Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TD WATERHOUSE

• 12-09-2010 10:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭

when u try and open a new account with them they have 5 available account options

i want to buy shares long term in a couple of companies but im lost trying to fiqure out which account is best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 robmchl

Hi Dellat,

If i'm on the same page as you I only see 4 options:

1) Trading Account
    2) CFD's
    3) Financial Spread Betting
    4) Savings Account

http://www.tdwaterhouse.ie/typesofaccount/

1 is the option you want there. Apologies if we are talking about two different TD Waterhouse sites but if you want to buy shares this looks like your option.

"shares held electronically on your behalf through our Nominee Service. Your trades are automatically settled with funds either being credited to, or debited from your account."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

sorry ,i was on the uk site cause iliving in newry and theres other options :

Open an Account:

* Trading Account
    * Trading Plus Account
    * Trading ISA
    * SIPP Account
    * CFD Account
    * Financial Spread Betting
    * Certificated Account
    * Other Accounts

and on the following page theres a few more questions like

WOULD YOU LIKE THIS ACCOUNT TO BE ABLE TO TRADE IN MULTIPLE CURRIENCIES ?

DO YOU WISH TO EARN INTERST ON THE MONEY IN YOUR ACCOUNT ?

i didnt really know what to put so i clicked yes to both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 robmchl

The Certified account is if you want to hold your own share certificates physically and if you want to trade occasionally.

Trading Account
    Trading Account Plus
    Certified Account

These look like the options suitable for you and I would forget about the rest. Certified account (flat fee £12.50 + £40) could be the one if your planning on holding only 3 stocks for 10 years etc. as the trading account will have a flat fee of £12.50 normally and charge an a/c management fee of £10 + VAT on accounts that have not traded in that quarter which would be likely if you're holding long term.

So, it depends on how frequently you plan to trade and how long you plan to hold those trades.

In saying all that, the best thing is to speak to TD Waterhouse in the morning and ask them to go through all your options and then decide what you want exactly.

0845 607 6002

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 paidi09

robmchl wrote: »
    The Certified account is if you want to hold your own share certificates physically and if you want to trade occasionally.

Trading Account
    Trading Account Plus
    Certified Account

These look like the options suitable for you and I would forget about the rest. Certified account (flat fee £12.50 + £40) could be the one if your planning on holding only 3 stocks for 10 years etc. as the trading account will have a flat fee of £12.50 normally and charge an a/c management fee of £10 + VAT on accounts that have not traded in that quarter which would be likely if you're holding long term.

So, it depends on how frequently you plan to trade and how long you plan to hold those trades.

In saying all that, the best thing is to speak to TD Waterhouse in the morning and ask them to go through all your options and then decide what you want exactly.

0845 607 6002

As far as I am aware, with the Irish website anyway, you only pay an a/c management fee if the value of your cash and/or stock is under 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Lads if its just to by stock to hold for long term gain its the TDW trading account. Don't be put off by the word trading. Its a share dealing account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

delllat wrote: »
    sorry ,i was on the uk site cause iliving in newry and theres other options :

Open an Account:

* Trading Account
    * Trading Plus Account
    * Trading ISA
    * SIPP Account
    * CFD Account
    * Financial Spread Betting
    * Certificated Account
    * Other Accounts

and on the following page theres a few more questions like

WOULD YOU LIKE THIS ACCOUNT TO BE ABLE TO TRADE IN MULTIPLE CURRIENCIES ?

DO YOU WISH TO EARN INTERST ON THE MONEY IN YOUR ACCOUNT ?

i didnt really know what to put so i clicked yes to both

Hello fello Newry Man ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Does the new android app work for the Irish site?

It says on the UK site that a new android app is available. http://www.tddirectinvesting.co.uk/

It mentions nothing on the Irish site. Anyone try using their smartphone with the Irish site?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭solas111

I have been looking at setting up an account with TD WATERHOUSE as well and judging from the replies you got it looks like it should be a TD Trading Account. The charge per quarter seems a bit high for someone who is new to this and may not be investing much.

I read on another thread about what you need in order to set up an account but I cannot locate that thread again. I think it said that you need to send them scanned copies of a recent bank statement and photo ID.

Any advice?

I have been looking at setting up an account with TD WATERHOUSE as well and judging from the replies you got it looks like it should be a TD Trading Account. The charge per quarter seems a bit high for someone who is new to this and may not be investing much.

I read on another thread about what you need in order to set up an account but I cannot locate that thread again. I think it said that you need to send them scanned copies of a recent bank statement and photo ID.

Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭AP_MAN

Photo ID either passport/driving licence copy & address proff either bank statement or ESB/GAS bill copy stamped and signed by bank official (Garda is not doing this any more), if you post to TD UK address the process will be much quicker, it took 3 days for my account to open after sending these documents.
    solas111 wrote: »

Any advice?

