Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ancient Ways 001: Gremlinz & Stranjah - "Blues VIP" / Cartridge "Another Way&quot

• 22-09-2010 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭

61342_160681830612424_151062351574372_576534_1629918_n.jpg

Ancient Ways is a vinyl-only Drum & Bass record label based in Dublin City. We intend to occasionally release highly limited once-off bespoke pressings of music that we believe is both timeless and relevant. All releases will come packaged in hand-numbered full artwork sleeves, pressed to the highest standards of quality. For our first release we are delighted to be able to present to you a split 12" release containing some of the cream of Canadian production talent.

Cartridge's "Another Way" is a furiously cerebral yet utterly danceable effort; serpentine breakbeats uncoil over a devastatingly tribal percussive undercarriage before subtle snatches of funk guitar herald an original approach to Amen science. Organic funk at it's most intense and intoxicating.

http://soundcloud.com/ancientways/cartridge-another-way-ancient-ways-001-128kbps

Gremlinz & Stranjah - “Blues VIP” is an armour-plated rave banger steeped in the finest tradition of the classic 1996 Drum & Bass sound, effortlessly fusing twisted Amen, dark Jazz, retro-futurist pads and furious killer bee synths. Raucous, visceral and rugged, but tempered with a musicality and a restraint that make it all the more memorable.

http://soundcloud.com/ancientways/gremlinz-stranjah-blues-vip-ancient-ways-001-128kbps

This release will be strictly limited to 200 copies worldwide.

There will be no digital release, and once this release sells out there will be no represses.

The vinyl costs €11 and shipping rates are below:

1 vinyl (Ireland: 2 Euro; UK / Europe / Rest of the World: 4.85 Euro)

2 - 4 vinyls (Ireland: 3.85 Euro; UK / Europe: 7.50 Euro; Rest of the World: 10.40 Euro)

4 - 8 vinyls (Ireland: 6.00 Euro; UK / Europe: 10.80 Euro; Rest of the World: 16.60 Euro)

Want a copy?

Send us an e-mail with your order details and we'll hit you up with an invoice. You can then make a secure payment by credit-card or paypal. Simple!

email: tribedublin@gmail.com

Ancient Ways is brought to you by:

Trees, Stone Circles, Rivers, Hazel Scrub, The Burren, Bog Oak, Turloughs, Mythical Heroes, Fairy Hills, Mushrooms, Swans, Silver, The Táin, Cattle, Rain, Salmon, Cú Chulainn, Holy Wells, Bodhráns, Whiskey, Sheep, Ould lads with watery eyes singing a poem at the fleadh cheoil, Ring Forts, Fiddles, Ruins, Hurling, Stout, Tenspots and Queen Medb's friendly thighs.

With our future releases we hope to continue to bring you music that captures the dark, organic, timeless, tribal vibe we've always looked for in a record. Feel free to chuck over a few tunes for us to argue about.

http://www.facebook.com/ancientways
    http://www.soundcloud.com/ancientways
    http://www.tribedublin.com/2010/09/ancient-ways-001-cartridge-another-way.html

http://soundcloud.com/ancientways/dropbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Anyone based in Dublin looking for a copy drop me a wee PM and I can meet you and we can cut down on the shipping charges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

http://soundcloud.com/ancientways/gremlinz-stranjah-blues-vip-ancient-ways-001-128kbps is a killer tune,reminds me of a track on http://www.discogs.com/Goldie-Timeless/release/11681 and a DJ called DR S Gatchet used to play stuff like this,good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

That artwork is really impressive, as is the release. Really got to invest in a turntable!

jonnny68 wrote: »
    http://soundcloud.com/ancientways/gremlinz-stranjah-blues-vip-ancient-ways-001-128kbps is a killer tune,reminds me of a track on http://www.discogs.com/Goldie-Timeless/release/11681 and a DJ called DR S Gatchet used to play stuff like this,good stuff.

Yep, good spot! The Gremlinz & Stranjah tune was actually originally signed to Goldie's label Metalheadz - lord only knows why they never put it out in the end, it's an amazing tune, delighted the lads were willing to let a pair of chancers from Ireland with zero experience in getting a label off the ground take charge of their tunes though!

SteveDon wrote: »
    That artwork is really impressive, as is the release. Really got to invest in a turntable!

