say I'll text and then get to chatting and such and ooops, its midnight :o

Often I might simply send a smiley to my OH as a text, and he's cool with that because he knows I'm out with the girls, and not just "can't be bothered"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

I know she is out with the girls. But I just hate when she says she will text me and she doesn't. And I dont mind that she doesnt text me when she is out, just would like if she at least said just busy talking and stuff so text you tomorrow. Like if she is texting me lots on a night out I always tell her to stop and go have fun.

Just text her a while ago and said goodnight and to text me when she gets home (not in a needy way, its a habit we have). She just text back that she loves me with an x. Thats just sort of like saying really cant be bothered saying anything else. ha

Aswell as that I would be fast asleep ages ago but awake for other reasons and now just cant stop thinking about it.

OP. you need to calm down on the texting marlarky...its a buzz kill in relationships, your even worrying there about the way she texted you back when initially you only wanted a text. You'll drive her away with this sort of thing. honestly,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Oh god OP seriously you need to grow up, she has her own life, sounds like you need to get one too, just because you're at a loose end at the moment doesn't mean she has to put her life on hold, shes your gf, shes not there to entertain you 24 hours a day!

P.S 4 hours does seem like forever sometimes. Yopu must really like her. She's a lucky lady.

Pfft shes far from lucky tbh, her boyfriends needy, insecure, clingy and desperate, and has no life of his own, not attractive qualities, if i was her and i'd read his post i'd be running for the hills quite frankly.

OP you need to ask yourself why you need your gf's constant attention and validation? clearly you have your own self esteem/ selfworth issues which you are transferring onto her, i'd look at sorting yourself out if i was you because no one wants to be in a relationship where they have to constantly reassure their partner. If you don't want to lose this girl well then you need to cop on.