Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recall The Oireachtas - Gerry Adams

• 11-09-2010 11:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭

President of Sinn Fein Gerry Adams MP/ MLA, has said that the Dail should be recalled to deal with unemployment and The Banks.

I've titled this thread 'G Adams calls for Oireachtas to be recalled', as you can't have one without the other in terms of Dail and Seanad.

Adams said that the government should not be making decisions about an extension to the Bank Guarantee Scheme and Anglo Irish Bank while the Oireachtas is not sitting.

Both issues will be discussed by the Oireachtas before they are decided upon.

Adams said: “The Taoiseach should recall the Dáil immediately to deal with these urgent issues.”

See more here http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0911/breaking10.html

An Dail is due to sit again on 29 Sept.

Well, has the Oireachtas been off too long aready, should it be recalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

imme wrote: »
    Adams said that the government should not be making decisions about an extension to the Bank Guarantee Scheme and Anglo Irish Bank while the Oireachtas is not sitting.
    Speaking of "should nots". An MP of a foreign parliament, with no personal electoral mandate in this state, should not be poking his nose in to our internal affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

lugha wrote: »
    Speaking of "should nots". An MP of a foreign parliament, with no personal electoral mandate in this state, should not be poking his nose in to our internal affairs.

Usual tripe. Last time I checked he was the president of Sinn Fein, who have TDs and councillers elected

So let one of these elected reps. do the talking.
    You won't here the various Green MPs in the various parliaments across Europe commenting on internal Irish affairs in that way, even though the are all part of a common political movement, if not party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

You can't knock Adams for what he has said, he is right they should be called back to deal with the issue's at hand. Why can't they just have a fortnight off like the rest of us working class people. If there is a problem in my company when i'm off, they will ring me to come sort it, its part and parcel of the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Adams should sit in his own parliament first!

This is another example of why Sinn Fein have to elect a leader for the state of Ireland rather than the "nation" of Ireland. He has feck all credibility when he talks about the Oireachtas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

So let one of these elected reps. do the talking.
    You won't here the various Green MPs in the various parliaments across Europe commenting on internal Irish affairs in that way, even though the are all part of a common political movement, if not party.

As you said they're part of the same movement, not party. Big difference. I think you just wanted to have a go at Sinn Fein to be honest. And I'm not a member or voter of them

As you said they're part of the same movement, not party. Big difference.
    Well, I don't think there is such a big difference. It is just that most politicians have the courtesy not to involve themselves in the internal politics of a state to which they are not elected.
    It will be interesting to see the reaction of our republican friends, if and when FF achieve electoral success in NI (thus becoming an all-island party), were Brian Cowen to start lashing in to purely internal political matters up there. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Well, I don't think there is such a big difference. It is just that most politicians have the courtesy not to involve themselves in the internal politics of a state to which they are not elected.
    It will be interesting to see the reaction of our republican friends, if and when FF achieve electoral success in NI (thus becoming an all-island party), were Brian Cowen to start lashing in to purely internal political matters up there. ;)

whats your problem ?, surely you should target your anger at the politicians in this country who have taken 4 months off in the teeth of the worst crisis this country has faced . gerry adams like it or not is president of a political party which is active in this country both north and south , he is therefore entitled to speak on political matters if he so wishes .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭timespast

Admit it....you've got an axe to grind and it's nothing to do with "our" internal affairs.

He's as much Irish as you.....probably more so as he helped bring peace to Ireland.

Keep posting...you might get us out of this mess.

timespast wrote: »
    He's as much Irish as you.....probably more so as he helped bring peace to Ireland.
    Well I am not sure how the scale of Irishness is devised. But let me mention a couple of bonus points that I could earn but the peacemaker can't. ;)
    I fully recognize this state and always have. None of this 26 counties nonsense for me. And I have never taken the view that a few hards in South Armagh constituted the legitimate army and government of Ireland.
    Oh,and I never had trouble condemning anyone who shot down Gardai or army personal defending this state.

Why can't you get one of your fine reps who does have a mandate in this state to make the point Adams was making?

danbohan wrote: »
    whats your problem ?, surely you should target your anger at the politicians in this country who have taken 4 months off in the teeth of the worst crisis this country has faced . gerry adams like it or not is president of a political party which is active in this country both north and south , he is therefore entitled to speak on political matters if he so wishes .
    You don't see a touch of irony in an MP who has a parliamentary attendance of, give or take, zero days in the bones of 30 years, pointing the finger at others who take rather long holidays? :pac:

I don't disagree with the point he makes, I just think it is inappropriate and hypocritical for Adams to be making it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I bet Adams is quaking in his boots now that lugha has told him the error of his way :pac:

I suppose it's a bit like a child who picks his nose. If you keep pointing out that it's bad manners, they might take heed eventually. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭timespast

Well I am not sure how the scale of Irishness is devised. But let me mention a couple of bonus points that I could earn but the peacemaker can't. ;)
    I fully recognize this state and always have. None of this 26 counties nonsense for me. And I have never taken the view that a few hards in South Armagh constituted the legitimate army and government of Ireland.
    Oh,and I never had trouble condemning anyone who shot down Gardai or army personal defending this state.

