Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the ould fella

• 16-09-2010 11:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

my father wrecked my f#cking head tonight, we were out lamping foxes, and he had to second guess and do the exact opposite of what i wanted, no matter what i said. in fact he distracted me so much that i missed the only fox that had a safe backstop behind it. he did this by refusing to walk forward 5 yards to where i coul lie down and get a better shot .
    the conversation went something like this:
    father "theres a fox"
    me " i cant see him prone from here, move in"
    father "no, fire off me shoulder"
    (put rifle on shoulder) me " you're not steady, move in"
    father "no, just shoot the f#ckin fox will ya"
    me " alright so ya thick c#nt"
    bang
    father " how the f#ck did ya miss him"
    me " i f#ckin told ya you were'nt steady enough"
    father " bullsh#t"
    and so went on a half an hour argument, at the end of which i was fit to strangle him.
    lesson learned tonight, if i'm not happy with a shot i'm not takin it and feck the ould fella givin out.
    sorry about the rant lads, i just had to get that off my chest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Fathers should be banned AI all the way lol

My grandfather was big into shooting, so to i

my Dad had a passing Interest

i clean his guns, hw could not be arsed

he sees them like hammers or screwdrivers; just tools

I see them as things of beauty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Cherish the moment mate...
    you`ll remember that night when you go shooting with your kids in years to come..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Sounds very familar to myself and himself at times.:D Do many lads use the shoulder approach still I wonder. Was out lamping numerous times in Northern Ireland and I never seen them use a bipod either. Always the shoulder or bonnet of jeep. I tried it a couple times but as you said it's not steady enough unless the man your shooting off is motionless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

kay 9 wrote: »
    Sounds very familar to myself and himself at times.:D Do many lads use the shoulder approach still I wonder. Was out lamping numerous times in Northern Ireland and I never seen them use a bipod either. Always the shoulder or bonnet of jeep. I tried it a couple times but as you said it's not steady enough unless the man your shooting off is motionless.

i used the shoulder a good bit when i had the hmr, but that was a much lighter gun. combination of a heavier gun, lighter trigger, and an accelerated heart rate (first fox under the lamp this year) didn't help too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

The only way to learn ould fellas is by actions. Recently bought a quad sprayer, except we've no quad - yet. Got F'd out of it for wasting money :rolleyes:

Grand so, got it up and running, in a wheelbarrow no less :D

Cheap lengths of garden hose in Lidl, some connections. Spray now 60 yards from the barrow, not a problem.

Apparently now it's a great yoke :D

Walk and they shall follow... well, sometimes anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

sounds very similar to my father, i dont like resting on peoples shoulders as its never steady enough or at the right height and you end up having to bend your knees or stand on your toes which doesnt help accuracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

pure classic reminds me of shooting with my dad
    shooting off the shoulder is a no no though
    i did it when i first started lamping and it leads to missing shots that shouldnt be missed and it doesnt improve your shooting

you put the miss down to the fact its off someones shoulder not the fact that ya might have pulled the shot
    id invest in a pair of shooting sticks there cheap enough on ebay

or get to adjustable walking sticks in lidl an tie them together with strong shoe laces