Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joan Burtons Anglo revelations

• 22-09-2010 9:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭

Hi, Anybody got the gen on what Joan was alleging in the Dail today? I caught snippetts on the radio, but not the whole story, just heard Lenno offering a somwhat wet response that she should bring her evidence to the "Nama Bank"?? Whatever that is. She seemed to be alledging that certain people had absconded with large sums of money from Anglo, if this is the case, it reeks of white-collar crime going unpunished and unpursued yet again. Anybody know more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

AAah, I must've imagined it...... or is it too hot to handle? Or is it BS?? I definitly heard it though.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

dunsandin wrote: »
    Hi, Anybody got the gen on what Joan was alleging in the Dail today? I caught snippetts on the radio, but not the whole story, just heard Lenno offering a somwhat wet response that she should bring her evidence to the "Nama Bank"?? Whatever that is. She seemed to be alledging that certain people had absconded with large sums of money from Anglo, if this is the case, it reeks of white-collar crime going unpunished and unpursued yet again. Anybody know more?

If she did it's probably nothing new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

She was talking about some Anglo executives and some developers who have moved abroad and wants them investigated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Was she referring to 15million eur that Sean Fitz transferred to (or maybe from) his personal account in around Nama coming in???Apparently it was labelled questionable - possibly by an EU committee or some such, the details are fuzzy in my head!

I thought I heard mention of that somewhere too, on the radio....couldn't find anything about it anywhere though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Seanie Fitz was not the only corrupt man running around Anglo.

There's more than a few bankers and developers who are down to, what is it, €185 a month, in income who have wives, housewifes all their lives, with assets of several millions.

Lenny did mention the CAB when he was responding...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

i read something yesterday regarding Seanie's day in court that the bankruptcy laws only permit the appointed receiver to investigate transfers for the last 6 months

as Seanie was moving cash out for the last 18 months it might be a case of too little too late.

bamboozle wrote: »
    i read something yesterday regarding Seanie's day in court that the bankruptcy laws only permit the appointed receiver to investigate transfers for the last 6 months

as Seanie was moving cash out for the last 18 months it might be a case of too little too late.
    This is one of the big jokes running around at the moment.

His wife and kids are multi millionaires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

The smirking dwarf's photo has really got me irked this morning...

Has there been any emergency legislation brought in at the start of this whole con to stop people like this transferring houses, money etc into their familys names?

It sickens me to think that even one of these evil bastards will get away with a cent - surely, emergency measures could have been executed to stop dead in it's tracks any thought of technical loopholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

gambiaman wrote: »

Has there been any emergency legislation brought in at the start of this whole con to stop people like this transferring houses, money etc into their familys names?

It sickens me to think that even one of these evil bastards will get away with a cent - surely, emergency measures could have been executed to stop dead in it's tracks any thought of technical loopholes.
    Obiviously not, I think we should introduce internment for those employed at a certain level of the financial services sector prior to 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

IrishTonyO wrote: »
    She was talking about some Anglo executives and some developers who have moved abroad and wants them investigated

Lenno told her to name names then - I doubt she could other than what is already out there in the public domain already such as David Drumm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Too late.
    We have david drumm sitting in New England seemingly refusing to cooperate with investigations, we have developers like derek quinlan immigrating to Switzerland.

Also isn't interesting that Anglo under fitzpatprick sold their Austrian private bank with supposedly €600 million in deposits in Sept 2008 at the very time they were desperate for deposits as highlighted in the previous 6months where IL&P had "supposedly" lodged €7.5 billion in deposits.

Also due to Austrian banking rules we will never know the identity of these deposits worth €600 million.

It also turns out that Anglo made a profit of €49 million from the sale of the Austrian bank to Swiss bank Valartis for €141 million.
    But even better was the fact that Anglo provided Valartis with a €24 million loan to part fund the purchase.

There is so much sh** behind the scenes and the stink probably rises so high up that we will never know the true extent of what went on.
    All we will ever know is how much it will cost us.

I think FG/Labour should come out and publicly state they will subsequent to being elected immediately bring in Eva Jolly and make any necessary changes to leigislation so that all parties involved in subverting the Irish financial system either through fraudalent activity, highly unethical risky activity or negligent in their failure to perform their duties on behalf of the citizens of the state will be punished even with removal of assets, pensions and custodial sentences.

I don't care if people say it is isn't possible or can't be done, it's about time we showed the world the ordinary citizens can't be walked on forever.
    Anything is possible given the will of the people.
    And no bloody tribunals. :mad:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

I have decided that I will not be voting Fine Gael at the next election because these are all the hard questions they should have been asking all along and haven't bothered. Where is the huge furore over the antics of these developers and bankers by the opposition and the media?

I'm truly sick of this rotten country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

jmayo wrote: »
    Too late.
    We have david drumm sitting in New England seemingly refusing to cooperate with investigations, we have developers like derek quinlan immigrating to Switzerland.

Also isn't interesting that Anglo under fitzpatprick sold their Austrian private bank with supposedly €600 million in deposits in Sept 2008 at the very time they were desperate for deposits as highlighted in the previous 6months where IL&P had "supposedly" lodged €7.5 billion in deposits.

Also due to Austrian banking rules we will never know the identity of these deposits worth €600 million.

It also turns out that Anglo made a profit of €49 million from the sale of the Austrian bank to Swiss bank Valartis for €141 million.
    But even better was the fact that Anglo provided Valartis with a €24 million loan to part fund the purchase.

