Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

working dogs food

• 21-09-2010 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭

what do ye feed your dogs, i have been feeding the setter red mills mother a puppy until last month, i started her on arkwright feed for working dogs then, but she doesnt seem to be putting on much condition, i also give a capsul of cod liver oil everyday for the coat, what do ye find best and price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

meats best for working dogs imo,especially during the season. i usually feed chicken necks or chicken carcasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

used to give them red mills
    switched to dr.jaynes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I give mine Countryman's Greyhound €11.90 a bag or Arkwrights Complete €13 a bag. Was feeding them Paws and Claws about €11 a bag and they lost weight and condition, within a few weeks of changing back they put on weight and got their shinny coats back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

I give mine Countryman's Greyhound €11.90 a bag or Arkwrights Complete €13 a bag. Was feeding them Paws and Claws about €11 a bag and they lost weight and condition, within a few weeks of changing back they put on weight and got their shinny coats back.

do you find much of a difference in the two feeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

Dogs eat meat not biscuits that is there natural food and one which they prefer and does them good.

Too much cod liver oil can be dangerous for people aswell as animals.

Always gave my pups milk and porriage and one is nearly 15 so must have done something right, and fed her meat aswell and used biscuits as a supplement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

I feed mine Brilly's Choice. Designed by a fella in Rathmolyon in co.Meath, not sure who makes it for him though. Friend of mine who has a boarding kennels and breeds deerhounds and wolfhounds buys it by the pallet and I get it off him for bout €12. Muesli mix, dogs thrive on it and only need to feed bout 2 thirds compared to normal food. They get venison scraps aswell.

a tiny drop of oil a day is very good for a dogs joints and coat, we arent talking a huge amount, my sister is a dog groomer :rolleyes: and has a good bit of knowledge on it.. just trying to find a food that suits her, do you cook all the meat

jap gt wrote: »
    do you find much of a difference in the two feeds

Arkwrights - protein 18.0%, oils 7.3%
    Countrymans sporting greyhound - protein 22.0%, oils 12.0%

A measured capsule is prescribed for humans in the cod liver oil capsules. Humans are at least 3 times the size of a dog so you may be giving a dog at least 3x the daily recomended dose may be more?

Good quality tinned dog meat not the cheapest is best for dogs ands often works out same or less than feeding your dog totally dog biscuits.

But i have fed meat that i have cooked myself raging from liver, hearts tripe and even household meat when on special offer, add some gravy and normal dog biscuits and you would be surprised how cheap it works out at and boiling it cooks it in minutes......can smell a bit though.
    a tiny drop of oil a day is very good for a dogs joints and coat, we arent talking a huge amount, my sister is a dog groomer :rolleyes: and has a good bit of knowledge on it.. just trying to find a food that suits her, do you cook all the meat

they arent the same size as oil humans take ;)

dont worry it was well looked into and has been given to all the families dogs with a few years

i might give the canned food a go alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

i feed my lurchers gain greyhound 28% nuts and give them nice meaty bones from the friendly local butcher twice or three times a week and the dogs are in super condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭boc121

fodda wrote: »
    Good quality tinned dog meat not the cheapest is best for dogs

What brands are we talking?

Well put it like this, there is a recession on and you can go along to your local supermarket beginning with "T" and get a pack of 6 pedigree chum for 4.00 euro, which works out at .666 per day x 7 = 4.66 plus a bag of normal biscuits for around 2.00 euro.

So you can feed your dog the best or one of the best for less than 1.00 euro per day.

To be honest if anybody cant be bothered or is to mean to feed their dog decent food and house them properly then you should get a goldfish or better still a crossword puzzle.

Well put it like this, there is a recession on and you can go along to your local supermarket beginning with "T" and get a pack of 6 pedigree chum for 4.00 euro, which works out at .666 per day x 7 = 4.66 plus a bag of normal biscuits for around 2.00 euro.

So you can feed your dog the best or one of the best for less than 1.00 euro per day.

To be honest if you cant be bothered to feed your dog decent food and house them properly then you should get a goldfish or better still a pet insect.

i wouldn't call pedigree chum the best food, its hasn't got a great rep

Maybe so but it could be the best that is on offer, but like i say if you are prepared and able to do your own you would be surprised how cheap you can make your own.

i agree they can be feed really cheap, a man that used to deliver food to my sisters shop told her all the supermarket food is like giving a child mcdonalds every day, its all e numbers, grand every now and again but not meant to be a permanent feed.. but as you say there is a recession on and every cent counts, i wouldn't feed it though, i prefer nuts as its much handier but i give her the odd chicken neck when ever im killing broilers

What kind of dog have you got?

Sheepdog/collies

I have a gwp and cant keep the f**ker fed :eek: canned and dried and whatever else he can get, he's still a pup so im hoping its just while he's still growing.

