Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This year's TV season...not going to be as good as last year?

• 24-09-2010 8:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭

So with a few pilots out now, i'm finding myself very disappointed with them. there's very little that i find i'm going to pick up as a regular show. i was debating about watching The Event, but the failure of FlashForward last year has put me in a cautious mood, and i'm not watching it until season 2 has been decided or not. Nikita and Lost Girl are the only new shows i'm watching so far. I do have some other pilots yet to watch but i'm not hopeful
    There is some returning shows i'm watching (SGU, The Good Wife, 30 rock among others) but a lot of my regular shows have ended/cancelled (Lost, Heroes to name two), so i'm finding myself at a bit of a loss this year. i can't help but feel that this year isn't going to be a good tv year :( i think it's going to be hard to top last year's tv shows

how do the rest of ye feel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Returning and non-seasonal shows are all I'm really looking at this year, The Office, HIMYM, IASIP, 30 Rock, Sons of Anarchy (meh), Family Guy, The Cleveland Show, Dexter, South Park (eventually), The Colbert Report. Boardwalk Empire is the only new show I have any interest in, and even then I may well leave it til the end of the season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I watched Lone Star...and was surprised at how good it was, pity it'll be cancelled.
    I have a fair amount of shows to watch each week, I've picked up The Event/Hawaii-5-0, i'll give Undercovers a chance to see how it goes.

I'm liking Hellcats more then Nikita tbh, i've no shortge of shows to watch, i'm trying to weed out shows and cut down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,193 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Last year was an awful year for new TV...

.. 'Modern Family' and 'Community', and that was it for me!

Can't remember enjoying any new drama series last year... but I'm open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

For me BoardWalk Empire and The Walking Dead are two locks as new pickups. I am not complaining :pac:

Opr

opr wrote: »
    For me BoardWalk Empire and The Walking Dead are two locks as new pickups. I am not complaining :pac:

Opr
    'The Walking Dead' is probably the one show I'm REALLY invested in this year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Only The Walking Dead for me, nothing else really out there.

Last year was the year Fringe came into it's own properly, Flashforward was decent enough, the Cleveland show got a good run too and I can't remember anything else really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

basquille wrote: »
    'The Walking Dead' is probably the one show I'm REALLY invested in this year..

I am also really pumped for Luck with Hoffman and Milch and a host of other great talent involved but its a ways down the line yet before it airs.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

I think everyone who gave up on SGU last year should give it another go, Season 2 looks amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sometimes I wonder what you'd all watch if generic genre tv from across the pond suddenly dissapeared!

mike65 wrote: »
    Sometimes I wonder what you'd all watch if generic genre tv from across the pond suddenly dissapeared!
    I watch a fair amount of British programming, and Irish programming is very good too..

.. I made up the second part of that sentence! :D

Some of the British TV has been quite strong last year - Misfits, Being Human, Sherlock, Doctor Who (I'm a latecomer to it, but the last season was amazing), Ashes to Ashes to name but a few.

But the reason this is on our minds is September / October is the new season for TV in the US.

lads...have we covered every new show from the US now?, threads for each one....looks as if we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Not a new show but is anyone else looking forward to the new season of House? I've fallen in love with the show and Hugh Laurie's dry wit. Only on season 2 but am really enjoying it. Also Lisa Edelstein is a MILF.

Dave147 wrote: »
    Not a new show but is anyone else looking forward to the new season of House? I've fallen in love with the show and Hugh Laurie's dry wit. Only on season 2 but am really enjoying it. Also Lisa Edelstein is a MILF.
    I've behind by almost a full season..

.. I love the show but after season 6's fantastic opening episode, it went back into a bit of rut and I lost interest!

Will probably catch up over Christmas.

I watched the season opener for House...meh, i'm giving up on it from here forward.
    Also...can we add custom avatar's?....i wanna add a "CW" logo as my avatar :-)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Lone Star is the only new one that I watched. None of the rest of them look even slightly interesting to me.
    I might give Running Wilde a shot because of Will Arnett, but it seems like most of the "new shows" are just a rehash of what's already out there, and some of them are actual remakes of other things. Nothing original.

