Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Communal changing rooms in shops

• 16-09-2010 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭

Do you remember until about 10 years ago most shops had open communal fitting rooms, So if you wanted to try something on you would have to strip off in front of a room full of strangers, and of course somebody you knew could have come in,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Denzil2222 wrote: »
    Do you remember until about 10 years ago most shops had open communal fitting rooms, So if you wanted to try something on you would have to strip off in front of a room full of strangers, and of course somebody you knew could have come in,

No they didn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, I do remember that far back, and no, there was no communal rooms, next question...

...At least my town, can't speak for the culchie places. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Yeah pennys in artane had one and no name in town they dont seem to do that anymore

It's good to talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Giggidy giggidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

A few shops did. Hated them. But i never try stuff on anyway so very rarely used them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Do you remember until about 10 years ago when the sky was made of marshmallows & everyone had chocolate flavoured hair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Ya there was Pennys in Tralee one time that had that. Weird really. Thank god for seperate cubical changing rooms there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

I remember them from about 15+ years ago but not from 10 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

i prefer the separated ones yet you can still see into the womens changing room.

Masturbating in communal changing rooms tends to offend the ladies and they leave complete with looks of disgust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Jesus, how were those allowed?!

And especially in Penneys, would not have liked to be looking at some of the shoppers in there in the nip. :S

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

He's right, they did! It was probably more than 10 years though since I've seen one.

I remember when I was a smallie, going into Dunnes Stores to get my school pants every August with my Mam and you'd have to go into one big area where all the guys changed. Hated it!

It wasn't unisex, there was one for guys and one for girls but yeah it was just one room.

The have individual stalls now but a lot of them are unisex, that freaks me a bit going into a fitting room when its all girls queuing up, feel a bit weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 starship

i think it was a strange penneys thing. the one in galway had that kinda fitting room, but never seen it in any other shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Denmark have communal toilets.

Denmark. A nation full of win

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

snyper wrote: »

Meh, the Swedish ones are far better. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Not very enticing having communal toliets. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

:eek: Not peeing in toilets in Denmark then! What if you had to pee with a junkie shooting up beside you? I don't like communal changing rooms! I don't feel comfortable with strangers looking at me in my smalls! I think the Pennys near home has that still! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

the only one I can think of was Army Bargains, they had a medium-sized mirror that you kinda hid behind..then again there wasn't a whole lotta ladies in there back in the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

As far as I know, the Penneys in Sligo still has communal female fitting rooms!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I wonder does Pennys in Market Cross in Kilkenny still have that.... Did last time I was there anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The odd place had them, not most places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭chirogirl

Yeah I remember them, hated using them. Miss Selfridge used to have them also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Can't say I can remember communal changing rooms but I can remember large changing rooms for same sex people.

It was gas really. Big women would throw slim women a dirty look. Slim women would throw skinny women a dirty look. It was a small wonder fights didn't break out in there at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Geansai Rua

There used to be one in Magic in the square...
    And no name..
    Suppose its tallaght though;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You're confusing them with locker rooms.

Perfectly understandable considering the changing of clothes part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

I wonder does Pennys in Market Cross in Kilkenny still have that.... Did last time I was there anyway.

Pennys here has just undergone a big refurbishment including adding more cubicles to the changing room. At long bloody last. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

No but I remember my mother making try on trousers in the middle of Dunnes, seriously she's getting sh1test care home I can find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

SugarHigh wrote: »
    No but I remember my mother making try on trousers in the middle of Dunnes, seriously she's getting sh1test care home I can find.

Ah I'm sure everyone Mother made them do that..

"Just go behind the clothes rack there. Nobody's watchin ye"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

No Name used to have them, I hated it so it put me off going in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭cc-offe

Oh oh and there's also those changing rooms that don't have a mirror so you have to come out of the changing room after getting dressed to look in the mirror outside while the sales assistant oohs and aahs at ya, hate those.....like if I want your opinion i'll ask for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Dudess wrote: »
    The odd place had them, not most places.

Untrue, I remember going into Guineys for a pair of cavalry twill trews.

I'm stripped down to the jocks when in comes this geezer in a pair of corduroys,and a pair of moleskin trousers over his arm. Stands in the middle of the cube and drops everything,exposing a member which was 'rampant' and erm :there was a tear in the Japs eye.

Sleazy fcuker gave me a leer, bent down to 'pick something up' exposing a flitthered hole like a burst beef tomato. Well riddled with stale jizz.

I was out of there ultra rapido.

Get your facts right poster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

jesus I would never want to try anything on in a shop if I had to do it infront of someone :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

cc-offe wrote: »
    Oh oh and there's also those changing rooms that don't have a mirror so you have to come out of the changing room after getting dressed to look in the mirror outside while the sales assistant oohs and aahs at ya, hate those.....like if I want your opinion i'll ask for it!

ugh i hate that too! This happened me in a shop last week she actually asked me to wait outside the changing room so she could show her fellow assistant the dress i was trying on :eek: i was so shocked the fellow assistant was oohing and aahing at me before i could blink!

the communal ones havent been around since early 90's i thought!

but yes im so glad communal changing rooms are defunct, i like my privacy thank you! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I was in Hungary. Cummunal Saunas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Links234 wrote: »
    jesus I would never want to try anything on in a shop if I had to do it infront of someone :eek:

I wouldn't give a shiit to be honest, let them look and admire or laugh! If I want to buy something I'll try it on first despite who's around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Dublin has too. It's called "The City Centre".

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I went into a shop The Square once to try on a dress. I was about 10 and there was a communal changing room. There was a big fat auld one trying something on, she was just in her bra and knickers.

I got the fright of my life and legged it from the shop in tears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

kfallon wrote: »
    I wouldn't give a shiit to be honest, let them look and admire or laugh! If I want to buy something I'll try it on first despite who's around!

well I don't have that kind of confidence :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

fair play for the topic.
    I was just thinking about this last week and wondering did I dream it or something.

Ireland is probably the prudest non muslim nation on the planet** and I was wondering what my mind was doing to me to be thinking that we had communial womens changing areas.

(** prude as in nobody can see you in your knickers for the shame of it but nooooo problem to hop into bed with a randomer stark naked for a ride after the nightclub.... but that contradiction is probably deserving of another thread in itsself)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭smallgarden

There used to be one in Magic in the square...
    And no name..
    Suppose its tallaght though;)

i remember the magic one alright as it was just a small room with small flimsy curtain at back of the shop which anyone could wander into no bother,at least changing rooms are out of sight now,hate ones that are smack bang in middle of shops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

BluesBerry wrote: »
    Yeah pennys in artane had one and no name in town they dont seem to do that anymore

Penneys in Artane still has one!! but yeah, it's been about 10 years since I've seen one anywhere else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Dublin has too. It's called "The City Centre".

:(

We got ourselves some culchie.

Yes. Us Dubs like to go slashing and dropping dumps in public. Only common courtesy.

P.S I've also heard that Borris In Ossory is an open sewer. Not that I've ever been there or anything.