Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What did you do today?

• 15-09-2010 7:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

Just thought I might start a thread to see what people are up to around the country. Anything and nothing :)

I spent a while tidying out my shed, for a small shed it holds some amount of junk :D

Took a walk through the sheep to check on them.

Sharpened the spade and opened up a bit of a drain that's not been done in a while.

Happy enough now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We started emptying a large dungpit... will have another day and a bit to get through it..

Sh1t happens, then you have to spread it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

johngalway wrote: »
    Just thought I might start a thread to see what people are up to around the country. Anything and nothing :)

I spent a while tidying out my shed, for a small shed it holds some amount of junk :D

Took a walk through the sheep to check on them.

Sharpened the spade and opened up a bit of a drain that's not been done in a while.

Happy enough now :)

got up 8am, went to work.

8:50am: logged on to Boards.

9-10.30 did a bit of work for a 12pm meeting.

11.30 back on boards;

12 -2: had meeting

2pm -3.30m had lunch and logged back onto boards

3.31 - 4 ish, did a bit of work.

4ish onwards, pissed about on boards and then went home.

5pm; had the dinner, then counted the cattle

now.... watching Arsenal.

PS. looking forward to Whelan's post as not sure how she manages milking cows, 4 kids, plugging her cousin's pigs whilst spending 10 hours a day on boards............... only joking, don't take offence.:D:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

took 5 cows to the factory am,spent the afternoon trying to register the last few calves online and general paperworkset up electric fence for tomorrow morning

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

:D:D
    up at 6 milked cows/fed calves
    back in house for 8.30 kids to school for 9
    checked cattle , bull broke out:mad: took til 12 ish to get him back
    collect youngest child feed him put him asleep in car so i can do work outside ;) have bord bia inspection tomorrow
    collect other kids from school , did homework , fed them- while on boards
    4pm out to feed calves , them milk and back in house for 6
    cook tea , clean up , keep an eye on boards
    play with kids, check cows , put kids to bed , then back to boards
    finish off paperwork for bord bia thingy , he is also doing my dads herd tomorrow, just wondering is he being paid for 2 visits even though he is doing the 2 of them in my house. on the days when youngest not at playschool i am inside if weather bad , hence on boards if weather good i bring him out with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

spent the whole f'ing day looking for a leak in the water going to the paddocks, done the same the day before and the day before that, manged to check all the cattle while scooting around after the water.
    think the bloody leprechauns have open up a hole in the ground and are nicking it, cause im baffled at the moment as to where the water is going.:confused:
    at least it didnt rain on me, looking forward to the same tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Up @ 6 milked the cows

went to the out farm checked the cattle and gave meal to the calves

had a dodgy runner on the roof of the sheep shed, discussed with son the best approach for replacing
    decided to prop the roof and draw the nails from above ,
    son went to hire firm for scaffolding , i sourced nails and washers and bolts

took some time but eventually managed to insert a new runner with minimal ripping,

visited boards at meal times

post included a bill from the feed merchant, and 2 passes for the ploughing from an anonymous source????

son done the evening milking, I moved the electric fences and took the dogs for a walk while checking the incalf heifers and the sheep

checked 3 cars and jeep oil, coolant and fluid levels.

just had a good wash from head to toe, (no choice really was warned not to go to bed in the state I was in)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Morning, repairs and maintainence to power harrow before sowing starts, (with many breaks on phone trying to organise man to clean and dress seed, and also to swap some varieties with neighbours).

Afternoon, hedge cutting, have to keep ahead of brother who is ploughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭haybob

up at 8 got the young lad off to school and the boss off to work
    Didn't care much for the look of the day but fixed a few walls and got a few stakes and 3 rolls of wire. hearded cattled called into the parent to bring em to the town.

Collected and fed young lad, he has a couple of year and a halfs so we had to look at them

We went out for a bit of dinner as she is off tomorrow the burning question now is who is going to bring the child to school tomorrow (she is buring my ear)

unreal day today!
    up at 6 got cows , was a cow calving in shed 1 foot coming! started milking , handled cow , no way i could push calf back so tried taking 1 leg got calf but dead , fr bull:mad:
    finished milking , brought sister shopping she has ms :( only 37 :(
    had a big row over disabled parking outside school for her and she has a ds with epilepsy he is only 3 , not responding to medication
    sold 3 friesian bull calves for export and 4 blue calves to a neighbour
    collected kids from school fed them and milked cows
    i can not understand how the disabled are treated in this country :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭tommylimerick

yesterday put some bales of hay into barn
    today replaced tines i had broken on hay bob
    greased up sprayer pto and put away for winter
    counted the heifers and fixed a leaking water trough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Yesterday Got my grass seed sown at last.