Glad you like man! Sorry I haven't replied to your PM yet, been run off my feet the last day or two, nice little tune though, will give you more detailed feedback as soon as I have the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

PM sent :)

Yep, good spot! The Gremlinz & Stranjah tune was actually originally signed to Goldie's label Metalheadz - lord only knows why they never put it out in the end, it's an amazing tune, delighted the lads were willing to let a pair of chancers from Ireland with zero experience in getting a label off the ground take charge of their tunes though!

yeah I've listened to Timeless so many times (although amazingly not in recent times) that the minute i heard this track i knew it sounded like a tune from that album, i do know a great deal about 90's Jungle & D & B but hardly anything about today's stuff but i like this track and ill re-post this on a few forums if ya want.

Awesome man, that would be great! Getting a pretty good response so far - already posted a package to Minneapolis this morning!

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Love it, put me down for a copy - let me know when you are in town and I'll grab one off you. I'm in Friday if any use...

Congrats man, excellent stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Skr4wny

Good to see DnB being released in Dublin again. Used to be a great scene here when Bassbin were in full swing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Fair play man, i want to buy it but it simply wouldnt get played........drum & Bass aint my bag otherwise i would but one off you in a snap........sure you will sell it out anyway & if yer releasing anything in the future along the lines of anything else i will certainly have a gander.

Have to say i really enjoyed even reading that you are doing this, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Excellent news. Well done!

Must check it out later when I get home.....don't want to go all Brendan Grace in work. :D

Again, well done. It's great to see someone actually doing something to promote something they love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Fair play Steve

looks like a quality package

Skr4wny wrote: »
    Good to see DnB being released in Dublin again. Used to be a great scene here when Bassbin were in full swing.

Yes indeed! There's actually two other Dublin-based labels releasing D&B / Jungle on vinyl at the moment, Absys Records and Ruff Revival; and then of course there's Subtle Audio down in Limerick.

I certainly hope we get anything even approaching the length of an innings and the strength of a back catalogue that Bassbin had when they wound up - absolutely inspirational label, not only for us but for many a head in another country as well.

Love it, put me down for a copy - let me know when you are in town and I'll grab one off you. I'm in Friday if any use...

Congrats man, excellent stuff!

Wicked man, I'll be around, will chuck you over contact details etc via PM.

Thanks very much indeed for the support!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Ahh here fu.ck it....the more i think about it if ya end up struggling to shift them records (which i dont think ya will) let us know & i'll take one off ya, but i dont think you will.

Steve you Should sign them,just incase they become collectors items.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

If there's any left by October 2nd bring one along on the night and I'll grab it off you

seannash wrote: »
    Steve you Should sign them,just incase they become collectors items.
    P1ss off! If I buy one I don't want anybody scribbling on it!

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    If there's any left by October 2nd bring one along on the night and I'll grab it off you

Will do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Skr4wny

Yes indeed! There's actually two other Dublin-based labels releasing D&B / Jungle on vinyl at the moment, Absys Records and Ruff Revival; and then of course there's Subtle Audio down in Limerick.

I certainly hope we get anything even approaching the length of an innings and the strength of a back catalogue that Bassbin had when they wound up - absolutely inspirational label, not only for us but for many a head in another country as well.

Aye, Bassbin were the dom diggy......Friday nights in Switch back in the day! They were massive on the international dnb scene epsecially in London and even had a mix of their releases on the Beeb once if memory serves me correctly.

If you are running any nights at all let me know and I'd probably pop along cos I kicked the vinyl addiction a few years back so won't be buying any records (more of an electro head anyway), but I'm always up for a bit of drum n bass madness, dust off me windmill!!

Will do!

Le do lamhscribhinn agus seanfhocal D'n'B freisin mas e do thoil e; b'fheidir ''Tir gan 1210s, tir gan anam'' no ''Is folamh fuar e teach gan bass'' no rud eile cosuil le sin!

This is the part where I confess utter ignorance of written Irish and admt that every word of that most beautiful language that I speak I've had to learn phonetically!

On a more practical note, given the amount of packaging it takes to stiffen a record mailer to the extent that a record doesn't warp in transit I'm running out of cardboard very quickly! Looks like I'll be ordering Pizza's until 2012 at this rate!

This is the part where I confess utter ignorance of written Irish and admt that every word of that most beautiful language that I speak I've had to learn phonetically!

On a more practical note, given the amount of packaging it takes to stiffen a record mailer to the extent that a record doesn't warp in transit I'm running out of cardboard very quickly! Looks like I'll be ordering Pizza's until 2012 at this rate!
    go round the local shop and ask for crisp boxes and ****.they normally would help ya out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Executive Steve : keeping the DnB cottage industry alive in Ireland since 2010!

Use old Electro House records as stiffners.

