Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most ridiculous (minor) collision you've seen

• 17-09-2010 8:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

I've seen a few classics (nobody hurt but very dumb/amusing)

1.Guy pulls up beside unit in Greenogue where we're eating lunch in our van, he's in a transit, out he hops and slams the door and heads inside. No handbrake for him it seems, and tranny rolls slowly away down the hill - through a palisade fence, over a 2m drop and down onto two (empty) parked cars. Out he comes, looking for his van. After we stopped being gobsmacked, and realised nobody was injured, we did giggle a bit.

2.In traffic on quays, and guy in lane next to us in a Hiace van, talking away on his phone, slams his van(5 mph) into the car in front of him- the car is driven forward by the impact, and our lad manages to cock up taking his hiace out of gear, and surges forward to slam into it again. His mate in the passenger seats face said it all, especially when the worlds largest, angriest dude gets out of the car they hit. I still can't figure out how you manage to crash into the same car twice in the space of 3 seconds.

3.Auld boy in petrol station on Naas rd reversing in to get at the pumps, two lads in a nice modded civic at the pump behind him. Obliviouse to the civics beeping, auld lad backs into its wing, and just keeps coming back-he's gonna get his petrol no matter what. The disbelieving/disparing/raging face on the civic driver was priceless. When the auld boy finally got stopped and got out, he didn't seem too bothered-probably happens once a week.

Anybody else got any? Anbody been the lad who done the dumb thing themselves? I know I have anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

1. Guy decides to do a U-turn. Underestimates car's turning radius and ends up scraping the front bumper against the wall on the other side of the road.

2. Guy decides to show off to his mate a little. Carries a little too much speed into the corner. Ends up smashing the passenger side wheels into the kerb.

And unfortunately on both occasions the guy was me... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

Hah, bought my first new van-an opel combo- well chuffed. Drove it home. Auld fella was testing cattle and roared at me to park it across the yard to block a gap. Did so, as told - vet let out a big mangy bullock which proceeded to squeeze past my pride and joy, crushing the wing and denting the side. Well peed off, I drove off in a huff, and a git in a trooper clipped me at speed, smashing off the wing mirror and embedding the glass in the side of the van. Went into town the next day to collect a tub of Dulux for the ma, on the way home it fell over and flooded the back in white emulsion. Within two days it looked like a wreck. Stopped being my pride and joy quite rapidly.:)Started calling it "my ball of finance".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭hellyeah

this happened to me.

was in a supermarket car park ( parked) when a women :rolleyes: (sorry)
    was taking the space in front of me. she was reversing into here space and she was not stopping. here towbar put a big dent in my numberplate
    and broke the plastic surround on the front of my car. gave the car a good jolt as i was sitting in it.
    the next bit is priceless.
    she gets out all mortified and saying sorry and proceeds to call the guards to report the accident(:confused:). its a number plate with a small dent and cracked surround. i then spend the next ten minutes trying to convince her it is ok not to call the guards and i dont want her number and insurance details. i was driving a 02 focus worth a couple of grand.
    anyway we parted company eventually and she thought i was some modern day saint for letting her away with it.
    the plastic surround i binned and the numberplate i hit with a dot punch to
    fix.
    suppose i could have sued for wiplash!!!!!!!!! if i had no morals:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

hellyeah wrote: »
    this happened to me.

was taking the space in front of me. she was reversing into here space and she was not stopping. here towbar put a big dent in my numberplate
    and broke the plastic surround on the front of my car. gave the car a good jolt as i was sitting in it.
    the next bit is priceless.
    she gets out all mortified and saying sorry and proceeds to call the guards to report the accident(:confused:). its a number plate with a small dent and cracked surround. i then spend the next ten minutes trying to convince her it is ok not to call the guards and i dont want her number and insurance details. i was driving a 02 focus worth a couple of grand.
    anyway we parted company eventually and she thought i was some modern day saint for letting her away with it.
    the plastic surround i binned and the numberplate i hit with a dot punch to
    fix.
    suppose i could have sued for wiplash!!!!!!!!! if i had no morals:D

