Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bodyshop for minor repair

• 23-09-2010 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭

Not sure if this belongs in a Regional forum (please move if you deem it appropriate mods).

Yesterday evening in the lashings of rain I was going around a two-lane bend to the right, I was in the right lane and another driver was in the left lane. He cut the bend, encroached my lane and collided with my car. All very low-key, low speed stuff but I've ended up with damage to my front passenger wing because of it. I've got his details but he never took mine and even wanted to just give me his phone number and leave it at that. The damage is nothing serious, I think it just needs a panel beating to put it back into shape and a good buffing to get the silver paint from the guys car off it too.

I'm looking for some advice/recommendations on where to get this done around the Drumcondra/Whitehall area. Obviously I'd like to keep it cheap, as if I ring him saying €500 he'll probably tell me where to go and I'd like to do this without going to the insurance as we didn't call the Gardai and because of the rain we didn't stop at the scene, instead travelling further up the road to shelter, so there's no witnesses to call on. In my opinion the damage is a big giveaway as to who done what, but we all know how insurance works :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

is the paint broken??? can you put a picture up of the damage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

is the paint broken??? can you put a picture up of the damage?

No, the paint doesn't appear to be broken. I'll put up a picture of the damage in a short while :)

if its just a dent ring quickdent, great service and good prices, he does dents on any cars i have.

pm me if you want his number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Not sure if the damage is bad enough but I got a dent and bumper respray from these guys and it was around €400-500 - http://www.carcraft.ie/ The dent was pretty big with paint damage - the car skidded in the ice as I locked the wheel coming out of the driveway when the place was all icy :(, the bumper was from when the nice car park attendant waved me out in Jervis street as a cyclist came flying down (the one way street) in the wrong direction :mad::rolleyes:

On closer inspection, as in without the lashing rain and in the daylight I see that the laquer and paint has been broken so Quickdent won't be able to fix it up for me. Carcraft is only down the road though so I'm going to drop in there. If there are any more suggestions then fire away, want to get a few quotes.

Here's the damage:

hpim2873.jpg

hpim2874.jpg

hpim2875i.jpg

hpim2876.jpg

*Edit* ..Oh, an alloy repair place would be good too, look at the fat lip on my wheel :eek:

from that last pic looks like a tyre would be a good ideo too

Nope, there's plenty of thread left the tyre, 7mm when I checked it a week ago. They're Proxes and come with the yellow/green strips even when new. It's when the lines join up you need to worry afaik ;)

:confused:whats in the middle of the tyre

I don't understand? There's 6mm of thread on the edge of the tyre, and ~7mm in the middle of the tyre. The tyre is this one:
    toyopq0.gif

lol after looking again i think there is just something in the picture, at a glance there is yellow in the middle of the tyre an it looked warn through!

You're right. There is a yellow and a green strip running through the tyre, they've been there since I bought the tyres new. You can't see the green one because it's on the other side of the tyre closest to the engine. It's a safety thing or so I've been told.

The lines are broken by the tyre's design but as the tyre wears down eventually you'll just see solid yellow & green lines, which is when you seriously need to replace the tyre. Since there's 7mm of thread and the yellow & green lines are broken I've nothing to worry about - cheers though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 frans crash repairs

Looks like it need to be pulled out, filled and painted. If the other driver accepts liability, then you're entitled to get it repaired wherever you want and you're entitled to have the job done the way you want it, i.e. not just pushed out for ya. Also, if it's going through his insurance, you're entitled to a courtesy car while yours is being repaired.

I was just down with Carcraft there since they're very close to me. Quoted me €250+VAT for a total of €283.75.

The guy noticed the wing seems to have been shifted as the gap between it and the door is very narrow and where it meets the body at the windscreen (see bottom picture by the door mirror) it's sticking out and isn't flush.

What I have on the quote here is the panel needs to be "repaired, resprayed and re-aligned to the surrounding panels". €150 labour, €100 paint & sundries.

Guess I better call the taximan now so he can tell me to shove it and give the insurance company a call thereafter :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Guess I better call the taximan now so he can tell me to shove it and give the insurance company a call thereafter :o

If I clipped someone and did that damage, I'd be over the moon for a sub €500 bill.
    A dealership would be looking for a lot more I'd reckon.

Fair play to ya TouchingVirus, very decent of you I'd say.

A-Trak wrote: »
    If I clipped someone and did that damage, I'd be over the moon for a sub €500 bill.
    A dealership would be looking for a lot more I'd reckon.

Fair play to ya TouchingVirus, very decent of you I'd say.

In fairness I'm not out to rob yer man. It was a mistake on his part and I'd just like my car back to the way it was beforehand. I'm fine, you'll not get dodgy claims for non-existent injuries or damage off me - that underhanded sh*t is why insurance is so expensive in the first place.

I only hope he sees it like you do to be honest, I'd prefer to not have to go down the insurance route :pac:

Jaysus, there are decent sorts. Just gave him a call there and he said it seems reasonable enough and to give him a few days to get the money. Cheers for the recommendation of Carcraft tk123!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I'm not surprised he accepted that price, I bet he was dreading a lot higher.

BTW, it might be a good idea to sort out that dented alloy. It looks quite nasty and is not something I'd like to be driving around with, especially on the front.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    I'm not surprised he accepted that price, I bet he was dreading a lot higher.

BTW, it might be a good idea to sort out that dented alloy. It looks quite nasty and is not something I'd like to be driving around with, especially on the front.

I went down to Phoenix Tyres today and got a quote of €50 per wheel. I saw Antan recommended in another thread so I may go with them and get the wheels fully reconditioned as there's a bit of kerbing on them too.

To be honest it must have happened in the last week because it's pretty obvious and it's fairly badly lipped. It won't pass the NCT that's up in 2 weeks either :/