Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Synchronised Slashing

• 18-09-2010 11:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭

Has anyone ever encountered this?

You spend an evening in a pub, you have a couple of pints and head for a slash. Whilst in there there is another gentleman which you don't acknowledge as you are a gentleman and slashing is quite a serious business.

You rejoin you're group for more beverages and the time comes for the jacks again. Lo and behold the same gentleman is availing of the facilities.

As the night progresses you see a pattern begin to emerge and realise that your toilet/drinking habits must be quite similar, or at least your bladders are.
    As you get drunker you begin to wonder what the protocol is, are you meant to acknowledge how feckin hilarious the whole thing is or do you just offer the male greeting of the barely perceptable nod and look at your lad with a serious expression knowing full well the serious business that it is.

Tbh I could do without meeting the same people when I go to the jacks, it's feckin creepy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Tbh I could do without meeting the same people when I go to the jacks, it's feckin creepy

It's only creepy if you're looking down and over. Were you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Have never been aware of such non-serendipitous synchronicity myself.

But I reckon you're just not getting drunk enough, quick enough...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Perhaps its fate telling you something? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Edit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

chordtype wrote: »
    It's only creepy if you're looking down and over. Were you?

Had a quick compare and contrast. When it really got creepy was when I had to ask him to get his shoulder in under mine

On a night out - no, don't really care. However when in work I find it weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Has anyone ever encountered this?

You spend an evening in a pub, you have a couple of pints and head for a slash. Whilst in there there is another gentleman which you don't acknowledge as you are a gentleman and slashing is quite a serious business.

You rejoin you're group for more beverages and the time comes for the jacks again. Lo and behold the same gentleman is availing of the facilities.

As the night progresses you see a pattern begin to emerge and realise that your toilet/drinking habits must be quite similar, or at least your bladders are.
    As you get drunker you begin to wonder what the protocol is, are you meant to acknowledge how feckin hilarious the whole thing is or do you just offer the male greeting of the barely perceptable nod and look at your lad with a serious expression knowing full well the serious business that it is.

That's cute. Maybe your periods will synchronise next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

STRANGER DANGER!

So, I was out drinking with my mates. And everytime I started for the jacks this guy would look up and leave his group and go too. I didn't notice it until the third or fourth time, was very unsettling.

But yeah, very weird the way that happens. I just go "howya" do my business and leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

did he always arrive a couple of seconds after you each time or was it random??

if it was random, it wouldn't bother me, if it was synchronised, I'd recommend that you wear galvanised underpants the next time.......just in case!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭bertie4evr

He mightn't have left the jacks at all.He could have been pissing the whole night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

ask him can you share his urinal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

chin_grin wrote: »
    STRANGER DANGER!

So, I was out drinking with my mates. And everytime I started for the jacks this guy would look up and leave his group and go too. I didn't notice it until the third or fourth time, was very unsettling.

But yeah, very weird the way that happens. I just go "howya" do my business and leave.

maybe he wanted to see your wee willy winky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I thought the name SlasherMcGurk meant like a "slasher" who kills people with a knife, I didn't think it was a urination fascination :p

not looking at you in the same way again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Links234 wrote: »
    I thought the name SlasherMcGurk meant like a "slasher" who kills people with a knife, I didn't think it was a urination fascination :p

Well,he does kill people with knives too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Well,he does kill people with knives too.

kills them till they die from it....

Links234 wrote: »

It's a little from column A a little from column B :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

It's a little from column A a little from column B :pac:

Ah, so you had to go number2 as well?

bonerm wrote: »
    Ah, so you had to go number2 as well?

In the urinal, yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Im with the o.p on this, often happens myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Thought this thread was going to be about emos cutting themselves :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Tender Hoop

perfectly normal, However people might start asking questions if you find yourself in a cubicle with him snorting a line of coke off his cock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The worst is when, on the third of fourth 'meeting', you attempt to break the ice by cheerfully acknowledging the absurdity of the situation with your 'slash buddy' and he looks at you weirdly before leaving the jacks quickly.

And the next time you go up to the bar, you realize that he's sat at a table of nutters who are now all looking at you weirdly as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

So long as the stranger doesn't offer to shake hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Well OP no matter how many times you meet in the jacks, no attempt must be made at communication - especially the visual kind. The ONLY exception to this is when, if you meet again at the hand basin, you may give a brief glance followed by a manly grunt. Then promptly exit the jacks with a manly walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

OP, just slash on him and this problem will end.... although it may result in an even more uncomfortable situation if he likes it!