Lone Star was quite good and I thought it has potential but it's probably going to be canned unless this weeks episode gains about 6 million viewers. It's a shame really because everything else is procedural cop/medical shows, or crazy mind bending sci fi shows. Why can't there be a show that relies on well drawn characters and strong scripts?

Also...can we add custom avatar's?....i wanna add a "CW" logo as my avatar :-)
    It's a perk for subscribers / moderators..

If you feel like subscribing, it's always appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I thought last year gave us some great shows, as Basquille already mentioned Community, Misfits and Modern Family, and to a lesser extent The Middle...
    I've already picked up Raising Hope, Outsourced and Mike and Molly for this year - also Boardwalk Empire, but I'll probably wait until the first season is over and watch it all at once. Plus there's still more with potential - The Walking Dead, The Cape, Mr Sunshine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Not new shows but new Smallville and Supernatural seasons start tonight looking forward to those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Boardwalk Empire and The Walking Dead are the only things that stand out to me.Check boards then to see if anything is good but none of them really stand out as a must watch.

Looking forward to A Game of Thrones too.

I didn't think last year was that bad of a year for TV, it wasn't great but Modern Family,Glee(for half a season),Spartacus and Treme were all pretty good.

It's seeming like it might be the year when some TV shows should end - the major ones being The Office and Supernatural. Recently I've found myself rewatching the older episodes of the Office and there's been a remarkable downturn, especially with it's 6th season.

With regards to the new shows - the only ones I know I'm going to watch fully are Boardwalk Empire and the Walking Dead (side-note: when is the Walking Dead being screened?)

I'm looking forward to the new season of Dexter, which is on Sunday, and also Being Human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Can't remember enjoying any new drama series last year... but I'm open to correction.

Basquille you should check out Justified. That for me was a very enjoyable new drama from last season. Also I really enjoyed The Good Wife but that's not everyone's cup of tea.

Regarding this year, I haven't caught up with everything yet but from the new shows I will be continuing with:
    • Lonestar (for as long as it lasts),
    • Hawaii-5-0 - although I think I'll stop asking my cousins to send it over and wait for it to come to RTE - for me it's not 'can't wait for it' TV
    • Terriers - I'll stick with it for another while although I don't think it's doing too well
    • The Event - can't help being skeptical, as was said above, can't help comparing it to FlashForward

I'll be saving Boardwalk Empire to watch all in one go.
    Sorry this has kind of morphed into a post more suitable for the 'What new shows are you sticking with thread':D...

.. and the Walking Dead (side-note: when is the Walking Dead being screened?)
    Halloween night (October 31st).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

It's seeming like it might be the year when some TV shows should end - the major ones being The Office and Supernatural.

no, Supernatural is still good!
    Smallville should finally end as it is just dragging its arse now, fly already for fecks sake!

Skerries wrote: »
    no, Supernatural is still good!
    Smallville should finally end as it is just dragging its arse now, fly already for fecks sake!

It's why I want Supernatural to end, so it can stay good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Boardwalk Empire was pretty good. Looking forward to seeing how it pans out.
    Other than that, Detroit 1-8-7 is the other new show I'm going to try.

Of the returning shows, House is a definite. Getting a bit predicable but he's such a great character at this stage that it's well worth 45 minutes. Plus when they get it right it's fantastic television. It's back on Sky on October 3rd so I'll watch it there as it's only a couple of weeks behind the States.

Dexter. The fourth season was probably one of the strongest and the show is consistently brilliant IMO. My only decision is if I want to watch it week by week or save the episodes. It returns tomorrow night and I just know I won't be able to resist. :D

Not back until next year, but the daddy of all tv shows, Breaking Bad is simply unmissable.

I may try a few of the other new shows recommended on various threads here, but I'm playing catchup with at least a couple of shows, I'm on season 2 of both Fringe and Mad Men, so have more than enough for the time being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

i picked up a good few new shows last year, SGU, The Good Wife, Spartacus and a few others that i'm too embarrassed to say :o:P
    i thought it was good enough last year but this year's seems dreadful. very little atm that i'm willing to pick up. The Walking Dead seems to be the only one i'm genuinely excited about.

btw i'd recommend watching SGU if you haven't already. you don't need to have seen SG1 or Atlantis (i didn't), and it goes in a totally different direction with less of the humour in the earlier series. it's very good drama, with a bit of sci-fi and less of the "mythology" of SG1

When is SGU back?

