Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another Future Classic Lost to the Scrappage Scheme

• 22-09-2010 12:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭

Around my local breakers and I couldnt believe what they had among the usual fodder of 98-00 Clios Yaris Verso, Focus and the odd Micra....!
    Im not a fan of Mercedes but this was enough to make a grown man cry... I felt so bad for this car.. The only things missing are the wheels which incidentally they have to remove to leave the car immobile.. It started up and everything.. no smoke or rattles.Interior was mint... Alas it will never see the road again as it has to be got rid off.....
    Them feckin Greens.. The sooner we have a general election and get them twats out the better

DSCN4847.jpg
    DSCN4845.jpg
    DSCN4844.jpg
    DSCN4846.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I think you have to ask yourself what inspired someone to put a car worth, if its in good condition ca €5000 into a scrappage scheme provoding it is in perfect condition. Did you ask was anything else wrong with it, the roof, something with the electronics or gearbox?

Its unusual either way but I don't see how the Greens are to blame for this. I dont agree with the scrappage scheme but every car scrapped, be it under the scrappage scheme or otherwise is a "potential future classic". That car has a low spec judging by the interior and would be less desirable in the future.

The previous owner of the SLK had either a valid financial reason for scrapping it (ie exhorbitant repair costs) or was clueless as to what they were doing. Either way it is their car and their decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Amazing how its not worth more than the 1500 max refund ? or am i mistaken ?

Saw a nice 750 il Bmw scrapped because the 1 owner insisted prob would have made 4k aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Sure this pristine 323 was sent to the crusher only a few months ago:

ABCD0017.jpg

Shame really :(, and who could also forget the Daimler:
    ABCD0015.jpg
    ^ I was at that scrappy only last week, and it's still there, although it's in a very rough state now. Mostly gutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Jaysus my initial reaction was shock but surely as stated, repairs costs must have forced the owners hand :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Amazing how dated looking the SLK has become in just 13 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I think its the headlights that make it look dated, if you could retrofit some clear glass headlamps the car would look much nicer. Would make a nice track car at the very least.

Would - wouldn't it?

Relatively nimble little thing too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Nice parts donor there for someone,the interior looks ok. Odd it would be scrapped,there must be a story behind it. Plus theres loads of SLKs out there,its no no real massive loss to anyone? Most cars of any type will be scrapped in the future anyway. Cant save them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

My mates aunt scrapped her 98 1 owner fiesta Zetec 3dr with only 30,000miles on it with brand new tyres and nct etc for a new Clio..Shame!. It had the original dealer plates and stickers and spent most of its time on the drive way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭8~)

Carson10 wrote: »
    My mates aunt scrapped her 98 1 owner fiesta Zetec 3dr with only 30,000miles on it with brand new tyres and nct etc for a new Clio..Shame!. It had the original dealer plates and stickers and spent most of its time on the drive way.

Fiesta was worth 1k at best. Scrappage worth 1.5k. No contest.

That SLK, even assuming no major mechanical issues, is relatively worthless. Large engine and 13 years old... worth a couple of grand at best. Most people prepared to pay big road tax and want a Mercedes will want one newer than 13 years of age.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

8~) wrote: »
    That SLK, even assuming no major mechanical issues, is relatively worthless. Large engine and 13 years old... worth a couple of grand at best. Most people prepared to pay big road tax and want a Mercedes will want one newer than 13 years of age.
    And it's purple. :pac:

Dades wrote: »
    And it's purple. :pac:

Looks blue to me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

It's a very dodgy blue - have seen it around. It should probably be classed "blurple".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

DSCN4846.jpg

The passenger side dashboard looks very dated for 97, looks like an 80s dash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

my 2000 escort described by a couple of guys in the trade as being in superb condition underneath is getting chopped in shortly as I can get 4500 off list for the car I want.... just been to England and back in it.
    Money talks, who can I see about the guilt-feelings?

All depends on what you are buyin Corky!

its a Ford....:eek:

corktina wrote: »
    its a Ford....:eek:
    Is it a Mundaneo?;)

no...its for Mrs Corky....

corktina wrote: »
    no...its for Mrs Corky....
    Aw...brownie points for Mr Corky so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....ye're missing the point.........there are perfectly good cars being scrapped purely based on some assanine Green-inspired lunatic policy.

That Zetec Fiesta mentioned may have only been worth 1k, monetarily, but it was a perfectly functioning vehicle, with no fault. Scrapping something like that should actually be an offence, to discourage 'waste'. Spending tonnes of CO2 to build a replacement for it, when there was nothing wrong with it, is just ignorant, and shows the Green policy to be the fallacy it is.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....ye're missing the point.........there are perfectly good cars being scrapped purely based on some assanine Green-inspired lunatic policy.

That Zetec Fiesta mentioned may have only been worth 1k, monetarily, but it was a perfectly functioning vehicle, with no fault. Scrapping something like that should actually be an offence, to discourage 'waste'. Spending tonnes of CO2 to build a replacement for it, when there was nothing wrong with it, is just ignorant, and shows the Green policy to be the fallacy it is.

I'm behind you 100%. Us driving old and slightly more polluting cars for longer has to be better than the enormous cost of replacing them. I could drive my 14 year old SL around forever and still not have the environmental impact of transporting a new toyota from japan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Couldn't agree more. It's sinful to destroy something that's still functioning and fully working. To think in third-world countries that there are families travelling around on rickshaws sickens me further as to what wasteful and neglectful societies we and the UK are.

You speak the truth. As a previous poster said, it's shame to scrap and destroy a perfectly good vehicle, just because it's so-called 'old'. Nothing wrong with old cars, hell, I drive a 15 year old Ford Escort, and it runs well, never breaks down, and gives relatively good fuel economy. Now if I were to scrap that for a newer car would be mad in my opinion.

Go to France, America, New Zealand, etc., and you'll see that they drive old cars from the 80's and 90's everyday. They never got on this 'new car' bandwagon. For Ireland, it's just the legacy of the Celtic Tiger lingering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

When I see things like this I'm glad I put a decat in my car, I hate the feckin greens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Onkle wrote: »
    When I see things like this I'm glad I put a decat in my car, I hate the feckin greens

Bet you feel really dirty now.....! John Gormless wont sleep in his bed tonight knowing that...!

Well its not just the Merc in that yard.. There are perfectly good 98-00 cars in there.... I seen a Focus Ghia 1.6 saloon 00 with 56k miles in there as well... Not a looker in fairness but Id be damn glad of it... Perfectly good 99 Zafira - I could go on but its too upsetting....

According to reports there is a shortage of sub €2k second hand cars for sale - Thats because they are all in for scrappage.. Feckin Greens not a clue.. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

TBH, if a car's worth less than a grand and the owner is prepared to scrap it then it's probably not long for this world anyway. Our used cars are worth very little because we as a nation treat them like sh1t, and I don't see how we can blame anyone but ourselves for that.