Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why cant we subscribe to a Poster?

• 20-09-2010 11:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭

I was thinking that it would be cool if ye could follow someone.

I seen there is a forum where all these lads stalk TarDalion and its a bit stupid. Why not have a way to subscribe to someone like twitter or youtube? You can follow a thread, why cant ye follow a person? For a start, all them lads would be mad for it in the TarDaralon forum.

Me, I just want the option for people to take a interest in what I say, I think I say some pretty funny things, I'm not saying I'll have my own fan club but one or two people taking an interest would be great for the confidence and would spur me on to tackle even harder topics. Not being a big head here, I know better than to want too much interest but some people having the option would be nice.

I seen theres a button with a thumb sticking up for if you like the person or don't like the person they are giving out to, why not have also a button with a different finger sticking up, if you dont like what they said?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

why not have also a button with a different finger sticking up, if you dont like what they said?

Be handy about now.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I seen there is a forum where all these lads stalk TarDalion and its a bit stupid. Why not have a way to subscribe to someone like twitter or youtube? You can follow a thread, why cant ye follow a person? For a start, all them lads would be mad for it in the TarDaralon forum.

Me, I just want the option for people to take a interest in what I say, I think I say some pretty funny things, I'm not saying I'll have my own fan club but one or two people taking an interest would be great for the confidence and would spur me on to tackle even harder topics. Not being a big head here, I know better than to want too much interest but some people having the option would be nice.

I seen theres a button with a thumb sticking up for if you like the person or don't like the person they are giving out to, why not have also a button with a different finger sticking up, if you dont like what they said?

I wish there was a button with two fingers sticking up at this moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Isn't there some "matchmaking" tool here somewhere?

I saw it once, months ago

It shows which posters you tend to thank or they thank you, similar views I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Isn't there some "matchmaking" tool here somewhere?

I saw it once, months ago

It shows which posters you tend to thank or they thank you, similar views I suppose

This baby

http://www.boards.ie/love.php

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Because if you could follow a poster it would open Boards up to all sorts of accusations of making stalking permissible, and no doubt there would be other privacy issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Subtle Troll

mikom wrote: »
    Be handy about now.............
    orourkeda wrote: »
    I wish there was a button with two fingers sticking up at this moment

Ah now lads, show a bit of originality here, are yez coordinating by phone or what?

It isn't an exam, ye don't have to copy each others answers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Zaph wrote: »
    Because if you could follow a poster it would open Boards up to all sorts of accusations of making stalking permissible, and no doubt there would be other privacy issues.

And the "Find all posts by X" doesn't do that?

I see your point but... we can see all the posts already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Ha, Tar's not gonna be happy that their name is wrong..

Anyway,this ain't Facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ah now lads, show a bit of originality here, are yez coordinating by phone or what?

It isn't an exam, ye don't have to copy each others answers.

Yeah, we're like Jedward.
    orourkom.

Zaph wrote: »

Fair enough Zaph, but I still think it could be a bit of craic.

mikom wrote: »
    Yeah, we're like Jedward.
    orourkom.

Yeah but ye can get a laugh out of jedward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I seen there is a forum where all these lads stalk TarDalion and its a bit stupid.

Tar loves to Flirt.

Why not have a way to subscribe to someone like twitter or youtube? You can follow a thread, why cant ye follow a person? For a start, all them lads would be mad for it in the TarDaralon forum.

You can, just by subscribing to a thread they have posted in or visit their user CP.

If you say something interesting they will reply anyway.

This has been discussed many times in Feedback and the conclusion has been each time that it will not work.

The thanks button is there for you to agree with a post, if you disagree with the same post you are more likely to want to state why, hence no thumbs down button.

It's all about discussion OP.

And it's Tar.Aldarion btw.:pac: