Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2010 Championship

• 20-09-2010 10:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Just watched this video on youtube on the 2010 Championship:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gzdT4pATelI

and it got me thinking ...

What will the 2010 Championship be most remembered for?
    What will your abiding memory be?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Meath v Louth probably. For both the "goal" and the disgraceful scenes afterwards.

For me personally, it would be the Meath - Dublin game followed by the Louth game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

The ruccus on the Hill after O'Gara's goal against Tyrone! Best atmosphere on the Hill for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

gaa2010 wrote: »
    What will the 2010 Championship be most remembered for?

That goal I'd reckon.

What will your abiding memory be?

Overall one of a great and throughly entertaining championship. Was great to see a new home for Sam, all the teams coming up...

From a Galwayman's perspective, it'll be looked back on as one to gloss over. Though I won't forget shouting myself hoarse as Galway came back to draw level against Sligo! What a dismal 'run' we had. I know a few Mayo lads who would be of the same opinion. Oh well sure the draw for '11 is only a few weeks away :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

Meaths amazing Leinster final victory,
    Snatching victory from the jaws of defeat and bring the delaney cup back to the banks of the boyne for the first time in 9 long years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

2 things stand out for me, both negative for the gaa and should not happen again -

the louth v meath game will be the stand out and what happened in injury time.

the galvin and o shea suspensions, with others getting off left right and center.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

the galvin and o shea suspensions, with others getting off left right and center.

Someday you'll get over that ;) but you're 100% per cent on the money.

If disciplinary action cannot be applied consistently, then it shouldn't be applied at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

All I can remember from a Galway perspective is last-gasp one point defeats. Loads and fcuking loads of them!

Overall it was a pretty good year though. The football championship was one of the best in years, in excitement anyway if not always in quality. But Galway v Sligo, Meath v Louth, Down v Kerry, Dublin v Tyrone, KIldare v Down, Cork v Dublin were all very enjoyable games to watch. And we had the best hurling final probably since the Galway-Cork epic in 1990.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Obviously the Meath goal in the match between Meath v Louth but what stands out for me is the Dublin v Tyrone match.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The disgraceful suspension of Paul Galvin and the disastrous consequences it had on Kerrys campaign. The CCCC and GAA should be ashamed of themselves and when Christy Cooney handed the Sam Maguire to Canty yesterday, he knew himself the part he played in Corks victory.

It will also be remembered for Downs robbery of Kildare however it was the year that the CCCC cost Kerry an All-Ireland title.

Kerry will annihilate Cork in Killarney next June and march on drubbing all before them in the most emphatic of fashions to reclaim Sam Maguire back to its rightful homeplace in the green fields of the true Kingdom of Kerry.

Ciarrai Abu

Enjoy the party while it lasts Langers because Kerry are a wounded beast and Dublin of 2009 knows what happens when a team meets a Kerry team with a bruised ego.

The whole CCCC saga for all teams involved in particular how Kerry were riddiculed by the media. Especially in the case of Galvin. Think the GAA crowd were out to get him no matter what, they wanted Kerry out of the Championship no matter who got into the All Ireland Final. Kerry may have lost out this year but they be back with fire in their bellys next year! If they managed to win in 2008 wouldn't they have achieved 3 in a row! Obviously begruddgers cannot stand the sight of Kerry. Cannot understand why Cooper got such a bad reception from the list of team of the year by The Sunday Game last night. He was consistent and stayed on form throughout each match. Other teams were just out to get him the poor thing he never did anything wrong and keeps to himself when he plays. He is a true footballing genius. We got the talent and experience in contrast to other teams. If teams can't take the heat get out of the kitchen. Every team deserves a chance and none of them should be shunted by the media.