Nice guy ;)

Had the opposite happen-parked outside the local spar, getting smokes, came out and a "lady" in a newish Avensis had reversed into the drivers door of my Carina, denting it badly. Walked over, and she proceeded to tell me that I "had parked in a silly place, and sure , it was a pile of sh1te anyway"!!!! I cracked my h0le laughing at her arrogance, but I have a "what goes around comes around" attitude to stuff like this, so I got into my car and headed off. I hope it "came around" fairly fast for her anyway. Theres no accounting for people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

dunsandin wrote: »
    Had the opposite happen-parked outside the local spar, getting smokes, came out and a "lady" in a newish Avensis had reversed into the drivers door of my Carina, denting it badly. Walked over, and she proceeded to tell me that I "had parked in a silly place, and sure , it was a pile of sh1te anyway"!!!! I cracked my h0le laughing at her arrogance, but I have a "what goes around comes around" attitude to stuff like this, so I got into my car and headed off. I hope it "came around" fairly fast for her anyway. Theres no accounting for people.
    You sure showed her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭hellyeah

thats my attitude aswell. as above i have never had an accident and if this is the worse that happens to me im willing to let it go. what goes around comes around as above.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

you should have sued her ass!

@Magic- two days previous, while waiting to meet a guy in citywest, I reversed back into a layby and failed to see the low bollard which gave me a new decorative crease in my boot, so she was right really-it was a pile of sh1te. I dont really get your comment anyway.

Re Karma and driving, I reckon if you want to, you could spend your life sueing people, I've been hit by people about 8 times, never at fault. Never claimed. I once was admiring a pretty fine looking girl getting out of a Range rover, and managed to stuff a company Punto(brand new, and on my first day!!try explaining that!!) into the back of a rover 414 that had stopped in front while I was busy drooling. He claimed for everything except a new house, and I still dont care, he was unhurt, his car was fine, so to me, he's a scumbag, and good luck to him. Don't wanna go down that road. I still laugh about it when I drive down that road, but she was damn fine, to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭mowhawk

I've seen a few classics (nobody hurt but very dumb/amusing)

1.Guy pulls up beside unit in Greenogue where we're eating lunch in our van, he's in a transit, out he hops and slams the door and heads inside. No handbrake for him it seems, and tranny rolls slowly away down the hill - through a palisade fence, over a 2m drop and down onto two (empty) parked cars. Out he comes, looking for his van. After we stopped being gobsmacked, and realised nobody was injured, we did giggle a bit.

2.In traffic on quays, and guy in lane next to us in a Hiace van, talking away on his phone, slams his van(5 mph) into the car in front of him- the car is driven forward by the impact, and our lad manages to cock up taking his hiace out of gear, and surges forward to slam into it again. His mate in the passenger seats face said it all, especially when the worlds largest, angriest dude gets out of the car they hit. I still can't figure out how you manage to crash into the same car twice in the space of 3 seconds.

3.Auld boy in petrol station on Naas rd reversing in to get at the pumps, two lads in a nice modded civic at the pump behind him. Obliviouse to the civics beeping, auld lad backs into its wing, and just keeps coming back-he's gonna get his petrol no matter what. The disbelieving/disparing/raging face on the civic driver was priceless. When the auld boy finally got stopped and got out, he didn't seem too bothered-probably happens once a week.

