Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a Megane 6 to 7K

• 14-09-2010 04:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

Anyone spotted a nice deals on a Megane. Have got 6/7k to spend and the little lady fancies a megane. :rolleyes:

Must have 4 doors (5 doors)
    Can't be the colour red (really i quite like red in a car.):D

Other than that, happy enough as long as the mileage isn't to high.

Of course if you have any ideas other than Megene , happy to try and talk her around but she's not keen on Peugeot or Ford.

This is not how i would pick a car but there you go..

Any help much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,645 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I'd recommend that you get a post facelift one from 06 onwards. Note that the grille shape is different.

06 pre facelift
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Renault/Megane/1.4/200848190996288/advert?channel=CARS

06 post facelift
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Renault/Megane/16V-Dyna/201033199265834/advert?channel=CARS

BrianD3 wrote: »
    I'd recommend that you get a post facelift one from 06 onwards. Note that the grille shape is different.

06 pre facelift
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Renault/Megane/1.4/200848190996288/advert?channel=CARS

06 post facelift
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Renault/Megane/16V-Dyna/201033199265834/

links don't work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,645 ✭✭✭BrianD3

RoverJames wrote: »
    links don't work ;)
    They do now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I would agree about getting a facelift example as their is a marked improvement in reliability

Surely those asking prices are not realistic ?

Hopefully not but the market is a strange place at the minute

With new ones being sold for €15000 anyone paying that sort of cash for an 06 would be mad. Fairly rotten looking yokes too.

The exterior is fine its the quality and design of the interior which lets it down (apart form the usual build quality argument)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Here is a low mileage 2007 Phase II "Monaco" edition:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201034199340605

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Boardmaster

thanks lads, the facelift does look a bit better. Still not mad on them but i hopefully wont have to drive it.:D

bazz26 wrote: »

actually this doesn't look to bad at all. nice find cheers:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Don't think it's a facelift. The cute fceker is trying to pass it off as one judging by the photo's though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭black & white

If you will be doing any kind of mileage at all, go for a diesel. I've had one of each and the petrol model will make you think that you have a hole in your tank. Was averaging 32/33 mpg on the petrol where I am currently averaging 51mpg from a diesel, that's a mixture of city and longer distance driving.

is it the 1.5 diesel i should look out for? Much difference in performance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

!.5 diesel is a great engine, quick, torquey and incredibly frugal. So much better than any of the petrol engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,487 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

EPM wrote: »
    Don't think it's a facelift. The cute fceker is trying to pass it off as one judging by the photo's though:D

It is a Phase II alright. The rear light cluster has a slightly different arrangement to the Phase I:

Phase II:
    media?id=10731302&width=400&height=300

Phase I:
    media?id=10742490&width=400&height=300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭ltdslipdiff

EPM wrote: »

It is the facelift, know by the optic style headlights,newer style 5 spoke wheels,reversing sensors and the bit of clear in the rear lense, all unique to the facelift model.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

It is a Phase II alright. The rear light cluster has a slightly different arrangement to the Phase I:

Phase II:
    media?id=10731302&width=400&height=300

Phase I:
    media?id=10742490&width=400&height=300

Would never have noticed the lights:o

Brutal pictures though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭black & white

is it the 1.5 diesel i should look out for? Much difference in performance?

Yes. The 1.5 diesel comes in two types, 85 and 106 HP. The 106 (which I am currently driving) has a 6 speed gearbox and is very torquey. You can be tipping away in 5th doing 90/100kph and if you need to overtake in a hurry the power is there straight away, takes a few seconds more if you are in 6th though so be careful. It really is an excellent engine. Mine is an 06 and have had a few electrical probs though. Both front electric windows went and were replaced under warrenty so check that. The reversing switch that controls the reversing lights and beeper went last year and to buy it and get it fitted was about a ton. Air con packed up about a week before the hot weather started in May and have been quoted nearly a grand to replace the compressor so feck that.

I bought my current Megane brand new and would not do so again, depreciation cost me €100 a week over the first 4 years. Buying one now second hand seems good value as long as you check out the electrical stuff.

The 85 has the 5 speed box and obviously not as much power. Doesn't have reversing beepers and integrated sun blinds (I think) and might not have a few other bits and pieces as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭derdider

Anyone spotted a nice deals on a Megane. Have got 6/7k to spend and the little lady fancies a megane. :rolleyes:

Must have 4 doors (5 doors)
    Can't be the colour red (really i quite like red in a car.):D

Other than that, happy enough as long as the mileage isn't to high.

Of course if you have any ideas other than Megene , happy to try and talk her around but she's not keen on Peugeot or Ford.

This is not how i would pick a car but there you go..

Any help much appreciated.

My brother has a silver Megane hes looking to sell at the moment - probably in or around that price. Hes moving back to Sweden in 2-3 months so....

Its the saloon version though (bigger boot for your missus shopping :D)

Its silver, 1.6 petrol so decent poke out of it but its got decent fuel economy too. Its an 06, alloy wheels, electric sun roof, air conditioning, electric windows front and back, electric mirrors, automatic wipers, automatic head lights, NCT'd, and got new tyres for the NCT. Cant remember what else its got but its pretty loaded. Never had any problems with it as far as i know

Hes in his 30s too so it wasnt a boy racer car or anything :D I've driven it a good few times and its a nice car. My friends wife also has the same car and shes happy out with it.

If you're interested let me know and i can pass on his details, or your details or whatever.....