Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2010 GAA All-Star Predictions Comp.

• 21-09-2010 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

Around this time of year we usually get a few threads popping up with peoples predictions for the All-Stars in a few months, so this year why don’t we make a competition out of it?

We can keep the football and hurling panels together in this thread here, so if you want to play predict what you think the 1-15 will be in either or both teams when the announcement is made.

I think the predicting gets significantly more eh....predictable....once the nominations are announced, so to make it more interesting posters can only make their predictions before the nominees are revealed. Once the announcement is made (it won’t be for around a month anyway) we won’t take any more entrants.

As regards positions, we know the committee who vote on these things have a knack of throwing players out of position just so they can feature on the list. So I’m thinking as long as the player is named on the team you get a point, regardless of what number he is given. But if the majority of you think you should get an extra point for choosing the right position I suppose we can do that as well. I’ll leave that to ye.

Not many other rules needed for this. Obviously we’re using the official GAA All-Stars and not the GPA ones, and we’ll throw in the two player of the year awards for each code while we’re at it as well.

So if you want to play, fill in the below. Winner gets....something*

FOOTBALL

Footballer of the Year:
    Young Footballer of the Year:

HURLING

Hurler of the Year:
    Young Hurler of the Year:

*which will probably be nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Shur I'll give the hurling a lash for the craic

HURLING
    1. Brendan Cummins

2. Jackie Tyrell
    3. Paul Curran
    4. Noel Connors

5. Tommy Walsh (Tony Browne would be unlucky to miss out here, but I reckon Walsh will get it)
    6. Brick
    7. Paraic Maher

8. Shane McGrath
    9. Brendan Maher

10. Damien Hayes
    11. Noel McGrath
    12. Lar Corbett

13. John Mullane
    14. Richie Power
    15. Eoin Kelly (Tipp)

Hurler of the Year: Lar Corbett
    Young Hurler of the Year: Brendan Maher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Will give it a lash. Hopefully don't embarrass myself too much. My football All Stars...

1 Quirke (Cork)

2 P. Kelly (Kildare)
    3 M. Shields (Cork)
    4 P. McMahon (Dublin)

5 P. Kissane (Cork)
    6 K. McKernan (Down)
    7 E. Bolton (Kildare)

8 A. Walsh (Cork)
    9 J. Galvin (Limerick)

10 M. Clarke (Down)
    11 J. Doyle (Kildare)
    12 P. Kelly (Cork)

13 D. Goulding (Cork)
    14 B. Brogan (Dublin)
    15 D. O Connor (Cork)

POTY B. Brogan
    YPOTY A. Walsh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

FOOTBALL
    1. A Quirke (Cork)

2. R O'Carroll (Dublin)
    3. M Shields (Cork)
    4. P McMahon (Dublin)

5. N O'Leary (Cork)
    6. K McKernan (Down)
    7. E Bolton (Kildare)

8. MD Macauley (Dublin)
    9. P Keenan (Louth)

10. D Hughes (Down)
    11. Clarke (Down)
    12. P Kelly (Cork)

13. D Goulding (Cork)
    14. B Brogan (Dublin)
    15. J Doyle (Kildare)

Footballer of the Year: Martin Clarke
    Young Footballer of the Year: Ciarán Sheehan

HURLING
    1. B Cummins (Tipp)

2. N Connors (Waterford)
    3. P Curran (Tipp)
    4. M Cahill (Tipp)

5. JJ Delaney (Kilkenny)
    6. M Walsh (Waterford)
    7. P Maher (Tipp)

8. B Maher (Tipp)
    9. S McGrath (Tipp)

10. H Shefflin (Kilkenny)
    11. N McGrath (Tipp)
    12. R Power (Kilkenny)

13. L Corbett (Tipp)
    14. E Kelly (Tipp)
    15. J Mullane (Waterford)

Hurler of the Year: Noel McGrath
    Young Hurler of the Year: Brendan Maher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Hells Kitchen

HURLING
    1. Brendan Cummins

2.Noel Connors
    3.Paul Curran
    4.Jackie Tyrell

5.Padraig Maher
    6.Michael Walsh
    7.JJ Delaney

8.Michael Fennelly
    9.Brendan Maher

10.Damien Hayes
    11.Noel McGrath
    12.Lar Corbett

13.John Mullane
    14.Richie Power
    15.Eoin Kelly(Tipp)
    Hurler of the Year: Lar Corbett
    Young Hurler of the Year:Brendan Maher