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    Le do lamhscribhinn agus seanfhocal D'n'B freisin mas e do thoil e; b'fheidir ''Tir gan 1210s, tir gan anam'' no ''Is folamh fuar e teach gan bass'' no rud eile cosuil le sin!

With your autograph and a D'n'B related seanfhocail (an old irish idiom basically) as well please; maybe ''A country without 1210s is a country without a soul'' or ''It's a cold and empty house without bass'' or something else like that!

The original of the first one is the famous

Tir gan teanga, Tir gan anam
    A country without a language, is a country without a soul

and the second one is

Is folamh fuar e teach gan bean
    It's cold and empty, a house without a woman

Last time I try to be a smart-ass gaeilgeoir on the internet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Most shops in town seem to do their Recycle bin collections on Thursday mornings, places like shoe and clothes shops will have big bundles of boxes that they have out on the street for collection and are more than happy to part with them.

yeah i'll tell ya, if there's one thing plentiful in the world, it's cardboard boxes. Drop into your local Londis and ask, I've never once not had a response of 'you want what, jaysus, yeah pull the van up, fill your boots!'.

Hey Steve could you tell us how exactly this came about in regard to licencing and permission from the artists.

I fully understand that this isnt a money venture but how did you approach the artist on this.

Id understand if you cant go into deatils

Hey Steve could you tell us how exactly this came about in regard to licencing and permission from the artists.

I fully understand that this isnt a money venture but how did you approach the artist on this.

Id understand if you cant go into deatils

Hit them up, asked them permission, hammered out a fair deal for all concerned.

They're absolutely thrilled with their copies of the finished product.

It's not exactly hard to track artists down in these days of everyone being on Soundcloud, forums, the internet, facebook etc etc, especially heads who are reasonably big (within the confines of a pretty niche genre like Drum & Bass anyway)!

At the same time we're still more than thrilled they took a chance on us to handle the release properly and that they could tell we were in this for the right reasons, basically putting their work out there in the best light possible.

Can't really go into any further specifics though, as I'm sure you'll understand.

jtsuited wrote: »
    yeah i'll tell ya, if there's one thing plentiful in the world, it's cardboard boxes. Drop into your local Londis and ask, I've never once not had a response of 'you want what, jaysus, yeah pull the van up, fill your boots!'.

Yeah, in fairness I just raided the recycling bins of our apartment complex this morning and have more than enough to continue with now!

:cool:

It's not exactly hard to track artists down in these days of everyone being on Soundcloud, forums, the internet, facebook etc etc, especially heads who are reasonably big (within the confines of a pretty niche genre like Drum & Bass anyway)!

At the same time we're still more than thrilled they took a chance on us to handle the release properly and that they could tell we were in this for the right reasons, basically putting their work out there in the best light possible.

Can't really go into any further specifics though, as I'm sure you'll understand.

In all fairness though man, fair play. The release looks great, the tracks sound great and it's a ****ing huge move for a first release.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Use old Electro House records as stiffners.

Lol, you're not actually the first to suggest this! Problem is that the extra weight would ramp shipping costs up dramatically.

Shame, was highly tempted to give it a bash!

No thats great.did you have to contact the old label?

ill admit im begining to grow very jealous of the D&B scene.it seems to have retained a good bit of the dj traditions even with the advent of the digital revolution.

it seems to have retained a good bit of the dj traditions even with the advent of the digital revolution.
    Which translates as.....
    you's lads didn't make the same feckin mistakes us eejits made!

Awesome man, that would be great! Getting a pretty good response so far - already posted a package to Minneapolis this morning!

no probs already put the word about so id say you'll be shifting another few

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭A_Fitz

Big up lads, well done!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Terry Cotta

Got my copy. Sounding fcuking deadly. Nice one.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Fair play Steve, best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭francois

Excellent Steve, looks great congrats

francois wrote: »
    Excellent Steve, looks great congrats

Cheers brother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Yeah really great tunes, nice one.

http://www.residentadvisor.net/review-view.aspx?id=8132

4.5 / 5 on Resident Advisor! Check the review!

http://www.residentadvisor.net/review-view.aspx?id=8132

4.5 / 5 on Resident Advisor! Check the review!

:DThat's awesome man. Chuffed for ya! Great to see it all happen so organically. If you had the whole lot of your first pressing in Juno, they'd have already walked out the door based on the RA review.

Will pm ya to pick up a copy the next time I'm in town.

I really gotta get my ass in gear and grab a copy of this off you dude.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I've to still get a copy of this too Steve, hope you've kept me one!!!