Why can't you get one of your fine reps who does have a mandate in this state to make the point Adams was making?

Because Adams is President of that Party and it stands in constituencies North and South.

He's as much right to mention the Oireachtas as you or I have.

The country is shagged and you want to concentrate on being pernicketty.

timespast wrote: »
    Because Adams is President of that Party and it stands in constituencies North and South.
    The Tories field candidates (sort of) in NI. I would also take a dim view if David Cameron were to make a party political type criticism of the performance of any minister in the MLA executive, even a Sinn Fein one. :P But of course, he wouldn't.

Anyway, I suspect the OP is more interested in what was said and less in who said it. I've said already I don't see a good reason for such extensive breaks. But there is nothing new there. There is a time honored custom of the opposition parties wailing about the long recess and then doing nothing about it when they are in power. And I don't really believe that the mess we are in will become substantially less messy, were the Dail to reconvence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

mike65 wrote: »

This is another example of why Sinn Fein have to elect a leader for the state of Ireland rather than the "nation" of Ireland. He has feck all credibility when he talks about the Oireachtas.

Credibility or not, he has a salient point and realistically him and Marty are the only two out of SF that get any attention as regards soundbites/press releases. O'Caolain or Morgan or whoever could come out with this and it would be generally ignored.
    Like it or not, Adams brings more weight to the statement and whether or not you agree with his politics or his past, you can't fault him on this stance.

I notice that no-one in any of the opposition parties nor the Greens are calling for a recall....obviously because none of those parasites want a short end to their 3 months off either...
    People talk of politicians fiddling while Rome burns...our lot aren't even here to f*cking fiddle and we're dealing with a lot more than a bloody fire...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Nice to see the usual Gerry bashers here, hope you are having a lovely day.

To be honest, i wouldn’t give a flying f*ck if David Cameron came out and said they should be recalled or a politician from Japan or anywhere for that matter, they would only be stating the fuc*ing obvious on what needs to be done. Adams is right here in saying it, the country is being fu*ked hard by the government and their friends, its past a fuc*ing joke at this point.

If you didn’t laugh at the situation you would kill yourself i think, FF and their friends have ensured our grandchildren will be still paying for this, and quite possibly their children too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

mike65 wrote: »

Wertz wrote: »
    Credibility or not, he has a salient point and realistically him and Marty are the only two out of SF that get any attention as regards soundbites/press releases. O'Caolain or Morgan or whoever could come out with this and it would be generally ignored.
    Like it or not, Adams brings more weight to the statement and whether or not you agree with his politics or his past, you can't fault him on this stance.

Thats because he is the President of the party rather then 'cos he is right (which he is of course). If SF got themselves a fresh and younger leader from the south they'd do better allround. That they haven't speak volumes about Adams and the lack of balls from SFs elected members in the 26. But thats for another thread maybe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

You've surpassed yourself once again, Lugha - God bless you. It must piss you off something fierce that 83% of Ireland is free from British colonial occupation so far.

I'm not mad about Gerry Adams but bigoted anti-Irish (that is, denying the right of the 800,000 self-declared Irish people still living under British occupation in Ireland to their Irishness simply because British nationalists forced them to continue living under British rule in Ireland) posts like yours do the world of good for expanding Gerry Adams's vote catchment area.

Keep up the good work. The (provisional) republican movement will be grateful.

Rebelheart wrote: »
    ... denying the right of the 800,000 self-declared Irish people still living under British occupation in Ireland to their Irishness
    I guess I must be more assured in my Irishness than some of those Northern folk. I wouldn’t feel it in any way “denied” if someone had a cut at a Southern politician for putting his snout in to the day to day business affairs of the MLAs. Indeed, I would fully agree with them.

Anyway, that aspect aside, surely you must be slightly amused at Abstain Adams wagging his finger at the puppets for not putting in longer shifts? :) Would he not have thought it more prudent to perhaps let Caoimhghín put that one out?
    ...simply because British nationalists forced them to continue living under British rule in Ireland ...
    Would you be talking about this democracy thing now that appears (!) to be all the fashion with republican fellows of late? ;)
    Keep up the good work. The (provisional) republican movement will be grateful.
    God, that’s pretty flattering! And I always thought no one paid any attention to anything I say. :pac: