Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

need help from fellow pronators

• 16-09-2010 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

hi all
    does anyone run with pronating ankles? i am due to run this saturday in the half in the phoenix park but i had to pull up last sat morning after about 8 miles with a pain in my ankle (the second ankle to go)
    i have just started wearing orthodics about a month ago after after been diagnosed with plantar fasciitis.
    i have only been running a couple of years after giving up playing sunday morning football, got fed up with the young fellas flying past me.
    so basically i like running and finnished the 5 and the 10 miler in a decent enough time but now both my ankles hurt for the first few miles and i want to know is there anyone running with this problem ?
    or should i listen to my body and stick to walks with the dog.
    any help would be greatful.
    cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

What running shoes do you wear?
    Have you had a gait analysis at a specialised running shop?

If you are an over pronator, you need a pair of support/motion control shoes. I think most runners have pronating ankles to some degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭liam1204

menoscemo wrote: »
    What running shoes do you wear?
    Have you had a gait analysis at a specialised running shop?

If you are an over pronator, you need a pair of support/motion control shoes. I think most runners have pronating ankles to some degree.

ye menoscemo, went and got the gait analysis thing done and got full ankle support for the ankles but then i went to a chiropodist and got fitted out with the orthodics which has thrown me a bit as she suggests i insert my orthodics into a neutral pair of running shoe but i'd imagin it would take a while to get used to this.
    i think i'll pop some nurophen plus and got on with it. what do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

liam1204 wrote: »
    ye menoscemo, went and got the gait analysis thing done and got full ankle support for the ankles but then i went to a chiropodist and got fitted out with the orthodics which has thrown me a bit as she suggests i insert my orthodics into a neutral pair of running shoe but i'd imagin it would take a while to get used to this.

Well I'm not gonna advise you whether or not to run the race as I'm no medical expert and I don't know.
    Most people on here reckon Orhtotics are a bit of a scam (in most cases).
    Over pronators generally just wear a pair of stability shoes and would not need an ankle support as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I'm an (extreme) over pronator and after lots of problems I bit the bullet and got the orthotics. It took a long time to get used to them but I've had very few issues since. In fact hip issues that I have had for years, long before starting running were gone within a few weeks.

No medical advice etc.. maybe see a physio before deciding on running this weekend but in the long term don't discount the idea of orthotics altogether if you have recurring problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭farmerval

I've been wearing orthotics for six months or so, with very good results, but I thought the whole point is that you must wear them in Nuetral shoes. If not you're surely throwing off line what you're wearing to get you on line.
    Also are you wearing the orthotics all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭T-Square

go to Amphibian King, bray, Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

T-Square wrote: »
    go to Amphibian King, bray, Dublin.
    Has bray moved to dublin now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I think its application is still being processed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

farmerval wrote: »
    I've been wearing orthotics for six months or so, with very good results, but I thought the whole point is that you must wear them in Nuetral shoes. If not you're surely throwing off line what you're wearing to get you on line.
    Some people pronate so badly that they need to put orthotics into a stability or motion control shoe to control their pronation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I'd suggest a trip to the physio and one who doesn't sell orthotics himself/herself. I know someone who does physio and they said I need orthotics with how my arches are and how my feet sort of land when I walk and stuff. I was considering getting them but they were going to be custom made and would have cost €250 eur. To be honest I was also slightly sceptical as to whether I needed them.

A while later I sort of overdone it with the walking and jogging and picked up a bit of a knee injury. I went to a different physio who came highly recommended and I asked him about whether I need orthotics. He checked me out and said I might possibly need them but not for the time being. He was also quite scathing about some of the orthotics out there, even the custom ones and their quality. He went into quite a bit of detail about while they are custom made, they don't take this or that into account when they're being made so how can they be good. I was a bit lost on the technical stuff :o

Anyway he said he usually recommends people just buy the off the shelf ones if they need them.

I liked this guy's opinion and I trusted him as I knew he didn't make or supply orthotics so if he said I needed them, I would know he wasn't going to pocket any money out of me getting them.

So yeah, perhaps a trip to a neutral physio and see what they say. If you can get someone who knows more about running and athletics, then all the better.

I'm an over pronator myself. I went to Amphibian King in Bray to get a decent pair as I'd never known about gait analysis and the like. Yer man who I was talking to said over pronation was very common and I think he said about 70% of people do it. Anyway he did the gait analysis and gave me 3 different pairs of runners to try on which support and try to correct the over pronation. I ended up with the Asics GT2150 runners and they seem to be good. At least from my limited knowledge and experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Fi H

Go back to where the orthotics came from. I had the identical problem. I have had mine fore about 2 months now for planciar faciatis too (sorry about spelling) and while i saw a huge improvement with lower back pain etc when i wore them for running i started to get excruciating pain from ankles radiating up leg. Went back to the orthotic guy and he explained that they leave a small gap at front of the orthotic to allow it to behave like a shock absorber kind of like as if there was 1/2 cm between end of orthotic and bed of shoe. However in some peoples case this is unnecessary and it causes the tendons to fire or something along these lines. Anyway he adjusted the orthotics and said to test for another 4 weeks. He was also able to identify the problem straight away. That was 2 weeks ago and its definitely a lot improved. Sounds like you are having the exact same problem :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Fi H

ps you absolutely have to put them into neutral shoes though otherwise you are causing other problems. also my ortho guy showed me how to tie shoes in really supportive way to ankles! maybe ask your person for some info on this too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

hi all
    does anyone run with pronating ankles? i am due to run this saturday in the half in the phoenix park but i had to pull up last sat morning after about 8 miles with a pain in my ankle (the second ankle to go)
    i have just started wearing orthodics about a month ago after after been diagnosed with plantar fasciitis.
    i have only been running a couple of years after giving up playing sunday morning football, got fed up with the young fellas flying past me.
    so basically i like running and finnished the 5 and the 10 miler in a decent enough time but now both my ankles hurt for the first few miles and i want to know is there anyone running with this problem ?
    or should i listen to my body and stick to walks with the dog.
    any help would be greatful.
    cheers.
    You got weak feet and muscles.
    Go barefoot once a week and get your feet strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭Jnealon

I too am a pronator and I have two pairs of orthotics but have not worn them for the past year or so. I honestly think they created a whole new set of problems for me.
    Around a year ago I changed my running style from heel striker to somewhere between the pose and chi-running method and so far so good. I also started doing some core work as well
    I've also switched from the Kayanos to neutral Nimbus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

I don't think its wise to take any strong pain killing tablets while running. There is a reason for the pain and masking it could result in more serious damage. You may have to try a few different things to sort your problems - as you can see from the replies above, different folks, different strokes. Its down to trial and error as to what suits you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Has bray moved to dublin now?

Some of it is actually in Dublin ;) - but not AK, that's firmly in the Garden County.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 ezrida

Hi
    I am training with plantar fasciitis, but I am doing it carefully, consulting my doc.
    I am also running and I am dealing with plantar fasciitis for more than a year now. There are many things you can do to treat your PF although I understood that treatment efficiency is very individual.
    At the beginning I took a complete rest and gradually started walking and running. I also started swimming and riding a bicycle.
    Did you try Taping? I have found it very useful.
    I also found a very informative website in: http://www.plantar-fasciitis-elrofeet.com
    Take care & Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭liam1204

cheers everyone for all the advice, much appreciated.

"different strokes" seems to be the theme running through the tread.
    i ran the half today without any major issues. i was worried as i had to pull up last sat in the middle of a training schedule with a pain in my left ankle.
    today was the longest race i've ran and was thrilled to break the hour mark doing it in 01:47:07,
    i was fairly comfortable like i have been in the other 2 races in this series. maybe its the great buzz thats around the pheno on these race days. i did take a pain killer and i take on board the advice about masking the pain.

i bought the orthodics (pricey) about a month ago from veronic daniels (who is a very good chiropidist but definitely not a fan of running) in wicklow street, dublin 2 and already starting to feel the benefit. i know that i need to switch to a neutral trainer but i said i 'd leave it til after this race. so i will head to amphibian king in bray next pay day.
    before i got my orthodics i did try the off the shelve version and they were a disaster.
    i think i will also take the advice about going to a good phsyio (who likes running) and see what he or she thinks. if anyone could suggest one could the pm me please.

thanks again folks. great forum.

oh ye, whats the story about the bare feet thing? is that walking around the gaff bare feet or running on a beach or in field.
    sounds interesting.