^ Tuesday, along with Caprica.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Just watch Weeds. Weeds is, was, and always will be (at least, I hope) really, really good. The cliffhanger this week :eek:

As for actual NEW new shows, I really have no idea what's out there.. there's very little new stuff that interests me. Then again I'm not much of a TV person anyway, I just watch Weeds, Penn & Teller: Bullsh!t, Chuck, Big Bang Theory, QI, Entourage and.. maybe one other thing that's still going. Keep trying to remember to watch Dexter but never get around to it.

The rest of my favourite shows are either done or got cancelled way too early (Arrested Development, Pushing Daisies, Reaper).

Anyone have any idea of there's anything new out that I may find interesting based on what I've listed? :confused: Need some new stuff to watch..

Loads of threads on the new shows, we've covered pretty much every new show this season. I'm getting into South Korean and Japanese tv....so i'll be covering this as well :-)

^ Tuesday, along with Caprica.

Thanks for that, Richard. Caprica got a second season? I stopped watching after episode 3 - did it pick up in the later episodes?
    liah wrote: »
    Just watch Weeds. Weeds is, was, and always will be (at least, I hope) really, really good. The cliffhanger this week :eek:

As for actual NEW new shows, I really have no idea what's out there.. there's very little new stuff that interests me. Then again I'm not much of a TV person anyway, I just watch Weeds, Penn & Teller: Bullsh!t, Chuck, Big Bang Theory, QI, Entourage and.. maybe one other thing that's still going. Keep trying to remember to watch Dexter but never get around to it.

The rest of my favourite shows are either done or got cancelled way too early (Arrested Development, Pushing Daisies, Reaper).

Anyone have any idea of there's anything new out that I may find interesting based on what I've listed? :confused: Need some new stuff to watch..

Have you seen the newest episodes of QI, liah? I really don't think this season is as good - the general ignorance round, which, for me, as the best part of the show, seems to be a lot shorter. Maybe it's just me.

So far the only NEW show worth watching/keeping an eye on is Boardwalk Empire.

^ Caprica is season 1.5, it's only got 18 episodes for season 1, 9 are played and 9 to go. No word yet on a second season renewal....i doubt it. Did it pick up?...hmmm, not really, it's tough going that show. Check out the BSG and Caprica forum, we covered each ep. as they dropped.

Thanks for that, Richard. Caprica got a second season? I stopped watching after episode 3 - did it pick up in the later episodes?

Have you seen the newest episodes of QI, liah? I really don't think this season is as good - the general ignorance round, which, for me, as the best part of the show, seems to be a lot shorter. Maybe it's just me.

So far the only NEW show worth watching/keeping an eye on is Boardwalk Empire.

Yeah, I've been keeping up-- I don't know, I find it hard to actually analyze QI as a TV show, I think it's just as good as it's always been, some eps are better than others. Depends totally on the panel (as bad as it is I don't like it when they get new people that've never been on before! the eps always suck :() and of course, Stephen. You can tell when he's going through a dip with his bipolar stuff and that'll obviously affect the quality, but no one can be blamed for that.

I just think of it like watching something live. Totally depends on their moods rather than "well this season is worse/better." I didn't notice General Ignorance being shorter, but I never focused on it, either. I'll keep an eye on it next week!

What's the premise behind Boardwalk Empire? And The Walking Dead-- please tell me it's about zombies! :pac:

Boardwalk Empire is set in the 1920's...lavish period piece about prohibition and gangsters. Walking Dead is more about the survivors of a zombie global event then fighting zombies....it's not Dawn Of The dead.

liah wrote: »
    Yeah, I've been keeping up-- I don't know, I find it hard to actually analyze QI as a TV show, I think it's just as good as it's always been, some eps are better than others. Depends totally on the panel (as bad as it is I don't like it when they get new people that've never been on before! the eps always suck :() and of course, Stephen. You can tell when he's going through a dip with his bipolar stuff and that'll obviously affect the quality, but no one can be blamed for that.

