Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CCTV on the canal

• 21-09-2010 9:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭

was up at the grand canal last night. first time in a year over which this regeneration project made it a no-go - i used to be up there 4-5 nights a week for years to get the on what was once a much cherished stretch of escapism - on the way back down i stopped at an electricity box, same as i'd done for years i sat down on it n sparked up a smoke. but soon-as this f'n mulchie voice boomed from a tannoy "please move on, do not loiter there" i didn't even stray off the new grit path. really f'n bummed about the €25 mil makeover. stainless steel benches/bins/lamposts the usual 21st century bollix and ironically it only encompasses the stretch i'd aim to cover. 2hrs, from the blackhorse inn up far as adamstown n back. all the things i used the route as a means to escape from, it now is thee shining example of all those things. the lighting claims to be first of its kind anywhere, dimmable so bat friendly - i think i saw one bat. indeed for what musta been nigh-on a thousand nights i saw many bats flapping about my head.

and not going into the orwellian chichés, but it is very much that. n then some

http://drimnaghbirdwatch.files.wordpress.com/2010/05/dsc_00141.jpg

- 66 cameras apparently. a lot of masts over 4-5 measly miles - is a public place but still an invasion of privacy. really felt i was being pried on, little did i realize how closely i was being observed until soon as i momentarily parked my arse. fat freddy in the control room must have been watching me constantly all the way, ensuring i walk in line and not be seen to ponder (loiter). that was the last straw for me personally.. but do the masts have mics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

tlnr.
    Stop loitering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

This is the Galway canal yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Bring a walkman next time to drown out the voice. Jesus, I mean bring an IPod. What's a walkman.
    From a thread that was on here once before (so therefore it must be true), a guard can tell you to move on if he has reasonable suspicion that you are loitering with the intent to commit a crime, but I doubt that an anonymous voice from a tannoy can tell you to move on when you're just having a smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Blackhorse Inn + Drimnagh = Inchicore I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Star Bingo wrote: »
    but do the masts have mics?

you should have asked them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

b****x to canals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Dogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Absurdum wrote: »
    you should have asked them

i did; i think they're instructed not to give an indication if they can hear just dictate. would have given him a telling off on how i foot patrolled this stretch in person for years w/o pay, and he's a voyeuristic anonymity and that i'd lay him out but could he have heard me?

assumed not.. but i need to know :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

i did; i think they're instructed not to give an indication if they can hear just dictate. would have given him a telling off on how i foot patrolled this stretch in person for years w/o pay, and he's a voyeuristic anonymity and that i'd lay him out but could he have heard me?

assumed not.. but i need to know :confused:

haha you talked to a lamp post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Are you sure the booming voice didn't say "please move on, do not loiter there & stop doing that you dirty monkey, you'll go blind!" ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Why are The Golden Girls hanging around the Grand Canal?

story goes the corpse of blanche lies on the canal bed having failed to pay off a debt to a local mobster so she'll be hanging around there for the forseeable future
    Absurdum wrote: »
    haha you talked to a lamp post

i just said f*ck off (lamppost). not a flippin conversation now is it

.. somebody must know are they mic'd up or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

story goes the corpse of blanche lies on the canal bed having failed to pay off a debt to a local mobster so she'll be hanging around there for the forseeable future

Jesus dude, lay off sniffing those Bingo hall markers!

i just said f*ck off (lamppost). not a flippin conversation now is it

.. somebody must know are they mic'd up or not

Yeah right. Your cream crackers you.

cuckoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

People are never happy.

Either there's too much crime, or the government/gardai are infringing our rights with their heavy handed tactics.

Not a dig at the OP, I just know for sure that if this gear wasn't up and down the canal, someone else would be posting about feeling very insecure when out for their evening walk or whatever.

tl;dr: Move to the fúcking country. It's possible to actually live out here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

was up at the grand canal last night. first time in a year over which this regeneration project made it a no-go - i used to be up there 4-5 nights a week for years to get the on what was once a much cherished stretch of escapism - on the way back down i stopped at an electricity box, same as i'd done for years i sat down on it n sparked up a smoke. but soon-as this f'n mulchie voice boomed from a tannoy "please move on, do not loiter there" i didn't even stray off the new grit path. really f'n bummed about the €25 mil makeover. stainless steel benches/bins/lamposts the usual 21st century bollix and ironically it only encompasses the stretch i'd aim to cover. 2hrs, from the blackhorse inn up far as adamstown n back. all the things i used the route as a means to escape from, it now is thee shining example of all those things. the lighting claims to be first of its kind anywhere, dimmable so bat friendly - i think i saw one bat. indeed for what musta been nigh-on a thousand nights i saw many bats flapping about my head.