There is so much sh** behind the scenes and the stink probably rises so high up that we will never know the true extent of what went on.
    All we will ever know is how much it will cost us.

I think FG/Labour should come out and publicly state they will subsequent to being elected immediately bring in Eva Jolly and make any necessary changes to leigislation so that all parties involved in subverting the Irish financial system either through fraudalent activity, highly unethical risky activity or negligent in their failure to perform their duties on behalf of the citizens of the state will be punished even with removal of assets, pensions and custodial sentences.

I don't care if people say it is isn't possible or can't be done, it's about time we showed the world the ordinary citizens can't be walked on forever.
    Anything is possible given the will of the people.
    And no bloody tribunals. :mad:

It's so bloody depressing.
    Of course the govt could enact emergency legislation - they did in the 70's re-the IRA, this is a much bigger threat to Ireland's existence.

I second Eva Joly, if only we had someone like her to get to the bottom of the corrupt cesspit.

Just for the thickie down the back (ie me), who's Eva again? Is she a "dog the bouty hunter" for white collar crims?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

It's so bloody depressing.
    Of course the govt could enact emergency legislation - they did in the 70's re-the IRA, this is a much bigger threat to Ireland's existence.

I second Eva Joly, if only we had someone like her to get to the bottom of the corrupt cesspit.

But, these are nice bankers who wear suits and ties and buy people drinks and hand over donations to political parties.

You couldn't have that!

I would seriously say that we're going to uncover an absolute cess pit as this crisis rubles on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Solair wrote: »
    ... I would seriously say that we're going to uncover an absolute cess pit as this crisis rubles on.

Is this a typo, or do you know something that we don't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

well too bleedin' late JB.their passports were not confiscated beforehand lol

(softly softly)
    basket case cuntry

We have as much chance of getting an Eva Joly as John Gormley has of retaining his seat at the next election. Iceland gets Eva Joly, we get.... well what do we get? Are the Guards investigating?? I have visions of a large lad from Thurles asking the receptionist in Anglo where they used to keep the white collars that were after getting robbed. So he could dust for fingerprints, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭funnyname

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eva_Joly

Nothing has happened in the last 2 years to suggest that the perpetrators of the financial meltdown in Ireland will be brought to book so it's never going happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

Most other (developed) countries would have already handed out substantial jail terms to a couple of dozen people, were this situation to unfold. For some reason us Irish seem to be unable to hand out sentences for serious crime, it's like an unwritten law or a cultural attitude of forgiveness.
    I think for the health of this country in the future we need to change our attitude and punish those who abuse the system, who have either blatantly stole or been complicit in these crimes. It's tantamount to treason.
    Fear of reprisal from the state would go a long way.

Our own financial regulator's consumer board released a report critical of the fact that most other developed nations are deep into investigating and bringing to heel the people in the financial and even political worlds behind the crash.

Ireland is a joke, a big giant joke of a country where the golden circle can get away with murder and still walk into the four courts with a big smirk on their faces.

Funny that we'd burn down the British embassy and throw eggs at Tony Blair, and none of these lads are hiding in fear of their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Just for the thickie down the back (ie me), who's Eva again? Is she a "dog the bouty hunter" for white collar crims?
    We have as much chance of getting an Eva Joly as John Gormley has of retaining his seat at the next election. Iceland gets Eva Joly, we get.... well what do we get? Are the Guards investigating?? I have visions of a large lad from Thurles asking the receptionist in Anglo where they used to keep the white collars that were after getting robbed. So he could dust for fingerprints, like.

I see you have done your homework so now you can move to the front of the class ;)

Scary thing is your image of a big lad questioning the guys in Anglo is what might have happened. :rolleyes:

It is ridiculous that it has taken us so long to get ...
    well nowhere.:rolleyes:

The sooner ff are gone and someone has the balls to take on the elite the better.
    Sadly I think FG won't want to scare many well connected private individuals and Labour won't want to rattle the cages of too many connected public servants who stood by and did nothing.

I reckon the best man to head up a complete re-jig of Irish corporate governance is Shane Ross.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

nadir wrote: »
    For some reason us Irish seem to be unable to hand out sentences for serious crime, it's like an unwritten law or a cultural attitude of forgiveness.

as tho' the church has so successfully removed the populations' spine over the decades, leaving it to be trampled upon by..etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

nadir wrote: »
    Most other (developed) countries would have already handed out substantial jail terms to a couple of dozen people, were this situation to unfold. For some reason us Irish seem to be unable to hand out sentences for serious crime, it's like an unwritten law or a cultural attitude of forgiveness.

As far as I can tell, the reason for this is because all the senior Garda and DPP job appointments are made by politicians. The people in those jobs are the type that, for whatever reason, choose not to punish white collar criminals. It's sickening, but it would take a few scandals and a change of emphasis at the Dept of Justice to alter it.

The lack of a Garda responce may be due to a cultural issue, ie the Guards are too agri-cultural and lack the in-depth rescources to tackle white-collar issues. They have also shown a scandalous deference to supposed "betters" in the past - the church being a prime example. (Shure you couldn't be saying that to a priest, wheres your manners??)
    We need a total change in the attitude to white collar and institutional crime. This will no doubt take some doing, considering that huge swathes of the population still have that bleedin unquestioning, cap doffing attitude (that drives me absolutely mad) to anybody who happened to luck out enough or have a hard enough neck to rise within any organisation. Its why we allow bankers, doctors, solicitors etc to get away with murder.

In the case of our politicians, it is also a culture thing. They just dont have any.