Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

psychiatric nursing

• 11-09-2010 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19

Hi is anyone going into 1st year psychiatric nursing in TCD this September?
    xox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 ladylike

Hi, yeah i'm startin 2m!! Just for orientation week for mature students. Are you startin as a mature student??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Bella xx

hi!No im not starting as a mature student.orientation for me starts next week.Im excited but alo really nervous lol:S best of luck tomo,hope it goes well:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭AH92

Im doing general but I'll see ya around in the nursing building :P Im raring to start as well!!!

Ah cool!I know no one but at least alot of us are in the same boat:)

ahh don't worry about it you'll make friends easily in your class!!! Don't forget to join plenty of societies because you will make loads of friends that way!! I know I am :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 kiddykat

I'm doing general nursing! Can't wait to start but i'm really nervous too :o

kiddykat wrote: »
    I'm doing general nursing! Can't wait to start but i'm really nervous too :o

Welcome to the club tuts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Olivia_R

Im starting psychiatric nursing this year! I want to move to general nursing though but at the moment I'll be starting psychiatric!

Olivia_R wrote: »
    Im starting psychiatric nursing this year! I want to move to general nursing though but at the moment I'll be starting psychiatric!

ohh really I never knew you could do that!!!

Well I heard that trinity is one of the best colleges for transfers like that! I don't think it will happen straight away if I do get to move...Also depends on the class size I guess

im the very same!I wanted general but i'll be starting off with psychiatric.i wonder how long it will take?id say psychiatric will be interesting tho:)

Ah I dno....I want to end up doing midwifery, not too interested in psychiatric tbh!

yeah at the start i was pretty dissappointed but i heard psychiatric nursing in trinity is very similar to general in first year,which is good

Yeh i heard that too! Least I know someone in my class now :D

I wonder what our timetable would be like!!! any of you lot know by any chance?? :)

same here!I knw no one,plus we're gna be nurses!and theres always ways of getting into general at the end of the day,it cant be all bad:D

AH92 havnt a clue! we'll find out when we register I think!iv heard frm people who were in first year last year,it'll prob be 9-4 most days.but im not entirely sure.Wish we knew already tho:/

We'll try our best to move to general! Hope our timetables are nice

Hi everyone. just thought it might be good for anyone going into 1st yr nursing in TCD should state what nursing they will be doing here and Im wondering if anyone is as nervous as I am?i will be doing psychiatric myself but im nervous of what to expect.anyone going into it or have done psychiatric nursing??any bit of help would be appreciated!need a bit of cheering up haha!

9-4 that's a killer!!!! im hoping for the best :)

i knw same here!Any idea wat the class sizes are like?i wish monday was already here lol!

ermmm psychiatric nursing should be 30 ish and general nursing is 92!!! So there's gonna be quite a lot of people in my class!!! :L

woah!!I think the psychiatrics and general will be together for some lectures too.exciting isnt it!!so bloody nervous tho lol!!

yeaa im looking forward to it :) any ideas about social life when studying nursing?? I heard we have to study loadsss but I enjoy going out with friends!!! that's what worries me!!

haha same here!yeah i think semester 1 ya can get away with going out more than semester 2 cos we'll be on placements then.Apparantley nurses know how to party!so yeah im sure that wont be a problem haha

haha ahh its all good so :D

just to clarify...nurses or even psch nurses we are registering the 22nd..am I right??thanks:)

yea it is!!! Don't forget to meet up with your tutor as well!! Im pretty sure you just walk in at the time said on the sheet and you will be entertained :)

Anyone know if we have to bring anything to the psychiatric nursing meeting tomorrow at 9? Did u guys get a letter about meeting with your tutor? I havent got one yet?

Hey, I started last week as a mature student. timetable is ok. mon-tue 9-5, wedn we're fin at 1 and then thurs and fri we're in st.james campus haven't got times for that yet. we're all together mostly for first year except midwifery. placements start straight after xmas for 10 weeks!!!! Can't wait!!!!!!!

Is that the same for first year students?!

yeah we're in the same boat!!

Ah ok cool! Whats the difference in our place and st james campus? Did they say anything about the times for thursday and friday? Do we get a timetable tomorrow at our course meeting?

good stuff ladylike I'll look forward to meeting all of you lot :)

yea u'll get timetable 2m. as far as I know we go there thurs & fri for tutorials & practicals, we weren't given times for that yet.

Ah right cool, thanks ladylike! Yeah, looking forward to meeting u guys 2m :D

U'll be grand , everybody will be nervous starting off, its a huge change for everybody. everybody i have met so far has been fantastic!! Also, the sports centre is unreal!!!!! pool, sauna, steam rooms!! what more could we ask for!!!!

I look forward to meeting you guys too!Im super nervous tho,anyone feel the same?Olivia tomorow u need to bring your garda vetting things ehich include 1.birth cert or notarised copy 2.original offer letter. Oh does anyone know where we go tommoro morning in the nursing building?Im sooo nervous!!!

Im just dying to find out the timetable! And I want to see can I switch to general nursing!

Original offer letter?! Il have to look for that sooo! So we just need our birth cert and offer letter? No idea where we go! We'll have to ask someone I guess! When do we ask about switching course bella?

yep and u also need a list of all the addresses in ireland or abroad where u are or have been resident at any time.(its all in booklet) and id say ask who ever is givin the talks??Oh lady like am i right in what we need for garda vetting?confused student nurses over here lol!:)
    x

Wow, this really isnt as straight forward as i thought haha! Do you know about the student travel card? Can we get them tomorrow on campus? And do we get our diary and trinity student cards 2m?

u'll get student card for tcd when you register which is wedn i think? the garda vetting as far as i know is just a form, I filled one out last year, have a list of all the places u ever lived addresses and the dates u lived there for & i think ur PPS num, it'l take ye 2 min to fill out if its the same one I did last year?

hey, does anyone kno is it the long form birth cert or will the short version do?? do we have to have them for 2m?

I honestly have no clue lady since my one is from Saudi Arabia which is translated :) Just make sure it has all the details and u'll be A-ok i'd say. Yea we need them for tomorrow along with our offer letter. Im curious is there any other fellas on here doing nursing?? :D

hey guys any idea how long the course meeting is tomo???thanks
    x