Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

honda civic ek2 - should i buy?

• 16-09-2010 11:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

hi, i dont know much about about cars but im thinking of buying a 1997 honda civic ek2 (1.3 litre) for 1750. my budget would be 2000. its got 75k miles on the clock and is nct'd until march 2012. is this a good deal or is there anything else i should find out about the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Any sort of documentation to state the mileage is genuine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 uberadams

how would i find this out? the car is from a dealership rather than a private sale though if that matters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Service history would state mileage at each service

so i guess i could find out if the mileage is genuine by asking the dealer to show me the service history? so if the mileage was genuine would it be worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

There a good yoke I wouldnt worry too much if the mileage is geniune most Jap Imports are clocked being a Civic make sure it hasnt been rallied or crash alot of them have seen a ditch at some stage. Also they cost more to Insure then a 1.4. Check that it hasnt had a smack thats it not burning oil stay away from one with questionable mods. I had one and tbh wouldnt buy another. 1750 is waaaaaaaaaay to much to pay for a 13 year old 1.3 Civic no matter how clean it is.

Try get a JDM 1.5 VTi if insurance allows better car and the fuel comsumption would be same if not better the 1.3s are pigs on juice if you cant insure it find a clean late 1.4 should pick on up for 1700 and alot are well spec'd (for a Civic) and have Electric Mirriors,Windows,Sunroof A/C slightly bigger front Brake Disks (same as an SiR) easier to insure and more then likely would be the facelift model

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

If it's a 1.3 then it's a Jap import, as the 1996-2001 Civics over here were 1.4's. The 1.3 engine from the previous one made it's way into the newer shape ones in Japan.
    I'd prefer to find a nice clean Irish 1.4 to be honest, they're very reliable and are nice to drive, way nicer than most other things in that class at that time.

thanks guys, i guess i'll avoid the jap import so and keep searching!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

uberadams wrote: »
    thanks guys, i guess i'll avoid the jap import so and keep searching!

If shes Clean I'd go for it I had one and loved it but dont pay anymore then a grand for it I sold I tidy 98 one there last year for 1000 NCT on it and low mileage (just over 70000 km) but If it was a case of a Jap one and a povety Spec Irish one go Jap A well specced Irish one would be the job tho and the colours on Irish ones are Nicer. Most Civics of that era dont have full history as most are driven but Young lads

I wouldn't worry unduly about a service history to be honest, I paid €4200 for a minty 12 year old Celica in 1997 that was also a Jap import. I've also bought a good few other cars without service history but what I paid for the Celica is what I'd consider a good lash of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

If there are any mods done to it then run a mile. Ive seen a lot of those cars driven by young lads who abuse them beyond words. If you are considering it then get a good mechanic to give it a very thorough going over to make sure everything is in order. That goes for the Irish model as well as no Honda is immune from abuse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

I bought an EK2 for my son last christmas.
    214,000 Kilometers on the clock and the engine/gearbox never misses a beat

Only jobs needed doing was

1) CV Joint front right.

2) Front brake balance was out a bit so Caliper needed to be stripped - cleaned - and put back on.

Sailed through the NCT
    Would I buy another one?
    Certainly yes.