Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mink rafts

• 26-09-2010 8:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭

who here uses mink rafts, how do ye find them compaired to the normal traps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

jap gt wrote: »
    who here uses mink rafts, how do ye find them compaired to the normal traps

I've seen these for sale somewhere recently, but you can make one up yourself using a live catch cage tied to a small wooden platform, which is the raft, and an ancor of some sort to stop the raft from floating back to shore!

It's not that the trap is very effective, but more so the method!
    Mink love to investigate objects floating on the water and so are naturally attracted to the raft!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Mink rafts I feel are only valid when you are trapping an area when you are not sure if Mink are present as you can set the raft walk away and not have to check it daily.

I'm lucky enough to be known around my area for trapping which means i get a lot of calls when mink are sighted. So when I got a call on Sunday to say a mink had killed 10 quail, 2 hens and attacked the owners dog I was quickly there with my traps. A day later and a nice pair have been trapped and dispatched!

The owner also mentioned this is the first year no signets were seen on the estuary beside her even though there are over 20 swans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

Terrier wrote: »
    Mink rafts I feel are only valid when you are trapping an area when you are not sure if Mink are present as you can set the raft walk away and not have to check it daily.

I'm lucky enough to be known around my area for trapping which means i get a lot of calls when mink are sighted. So when I got a call on Sunday to say a mink had killed 10 quail, 2 hens and attacked the owners dog I was quickly there with my traps. A day later and a nice pair have been trapped and dispatched!

The owner also mentioned this is the first year no signets were seen on the estuary beside her even though there are over 20 swans!

well i think you better make your way up to donegal for some nutter broke in to the local mink farm and let out hundreds off the little feckers ,makes me mad:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Not quite on topic, but is .22lr dust shot suitable for humane dispatch of a mink in a trap? What I mean is 1)will it kill a mink humanely at close range 2)is it safe for the shooter ie ricochet etc and 3)will it leave the trap undamaged. I don't agree with drowning and I don't want to shoot my traps to pieces, but I do want to be humane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Not quite on topic, but is .22lr dust shot suitable for humane dispatch of a mink in a trap? What I mean is 1)will it kill a mink humanely at close range 2)is it safe for the shooter ie ricochet etc and 3)will it leave the trap undamaged. I don't agree with drowning and I don't want to shoot my traps to pieces, but I do want to be humane.

No. 7.5 at 25-30 yards does no damage to the trap and is a humane kill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Terrier wrote: »
    No. 7.5 at 25-30 yards does no damage to the trap and is a humane kill

Thanks, thats good to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

High powered air rifle is also excellent. Lethal but safe to the shooter and trap. That's what me Dad uses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

thanks for the info lads