Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nissan Almera 98 Reliablilty.

• 17-09-2010 9:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭

Had a 98 Almera that has been passed on to er indoors. She just likes a car to be reliable and get her from a to b . This car has certainly done that and has clocked up only 60,000 trouble free miles. The car has been trouble free and has had an annual service which consists of a change of oil and filter. What amazes is me is that the car still has the original battery and it is now 12 years old. Is this a record ? The car was never garaged and was never failed to start all last year during the record cold conditions. Usually the car is started at 8am in the morning . Would have to be the most reliable car that I have had in my household. Strangely I don't like driving the car because like most Jap cars ,i find the seat very low to the ground.:D:D
    Car recently flew through the nct and I have advised herself to hold on to it as she will probably never get another as reliable :D:D(bit like myself really lol)

Yeah, they go forever if maintained any way regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

shawnee wrote: »
    Car recently flew through the nct and I have advised herself to hold on to it as she will probably never get another as reliable
    It should be a grand yoke to potter around in, very little in it to go wrong. I know someone who had one of these, but traded up to one of the newer ones for silly money, can't see why - there was nothing wrong with her 98 one, and tis not like the newer ones were more desirable?? I had Sunny back along, it didn't use a drop of oil or water between services, ran very quiet and smooth considering it's age and the 155k miles on it.

It will be rust that eventually kills it. If you're planning to keep it until it mechanically dies I'd waxoyl inside all the box sections/doors etc. and make sure all the emerging rust underneath is treated before it has a chance of developing into something terminal.

Acquaintance of mine has a -96 of those and the sills are now getting perforated from inside out. A treatment of yours now before winter sets in would probably give it extra 10 years of life.