Yes he will quiten down and then one main meal a day, but i give mine a bonio for breakfast and midday then feed at 6.00pm as they have better time keeping than any watch:rolleyes: Then they are put away about 8.00 - 9.00 and stay clean no problem as its best to leave them out after feeding so they can take a dump outside on the grass so no cleaning.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭DavyDee

Guy i bought a pup off feeds his dogs on the B.A.R.F. diet (Bones and Raw Food). He used to give them a hock with a good bit of raw meat on it for 2 days, tripe for 3 days and rice and pasta for 1 day and fast them for the 7th day and of course kept them wormed regularly. His dogs were in some shape. Another guy i know locally has an english pointer whose 15 and still working! He feeds him meat usually venison and rice only! The dog is in great shape too! Would be great to have the time to try out these diets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭premiercad

Feed my lad a mix of the pedigree chum and red mills Tracker, he is a F@~ker for picking out the meat and leaving the nuts no matter how well it's mixed, he's like a surgeon at it!:D he eventually returns back to the dish to clean the nuts after a few mins! I've only started on the cans with him and i find it's running through him! very slow to put on condition generally, is too much protein a bad thing? he's a 13mth old setter by the way.

Any change of food will take a short while to settle down, if you eat fish and chips every day then suddenly changed over to chinese or indian you would notice a difference at first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

I feed my 2 redmills working dog feed, get a 20kg bag for €20 in warehouse that supplies the pet shops and that, does the pointer pup and the girlfriends old cocker. also give em raw meat which they feckin love! same as a previous poster they eat all the meat first and come back for the biscuts, bit of oil over the biscuts and mix in a bone builder for the pup. nice bones from the butcher 2 when i can get em! What meat would you lads use? tried loads of different cans of meat on the older dog, feckin ran through her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

+1 on that . A vet I know recommended that I avoid feeding it to my dogs .

I feed Arkwrights Complete with a drop of oil added , mix in whatever dinner scraps are available. Once a week I'd mix in a raw egg with it and on another day in the week a tin of sardines and the dogs seem to be doing well on it.

Having said that , as there is a fair amount of cereal content in most dog nuts ( apart from the very expesive ones) if I could get a regualr supply of meat that's the way I would go. I've had a lot of dogs down the years and from my past experience I feel that nothing beats a diet that is predominantly bones/meat and especially beef stomach (tripe). For many years I was able to get a regular supply of it from an abbatoir which unfortunately has since closed and the dogs were always in tip top condition and jumping out of their skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Antoennis

I have been feeding mine Wagg worker 17kg at €15.99. It has a meat content of over 20%. The important thing about dog food is what is in it. You should try and have a dog food that does not have meat derivatives of any kind. Derivatives are anything of an animal including everything that isn’t good for a dog. Meat meal is much better. Look at the ingredients list of food. They are always listed in order of the biggest content.

Ingredients: Dehydrated Chicken Meat (20% Min), Maize, Rice, Poultry Fat, Dehulled Oats, Linseed, Fishmeal, Beet Pulp, Savoury Chicken Gravy, Minerals And Vitamins, Chicory Extract, Yeast Extract
    Above would be a fairly good content.

Cereals, Meat and animal derivatives (Minimum 4% fresh meat in the soft moist kernel, minimum 4% beef in the natural and brown kernels), Vegetable protein extracts, Oils and fats, Derivatives of vegetable origin (0.5% beet pulp in the natural and brown kernels), Various sugars, Minerals, Vegetables (minimum 4% vegetables in the green and yellow kernels). With antioxidants, coloured with and preserved with EC additives.
    Above is crap!

Feeding your dog crap is really not good for them. If you have a fairly good dog food you can feed them less and have a lot less cleaning up after them. I am still feeding Wagg worker which I find pretty good. I have started the hunting dog on Skinners Duck & Rice. It has the same ingredients list as likes of Burns and other expensive brands. I get it of a place in the north. It works out at about €30 a bag delivered. I am hoping that a couple of us in our club can get together and get a pallet between us and it will work out at about €22 a bag delivered.
    Now that’s my two cents worth!:D

I feed my 2 redmills working dog feed, get a 20kg bag for €20 in warehouse that supplies the pet shops and that, does the pointer pup and the girlfriends old cocker. also give em raw meat which they feckin love! same as a previous poster they eat all the meat first and come back for the biscuts, bit of oil over the biscuts and mix in a bone builder for the pup. nice bones from the butcher 2 when i can get em! What meat would you lads use? tried loads of different cans of meat on the older dog, feckin ran through her

What makes were these cans?

only one i remember is bakers, its a few yrs since i feed her them! might have gotten something else off the shelf in the supermarket and got other stuff from the pet shop i mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

the important thing is to feed the dog on nothing but a complete dog food or nothing but meat or a mix of both at a constant rate. feeding a complete food some days and meat others can cause problems. meat is always best but can be difficult to get a constant supply at the right price
    beware as alot of dog food is sold as working food but this is only that in name because the tax to be on it is less

the important thing is to feed the dog on nothing but a complete dog food or nothing but meat or a mix of both at a constant rate. feeding a complete food some days and meat others can cause problems. meat is always best but can be difficult to get a constant supply at the right price
    what meat would you use? and what would you avoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

chicken necks are great. i feed mine raw necks. easily bought from any butcher decent butcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

I feed this in the off season at £14 a bag

I then feed this when they are working at £17 a bag. It has a higher protein content.