Anybody else got any? Anbody been the lad who done the dumb thing themselves? I know I have anyway.
    My, Oh! My, you really have covered all of the stereotypes there except for the incompetent female. You're slipping up. :)

Greenogue was a ballygowan van - the driver will probably remember as the bill was a biggie. Quays was at the Hapenny bridge, about 200 people watching, auld lad was at the applegreen on the naas rd. Instead of acting as constable drippy of the PC brigade, why don't you break the stereotype and tell us a real one you saw? You probably have a good one to share, cos pretty much everyone has seen at least 1 classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Tell me noooooooooo

Bryaner, what would you have done? Sued for a ... Nope, met enough cnuts in my life that sue at the drop of a hat, I've been in the high court with barristers that would charge you for smiling on my side, and I hate it. Life is too short mate, I'd rather laugh. Anyway, what would I have got?Money? I've got that, so I just would have got grief. I got a bigger buzz from laughing. Just like I get a buzz from driving piles of dung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I was in dunnes stores in donaghmede searching for a space in their car park, driving behind a lady who was doing the same. I could see that she wasn't looking where she was going, and was looking out her passenger side window. Another lady began reversing out in front of no-looking-lady, and she also wasn't looking where she was going ( i could see she TOO was looking out her left passenger window) I beeped furiously to get either of them to look where they were going, alas my efforts were futile.
    So they drove into each other at about 10 kph, while I nearly knocked myself out from the facepalm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Had a similar experience in a garage forecourt last year. Left my mk3 golf with a scratch in the front bumper (the smallest of half a dozen minor bumps and scrapes on the car - ie. absolutely no effect on it's value). Made a fair mess of her yaris' back bumper though.
    On the other hand, if the young lady who reversed into me had had this attitude, I absolutely would have been having a word with her insurers. Karma needs agents ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭newtoboards

Watched my sister turning right into our house last year. I was out chatting to our neighbour beside the entrance. Her front tyres were just touching the driveway when some woman who was probably on the phone came across the road at about 40mph and into the drivers side of the car. My sister stopped her car and had to climb out the passenger side. Then crazy lady got out of her car phone in hand and blamed my sister for indicating right and turning right. Poor sister hurt hr shoulder and couldn't drive for a month till she could use her arm to change gears again. Crazy made a complaint against my sister and put a claim in against her through insurance when they had agreed on the day she would repair the damage and nothing else would be said

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Was at a traffic lights behind a Garda car on a slight incline. The guy in front of them was rolling back in a jerky fashion. The guard sounds the horn, no response still creeping. He hits the blue lights and short blip on the siren. No response. Lights change and he reverses into the cop car. He gets out and got shirty with them. The cops were trying to keep a straight face. :D

Another guy I knew had loads of driving lessons but as a driver he wasn't really suited to the pursuit. Fails his first test. On his second test he does marginally OK, then as he's driving back into the test centre he hits the gate and drags it down the length of the passenger side. :pac:

Saw a woman drive off from a garage with the petrol hose attached. Though to be fair, once I drove from Dublin to Cork and when I arrived at the hotel what do I find only my petrol tank filler cap resting in a corner of the spoiler. Loose as you like. :eek:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Watched my sister turning right into our house last year. I was out chatting to our neighbour beside the entrance. Her front tyres were just touching the driveway when some woman who was probably on the phone came across the road at about 40mph and into the drivers side of the car. My sister stopped her car and had to climb out the passenger side. Then crazy lady got out of her car phone in hand and blamed my sister for indicating right and turning right. Poor sister hurt hr shoulder and couldn't drive for a month till she could use her arm to change gears again. Crazy made a complaint against my sister and put a claim in against her through insurance when they had agreed on the day she would repair the damage and nothing else would be said

This story confuses me.

Your sister was turning right to go into your house. Meaning she was crossing the other lane. Where was the "crazy" lady coming from to crash into her driver's door? (Assuming your sister's car is right-hand-drive.) The only way I can see this is if she was coming from the same direction as your sister but in the wrong lane ... :confused:

Also. You say this "crazy" lady was "probably" on the phone, I don't really see how this is all that relevant and it's not really fair to just assume it anyways!

And finally, just because your sister indicated right, it does not give her the right to make the maneuvere if it was dangerous, i.e. if it was putting her into the path of an oncoming vehicle? It's really confusing what actually happened here!

