Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A big thanks to AGS

• 17-09-2010 9:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭

First off, I would like to say a great big thanks to all the boys and girls in blue out there. It must be one hell of a dose to wake up everyday knowing that due to the recession manpower and resources are stretched!

The behaviour of the Gardaí last night in Cork City was absolutely impeccable! Ye maintained excellent crowd supervision, kicked ass on the traffic side of things, and really paid attention when someone was talking to ye!

I ended up to talking to the Gardaí last night, once through 112 and the other on the street. On neither occasion did the female Gardaí I spoke with get cranky, narky, or any of that crap you hear people complaining about constantly. At the end of the day, respect is a 2 way street lads.

To the lads that operated the checkpoint between Washington St., Shear St., James St., and Courthouse St., kudos to you too. Excellent selection of location, and ye kept a lot of loud exhausts from going up James St., which I'm sure the residents will be happy about (I know my friend was).
    The 3 AGS members were polite, efficient and had a bit of banter while checking the tax and stuff.

And without fail I have to mention the major traffic stop that occured on Washington St. I do not know the circumstances of it, so I'm going by common logic when I say I reckon the 2 cars pulled were racing. Well done to both the undercover in the mondeo for pulling across in front of them, and to the Traffic Corps vehicle that provided assistance. "Book 'em, Dano." Too much of that shíte going on already without the need for more deaths.

On a final note, I can't finish this and not thank the Fire Service and the Paramedics who save lives, your services are just as invaluable!

Apologies to anyone annoyed by this long post, but I felt it was due.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Rialtas

To the lads that operated the checkpoint between Washington St., Shear St., James St., and Courthouse St., kudos to you too. Excellent selection of location, and ye kept a lot of loud exhausts from going up James St., which I'm sure the residents will be happy about (I know my friend was).
    The 3 AGS members were polite, efficient and had a bit of banter while checking the tax and stuff.

The constant stream of muppets doing the loop of the city centre has been a big problem for city centre residents for a while now. They're constantly roaring abuse at pedestrians, amongst other things. Great to see it being tackled in such a comprehensive way.

I've noticed that the Traffic Corps in the City are very proactive. Was watching one member on a motorcycle last week. He was literally pulling up everyone who was illegally parked or otherwise remiss. Saw him again an hour later and he was jumping off doing what seemed to be a random checkpoint. That one guy was having a serious impact in the city centre and had a noticeable presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Rialtas wrote: »
    I've noticed that the Traffic Corps in the City are very proactive. Was watching one member on a motorcycle last week. He was literally pulling up everyone who was illegally parked or otherwise remiss. Saw him again an hour later and he was jumping off doing what seemed to be a random checkpoint. That one guy was having a serious impact in the city centre and had a noticeable presence.

I know.....im great sure.....pity management dont see it!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

On neither occasion did the female Gardaí I spoke with get cranky, narky, or any of that crap you hear people complaining about constantly.
    And this is noteworthy, why exactly?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

sorry deadwood I'd been up for 28 hours when I wrote this post, and in retrospect I didn't explain properly what I meant. I wasn't taking a stab at beangardaí just to let you know. I meant it in the sense that some people (minority of a minority) complain Gardaí in general are cranky when we all know this is not the case! And in my tired stupor, I thought it relevant to mention!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Do you write a letter to thank everyone who does their job?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Mod note: Warning issued for provocative and uncalled-for comment. No further responses to this please.

Back on topic please and thanks.
    Do you write a letter to thank everyone who does their job?

deadwood wrote: »
    And this is noteworthy, why exactly?:D

I think it is. People love to mention when they get a Garda on a bad day. No harm in saying when they're nice, too. :)