- 66 cameras apparently. a lot of masts over 4-5 measly miles - is a public place but still an invasion of privacy. really felt i was being pried on, little did i realize how closely i was being observed until soon as i momentarily parked my arse. fat freddy in the control room must have been watching me constantly all the way, ensuring i walk in line and not be seen to ponder (loiter). that was the last straw for me personally.. but do the masts have mics?

Yeah the Galway Canal that passes the Blachorse Inn, runs to Adamstown had a 25,000,000 makeover and is of interest to a Drimnagh birdwatching group. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Let me see...

A talking street lamp. Talk of bats flapping around your head. Feelings of paranoia. Talking back to the lamp.

I'm not sure we're hearing the full story OP. You sure it was just a "smoke" you had?

Yeah right. Your cream crackers you.

cuckoo

sorry pal, i don't reside here like the fruitbat you are so keep doin what yer best at and keep typing ****e 24/7 on AH whilst i seek closure to my query:

Nevore its a lot of masts. i was not born into such infringements and if this is the future.. trust me its fairly intensive surveillance up there for such a sparsely inhabited place. i see no police. uncertain who's enforcing anything in reality all i see is a prying eye, all i hear is an instructing mouth; i just want to know if there's an eavesdropping ear to cap it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

sorry pal, i don't reside here like the fruitbat you are so keep doin what yer best at and keep typing ****e 24/7 on AH whilst i seek closure to my query:

Nevore its a lot of masts. i was not born into such infringements and if this is the future.. trust me its fairly intensive surveillance up there for such a sparsely inhabited place. i see no police. uncertain who's enforcing anything in reality all i see is a prying eye, all i hear is an instructing mouth; i just want to know if there's an eavesdropping ear to cap it all.
    Oh, I know. I work in the city centre. The amount of cctv is ridiculous. I wasn't having a go, I just know that if they weren't there, a different set of people would be saying they should be. I'd actually be with you on this one, I think there's far too much of it about.

You want serious answers? Take it to the dublin forum. This AH mr/mrs? sensitive.

Where was i?....cuckoooooo:P

n its where you'll stay

Nevore i know the cams are commonplace in town but thats typical. cams were even more commonplace in london far as i recall but would rarely notice em whilst preoccupied with the sheer amount of folk on the ground. honestly if you saw the masts, n i linked to one in the post - 2 cameras/2 megaphones and a rotating eye cam to top it off. one of these masts every 200 feet or thereabouts along a quiet canal route where i'd rarely see anyone. €25mil project in total for a few miles.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1576686/CCTV-camera-microphones-to-be-axed.html

guess that answers my question. but i still don't trust em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i hope the cameras cant see under harolds cross bridge, i did the dirty thing under there about 2 years ago

well this is it innit. is no bother evading the prying eye under such circumstances, granted i'm aware of its presence but i was more concerned they could hear my groans when purging a fat log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Good stuff was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

This is a no smoking area. Please use the designated areas provided.

This is a set down area only. Vehicles parking in this area will be clamped.

Kinda gets on the nerves all right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

A talking street lamp.

At least someone will talk to me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

I'm not very familiar with that part of the canal. Is this to cut down down on a particular crime like prostitution or drug dealing or is it just a more general surveillance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Remotely activated shock-collars would be cool here too, they could use some kind of speech recognition to deliver corrective jolts to people who are engaged in racist conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

OP you don't by any chance own a larger than average collection of tracksuits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

strobe wrote: »
    Yeah the Galway Canal that passes the Blachorse Inn, runs to Adamstown had a 25,000,000 makeover and is of interest to a Drimnagh birdwatching group. :rolleyes:

Probably not my friend, but here in Galway when we talk about 'the' canal, we talk about the Galway canal.

His thread title is "CCTV on the canal". So fair complaint. Should have been posted in the Dublin forum. That is for Dublin things I believe.