Oh and also. A car hit her driver's door at 40 mph? Your sister is a very lucky lady to walk away from that one. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭newtoboards

Sorry the car that hit her did cross over the centre line and into her car. She was heading in the same direction as her. It was minor and the phone comment is because she must have had her attention diverted to veer so badly and was out of the car with her phone in hand. The woman didn't break or change speed just smack and she thought it was my sisters fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

1. Got a call from my younger sister in a panic about 2 years ago to say that she and her friend (friends car, learning to drive) who were practicing driving around a local industrial estate had gotten the car "stuck".

I arrived up a few minutes later, only to met with a sight of a silver Megane coupe abandoned half way up 15ft grassy incline on the side of a car park; the car was at about a 40 degree sideways slant! They said the wheels just kept spinning so they got out. I jumped in the car and let the handbrake off gingerly and the car rolled backwards and sideways, ejitts..

2. Me in my red Polo 2 days before my driving test, reversing in the driveway to give it a good clean. I saw a wheely bin in my left wing mirror, knew the bin was empty and thought "sure the mirror will push it out of the way". I guess VWs aren't as strong as I thought, took the mirror clean off.

3. Had another one and can't remember...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

My first few weeks of driving and first few weeks of a new job after finishing college. Was working an early saturday and bravery got the better of me and I hopped into the car and decided to drive the 35 minute walk to work.
    Things were going good. No right turns needed and I even managed to find the elusive 5th gear. Got into the near empty car park delighted with myself, grabbed a ciggie, lit up, took my foot off the clutch and shot the car forward as it was still in gear.
    Out up over the kerb she went and on the other side of the kerb? A good 2 metre fall to a ditch. Fortunately the car didn't up and over completely but I was left with my two front wheels hanging free and my car balanced on the rear wheels and under carriage. Small crowd gathered laughing at my wheels spinning in the air as I was trying to reverse it and had no idea why it wasn't working.
    Fcukin muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Cunning Alias

During the snow last year I was driving through foxrock. Everyone was crawling along as you would expect. There was an X5 coming the other way on the road.

Out of nowhere a Cayane comes flying out of a road on the left, with the wheels locked left trying to turn. Slides across my lane and into the X5.

Driver didn't seem to realize that 4wd cars accelerate better in snow but stop as badly as everything else. Everyone involved was fine but there was a fair amount of damage to the front of the cayane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

My wife was parked one day when an oul boy went to park in the next space and suceeded in wrecked her wing and bumper on the way in. In his opinion it was HER fault as she was parked facing the wrong way.

She did the decent thing and got it patched up instead of claiming on his Insurance and when she took the bill round, he told her " I knew your father and HE was a decent man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

i've had a few, but my most embarassing one was when i wasn't driving that long, and had my lovely new to me car
    anyhow was getting petrol and ran into the shop to pay, came out and just as I was about to go the phone rang, it was someone coming to the house so was giving them directions and proceeded to reverse out whilst still on phone, only to hear bang, looked and said ah that'll be fine I'd hit the barrier around the carwash.

on close inspection after a 5mph collision I'd done almost 3k worth of damage to my car... stupid and embarassing but lesson learned

had a few minors since, hit a car last year in the snow and ice, couldnt stop and went straight into a womans car. it was her or the pedestrians so the car was a better option, and she just said I don't care I just want to get home. nice of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I was driving in a long line of cars on a very frosty morning, the odd spot of ice on the road so everybody was taking it handy. Anyway from the back comes a young fella in a skangermobile, wing off a 747 on the back, exhaust you could crawl into, go faster stripes up over the bonnet, flames painted on the side, the lot.

He was overtaking every chance he could and people were letting him do it, he was obviously an accident waiting to happen and I know I didnt want him to be near me when he ballsed up.