Today: Delighted to see the rain this morning for the grass seed.
    Went to machiney auction for an hour to see what was in it?
    Came home to find a stary dog running my ewe lambs and forced them to break through a wire fence in with the ewes. Spent the evening separting them and repairing fence.
    Did find owner of dog though and gave him piece of my mind. Infairness he was very appologetic but a bit late after the horse had bolted.!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You were lucky none were killed. Lot of sheep belonging to two farmers killed by stray dogs here not so long ago, both were accounted for :cool:

Video taken Thursday but still working away today, till rain stopped me at about 5, not bad timing;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

nilhg wrote: »
    Video taken Thursday but still working away today, till rain stopped me at about 5, not bad timing;).

Familiar-looking cab! Which Ares is she?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Spent Saturday trying to return some mad mad PB Red Limousin Cows and calves to neighbours after they broke out...
    Mother of god they were mad :eek:
    Left them for a few hours to settle but it just rested them, they would jump through/across anything, barbed wire or mains fence made no difference..

He told me one hadn't been testted in thre years as she won't stay in the crush at all... and there are a few he won't go into a shed with.

Why would you put up with such stock, the calves were nice but not worth the bother... the risk of someone getting hurt is too high

Anything we can't trust gets hung by the heels... its a great cure ;)

Familiar-looking cab! Which Ares is she?

696, hope yours isn't as dirty.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

nilhg wrote: »
    696, hope yours isn't as dirty.....:D

A 620 here and she's filthy after a few days on a land leveller and power harrow. I love the 696, IMHO one of the all-time great tractors like the JD6910, Claas never could improve on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭powerfarmer

Got up at 6.30, hit the road at 7, work for 8. Flat out today cos on my own keeping the show on the road,running the cnc machining dept of an engineering co. Finished at 6 home for 7, have a heap of fabrication and welding waiting for me in the workshop for a slatted shed but too wrecked to tackle it this eve maybe tomorrow Oh its nearly time for bed:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

bbam wrote: »
    Why would you put up with such stock, the calves were nice but not worth the bother... the risk of someone getting hurt is too high

Anything we can't trust gets hung by the heels... its a great cure ;)

Ya I had a PB heifer (charolais though) that you couldn't trust either. Once she head butted the feed barrier in the shed as I was looking in at her!:eek: Nearly killed oul lad when she came in heat and had to put up crush for AI.

That was it, factory it was. I got €1200 back from the €3200 I paid for her. You win some, you loas some I guess:rolleyes:

As the saying goes, at least no-one was hurt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Kefuie

well just like another boring day for me. I woke up at six, prepare a breakfast, read a newspaper then work at 8:00 am....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭dryan

yesterday - got up around 6:30 am - woken up by the young fella (he is 2 1/2 and not a great sleeper), we both then went to check to a bullock that i injected the evening before for foul foot. Hes ok. back home, fed and watered the 2 kids and dropped them off to creche on the way to work. Home at 5:30 pm, cooked and ate the dinner. Gave herself a hand to get the kids ready for bed.
    Was starting to get dark so tipped out to check an electric fence that i thought wasnt working. Stuck me to the fucI<ing ground (fence working). FucI<ed it from a height. Back home, started to get a shape on the accounts. in bed at 10:30.

Got home about 10.30, bite to eat. Straight out the door, spade and drag and off draining, Got about forty yards done I guess. Too the mental young* dog for a ramble about the place. Rushes that I sprayed with the Connemara quad are dying well!

Weekend looks dry, so I'll finish spraying the bottom half of the farm, rushes and creeping gorse. Could be a bit cold for "active growth" but I'll chance it. Kicker is there should be sheep in there now, excellent sheep grass there at the minute. But when will the weather be right again :confused:

(*over 2 and not a tap done)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

Sorry couldn't resist this

Had breakfast a swim and half an hour sunbathing, now I'm going to sleep all day.

Its not as good as it looks, I'm in Soddy Arabia working to pay for my new tractor

colrow wrote: »
    I'm in Soddy Arabia working to pay for my new tractor

Did the lads out there get the Area Aid yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

dryan wrote: »
    Did the lads out there get the Area Aid yet?

No, problems with the maps, those bloody sand dunes keep moving of their own accord

There could be an opening here for rearing camels for export:-

Theeres about 5 riyals to the euro

JEDDAH: Judiciary authorities in Saudi Arabia have started checking the prices of camels all over the Kingdom to determine a more accurate value for blood money (diyah).

The Supreme Judiciary Council’s value for blood money, which is paid after a conviction for semi-intentional (SR110,000) and unintentional murder (SR100,000), was last fixed in 1980.

The move to re-evaluate these figures has come in the wake of huge rises in camel prices in Saudi Arabia and other Gulf countries. Some breeds cost millions of riyals.

