Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FrontLine 27/09/10

• 27-09-2010 9:32pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Over to you Pat......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

I think i'll pop a few valiums and watch Pat.

Enda kenny the next taoiseach, Dream on baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭AOwannabe

Pat Rabbitte getting very angry there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

AOwannabe wrote: »
    Pat Rabbitte getting very angry there

Yeah so what, labour would be worse than F.F in goverment, load of waffles just look at that idiot and waffler Joan Burton:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Pat Rabitte is a very decent and impressive man... But I would never vote labour, as the unions would be running the country .. even more so than they are already..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Finally can post - couldn't log in for the past 45 minutes - now I've forgotten what I wanted to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭AOwannabe

Yeah, any Labour TD that appears on TV still won't say what they would do with regards the budget/government policy.

Now must switch over to TV3 for Vincent Browne

Turned over like AOwannabe said, and VB is on a break as well ffs..

lol at the comment about "turning the corner"..

Camera man needed urgently

Camera man urgently required reply to Frontline

Anybody else having problems posting here this evening....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

deelite wrote: »

No . . .

deelite wrote: »

Yep, Richard Dower must have taken down the server with his usual thousand posts a minute..

Broadband has trippled - there you go lads ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Shut up Trevor you don't know anything!

Boards log in trouble!

I have no confidence in any party after seeing the lads there. Jaysus i hope Vincent is better craic!:p

baldbear wrote: »
    Boards log in trouble!

One of the moderators is constipated?

Noooooo Conor Lenihan again - you've got to be kidding me I'm going to tune into FM104

Right see you all next Monday hopefully - xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

Pat Rabitte is a very decent and impressive man... But I would never vote labour, as the unions would be running the country .. even more so than they are already..

And you know that because, Labour when in government in the past have allowed the Unions to run the country or because it's a popular soundbite?

I can entirely see why Pat Rabbitte lost his cool tonight, ffs I'm no politician and I want to scream every time I hear someone say "sure they're all the same", it shows lack of thought and political insight and may well be the cause of a return to power for FF, it seems to be catching on so well.

Please compare the last coalition with Labour and FG with the current shower and think of the trajectory we were on rather than the narrow one pursued by FF and then tell me how they are comparable at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭PKen

diddledum wrote: »
    And you know that because, Labour when in government in the past have allowed the Unions to run the country or because it's a popular soundbite?

I can entirely see why Pat Rabbitte lost his cool tonight, ffs I'm no politician and I want to scream every time I hear someone say "sure they're all the same", it shows lack of thought and political insight and may well be the cause of a return to power for FF, it seems to be catching on so well.

Please compare the last coalition with Labour and FG with the current shower and think of the trajectory we were on rather than the narrow one pursued by FF and then tell me how they are comparable at all.

Three words in reply - Croke Park Deal. Need I say more. Labour sat on the fence over it, because they and the Unions are Siamese twins. They wont cut Public Sector wages. In fact, they wont cut anything! How can they be credible if they're not seen to tackle our deficit?

The guy in the audience had a right to challenge Pat Rabitte. He was just articulating the frustration most feel, at the lack of grasp of the situation by all parties. Pat Rabitte (nice guy) is still part of a rotten party political system, e.g. salaries, expenses etc. As another person said, we need to change the system rather than just the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

PKen wrote: »
    Three words in reply - Croke Park Deal. Need I say more. Labour sat on the fence over it, because they and the Unions are Siamese twins. They wont cut Public Sector wages. In fact, they wont cut anything! How can they be credible if they're not seen to tackle our deficit?

The guy in the audience had a right to challenge Pat Rabitte. He was just articulating the frustration most feel, at the lack of grasp of the situation by all parties. Pat Rabitte (nice guy) is still part of a rotten party political system, e.g. salaries, expenses etc. As another person said, we need to change the system rather than just the government.

Well golly now, lets see, who thrashed out the Croke Park Deal with the unions?, that would be Fianna Fail, the power of the unions in this country has grown strongly during FF's tenure, particularly those representing PS workers, so if a track record on pandering to the Trade unions is what you are alluding to, it's already been done, just not by the Labour party.

As far as changing the system with regards salaries and expenses, it's sure going to be one of the issues I will be raising when they come knocking on my door looking for votes. I will also be raising the issue of Union ties with the Labour party when they come calling.

People do not engage enough with their representatives. I have done and sometimes, you know what?, they can be very receptive, ok, sometimes not so much but unless you actually articulate, you'll never get anywhere.

I can appreciate the frustration out there but labeling them as all the same gets us no where, we need to channel it, stop, take a step back, think of a list of issues that are important to us and confront our representatives in a coherent manner, we have the power to affect change. It's just that as it stands, we're pulling in 101 different directions and nobody is making much sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭PKen

diddledum, I agree with a lot of what you're saying and I appreciate you're trying to be positive. However, what still disillusions me is, when I talk to some representatives I personally know. They candidly discuss what they're getting and (considering the current economy) their sense of "Intitlement" is sickening.

It's the slowness of getting anything done politically is what pisses off most self employed people. We're a nation governed by Teachers and Solicitors. Where are the business people? Remember Lucinda Creighton (FG) was asked a while back about this and she regarded GPs as business owners!!! This is the mentality of most of our "Political Class".

No matter what you say, the main problem is that a career politician is just that. They wont be turkeys voting for Christmas. I feel we must first demand change (not Government change) in our Constitution. A complete overhaul of it is required. Through referenda, let's make the changes appropriate that would make it serve the people and not just those who govern. When this is done, maybe then have an election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

I thought Jim Reilly was on top of his game last night,future FG leadership material.
    Curran sat there all night with the rabit in the headlight stare.

I hope we can all log in this week and write about the show and if we cant I'm going to put this on the CT forum.....