Anyway when he was about 3 cars ahead of me he saw his chance and floored it, hit some ice on the other side of the road, scraped along a very nice stone wall, left his mirror, his rear bumper and glass etc on it but he was still going forward (sliding) at a fair clip and a pillar was coming up. He got some grip and made it back accross the road. Striaght back into the position in the line of cars he just left.

Karma is a bitch.

this happened to me.

A woman or many women? :rolleyes:
    wibbs wrote:
    Though to be fair, once I drove from Dublin to Cork and when I arrived at the hotel what do I find only my petrol tank filler cap resting in a corner of the spoiler. Loose as you like
    I'm always paranoid I haven't closed the "door" on the petrol thing properly when I'm driving along after filling it up :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Saw a "person" (heh) reversing out of a parking space. But it was one of those ones at the end of the row and theres an island beside it. Said person turns as they reversed but the front wheel caught the kerb. Not really a biggie until i seen the mudflap pinched between the tyre and the kerb. Driver gives it a bit of welly and up goes the car. But the wing crumpled and ripped out a few of its mounting bolts!
    I have to say; that was one well screwed on mudflap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭towger

Calamity Jane !!

Deansgrange Cross, a lady is the second of two cars waiting to turn right. She is positioned far up into the junction. They have a green, but there is no filter light. Eventually as orange turns red the first car finally gets to turn. The lady in car number 2 hesitates and then it's too late.
    Traffic coming the other way now have green and the first car crossing clips the lady's car knocking off a bit of bumper etc, but proceeds a few yards and pulls in safely. Lady decides to reverse at speed to get back out of the junction. Should have checked her mirror ...... reversed slam bang into a GARDA car !!!!
    I normally don't wait and stare ..... but this time couldn't resist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

shedweller wrote: »
    I have to say; that was one well screwed on mudflap.

And they say they don't make them like they use to... :pac:

I was 17, and the first in our family to ever get a car(we were impoverished feckers) and when I was manouevering my "new"(ancient) Polo into our driveway, with a crowd of my family and half the neighbours watching, I managed to stuff it up totally, cut the turn too tight and demolished the neighbours gate pillar with the drivers door. OOOH what a lovely car youve got turned into the greatest cracking up session ever seen and I didnt venture out in the bleedin cursed yoke unless under the cover of darkness. I have never crashed at speed, but have since reversed almost every type of wheeled vehicle into almost every type of immovable object possible. Im pretty decent going forwards, but I'm unbelievably crap at going backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Last week in Limerick in the car park in front of Subway in Groody a Corolla was reversing out of a space. Almera parked in a parking space directly behind the Corolla but no other cars nearby so the girl driving the Corolla had heaps of space to manoveur. But no she comes back out of the space like a rocket and straight into the Almera :rolleyes: The girl driving the Corolla didnt even get out of the car to check for any damage just drove forward into the space again and sat there!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Drove into an automatic car wash once, but the car wasn't straight enough and the machine just hit the side of the car, doing a fair bit of damaged. Petrol attendant said he has only ever seen women do that, and not men!

Reversed over a parking cone once, the small floppy ones. Didn't think it would do any damage and it would just be pushed away from the car - it left a dent!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Im pretty decent going forwards, but I'm unbelievably crap at going backwards.
    I had the opposite problem when I first started driving. Forwards I was a bit poor at first. Reverse I could fly around. My first driving instructor even suggested I apply for a special dispensation from the minister for transport so I could go everywhere in reverse. Safer for everyone. :D

Many moons ago a mate of mine had a ford Capri as his first car. One night he was driving home and was waiting at a crossroads and this drunk woman in a starlet crossed the line and ran straight into him head on at about 30mph. He thought "right so Im toast". Nope. Her car was totaled. I mean from the bulkhead forward it was unrecognisable. Him? After the guards had come, taken statements and called for a tow truck to scrape her car off the road, he hopped back in and drove home. All he needed a headlight, radiator grill and a bumper. :D