Under Islamic Shariah rules, blood money is paid by giving 100 camels – 80 female and 20 male – to the victim’s family. The male camels should be no more than one year old, while the females should be split into four of groups of 20. The age of the animals in the first female group should be one year, the second group two years, and so forth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Who would we have to kill to get involved:D

rotflmao

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

5live wrote: »
    Who would we have to kill to get involved:D

Biffo? But he wouldn't be worth 100 camels.:p

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

More draining today, "helped" by the young dog. Don't know which was dirtier by the end of it, the drain or the dog.

Finished lifting a section of wall, didn't think all them stones would fit into that little space :eek:

Gathered one place, took out lambs for the mart tomorrow. Into shed for the night, tagged and sorted for quick loading in the morning. Early morning... :(

Posting nonsense here now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

johngalway wrote: »
    More draining today, "helped" by the young dog. Don't know which was dirtier by the end of it, the drain or the dog.

Finished lifting a section of wall, didn't think all them stones would fit into that little space :eek:

Gathered one place, took out lambs for the mart tomorrow. Into shed for the night, tagged and sorted for quick loading in the morning. Early morning... :(

Posting nonsense here now :)

what you selling in maam cross, ill drive the price up for you :D

Lol, now now, there's enough of that carry on going on there as it is!

We should have a pen each of blackface weather lambs and x bred ewe lambs. Had the weather lambs in Clifden a couple of weeks ago, place is a joke for sheep, plenty of people there but SFA buyers.

lol ya enough jobbers standing in the pens,i was in ballinrobe today, seen top prices of 860 hogget ram 150 for hogget ewes and 134 for ewe lambs, all mayo blackface, now that is bananas lol, good luck with sheep, i may not be able to go now bollox anyway ,

I saw a fella I know get €750 for a ram at the sale & show in Maam Cross last year. I was delighted for him as they know their sheep. But it was comical watching him in the ring while they were bidding. He was all :D up to €600, then progressively more and more :o as it went on. A Clifden man outbid by a Kerry man as I remember.

Prices are bananas for most farmers, depends what ya want and why. I'm still bulling over a grand little Lanark ram that was sold out of the pen before the sale in the ring. Would have gone dangerously close to €600 for him and that's completely over valuing him for my small flock. He was a bit on the small side height wise but great shape to him and almost perfect otherwise.

Were you at Maam X last week? You don't happen to know what the pen of Lanark hoggets went do you? Lovely sheep.

Cheers for the good wishes!

no did not go, said id go to the ram and sheep sale today, seen larark x mountain ewe lambs make 102 today, nice lambs but not fed or massive, prob 60e last year, iv a few texel cross ewes to buy, 4 5 6 yr olds was hoping to go tomorrow but might have to wait till next week

...Spraying on Sundays! Just as I was finishing up today, 360 litres out on rushes and along comes a drizzle! :rolleyes: I had been watching the forecast since Thursday like a fella possessed and no mention of it until I get home now and check again... Ah well, hopefully it didn't make much.

neighbours cattle broke in to my lovely after grass on sunday - i really dont like this lad as he gets a lend of things and NEVER leaves them back or can leave them back broken- anyway he got all them back except one and i said i would keep her in for him yesterday morning as she was with the cows ... just as i was about to start milking yesterday evening he rang me to say he would be up in 10 min would i have her ready to be loaded- wtf- then said he would have a bull in the trailer also:mad: so ran her in ... he arrived and said did i fix the gap where they got out, at this stage i was fit to be tied, it was his cattle who broke out to me , why should i fence it.... so i walked off and let him load his heifer ...... think it will be a while before i see him again:p

Have a half day booked of work - slurry deadline fast approaching - heading home to empty one of the tanks - Would be good to get one emptied and maybe stirr up the other one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

dryan wrote: »
    Have a half day booked of work - slurry deadline fast approaching - heading home to empty one of the tanks - Would be good to get one emptied and maybe stirr up the other one.

We used to wait until late in the year to empty our tanks too, but concluded that we never got any benefit from the slurry. Most of the good of it will be washed away over the winter months coming. Any grass that it grows will not be eaten by cattle and will leave a dirty white sole of grass for next year that may have to be topped. We now do our best to empty all tanks before the end of may - most of it before mid april onto meadows so that we can get the benefit of grass growth. At the end of summer there is often still a foot or 2 in some of the tanks from cattle being kept in until the first of may or maybe a few housed during the summer for various reasons - so we get a load or 2 of pig slurry to bring it up high enough to agitate it and we try to spread it on reseeded land - if we have any on that particular year.

To be fair, its fairly watery suff (soiled water i suppose). Tanks were emptied in march - april so were about 1/3 full by the time the sheds were emptied.

Roof water is collected in water tanks that supplies the cattle in the winter.
    The overflow from these tanks goes to the slatted tanks.

During a wet spell in the summer, the slatted tanks can fill fairly quickly!!