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

1. Brendan Cummins
    2. Noel Connors
    3. Paul Curran
    4. Jackie Tyrell
    5. Tommy Walsh
    6. Michael 'Brick' Walsh
    7. JJ Delaney
    8. Michael Fennelly
    9. Brendan Maher
    10. Damien Hayes
    11. Noel mcGrath
    12. Lar Corbett
    13. John Mullane
    14. Richie Power
    15. Eoin Kelly

HOTY: Lar Corbett
    YHOTY: Brendan Maher

Not the team I would pick but its the team I think they will pick :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

Football

1. Quirke (Cork)
    2. Kelly (Kildare)
    3. Shields (Cork)
    4. McMahon (Dublin)
    5. Bolton (Kildare)
    6. McKiernan (Down)
    7. Kissane (Cork)
    8. Keenan (Louth
    9. Walsh (Cork)
    10. Hughes (Down)
    11. Clarke (Down)
    12. Kelly (Cork)
    13. Goulding (Cork)
    14. Brogan (Dublin)
    15. Doyle (Kildare)

FOTY - Brogan
    YFOTY - Walsh

Hurling

1. Cummins (Tipperary)
    2. Connors (Waterford)
    3. Curran (Tipperary)
    4. P. Maher (Tipperary)
    5. Browne (Waterford)
    6. Walsh (Waterford)
    7. Delaney (Kilkenny)
    8. Fennelly (Kilkenny)
    9. B. Maher (Tipperary)
    10. Hayes (Galway)
    11. McGrath (Tipperary)
    12. Corbett (Tipperary)
    13. Mullane (Waterford)
    14. Power (Kilkenny)
    15. Kelly (Tipperary)

HOTY - Corbett
    YHOTY - B. Maher

* Personally I would pick Brendan McVeigh over Alan Quirke but I think they will select Quirke to 'beef up' the Cork contingent. I expect they will feel the dual National League/All-Ireland Champions are deserving of more than five All-Stars. Harsh on McVeigh but that is the way these things work.
    * Colm Cooper is unlucky to miss out after one of his best campaigns but Goulding's tour-de-force on Sunday will grab a spot in the full forward line at his expense. The All-Star panel will not replicate the grave mistake of The Sunday Game and dare to omit Johnny Doyle.
    * Hard to see too many surprises in the hurling forward line. The most competitive line here is the half-backs. So much so that I think they will do a little shuffling and select Padraic Maher in the corner instead of Tyrell. Delaney has to be selected at seven. Tony Browne versus Tommy Walsh is 50:50. I think they will give it to the Waterford man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

shezmagic wrote: »
    * Hard to see too many surprises in the hurling forward line. The most competitive line here is the half-backs. So much so that I think they will do a little shuffling and select Padraic Maher in the corner instead of Tyrell. Delaney has to be selected at seven. Tony Browne versus Tommy Walsh is 50:50. I think they will give it to the Waterford man.
    I think you might just have solved the wing-back problem there - Maher in the corner would make a lot of sense. No way Delaney can miss out, was immense all year.

Only thing I'd change is I don't think Browne will get in ahead of Walsh. I think Browne's year is being overrated by a lot of people because he popped up with a goal against Cork and has a great back story. I've loved watching him play over the years but he wasn't at the same level for me this year. Walsh, though, was his usual superb self and deserves the place ahead of him.

I can't see Eoin Kelly missing out but Shane Dooley might feel unlucky that he doesn't get the last spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 glens73

Football

1. McVeigh (Down)
    2. Kelly (Kildare)
    3. Shields (Cork)
    4. McMahon (Dublin)
    5. Kissane (Cork)
    6. McKiernan (Down)
    7. Jordan (Tyrone)
    8. McAuley (Dublin)
    9. Walsh (Cork)
    10. Hughes (Down)
    11. Clarke (Down)
    12. Doyle (Kildare)
    13. Goulding (Cork)
    14. Brogan (Dublin)
    15. Doyle (Kildare)

FOTY – Bernard Brogan
    YFOTY – Aidan Walsh

Hurling

1. Cummins (Tipperary)
    2. Connors (Waterford)
    3. Curran (Tipperary)
    4. Tyrell (Kilkenny)
    5. P. Maher (Tipperary)
    6. Walsh (Waterford)
    7. Delaney (Kilkenny)
    8. Fennelly (Kilkenny)
    9. B. Maher (Tipperary)
    10. Hayes (Galway)
    11. McGrath (Tipperary)
    12. Corbett (Tipperary)
    13. Mullane (Waterford)
    14. Power (Kilkenny)
    15. Kelly (Tipperary)

HOTY – Lar Corbett
    YHOTY - Brendan Maher

glens73 wrote: »
    Football

1. McVeigh (Down)
    2. Kelly (Kildare)
    3. Shields (Cork)
    4. McMahon (Dublin)
    5. Kissane (Cork)
    6. McKiernan (Down)
    7. Jordan (Tyrone)
    8. McAuley (Dublin)
    9. Walsh (Cork)
    10. Hughes (Down)
    11. Clarke (Down)
    12. Doyle (Kildare)
    13. Goulding (Cork)
    14. Brogan (Dublin)
    15. Doyle (Kildare)
    I'm wondering about how many people have Doyle in their teams ahead of Kavanagh, say, who I thought was very impressive in Kildare's qualifier run.

But whatever about one place, Doyle's certainly not worth two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GAA_PUNTER

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    I'm wondering about how many people have Doyle in their teams ahead of Kavanagh, say, who I thought was very impressive in Kildare's qualifier run.

But whatever about one place, Doyle's certainly not worth two!

Nominations out at midnight

The 2010 GAA Football All Stars nominations have been announced

All-Ireland and National League Champions Cork have topped the list with eleven nominations followed by Down with seven and Kildare with five.

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/09/23/vodafone-2010-gaa-football-all-stars-nominations/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Nominations for Football.

Goalkeepers:
    Alan Quirke (Cork)
    Brendan McVeigh (Down)
    Pascal McConnell (Tyrone)

Full-backs
    Michael Shields (Cork)
    Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)
    Peter Kelly (Kildare)
    Charlie Harrison (Sligo)
    Philip McMahon (Dublin)
    Justin McMahon (Tyrone)
    Dan Gordon (Down)
    John O’Brien (Louth)
    Marc O’ Se (Kerry)

Half-backs
    Paudie Kissane (Cork)
    Kevin McKernan (Down)
    Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    Emmet Bolton (Kildare)
    Tomas O’Se (Kerry)
    Graham Canty (Cork)
    Noel O’Leary (Cork)
    Joe McMahon (Tyrone)
    Eamon Callaghan (Kildare)

Midfielders

Aidan Walsh (Cork)
    Paddy Keenan (Louth)
    Michael D McAuley (Dublin)
    John Galvin (Limerick)
    Kalum King (Down)
    Nicholas Murphy (Cork)

Half Forwards
    Paddy Kelly (Cork)
    Daniel Hughes (Down)
    Graham Reilly (Meath)
    Martin Clarke (Down)
    Joe Sheridan (Meath)
    John Doyle (Kildare)
    Paul Kerrigan (Cork)
    Seamus Kenny (Meath)
    Cathal Cregg (Roscommon)

Full Forwards
    Daniel Goulding (Cork)
    Bernard Brogan (Dublin)
    Donie Shine (Roscommon)
    Colm Cooper (Kerry)
    Donncha O’Connor (Cork)
    David Kelly (Sligo)
    Benny Coulter (Down)
    James Kavanagh (Kildare)
    Padraic Joyce (Galway)

FOOTBALL
    1.Brendan McVeigh (Down)

2.Michael Shields (Cork)
    3.Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)
    4. Marc O’ Se (Kerry)

5.Graham Canty (Cork)
    6. Philip Jordan (Tyrone)
    7. Paudie Kissane (Cork)

8. Nicholas Murphy (Cork)
    9. Michael D McAuley (Dublin)

10. Joe Sheridan (Meath)
    11. Martin Clarke (Down)
    12. John Doyle (Kildare)

13. Daniel Goulding (Cork)
    14. Bernard Brogan (Dublin)
    15. Benny Coulter (Down)

FOTY: Bernard Brogan
    YFOTY: Martin Clarke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Dubhthamlacht

Football

1 Brendan McVeigh
    2 Peter Kelly
    3 Michael Sheilds
    4 Rory O'Carroll
    5 Emmett Bolton
    6 Kevin McKiernan
    7 Noel O'Leary
    8. MD McAuley
    9. John Galvin
    10 Danny Hughes
    11 Marty Clarke
    12 John Doyle
    13 Bernard Brogan
    14 Donnacha O'Connor
    15 Daniel Goulding