Sam coming home next year for sure or at least to a more deserving county!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

The whole CCCC saga for all teams involved in particular how Kerry were riddiculed by the media. Especially in the case of Galvin. Think the GAA crowd were out to get him no matter what, they wanted Kerry out of the Championship no matter who got into the All Ireland Final. Kerry may have lost out this year but they be back with fire in their bellys next year! If they managed to win in 2008 wouldn't they have achieved 3 in a row! Obviously begruddgers cannot stand the sight of Kerry. Cannot understand why Cooper got such a bad reception from the list of team of the year by The Sunday Game last night. He was consistent and stayed on form throughout each match. Other teams were just out to get him the poor thing he never did anything wrong and keeps to himself when he plays. He is a true footballing genius. We got the talent and experience in contrast to other teams. If teams can't take the heat get out of the kitchen. Every team deserves a chance and none of them should be shunted by the media.

Sam coming home next year for sure or at least to a more deserving county!

Stinicker wrote: »
    The disgraceful suspension of Paul Galvin and the disastrous consequences it had on Kerrys campaign. The CCCC and GAA should be ashamed of themselves and when Christy Cooney handed the Sam Maguire to Canty yesterday, he knew himself the part he played in Corks victory.

It will also be remembered for Downs robbery of Kildare however it was the year that the CCCC cost Kerry an All-Ireland title.

Kerry will annihilate Cork in Killarney next June and march on drubbing all before them in the most emphatic of fashions to reclaim Sam Maguire back to its rightful homeplace in the green fields of the true Kingdom of Kerry.

Ciarrai Abu

Enjoy the party while it lasts Langers because Kerry are a wounded beast and Dublin of 2009 knows what happens when a team meets a Kerry team with a bruised ego.

:D Bitter much? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Galvin is the GAA's equivalent of a recidivist offender.

It is impossible to show him ANY mercy. Without a shadow of a doubt, he is one of Ireland's finest ever. However, his nasty streak brings the GAA into disrepute so often that it is impossible to have ANY sympathy for him. His actions give the GAA a bad name.

How well it was always the Kerry players that got suspended and not any other team member from other teams got some sort of sanction? Thats not entirely fair, if more than one or two go under scrunity then all players who have been caught out on CCCC should also get suspended its only fair. Its only one sided if its Kerry that gets the bait. Surely Cadogan, Sheridan and a few others should have been under fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

How well it was always the Kerry players that got suspended and not any other team member from other teams got some sort of sanction? Thats not entirely fair, if more than one or two go under scrunity then all players who have been caught out on CCCC should also get suspended its only fair. Its only one sided if its Kerry that gets the bait. Surely Cadogan, Sheridan and a few others should be under fire.

Surely the name Collie Moran means something to you ?

Het-Field wrote: »
    Surely the name Collie Moran means something to you ?

Ah, yes.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Louth winning Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Lar's hat-trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Roscommon beating Sligo

Sligo beating Galway

Galway losing to Tipp

Louth losing to Meath (I blame Louth's free-taker he was brutal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

THFC wrote: »
    Louth winning Leinster.

:confused: I thought Meath won Leinster this year :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Naomh

Ciarrai Abu

One of the saddest posts I've seen one here, ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 roscommon2010

Beating Sligo.

And as a neutral Lar Corbett's first goal in the hurling final
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGm-ry9zsLQ

the moment you sensed Tipp might win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

I was at both finals this year, and they were both absolutely smashing games. So thats the first thing I'll remember, that we had two great finals. I'd be hard pushed to say one match was better than the other, they were both fantastic to be at, really great occasions.

One thing that really stands out for me was the Down players congratulating the Cork players when they were doing the lap of honour. It was a fine gesture. Another thing that really stands out, was that when the final whistle went on Sunday and you had all the mayhem broke loose and the cork players were jumping all over the place, the guy I looked for was Canty as to my mind he's the 'great' player of this cork team. I don;t think he even put his arms in the air, he went straight over to Benny Coulter, to console him or whatever. I thought that also was a class thing to do (my guess is that they would know each other from the compromise rules tours in Australia). Both the hurling and the football could have gone either way, now i do think the best team won on both occasions, but I wouldn't forget the contribution of the losing finalists in either game.