The dogs love it, they run all day and their coats are in great condition. More importantly their poop is small and hard. Therfore it must be easily digested and it's handy for cleaning up!

Mallards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

what do ye feed your dogs, i have been feeding the setter red mills mother a puppy until last month, i started her on arkwright feed for working dogs then, but she doesnt seem to be putting on much condition, i also give a capsul of cod liver oil everyday for the coat, what do ye find best and price

Kasco complete for my Lab and springer all year round, tip top condition both dogs, just cut back slightly on amount during summer. 16.50 euro bag

mallards wrote: »
    I feed this in the off season at £14 a bag

I then feed this when they are working at £17 a bag. It has a higher protein content.

The dogs love it, they run all day and their coats are in great condition. More importantly their poop is small and hard. Therfore it must be easily digested and it's handy for cleaning up!

Mallards.

I got Gilpa there once at the game fair that used to be held in Clomel. I think the agent for it was down around macroom or some place but I never could get it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

what meat would you use? and what would you avoid?

i don't feed meat as i can't get constant supply but ideally i'd love to feed tripe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

I got Gilpa there once at the game fair that used to be held in Clomel. I think the agent for it was down around macroom or some place but I never could get it again.

The lad who usually sells us game poults stocks it for the guys who gets poults off him. If you get enough lads together they will deliver a pallet to you.

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 springer lad

We've had our springers and labs on feedwell sporter for the last few months now.Anyone else heard good or bad about it?our dogs are in great condition with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Spannerman7

He's only over the road from me, PM if you want directions at any time.

I feed a mixture, as much meat and bones as poss, bunnies with skins removed, but I got to admit to using dried food about 50% of the time for the ease when I don't have time to get fresh meat.
    With two labs they will eat ALL veg incl raw onion - Just a life support system for a stomach. They thrive on meat and I keep them so you can just make out the outline of their ribs, too many fat dogs out there, it's cruel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Buying in bulk of a guy on donedeal, this dog food is every bit as good as scienceplan and quarter of the price €12 delivered to my door 60 bags or he will sell it collect at €11 he is in south Laois.

If anyone wants to try it I am outside Drogheda, adult 24% protein and puppy 28%.
    My dogs are thriving on it I have a 7 month old GSD and she looks fully grown.

I am also looking for tripe if anyone knows where I can get it in the northeast let me know, butcher told me there is a place in Nobber going to check it out.

Anybody use perata (flaked meal)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

I know the guy your talkin about macadam i was over there last week gettin a few bags to try out.. dogs seem to love it i even got a bag of puppy food off him ... he even has that hypoallergenic stuff same as the arden grange at over half the price less;) hes a sound man... anyone lookin for good food at the right price kevin is your man

Al,

Yes its great stuff, I get 60 bags delivered at a time, so if anyone wants to try some give me a shout Just outside Drogheda .
    Also found a guy that sells Tripe today he delivers minimum of 20lb in 5lb bags
    think he said it was £1.80 per pound now I have to source me another freezer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭gripp

macadam wrote: »
    Al,

Yes its great stuff, I get 60 bags delivered at a time, so if anyone wants to try some give me a shout Just outside Drogheda .
    Also found a guy that sells Tripe today he delivers minimum of 20lb in 5lb bags
    think he said it was £1.80 per pound now I have to source me another freezer.
    do you know the make up of his feed,what % of meat goes into it and what type.sounds good and reasonably priced,

Just pulled of a label, 22% protein,12% oil, 9% ash and 3% fibre.
    Ingredients Cereals, Meat derivatives of vegetable origin, oils, fats,& minerals, with antioxidant BHT E321.

Sliabh Bloom Dog foods working dog triangles, kevin the guy that owns it told me the adult actually has 24% and the puppy 28%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

i know one of the brands he has states there is 24% pure chicken in it and it aint derivitives (spelt wrong me thinks:rolleyes:) its actually fit for human consumption the chicken that goes into the food that is:D maybe if there was nothin left in the cupboard id chance it smells damn fine:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭gripp

Alchemist2 wrote: »
    i know one of the brands he has states there is 24% pure chicken in it and it aint derivitives (spelt wrong me thinks:rolleyes:) its actually fit for human consumption the chicken that goes into the food that is:D maybe if there was nothin left in the cupboard id chance it smells damn fine:p
    are all his bags of feed the same quality or is there a premium and economy one,ie. do they all contain 24% chicken or do some just contain derivitives?