Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vettel or Webber....& Why!?

• 21-09-2010 11:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

Hey everyone,

jst said Id start this thread for all the Irish F1 Fans. Now im a Mclaren fan, always have been, always will be, but this season the competition within the Red Bull team has me completely hooked in every Grand Prix as I watch Webber who is classed as Red Bulls "second driver" keep his lead over Sebastian Vettel in the championship standings.

Although McLaren is my favourite team, I have two favourite drivers - Jensen Button and Mark Webber. For some reason, even though he is an awesome driver, even seeing Sebastian Vettels face makes me want to punch something! He jst always appears so smarmy! Now I completely agree with Eddie Jordans statement that Vettel will one day become World Champion but at the moment Im shouting all the way for Mark Webber.

Me and my friends have a continous debate about who is the better driver this year so i jst wanted to see who other F1 fans, in particular Red Bull fans, think is the better and more deserving driver!

(side note: How about Monza making the title race even better! Get in there Button :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,576 ✭✭✭lord lucan

The debate about which of them is the better driver could go around in circles tbh. The way i see it,Webber is a more experienced driver,an older and wiser head on his shoulders. Like many drivers he's prone to rushes of blood to the head,some of these having cost him valuable points this season. Being the perceived #2 has probably played into his hands as Vettels fanclub(ie. Horner) have been made look silly and let's face it,most of us love to see the underdog succeed. I hope Webber wins the title,he's in the twilight years of his F1 career and won't have many better chances to win it. He seems like a genuine bloke,someone you could have a few scoops with and have a bit of craic.

Vettel on the other hand has raw talent but has shown himself prone to rookie errors and sometimes plain stupidity(Turkey!). He has youth on his side and will,given a competitive car,win a world championship at some stage. He suffers imo a bit from the same petulance that Hamilton has shown and sometimes continues to show. I put this down to being brought through the RB organisation much like Hamilton through McLaren. Being treated like the Golden Child can lead to a sense of entitlement,that everything should be laid out for you. It can stunt reality imo. Webber has had to fight for a fair shout at RB and it's served him well,often transferring that anger to the track in a positive way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Not only will Vittel one day be champion but I think he will be champion a few times over.
    But it's not gonna start this year,he's still young and IMO he needs to find confidence in him self,I just think he seems a little lost in the team,since he and webber came together he has lost something and has started to make a lot of mistakes

I'm quite sure Webber will take the crown this year but I think Lewis will make sure it goes to Abu Dhabi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 davetett

Not only will Vittel one day be champion but I think he will be champion a few times over.
    But it's not gonna start this year,he's still young and IMO he needs to find confidence in him self,I just think he seems a little lost in the team,since he and webber came together he has lost something and has started to make a lot of mistakes

I'm quite sure Webber will take the crown this year but I think Lewis will make sure it goes to Abu Dhabi

I agree dude, I think Hamilton will make sure it comes down to the last race and man that would be very exciting finish! If Alonso and button can make the podium in Singapore then the final few races are going to be EPIC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

Vettel or Webber, doesn't matter as long as its not McLaren :)

I like Webber and Vettel. I would rate Vettel as the better driver but Webber is the more experienced and comfortable with his position in the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

lord lucan's post pretty much summed up my feelings on the subject too. Hope Webber wins it, it's the best and possibly last chance he'll ever get to win the title at this stage and after all the struggles he's had over the years with Minardi, Jaguar and Williams, I think he's finally come of age the past two years with Red Bull (despite being treated by the team as the number 2 driver) and shown what he can do with competitive machinery and would be a fully deserving winner of the title this year. Plus, as others have said, he seems like a genuine, no bulls**t, straight-talking, hard-working, average nice guy. And, let's face it, who doesn't love an underdog? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Not a big fan of Webber really but he's done well this year and looks the stronger of the two red bull drivers. Still lots of racing to be done though