I think the championship should be remembered primarily for the finals (and it will be remembered for that).

Also
    In Football
    - the provincial finalists and runners up losing out in the football
    - I have to say Louth also, being done out of it, not by the ref or by the Meath team but basically by the system.
    - Marty Clarke pulling the strings against Kerry.
    - Dublin pulling it together after even their own fan had deserted them (deservedly) after the abysmal game against Wexford.
    - a trend where a team would put in a fantastic display one week and then lose badly the following match. Meath did this, Monaghan, Tyrone, Sligo.
    - a game that stands out in my memory for no other reason than being a very entertaining game on a sunny evening was Roscommon-Leitrim, the sort of game I'd love to have been at.

In Hurling,
    - it was really all about the final for me. Pete Finnerty put it well on the sunday game, that he was glad Tipp had raised themselves to Kilkenny's level rather than Kilkenny falling back. The only team I can see coming close to these two next year is Galway. As a neutral, if we have a Tipp Kilkenny final a third year running, I won't be complaining at all.

Second highlight would be Waterford, and esp Tony browne in the Munster Hurling final.

Further highlights, the resurgence of Offaly and the strong improvement by Carlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

2 things stand out for me, both negative for the gaa and should not happen again -

the louth v meath game will be the stand out and what happened in injury time.

Not wanting to labour this one, which has been put to bed. In the case of dealing with any offence/offender, those who are repeat offenders do have to come in for special consideration. If two young lads break the law, for example. One is a first offender and the other has a long line of offences. Do you think it's fair to give them both the same punishment? I don't. In the case of Paul Galvin, whether we like it or not, he has an extensive history of indiscipline. It's a shame really, for a talented player but the one who makes things most difficult for Paul Galvin is himself.

overmantle wrote: »
    Not wanting to labour this one, which has been put to bed. In the case of dealing with any offence/offender, those who are repeat offenders do have to come in for special consideration. If two young lads break the law, for example. One is a first offender and the other has a long line of offences. Do you think it's fair to give them both the same punishment? I don't. In the case of Paul Galvin, whether we like it or not, he has an extensive history of indiscipline. It's a shame really, for a talented player but the one who makes things most difficult for Paul Galvin is himself.

Galvin himself took the suspension on the chin, what he did was way out of line and he admitted himself.....don;'t know why people making such a big deal of it.

Who exactly got off 'left right and centre' doing similar stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

Ciarrai Abu

Don't worry, this is a long overdue party in Cork. Cork should have won it last year but just couldn't get over the line. The Croke Park duck has been broken and I suspect Kerry, wounded or otherwise, won't be having it all their own way for a long time to come. Great to see things opening up with many more contenders this year. With a young squad, I reckon this Cork team will be in the reckoning for a long time to come.

All I can say, Stinicker, is that your post is sad and ungracious.

Lads this is an All ireland championship review, 32 counties not just the two. Maybe you can open up a seperate thread for the Cork v Kerry fans slagging match. Its about as interesting to the rest of us as the Tipp Kilkenny fans that jeer each other on the hurling thread.

The players have huge respect for one another.....it makes the fans having a go seem a bit ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

Dublin v Cork build up. The ten minutes before the game during the parade, atmosphere was electric and the great game that followed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

Stand-out memories for me..

On a personal level, seeing Canty lifts the Sam Maguire to end a long twenty-year wait. It seemed almost appropriate that it should occur during a downpour as I remembered getting soaked at the earlier games against Cavan, Wexford and Roscommon when many people questioned my sanity to travel around the country to follow this Cork team who seemed destined to be the nearly-men forever.

The competitive nature of the football championship. A combined four points determined the two All-Ireland semi-finals and All-Ireland final. You can not ask for much more excitement than that.

Tipperary's two goal salvo in three minutes at the start of the second half of the hurling final. In those moments you knew history was being written and defined before your very eyes.

I always considered that the atmosphere at the 1984 Munster Hurling Final would never be equalled. But the Cork and Dublin semi-final atmosphere topped it. The sporting nature of the Dublin support that day was a credit to their county and the GAA.

