Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airtightness question regarding insulated slabs

Options
  • 14-09-2010 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

Hi guys,

I am a self builder and currently nearing first fix stage of the build. I have a question regarding the grey coat render that needs to be applied to the internal leaf of the external walls before application of the insulated slabs.

This is my first time to post here so any help is much appreciated????

Basically I got an energy spec completed by a qualified person before the build started. In relation to air-tighness and the thermal liners, it was specified that a "grey coat" render be required prior to the application of all Thermal liners from floor level to underside of precast concrete floors (prior to installation of false ceiling).

So ,my question relates to the grey coat render, first fix electrics and false ceiling installation. Which comes first??? ie.

Do i get the electrician to chase walls and complete first fix, then apply grey coat render and then install false ceiling? - This means the false ceiling is not in place for the electrician when he is first fixing?

Do I get the the electrician to chase the walls, then install false ceiling, then complete first fix electrics and then ally grey coat render and then apply insulated slabs? - This means false ceiling is in the way of plasterer. Does this mean problems for the air tightness?