Another time I was having a meal in a restaurant and watched a guy change a puncture. Dunno why it caught my eye, but I kept looking up. So he gets the flat wheel off and back in the boot. Puts on the spare and drops the jack. All grand. Then he drives off and barely gets 100 feet down the road when the wheel falls off. He forgot to put the wheelnuts on. He actually scratched his head and walked back and collected them from the ground. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Outside my office I've seen a few, once a truck in the "over taking lane" on the quays crashed head on, into one of the trees that are dotted along by the liffey wall, nobody else involved. He was driving along and then BANG, absolutely impossible to do....the only other person i saw was a really hot looking girl walking up the quays on the path at the river....maybe the driver had a little 360 degree look at her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭kqcregg

I was heading home via country roads a few years back. Met a Truck that had stopped talking to a guy in a battered 4x4 in front of me. After a few secs the 4x4 boots off so off I head. A few hundred yards up is a crossroads which he proceeds to drive out into a few yards and brakes so I think hold back a bit here. Turns out he saw a truck coming (that had the right of way) and immediately slaps it in reverse! Even though I had held well back he proceeds to ignore my horn and rearrange the front of my Punto:mad:. This old boy forgot I was behind him at the truck, not looked in he mirror, etc, but he stll tried to blame me:eek: until we walked to the front of his 4x4 which was a good 10' back from the junction! I let him fix it rather than claim. All he had was a scratch on his tow bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Great thread!

I've never done anything silly in the car - subscribed to this thread so I could read all your stories! :D:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

We've always had Jap cars for our family car and reverse was always bottom right.
    During a service we got some Ford car, forget the model.
    We could see reverse was top left, tried and tried to select reverse, pushing as hard as we could and couldn't get it. Not my dad, mam, me or other brothers and sisters.
    Rang the local station and the seargeatn explained you have to life the gearstick knob to get reverse. Well it wasn't clear to me.
    I wonder if that was wasting garda time :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It's a good thing this thread isn't about motorcycles or scooters
    On my very first commute to work on my scooter I fell off twice and hit a pole in our underground car park.
    I needed more practice before hitting the roads, I was a danger to others and myself

We move our cattle many times on the road, real rural area.
    So I'd have to somehow overtake a herd without using the horn to spook them and race up to block the nearest gap. You have to shout and slap the drivers door doing it, well that's how I did it

Those Charlaios cattle can be loopers, pure aggressive at times. Maybe it was the sun reflecting off the car but one charged and heat butted it, leaving a nasty dent. First I was shocked :eek:, they I laughed :D and then I cried :( with the thought of repairing it and the expense. Nasty, nasty, dent and it wasn't cheap to repair.

Yep, and wasn't paying attention one day on a rural road and the car feel into a drain by the ditch.
    Local farmer pulled the car out with the tractor.
    He said "I wasn't the first and won't be the last". Slipped him a few quid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Not my proudest moment.

I was driving to work and came upon a lorry which was parked causing a tailback, pretty much blocking the road both ways. hard to get passed the fat arse eating his lunch who just seemed not to care.Anyway as I squeezed passed I blew the horn as I was pissed off with being late for work now.

Not a major incident.

However a few minutes later I was reversing into a car space near the road when the lorry passed me and blew its horn. I took a hand off the wheel and gave him the finger and called him a c**t. Without looking I continued reversing and then promptly reversed into the wing of a 307. Cost me €400 for being impatient and I unwittingly gave the lorry driver his laugh of the day :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

i accidently drove down a narrow street which turned out to be a dead end,it was too narrow to do a u turn,so i reversed back and failed to notice a lamppost which had gotten in my way so the lamppost crashed into me,i was totally innocent tho,it was the lampposts fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Driving home from work one evening, up a hill into the setting sun, so vision was impaired. I could see some men working on the left, a good way up the hill, and a row of cones thrown up onto the ditch. I continued on towards them, ready to pull out to avoid them as I got closer, not moving very fast because of the conditions.

Suddenly I had two wheels in the long narrow trench they had dug up the hill, which wasn't signalled in any way, and just looked like darker tarmac with the sun and shadows.

The guys came towards me, one of them scuttling around. He was saying to me, 'you should have seen the cones, you weren't looking'. 'There weren't any cones' I said, getting out of the car. 'Yes there were' sez he, and took me round to see one cone tucked up against my back bumper and one at the front.... I got my claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jackbauer

A good 4 or 5 years ago i was waiting outside the local tesco with the shopping. Noticed an old boy doing circles of the car park in a brand new car (forget make). Anyway he stops , selects reverse and starts to back into a parking spot. Only problem there was a car in the spot. Our hero makes bumper to bumper contact , pours on the power and shoves the parked car into the next space. Stops , gets out , looked at the damage and went to do the shopping.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

This happened in Dunnes in Charlivelle..

attachment.php?attachmentid=2528&d=1199466601

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

Now there's one for the obnoxious parking thread! :p

Savage picture! Oh, the shame..

Another finest moment for me was when I bought a 91 golf diesel from a guy who lived in the city center up behind the top of o Connell street. I pulled away in my gleaming green chariot, and headed down to the lights outside Clearys- nice private spot, hardly anybody looking(ahem) Not realising how close together 1st and reverse were, I stuck it into gear waiting for the lights to change, and because the engine was cold(and seemed fairly anaemic), I was giving it loads of revs, lights changed, and I upped the revs more and let out the clutch - and shot backwards at warp speed. The steering wheel re-arranged my nose, but not nearly as much as the headrest did to my neck when I "came to rest" against the mazda 323 in the queue behind. And only about 500 people watching. The lad in the mazda was very nice, and so was the bill for his new bumper, headlights and bonnet. Shagging golf was unmarked, and from then on, I never did know if that car was in first or reverse - ever time I took my foot off the clutch from a standstill, it was like russian roulette. After a few months, my nerves were shot, so I sold it. Gearbox was like a box of chocolates. You never knew what you were going to get..

laughed a lot at some of these, so heres one from the archive - went with my mate, we were both about 10 at the time, to one of the new automatic car washes with his dad driving his shiny new renault 21. Us kids were in the back, and it was high summer, so we had the windows ajar, so when the car wash started up and began to approach, his da turned round and roared at us to "wind up the effin windows, ya pair of eejits". So we did.
    All good, except his drivers door window was wound fully down, and when the brushes arrived, so did the worlds supply of suds, water and nylon brush. We were too scared to laugh then, but cracked our holes afterwards. It still makes me laugh, cos he was a grumpy old cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Was in the latter stages of learnign to drive in my dads old ( at the time ) 320 bmw, in the rain on beach roads with crappy enough weather conditions.

took a wide enough turn right in 3rd feelin like colin mac rae ( you know the wild light weight RWD drivin when you young )...

traveled roughly 100 meters into a tighter left

found 4th, kicked the clutch down to 2nd, rev'd, missed third, back into 2nd, span into a bush and cooked the engine.

no seriousdamage done bar heeps of leafs everywhere
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Was shaving one morning as the wife was ready to go to work. Heard a loud bang went outside to see our nearly new VW Passat mangled against my Toyota pick up (complete with big towbar) . I had parked it in a different place and yeah it was all my fault again !! Had to repair the VW and it cost a lot but not a scratch on the towbar of the Toyota :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

I came out of work one evening and hopped into my car. I noticed a girl getting into her car that was parked in front of me. We were parked nose to nose, but in-between there was a concrete footpath about 2 feet wide and 6" high.
    So started up and reversed out of the space. Put in first to drive off but had a look at the space I had just come out of. The girl had ended up mounting the footpath and her front wheels were where I had just pulled out of. Problem was that the rear wheels were still on the other side of the footpath.

I looked and for some reason just drove off. I would normally be someone who would stop and help but I think It just didn't register what exactly had happened. The Car had probably bottomed out on the footpath and been well stuck.