The contributions of both Roscommon and Sligo to a memorable Connacht Championship. All bets are off in Connacht in 2011.

The emergence of Kildare, Dublin and Meath in re-establishing Leinster football as serious contenders for All-Ireland honours. On another day we could have very easily being looking at an All-Leinster final.

The Galway versus Tipperary quarter-final - the best game of hurling this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

I'm new here, and not familiar yet with any of the posters.

Can I assume you were equally indignant in 2009 when Tadhg Kennelly's premeditated assault on Nicholas Murphy went unpunished, whilst others - maybe on the left, right and centre - received red cards for similar indiscretions?

As for the Championship in 2010, what will remain with me will be the end of the Tyrone / Kerry domination, and as a consequence the most open Championship in years.

Furthermore will be the pre-eminence of teams coming through the qualifiers. Never before have the provincial championships been so peripheral. Oh yes, and we'll never ever hear a Down man ask the question again, 'What's it like to lose an All Ireland Final?' :D

As for my own memories of Armagh - generally less said the better, although the rise of Jamie Clarke and the continued class of Stevie McDonnell were bright spots on a bleak Championship landscape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    :D Bitter much? :D

jesus they really hate us dont they?

I was up in Omagh for the Down v Kerry game and the place went crazy when Kerry got knocked out and this included people from Antrim, Donegal and Armagh in this place. Even talking to Down fans and they were all telling us they wanted us win All Ireland last year.

Let them be bitter, the whole country knows it anyway thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭alphasully

The Goal that wasnt
    Tipp winning Liam by ending Kilkenny's 5in a Row
    The ending of the Kerry/Tyrone monopoly over Sam
    but the thing that really stands out was the Down team congratulating the Cork team last sunday. True sports men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

For the championship as a whole has to be the goal that wasn't and the scenes that followed it. And the constant theme of officials getting things wrong.

For me personally it was getting to my first all Ireland final and watching my county lift sam. :D

Edit - that last one that Alphasully mentions above does deserve more recognition. It wouldnt have been able to happen with the supporters on the pitch. Down gained themselves alot of respect by that showing and hopefully it'll be a theme that we'll see in future years. By theme I mean the teams congratulating and commiserating each other in such a public fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Definitely the Connacht Final was my highlight.

I'm as optimistic as they come, but I really thought we had no chance, but went anyway, cos I always do.

The match itself was a dinger, with some brilliant football displayed.

And afterwards the pitch invasion was just fantastic*.

*Of course I trampled over hundreds of dead bodies and murdered a few more but isn't that what us GAA supporters have been doing for years??? Health and Safety my BOLLOCKS!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

megadodge wrote: »
    Definitely the Connacht Final was my highlight.

I'm as optimistic as they come, but I really thought we had no chance, but went anyway, cos I always do.

The match itself was a dinger, with some brilliant football displayed.

And afterwards the pitch invasion was just fantastic*.

*Of course I trampled over hundreds of dead bodies and murdered a few more but isn't that what us GAA supporters have been doing for years??? Health and Safety my BOLLOCKS!!!

Having been part of many a pitch invasion myself, the memory that I will take to my grave is the embracing of the Down and Cork players 20 yards in front of me last Sunday - such a public show of respect by 40 odd sporting men is truly a rare sight. Mar a deirtear - An rud is annamh is iontach - but I hope we get to see such a scene again as it illustrates so much more than 'Health and Safety'.
    While pitch invasions are not totally unique to the GAA, they are by in large banned in most sports.
    A Pitch invasion V A Show of Respect...... Having seen both, I know which one I would like to see more often.
    Sunday was a watermark for me.... R.I.P Plan B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Having been part of many a pitch invasion myself, the memory that I will take to my grave is the embracing of the Down and Cork players 20 yards in front of me last Sunday - such a public show of respect by 40 odd sporting men is truly a rare sight. Mar a deirtear - An rud is annamh is iontach - but I hope we get to see such a scene again as it illustrates so much more than 'Health and Safety'.
    While pitch invasions are not totally unique to the GAA, they are by in large banned in most sports.
    A Pitch invasion V A Show of Respect...... Having seen both, I know which one I would like to see more often.
    Sunday was a watermark for me.... R.I.P Plan B.

All very true but i'd still be in favour of letting us fans in afterwards - when Cork were making their way into the stand and the Down lads towards the tunnel on the far side

You cant tell me Canty wouldnt have prefered to be looking out upon 30 thousand thrilled Rebels fans when he was making that speech!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Ian_K wrote: »
    All very true but i'd still be in favour of letting us fans in afterwards - when Cork were making their way into the stand and the Down lads towards the tunnel on the far side

You cant tell me Canty wouldnt have prefered to be looking out upon 30 thousand thrilled Rebels fans when he was making that speech!

Yeah, but in fairness though, after the final whistle I'd much rather celebrate with my team-mates than 30 odd thousand people I don't know. Especially difficult for the losing team. How often in the past have yeh seen both sets of players making their way to the stand very quickly after the final whistle. I remember after Kerry won last year and seeing Paul Galvin almost getting raped by 10/11 lads for his jersey.
    However, I do think they should let the crowds onto the pitch when the players are walking up Hogan Stand and then everyone will be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Lar Corbetts second goal in the final.

And also, Benny Dunnes point. Just goes to show what a difference 12 months can make.

Kellys words afterwords will live with me forever. When he was talkin about Sheedy - "he came in when the ship was sinkin, but by god is this ship sailing today"

twas a good auld championship for the premier :)

Ian_K wrote: »

I can't speak for him - but he still got to make a speach in front of 50,000 thrilled Rebels didn't he?

Maybe a pitch invasion 5 mins after the final whistle ? A countdown clock could appear on the big screen - when it reaches zero the stewards can start opening the gates, might be a little bit more controlled - and the players would have some time 'to themselves'.

Either way those celebrations are my highlight aswell as KK being bet of course;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

1 - Louth v Meath - never seen anything like it, still cannot understand how the ref allowed the score to stand.

2 - Tipp's magical performance against what was perceived to be an unbeatable Kilkenny.

3. Cork grinding out results and finally getting their hands on Sam

4. Limerick hurlers strike

5. Sligo throwing away a Connacht title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I will remember this years championship for the awful standard of refereeing.

It started with the hand passing farce and the whole championship was riddled with some awful decisions by referees and umpires.

The Sheridan goal, Tomas O'Se commiting assault 3 times and getting away with it each time and Padraic Hughes somehow giving a free out against John Galvin in our game against Cork when the whole stadium saw that it was a cast iron penalty, ridiculous square ball decison not given against Benny Coulter, A point waved wide in that same game, A penalty given against Galway footballers that wasn't a pen at all. There is no doubt that officials cost a lot of teams this year.

On a brighter note the Rossies winning Connacht brightened up the championship. It was nice to see the underdogs prevailing in a big game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

For me, has to be Coulter's one two point in the Semi final. Glad we got to see both him and Clarke on the big stage, who'd have thought that 18 months ago?

Good to see the big 2 dominance ended which no contributed to a more open and sporting final. Would have prefered Down to win to show Ulster teams can't be written off easily anymore, but no more deserving team to win Sam.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    For me, has to be Coulter's one two point in the Semi final. Glad we got to see both him and Clarke on the big stage, who'd have thought that 18 months ago?

Good to see the big 2 dominance ended which no contributed to a more open and sporting final. Would have prefered Down to win to show Ulster teams can't be written off easily anymore, but no more deserving team to win Sam.

Ulster teams have won 4 of the last 9 All Irelands. By your measure the only county in Ireland that cannot be written off easily is Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ulster teams have won 4 of the last 9 All Irelands. By your measure the only county in Ireland that cannot be written off easily is Kerry.

Obviously! But the measurement was by province not county, the context is different.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.