I just think of it like watching something live. Totally depends on their moods rather than "well this season is worse/better." I didn't notice General Ignorance being shorter, but I never focused on it, either. I'll keep an eye on it next week!

What's the premise behind Boardwalk Empire? And The Walking Dead-- please tell me it's about zombies! :pac:

Somebody will probably be able to give you a better summary of Boardwalk Empire but, from what I can gather, it's based during the prohibition in America, namely Atlantic City- but it's probably better to let Wikipedia explain it:
    Boardwalk Empire is an American television series from premium cable network HBO, set in Atlantic City, New Jersey, during the Prohibition era. Starring Steve Buscemi, the show is adapted from Nelson Johnson's book, Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times, and Corruption of Atlantic City by Emmy Award-winning screenwriter and producer Terence Winter of The Sopranos.[1]

Martin Scorsese directed the pilot episode and this is pretty obvious throughout the episode.

Yep, the Walking Dead is based around Zombies and it's about time they got their own TV show, after the pretty decent pilot for Babylon Fields never got picked up by CBS.

I agree completely with you about QI - it definitely depends on who is on the panel. Any time I see Jo Brand's ugly head and face I just can't watch it.

Somebody will probably be able to give you a better summary of Boardwalk Empire but, from what I can gather, it's based during the prohibition in America, namely Atlantic City- but it's probably better to let Wikipedia explain it:

Martin Scorsese directed the pilot episode and this is pretty obvious throughout the episode.

Yep, the Walking Dead is based around Zombies and it's about time they got their own TV show, after the pretty decent pilot for Babylon Fields never got picked up by CBS.

I agree completely with you about QI - it definitely depends on who is on the panel. Any time I see Jo Brand's ugly head and face I just can't watch it.

Steve Buscemi in a TV series? Class. I'll definitely put that on my list. And The Walking Dead, my housemate and I kind of have a thing for zombies, sounds like it's right up our alley.

I like Jo Brand sometimes, she has her moments, but the man-hating thing and the self-deprecating thing are way overused. The Jimmy Carr and Bill Bailey episodes are usually gold, though oddly I don't really like their styles in standup (Jimmy Carr even on QI comes off as a total pompous brat, but it's part of his act and he is genuinely clever, the smarties/cats legs thing in the B season was genius).

David Mitchell gets on my nerves, think he just seems like he's trying too hard sometimes and it's a bit of a turn-off. Love Dara O'Briein (sp).

I should stop now, I could talk about QI all day, it's my one of my favourite concepts for a show ever, after Penn & Teller: Bullsh!t and certain Derren Brown things (namely the Messiah). :o

Watch the full pilot here:http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3315295143249630002#

I found it to be a pretty intriguing pilot, with a lot of potential i.e.
    the murder victim trying to track down who murdered him (it was his daughter if I remember correctly?
    I just find it incredible that it then took them this long to make a TV series based around Zombies when it has become a multi-billion dollar franchise with regards to the games (Resident Evil) and the movies (the Resident Evil franchise, [REC], George A. Romero movies etc.) and the literature. Though I'm not entirely sure how long your link will remain, Richard, but I do recommend people to watch it before it gets taken down.

Going back on topic, I'd be interested to see if the likes of No Ordinary Family and the Event will drop the styles used in their pilots (i.e. the documentary feel to No Ordinary Family and the non-linear time jumps with the Event), because these were the weakest aspects of each show.

^ it's a Google video link, it's a legit link and not copyright infrigement + it's also on Youtube, the unaired pilot of Body Politic + many others are on YT....so i can't see why it should be removed?

The documentary/interview style on NOF is being dropped, it was only used for the pilot.

^ it's a Google video link, it's a legit link and not copyright infrigement + it's also on Youtube, the unaired pilot of Body Politic + many others are on YT....so i can't see why it should be removed?

The documentary/interview style on NOF is being dropped, it was only used for the pilot.