POTY - Brogan
    YPOTY - Walsh

This is what I feel the All Star selectors will go for. It was a poor year for defenders, especially half back line with very few outstanding all star certanties. I think O'Leary's final performance may get him an all star even though it was just above average display, but there really was very few stand out candidates here. Kissane was leading it until his final performance which probably has blown his chances. Bolton was steady rather than spectacular and McKernan mixed the good with the bad (I haven't forgotten his poor second half display against Tyrone)

Midfield for most of the season was going to be a mix of MD McAuely, Galvin or Keenan for the 2 All stars. But Walsh's final performance may gave him the nod.

Johnny Doyle being selected as a half forward is the selectors way of trying to get out of a controversial decision between him and Gooch. No way they will leave Doyle out now.

I think Cooper may lose out to the 2 cork lads in the full forward line. All star selectors will try to make sure all irleand champs have a respectable quota of all stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Shíte, forget about that predictions before nominations theory then.

Everyone just carry on posting regardless. If any of you want to edit your predictions send me a PM and I'll do it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

I am disappointed that no one is giving Donnie Shine a look in for YPOTY, he has been outstanding this year (and ended up 4th highest score this season ahead of Clarke).

I'd thought Shine was out of U-21s but just checked and he's not. In that case, I think he's got an excellent shout for YFOTY. He probably deserves something but I doubt he'll get an All-Star so YFOTY could be on.
    unknown13 wrote: »
    YFOTY: Martin Clarke
    He's too old, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 theverminator5

1 mcveigh
    2 p kelly
    3 m shields
    4 p mcmahon
    5 p kissane
    6 k mckiernan
    7 e bolton
    8 a walsh
    9 p keenan
    10 d hughes
    11 m clarke
    12 g reiley
    13 d goulding
    14 b brogan
    15 d o connor
    poty b brogan
    ypoty a walsh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 johnfarmer

HURLING
    1. B Cumminns

2. N Connors
    3. P Curran
    4. J Tyrell

5. T Walsh
    6. M Walsh
    7. P Maher

8. B Maher
    9. M Fennenly

10. D Hayes
    11. N McGrath
    12. H Shefflin

13. L Corbett
    14. R Power
    15. J Mullane

Hurler of the Year: Noel McGrath
    Young Hurler of the Year: Noel Connors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I'll give the football a lash.

1. B. McVeigh (Down)

2. P. Kelly (Kildare)
    3. D. Gordon (Down)
    4. P. MacMahon (Dublin)

5. P. Jordan (Tyrone)
    6. K. McKernan (Down)
    7. E. Bolton (Kildare)

8. A. Walsh (Cork)
    9. J. Galvin (Limerick)

10. D. Hughes (Down)
    11. M. Clarke (Down)
    12. P. Kelly (Cork)

13. D. Goulding (Cork)
    14. B. Brogan (Dublin)
    15. D. O'Connor (Kerry)

POTY: B. Brogan
    YPOTY: A. Walsh.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Hurling selection pretty much as expected, no real surpises there I don't think....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

adrian522 wrote: »
    Hurling selection pretty much as expected, no real surpises there I don't think....

Fair play adrian! 17/17 for the hurlers, that's some going.

Haven't had time to check the footballers, anyone want to see who came out on top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Daysha wrote: »
    Haven't had time to check the footballers, anyone want to see who came out on top?

Glens73 came out on top with 12 right (even handicapped himself by nominating the great Johnny Doyle in two positions! :P)

Everyone else was just behind with 9-11 correct.*

* I am in no way responsible for my poor maths - any disputes will be resolved by Daysha with a shift slap of a hurl to whomever is in the wrong!

Indeed. Good job, sir.

I actually remember reading through that team when he first posted it and thinking there was very little to disagree with.

I guess it shows that it was year with few enough shocks, except perhaps the first and last games of the championship.

I would have liked to see Shane Dooley get one and he would have if they had beaten Galway in one of their epic games, they certainly should have done but it still goes down as a great year for them and they are probably best placed in Leinster to take a scalp of Kilkenny or Galway this year, I think it shows the importance of playing division 1 in the league, hopefully they kick on from here.

I think I may have nicked the football one.