• Site Banned Posts: 33 yard_king

Any advice?

the charges are much lower than what the irish brokers charge

do you mind me asking how much you intend to invest

I have not yet decided on how much I am going to invest. What I will have to play with is an advance of six years of a high percentage of my salary. There are a number of immediate expenses to be deducted and the remaining sum will be reducing each year as this will be my only source of income. Therefore, the bulk of the money will go into something that is relatively safe and does not require the use of a broker, probably a mixture of bank deposit account, post office savings, prize bonds and perhaps the Credit Union.

I would also like to buy some silver as a long term investment in the hope that it would hold its value in the event of a widespread economic collapse. After that I would hope to invest a modest sum in shares, probably less than €10,000. Having no experience of dealing in shares I would tend to be cautious and I am aware of the risks so hopefully will not get carried away on a tide of optimism about the potential value of some shares. That said, I would also like to gamble a little on more risky stock in the hope of doing well but accepting that it could go the other way too.

I have only recently taken an interest in this forum so I am still reading up on past threads. Having read various comments I will probably go out and buy about €500 of Greenland Minerals and Energy Limited shares this week which is pretty risky but that will be my first (and maybe last) gamble. Since there is not enough time to set up a TD Waterhouse account and I do not have access to an Irish broker I will use AIB bank for this transaction. For the longer term I would like to invest small amounts on a regular basis and that is why I am considering a TD Waterhouse account. I am just weighing up their charges against any gains that I could make but part of the reason for doing it would be for enjoyment so maybe I will go with it either way.

Any thoughts or advice would be welcome.

I have not yet decided on how much I am going to invest. What I will have to play with is an advance of six years of a high percentage of my salary. There are a number of immediate expenses to be deducted and the remaining sum will be reducing each year as this will be my only source of income. Therefore, the bulk of the money will go into something that is relatively safe and does not require the use of a broker, probably a mixture of bank deposit account, post office savings, prize bonds and perhaps the Credit Union.

I would also like to buy some silver as a long term investment in the hope that it would hold its value in the event of a widespread economic collapse. After that I would hope to invest a modest sum in shares, probably less than €10,000. Having no experience of dealing in shares I would tend to be cautious and I am aware of the risks so hopefully will not get carried away on a tide of optimism about the potential value of some shares. That said, I would also like to gamble a little on more risky stock in the hope of doing well but accepting that it could go the other way too.

I have only recently taken an interest in this forum so I am still reading up on past threads. Having read various comments I will probably go out and buy about €500 of Greenland Minerals and Energy Limited shares this week which is pretty risky but that will be my first (and maybe last) gamble. Since there is not enough time to set up a TD Waterhouse account and I do not have access to an Irish broker I will use AIB bank for this transaction. For the longer term I would like to invest small amounts on a regular basis and that is why I am considering a TD Waterhouse account. I am just weighing up their charges against any gains that I could make but part of the reason for doing it would be for enjoyment so maybe I will go with it either way.

Any thoughts or advice would be welcome.

those exploration companies are very high risk , they are for speculators , not serious and disciplined investors who seek a stable and reliable form of income , as for silver , im not a huge fan of gold , im even less of a fan of silver , i would buy no silver and have no more than 5% of my entire net worth in gold

as for buying stocks , i can think of a number of ultra reliable stocks which will still be worth something in fifty years ( coca cola , procter and gamble , ibm , nestle ) but the reality is , its difficult to predict the fortunes of most companies unless your well up on the workings of stocks , im of the opinion that most people would be better simply buying a few etf,s which track various indexes around the world , they usually yield over 3% and should grow by 10% on average per anum over a thirty year period

Thank you yard_king,

Your comments are appreciated and will be carefully considered. I will not be doing anything risky with the bulk of the money as I cannot afford to take too much of a chance.

I have worked for a long time though and after paying for sending the kids through college and having feck all left, I feel like taking at least a little bit of a gamble when I get a few bob into my hands.

Thank you yard_king,

Your comments are appreciated and will be carefully considered. I will not be doing anything risky with the bulk of the money as I cannot afford to take too much of a chance.

I have worked for a long time though and after paying for sending the kids through college and having feck all left, I feel like taking at least a little bit of a gamble when I get a few bob into my hands.

id wait till the new year before buying anything , the fiscal cliff looks like a real threat in the usa and this will hit the market , also , obama plans to raise capital gains taxes which will also hit stocks , the markets have risen 100% since the sell off in 2008 , by any objective measure , stocks are not cheap considering the volatility of the global economy , european stocks are cheap but europe is not close to a comprehensive solution to its problems

emerging markets might actually be the best bet right now , DEM ( look it up on yahoo finance ) pays around 4% of a dividend - . 6% fees and covers large companies in brazil , russia , south korea , china etc , i wouldnt put every penny in it but emerging markets are due a rebound and like i said , yield is generous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Is there any issue with TD Direct when you don't have a landline?