Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 Audi A3 2.0Tdi

• 21-09-2010 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭

Howdy

A mate of mine recently bought a ex demo A3 2.0 Tdi, over the last few weeks

a light looking like an exhaust-cat converter has been showing up on the dash.

He has been told by the dealer it is not been driven enough and to take it for a good drive (the manual says something similar).

This sounds like complete bollox to me, he is doing 50 miles + per day and the light stays on (no light should come on even with 1 mile per day Imo)

Anyone know of similar problems or heard the same muck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Geoff845

Could be the DPF filter and that would make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Jaysus thank fcuk iv'e an old motor if that's what new ones have to offer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Geoff845 wrote: »
    Could be the DPF filter and that would make sense.
    +1 He needs to take her for a good hard spin and redden her. If that doesn't fix it, then back to the dealer she goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

mathepac wrote: »
    +1 He needs to take her for a good hard spin and redden her. If that doesn't fix it, then back to the dealer she goes.

I would agree. Give it the benefit of the doubt and give it a good hard driven spin with plenty of revs. If not right then, take it to audi and dont take it back under light is permanently off

Cheers lads, modern motoring what a load of sh1te eh.. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Well yes and no. It could be that he drives in such a manner that the car has to tell him to give it a few revs to clear out the dpf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Give her to me and I will sort it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Should there be soot built up on the DPF on such a new car already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

bazz26 wrote: »

Depends how it's driven. I managed to light up the DPF on an Octavia by accelerating hard then braking hard in traffic. Car had been a rep car up till that point and had big miles for it's age.

Good spin down the motorway cleared it, but it didn't take much to trigger in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Doesn't sound odd to me anyway, friend of mine at a skoda garage said they've had a few people back with clogged DPF's on Octavia 1.6 TDi's, he tries to tell them that they have to drive the sh*t out of them from time to time but to half of them, its like talking to the wall... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Doesn't sound odd to me anyway, friend of mine at a skoda garage said they've had a few people back with clogged DPF's on Octavia 1.6 TDi's, he tries to tell them that they have to drive the sh*t out of them from time to time but to half of them, its like talking to the wall... :rolleyes:

I suspect the type of person who buys a 1.6Tdi Octavia isn't the type of person to drive the sh*t out of their car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Zonda999 wrote: »
    This is true, but still. It is up to the owner to drive the car whatever way they want.
    The cars are not engineered correctly imo.
    Like asking someone to eat quickly at a resturaunt - load of cock really.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

cadaliac wrote: »
    This is true, but still. It is up to the owner to drive the car whatever way they want.
    The cars are not engineered correctly imo.
    Like asking someone to eat quickly at a resturaunt - load of cock really.

Is it just me, or is that really, really wrong.........:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Seems to me that we are going to see alot of DPF issues on low mileage diesel cars in the years to come. Mainly due to lack of use by people who do feck all mileage but switched to diesel because of the lower motor tax and savings at the pump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Seems to me that we are going to see alot of DPF issues on low mileage diesel cars in the years to come. Mainly due to lack of use by people who do feck all mileage but switched to diesel because of the lower motor tax and savings at the pump.

This is so true as Ive seen lots of very low mileage people changed over already.
    DPF's have been around for a while now and some of these drivers are aware of the problem. A good drive is all it takes to sort it out.

Mainly due to bad engineering really..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Zonda999

bryaner wrote: »
    Mainly due to bad engineering really..
    I've no doubt they're working on the problem but the regulations on particulates are coming hard and fast from the EU and DPF's are a cost effective way of doing it, relatively that is, a new DPF cost in the region of 1000€ i believe!