I just think streaming of TV shows like that is still a legal grey area at present. It leads to a lot of confusion with regards to who is accountable for copyright infringement - the people who uploaded it, the site that's hosting it, or boards for allowing it to be posted. You can understand why it would be a bit of a sore spot, with the major clampdowns on copyright infringement lately.

Good, I'm somewhat looking forward to seeing NOF now, it's pretty much the real-life equivalent of the Pixar movie, The Incredibles.

^ feck it...just gimme my infraction already, lost count now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

I just think streaming of TV shows like that is still a legal grey area at present. It leads to a lot of confusion with regards to who is accountable for copyright infringement - the people who uploaded it, the site that's hosting it, or boards for allowing it to be posted. You can understand why it would be a bit of a sore spot, with the major clampdowns on copyright infringement lately.

Good, I'm somewhat looking forward to seeing NOF now, it's pretty much the real-life equivalent of the Pixar movie, The Incredibles.

i thing the streaming of videos has helped networks and the staff of shows to perfect there ideas, there have been many pilot "leaked" the last few years, then people start talking about the aspects they liked and didnt like, which caracters were done well and what-not, then about 6 months later the actual pilot airs, with a butt load of changes,

if you ever saw the original big bang theory pilot you would understand the different direction they took,

these streams are a tool that the networks use, which would make it that much harder to enforce the copyrights, and anyway with the like of sky+ out there anyone can record a tv show or film,

all the equipemt is readily available in any local electircal supplier, all anyone needs to have a tv show on disc is, a tv, a sky box, a dvd recorder, and a blank dvd disc,

it was the same with VHS

copyright would only be enforced if a person was distrubuting copyrighted material for a profit, obviously it can be enforced for just possesion of it, but it would be very harsh to punnish someone who used it for only personal use, and has access to the content anyway ie, sky.

don ramo wrote: »
    i thing the streaming of videos has helped networks and the staff of shows to perfect there ideas, there have been many pilot "leaked" the last few years, then people start talking about the aspects they liked and didnt like, which caracters were done well and what-not, then about 6 months later the actual pilot airs, with a butt load of changes,

if you ever saw the original big bang theory pilot you would understand the different direction they took,

these streams are a tool that the networks use, which would make it that much harder to enforce the copyrights, and anyway with the like of sky+ out there anyone can record a tv show or film,

all the equipemt is readily available in any local electircal supplier, all anyone needs to have a tv show on disc is, a tv, a sky box, a dvd recorder, and a blank dvd disc,

it was the same with VHS

copyright would only be enforced if a person was distrubuting copyrighted material for a profit, obviously it can be enforced for just possesion of it, but it would be very harsh to punnish someone who used it for only personal use, and has access to the content anyway ie, sky.

While I agree with everything you just said, there still is a bit of a grey area around it - if there wasn't why have so many streaming sites been taken down? But this is a discussion for a seperate thread.

Poochie05 wrote: »
    • Hawaii-5-0 - although I think I'll stop asking my cousins to send it over and wait for it to come to RTE - for me it's not 'can't wait for it' TV
      QUOTE]

As I was a fan of the original and have all the seasons, that are so far released on dvd, I am looking forward to seeing the new Hawaii Five O.
      Bravo are running promos for it to be shown in October!

whiteman19 wrote: »
    So with a few pilots out now, i'm finding myself very disappointed with them. there's very little that i find i'm going to pick up as a regular show. i was debating about watching The Event, but the failure of FlashForward last year has put me in a cautious mood, and i'm not watching it until season 2 has been decided or not. Nikita and Lost Girl are the only new shows i'm watching so far. I do have some other pilots yet to watch but i'm not hopeful
    There is some returning shows i'm watching (SGU, The Good Wife, 30 rock among others) but a lot of my regular shows have ended/cancelled (Lost, Heroes to name two), so i'm finding myself at a bit of a loss this year. i can't help but feel that this year isn't going to be a good tv year :( i think it's going to be hard to top last year's tv shows

how do the rest of ye feel?

Ken Tucker agrees..... http://watching-tv.ew.com/2010/10/10/fall-tv-hawaii-glee-dancing/